Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Wimbleball Lake Campsite

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.0

Overall rating based on 22 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

86% would recommend this site to a friend.

86% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for joostlobe

Beautiful location, nice atmosphere.

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Great little place with a beautiful lake and amazing views. We had fun with some of the water activities and cycling around the lake.
    We had no problems using the toilets/showers. Most people complain about there only being one toilet but what most don't realize is that there are many more around the corner so they all complain and queue up for the one...



  • Disliked: -Nothing really. The camp was quite basic but you pay very little to pitch a tent.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Andrew_J1

A great camp site with good amenities and facilities

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Wimbleball is a lovely setting for a camp site with a truly awesome lake/reservoir that can be walked around (not for prams or wheelchairs etc). The active centre, adventure playground and go ape site together with the open spaces gives lots of options for children to play and for adults to try something new.

    Exmoor is an awesome place to visit if you like getting into the outdoors and walking and hiking around very hilly countryside. Amazing views can be had by following the Explorer OS map of the area or guided by using a 'Pathfinder Guide' book, however, due to the steepness of the hills these are not always family or older people friendly. Having said that there are plenty of sites, routes etc that are.
  • Disliked: The first night we was there, Monday, the staff had a BBQ in their area in a neighbouring field. Not a problem with that but I could hear their music pumping out still at gone midnight. I am no fun police but when the camp rules clearly state that there should be 'No noise' made by campers post 2300 then the staff should also follow suit.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Kela2807

Clean tidy site, stayed for 2 nights, we all enjoyed it :-)

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Site was clean and tidy, hot water available on camp site 24/7. Showers had hot water to!! Park on site which the kids loved kept them entertained at all times with there friends who we travelled with. Lovely walks around the lake.
  • Disliked: Could do with somewhere to re freeze ice blocks. The children waited all weekend to go on the high ropes as the information on the board in campsite said it was open Sunday 1-4 we went to go on them to be told it was fully booked!! 6 very unhappy children!!! Information on the board needs to be made clear!! Make sure you check out activities before you go!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

lovely setting

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: relaxed campsite family camping lots of things to do local village with local pub great weekend eventhough it was raining. coming back for childrens activity days
  • Disliked: shop on site closed a little to early
    toilets dirty may need more on site cleaners in high season
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Hottest weekend of the year - what more could you want!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was lovely and the lake brilliant. Easy to get to and well signposted. Arrived after office was closed but didn't matter as everything so laid back. We changed to the over flow camping area as the original pitches were not big enough and didn't allow us to all camp together (12 of us in total) and this was no trouble. Everyone kept to the lights out and noise rule. Luckily we were well prepared food wise as there is nothing available locally and no where local to buy anything
  • Disliked: The site could really do with more showers and toilets for the amount of people who will visit here. Toilets especially by the lake would be great so you don't have to walk all the way back to the office/shop to use them. Showers did overflow quite a bit and shame no changing room - had to change in the shower
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

We all had a fabulous time.

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Easy going site.
    The lake is beautiful.
    Overspill camping area is perfect for large groups.
    Kids loved the play park.
    Water Sports staff are very helpful.
    Ice Creams are great!

  • Disliked: The toilets and showers are limited however we didn't need to wait too long to use them.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

perfect

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything. The view, the friendly and informative green keeper, the watersports, the friendly chickens, Cleanliness, modern toilets and showers, cafe and price!
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Sarah_J1

fun packed weekend

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was very clean and well kept lots to keep kids of all ages occupied
  • Disliked: Nothing i didnt like would be going again
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Informal is fine, clueless is not fine!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location and setting is amazing. The price is also very reasonable but there is a reason for that.
  • Disliked: Booked on pitchedup.com, arrived after 5pm on Friday so nobody on site to check is in/show us to pitch etc. As the site was only about 30% occupied we found a flat pitch and put the tent up. All went well until following morning when the office told us they had no record of our booking and we would have to move to the overflow section because the site was fully booked all weekend. Having stated that it may be fully booked but it wasn't fully occupied and did we really need to decamp in 28deg heat to move 8ft, I was told yes. Saturday night there was less people on site that Friday so either a heck of a lot of people booked and failed to arrive, or more likely (as they didn't have any record of our booking) the site admin and booking arrangements are chaotic.
    As for the site itself, it has all the basics that you need, although all are limited.
    We would return for the location and price but knowing what to expect next time.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

T'was really nice, suited the purpose

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The setting/surroundings/location.
    the pitch was more than plenty big enough for us.
    The staff were really nice/ helpful.
  • Disliked: not a criticism of you, but noteworthy none-the-less:
    next time (if there is a next time) i'd like to stay longer, bring more people, and get involved with all the activities, as we booked last minute (bit of a spontaneous trip) and so didn't realise there was so much going on.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

We liked are stay at wimbleball lake

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Nice big spaces between pitches you could set up chaires and tables ect rubbish bins was well placed with water washing up area and chemical toilet nice open site with pleasant views and walks around the lake .
    helpfull members of staff on hand in teashop short walking distance the food looked nice and reasonabley priced unfortunatly we could not try any as we had already had some for the weekend in van.
  • Disliked: No shower facillity available which would have been welcome however we did not need one as our van has a fitted shower this is the only thing that i could think would improve the excellent site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Bob_Twigg

Excellent!

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Stunning views, nice large pitches. Friendly staff. Would definitely recommend to a friend!
  • Disliked: n/a
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

One of the worst - drove off to find another camp site!

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The view on driving to the campsite, but not once on it.
  • Disliked: No-one around at 5.45pm to book in and no information anywhere about where to pitch etc.

    Grass was 6-8inches long before being cut, so grass stuck to everything.

    Very, very basic.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for susu69

wkend break

(Young couple, 2 reviews, 4 photos)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The tidiness of the site
    lovely hot clean showers
    helpeful in reception (young lady had made some phone calls for us as car key got snapped in our boot and rang some places to see if could get help).

  • Disliked: the lighting up by the showers and toilets at night.only came on once close to the block.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for susu69

our stay with you

(With friends, 2 reviews, 4 photos)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the lovely views and walk around the lake such a beautitful place to stay if want the quite side of camping.

    The showers are very good and constant hot running water.

    good sized pitches

    good space for washing dishes and constant hot running water.

    And the staff were very helpfull the young lady made some phone calls for us on th esunday morning to find a locksmith due to us having broke our car key.MANY THANKS we got home safe.
  • Disliked: Didn't like that it was dark walking up to the toilets and lighting coming on once in the shower rooms and toilet.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

a truly amazing place, stunning view and definitely a must for the future!!!!!!!!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Fantastic place to camp - maybe a few more larger signposts as friends couldn't find it in the dark. Staff were brilliant - we had to call the AA and they were just amazing. Fishing really good and the play area superb - definitely a must for the summer and nicer weather!!!!
  • Disliked: slightly bumpy ground and numbers need to be redone for a lot of the pitches.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great location for a great price!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location was beautiful! A perfect escape to the country
  • Disliked: The ladies bathroom light did not work - we reported this.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Location. location, location!!! Relaxed campers and staff

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The relaxed atmosphere. The friendly and helpful staff - everyone we met and spoke to on the phone. The lake!! The walks, canoeing on the lake. The lack of light polution. The peace and quiet.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Sophie_L

Lovely campsite, good facilities.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Toilet/Shower Facilities
    Cafe and Gift Shop
    Size of pitch
    Isolated location, very scenic
  • Disliked: Weather!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Kevin_Y

Site not prepared for bank holiday

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Nice location
  • Disliked: Disgusting overflowing refuse bins
From the manager...

Unfortunately we have been trying to set up a new waste and re-cycling collection and have been badly let down by the company who promised over a month ago to bring us more bins and do our collections more frequently. I am working hard on chasing them for a response and over the weekend our staff did their best to empty bins in the camping field, bagging up waste to keep it tidy. Exmoor Area Manager

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

if you're looking for a watersports based activity centre, this is a great location

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Great pitch, soft, stone free grass. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Good, calm, enthusiastic tuition. More toilets and showers than advertised as can use the toilets and showers at the activity centre 24/7.
  • Disliked: Rain. Tent leaked. But compensated by wetsuits included with boat hire and brilliantly warm showers.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Wet weekend in Wimbleball Lake

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Compactness of the site and the peace & quiet. Great toilets and showers! Challenging 1.5 mile walk to the George Inn at Dulverton - lovely pub with great atmosphere, beer and food!
  • Disliked: Distance from our tent to the toilet block. Leaving early due to unseasonably wet weather! Never got to walk around the lake.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus

<< Go back to Wimbleball Lake Campsite