Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Foxholes Castle Camping

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

7.7

Overall rating based on 9 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

66% would recommend this site to a friend.

66% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for happeechapee

Beautiful location and top notch facilities!

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This is my ultimate favourate place to come camping not only because of the beautiful detination but because of the relaxed and ecologically friendly ethos the campsite has.

    I camped here last summer with my family and enjoyed it so much it took little convincing to gather a group of friends to join us this year!

    It really annoys me when i see over flowing bins of plastic and tins, and i love the clear large recycling point. Reading the comment below, i would just like to say, i am sure you are old enough to recycle without 'nagging' perhaps you are a little put out for being caught?! Niether the less, i love knowing i can camp here with an ecological green, clean concious, with solar pannel heated showers and p.v electric.

    Bishop's Castle is pleasurable walk through three fields away. There is a small information room and Chris and Wendy always inform us of any local events on when we arrive.

    The shower block is large bright and airey, free and always clean!

    I love the foxholes, and my friends all do too, we look forward to coming back in the spring.
  • Disliked: The weather man, for telling me lies when the weathers fine and the rain for when its not!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Nedra1

An ideal venue

(Extended family, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: In September 2011 we visited Foxholes and after a very relaxing week's camping decided that this should be the venue for the celebration of our golden wedding.
    Our large family responded to the invitation and this July we spent ten days at Foxholes and our family and friends joined us during that time. A further twelve guests attended on the day. The site was busy on the 28th July and everyone coexisted happily. Chris and Wendy who own and run the site couldn't have been more helpful. Since then we have returned for a further seven days at Foxholes with a couple of my wife's relations. Everyone has been very impressed by the site.
    We love the panoramic views from the top of the tent field, the freedom to camp where we wish and the very comfortable wet rooms.
    A lot of work has gone into the site to encourage wild life by creating rougher areas of grass and hedgerows.
    The recycling policy is clearly explained by notices in the relevant area.
    In addition to the open washing up provision there is a room with fridge and freezer and hot and cold running water and plenty of information.
    Bishops Castle is a short walk away and a very short drive and there is free parking on every day except market day.
    The town is still an unspoilt market town and has been described as a 'happening place.' In fact there have been events every time we have been there and we are aware of many that are planned. There is an excellent lunch time cafe called Acanthus, the butcher provided a great stew for the evening of our celebration and there is a good Indian restaurant. The Coop has been open from 7 till 10 every day that we have been there.
    It is in fact one of our favourite camp sites and Wendy and Chris are excellent hosts.
  • Disliked: The only problem is that Foxholes is a considerable distance from our home.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Professor

Tense...

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Freedom to pitch where you like. Area was beautiful.
  • Disliked: Hostile reception. Constant nagging at campers to recycle. Lack of current info about area. Staff not interested in the campers just want to take your money.
From the manager...

Please send your name and address we will happily refund you. We don't understand how mature professional couple don't get concept of recycling . The camp-site is not run by staff, just a hard working couple that put wildlife and environment first. 10 minutes walk across fields is Beautiful town of Bishops Castle with tourist information, swimming pool, large children's play area and lots of independent shops, that we encourage our campers to frequent.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
4
Google Plus
avatar for happeecamper

Week's stay in caravan to enjoy walking

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2010
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Option to camp where I wanted. Free hot showers, lovely views and wildlife. Walk into Bishops Castle - marvellous town where we managed to catch Michelmas fair with real old fashioned fun. Owners friendly and helpful lots of ideas for walks etc.
  • Disliked: Rain and having to go home.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for rhubarbface

Beautiful site! Excellent hospitality! Great facilities!

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2010
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Myself and a group of five friends stayed at this campsite in July this year. The owner of the site was very helpful and kindly recomended a quiet spot on the site for us, as the site has no pitches we were able to set up as we pleased (which is obviously facing the most fantastic panoramic views!).

    The shower block was always clean and the solar powered showers always hot.

    Bishops Castle is a beautiful little town with everything you need. We spend most of our stay walking the beautiful Shropshire hills.

    We all agreed that this is a great campsite and that it will now become our yearly tradition to visit the site. STRONGLY RECOMMENDED!
  • Disliked: This site is perfect!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Salbrey

Beautiful views spoilt by inconsiderate campers and rude staff

(With friends, 2 reviews, 1 photo)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2010
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The excellent views of the Shropshire Hills.
  • Disliked: We stopped here over a weekend (Friday to Sunday).

    Firstly, we were greeted us in a very curt manner which make us feel like I was putting the staff out. I was also required to pay up front for a campsite that I hadn't yet stepped foot on. I have never experienced a campsite that does this and I felt pressured to hand over the money straight away.

    After an hour, we decided that we needed to pop off the site to go and get a few items. We were concerned as we had booked two pitches next to each other that someone would come and camp next to us whilst we were out as we were not given designated pitches.

    I suggested to my husband that we check with the staff that it would be OK to leave, which I did. However, I wish I hadn't as I was just met with further rudeness in "I've never had a problem with people before". It was blowing a gale in the top fields, and the suggestions was made that I put something in the space next to our tent - not the most practical answer. An assurance that a spot on one side of our tent or another would be reserved would've been kinder.

    I was assured that no one would camp right next to us, so it was a bit of a shock that when we returned after less than an hour we found a large family had camped practically on top of our tent, so close in fact that the guy ropes were overlapping. This made us feel incredibly uncomfortable.

    A couple of hours later, our friends arrived after a none-too-straightforward drive over from Wolverhamton after they had finished work. They drove past the main house and they said that the door was closed and the house was fairly dark, and as the had already rung in advance they did not want to disturb the staff as it was after 6.30pm.

    On most campsites, late arrivals check in first thing the next morning. So, the next morning our friends went to pay, only to be met with a tirade of rude comments. Our friends are incredibly trustworthy, and were deeply upset by the comments made. This couple have only been married for a couple of weeks, and this was their first camping trip as a married couple. Needless to say, they were made to feel embarrassed and guilty. If it was obligatory to pay on arrival, it would've been much less stressful and saved a lot of embarrassment if the money had been requested the night before.

    Furthermore, although the shower blocks were new, there were no hand-drying or hair-drying facilities available and the cleanliness of the sinks, showers, mirrors and toilets wasn't great. We understand that this is an eco-friendly campsite, of which we have visited a great many and fully support them.

    In future, I feel that the staff could be friendlier and much more understanding.
From the manager...

We do not take deposits, so do find it easier to take money on arrival, when we explain concept of no set pitches, but lots of room for everybody 10 acres over 4 fields go along way in very rural south Shropshire. We always say we are full way before we are as we like toilets and showers our and our campers experience too be good. Sometimes people are determined to have things only their way.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
3
Google Plus
avatar for wolfenshrew

Great views, but don't expect a warm welcome if you're young...

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2010
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: - Views
    - Proximity to Bishop's Castle
    - Recycling facilities
    - Cleanliness of site and pitches
  • Disliked: We found the welcome to be quite unfriendly towards our party. We received a patronising lecture the morning after our first night due to the fact we did not stop at the house upon our arrival. We didn't do this for good reason - we arrived late evening, and our friends were already set up on their pitch and explained to the owner that we would be late. The door to the house was also closed, so we decided not to bother anyone at the late hour.

    We went down early the following morning to explain this, but were unable to do so - instead receiving a disrespectful welcome. This is not what I expect from what is advertised as a 'friendly, family-run campsite'.

    I was also put off by payment being demanded upfront for our two night stay. I am at a loss to explain what prompted this unfortunate episode, but suspect that our party was viewed with suspicion since we are all in our 20s. My friends and I are experienced campers as well as being polite, well-mannered and respectful people. We therefore do not expect to be treated in this way.

    Unfortunately, this experience did taint our trip, and would put us off visiting this site again as well as recommending it to others.

    The shower blocks were clean and well kept, but lacking in some basic respects. Annoyingly, when three people were using the showers at the same time, low water pressure reduced them to trickles. Not really good enough for a brand new shower block!

    There were no power points in the shower blocks, preventing my wife from using a hair dryer.

    There were no hand drying facilities in the toilets, meaning you had to carry a towel at all times.

    Washing-up facilities were poor. There was a hot water tap, but no covered area with sinks/drying racks etc. This is fine if you have a caravan or motorhome, but not so good if it's raining and you're staying in a small tent.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
3
Google Plus
avatar for BlokeandBird

Lovely site, beautiful views and a cracking little town

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2010
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Views
    Chilled out feel
    Able to light fires
    Walk into Bishop's Castle
    Bishop's Castle itself - the Boar's Head pub
    Plenty of space
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for raspberryqueen

I'd recommend this site to anyone - walkers, families, elderly couples like us who want to sit in the sun and enjoy a good view !

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2009
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Fantastic site, spectacular views of Shropshire hills from campsite, right on Shropshire way - brilliant for walking holidays. Friendly helpful proprietors. Lots of space for kids to run about.Pretty local town of Bishops Castle a short walk away. Bus service locally to other interesting places. Environmentally friendly shower block with recycled rainwater and solar panels. Unique and family run site.More similar plans in progress.
  • Disliked: No dislikes - I could have happily stayed here much longer, and hope to return soon.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus

<< Go back to Foxholes Castle Camping