Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Parkland Caravan and Camping Site

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.7

Overall rating based on 59 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

88% would recommend this site to a friend.

89% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for malcolm_m1

great

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: stayed at Parkland caravan site Kingsbridge
    cant fault site and site manager James cant do enough to make sure you have a great stay.. he knows every thing you need to know about the area.
  • Disliked: only one thing I felt was missing was some sort of grill on floor in showers so you were not standing on wet floor whilst drying.

    but this is being picky.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for jessica_c1

Friendly and good facilities

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Toilets and showers were good , close to local town and beaches.
  • Disliked: Nothing
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay - despite the heavy rain and hail on your 1st night!
Look forward to welcoming you back.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Sue_B1

Fantastic!! Brilliant!! Friendly!! You Have To Go!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Every thing about this sight is ideal for families. No dogs! All families!
    Great facilities, Clean bathrooms (Yes Bathrooms!) great for the family.
    Owners are very friendly and welcoming. Good security. Nice little shop on sight.
    Good play area for kids. Nice beech 5 mins away.
    Definitely found our holiday place! We will recommend Parkland to all our friends.
    Thank You!
  • Disliked: Nothing!!!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for MrsMoxon

Excellent Site

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, toilets and showers were always spotless, the shop was great. The owners were very friendly. The site was very clean and tidy and the pitch sizes were good. We had a lovely time and will definitely be returning.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Alistair

We stayed for one night at the end of August

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The campsite was spotlessly clean, the showers being a particularly good example. Every thing appeared to be well organised and just as important everyone appeared to respect the campsite rules. The campsite is situated well for access to Kingsbridge, Salcombe and other lovely parts of the South Devon coastline.
  • Disliked: I don't have any criticisms of the campsie -it lived up to my expectations and I would certainly use it again.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Twobarras

Lovely small camp site, helpful staff. Nice for a short break

(Family with young children, 3 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We do not live far away from this site but decided to stay there as it meant we could visit attractions local to the campsite that we wouldnt usually visit. On arrival we were escorted to our pitch which was located near the road. This didnt bother us much, we do not live near a busy road at home but found the passing traffic noise a mere distraction. The site facilities were clean and tidy and unique in their layout. Small childrens play park which we used. Site is located near to local facilities just a short drive into Kingsbridge or the supermarket. Staff were friendly and somebody was always available if you needed them. Owner also told us when the quieter times are so that we can visit again for a long weekend break, as they are open all year round. A very nice family owned site offerring facilities for calmness, tranquility and quality family time together where you make your entertainment together as a family.
  • Disliked: Turning circles for tourers is a little tight when trying to manoever caravan into place, as tents pitched opposite and quite close. Just a niggle rather than a dislike.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Magicblanket

Lovely Site

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The whole site was lovely, clean, tidy & friendly. Booked for 5 nights & ended up staying for 6.
    James & Tracy were very friendly & helpful.
    Shower blocks always clean with plenty of hot water, Sorley stores was well stocked & fresh bread each morning was delicious.
  • Disliked: NOTHING!!!!
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, we were delighted that you extended your stay, and so pleased that your Parkland, and the lovely fresh bread from the Bakery every day.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Jonathan_B

Lovely quiet site, clean and tidy and good pitch sizes

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We thoroughly enjoyed our two week stay here. The site was just what we were looking for. Shower facilities were clean and tidy. Pleasant atmosphere on site. Shop on site with some delicious local bread. Supermarket very close by and a very good beach at Thurlestone which was not too far. James and Tracey were very welcoming and helpful. Their local knowledge was very useful when deciding where we wanted to visit. We would not hesitate to recommend to Friends and are planning to return next year.
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike.
From the manager...

Thank you for your review from your summer holiday, we were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, we will pass your comments onto the baker, and look forward to hearing from you once again.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for reynoldsnet123

Fab Site

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Clean facilities, reasonably priced shop, 3 miles from sandy beach, small friendly site. Pleasant owners.
  • Disliked: Close proximity to others.
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for ReadeM02

A nice tiday site with large pitches and good clean facilities.

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Plenty of hot showers available between two blocks. Both blocks cleaned daily. Onsite shop although limited in range, is very competitive on price. Electrical hook-ups are numerous, as are drinking water taps. A play area for the children, although small, was well maintained and used often by our youngsters! There is a supermarket just 1.5 miles away and the location is fairly central for most visitor attractions. I have reads other reviews that comment on this site being close to a main road - it is close to a road however neither myself or any of my family found the noise distracting at any point. Very nice friendly staff who are always available, and nice views across the countryside.
  • Disliked: At certain times of day you have to visit the showers several times to get in (mainly due to how busy the site was in peak). There are no mirrors! Only the mens toilet has ONE small mirror which is 4 ft off of the ground! Not the easiest place to have a decent shave!
From the manager...

Thank you for your review and comments on your stay at Parkland. I am sorry that you found the stock in the shop limited, this was our first year of having a shop and if you would like to contact us directly I will happily take any advise from you on what to stock for campers.
In regards to mirrors I think you didn't discover all the gents facilities as our personal washrooms have large mirrors.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for David_J6

Nice spot

(Mature couple, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Good pitch space, good toilets and showers, good location for looking around the lovely area, very helpful staff, handy onsite shop.
  • Disliked: We had it rather windy, it can be an exposed site.
    Had to leave the car outside the site gate as it was locked promptly at 22:00.
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, the locking of our site gates is new this year and most people have found it beneficial to not have cars driving past them on site with lights on and doors banging late at night when the children are asleep. 10.00pm may be early but we have to go to bed at some time!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Legges6

Very clean, tidy and well maintained site

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The owners were very friendly and helpful. The site itself was lovely, very well looked after, tidy, clean and well maintained. The facilities were all very good and the showers were exceptional in that there was constant hot water (unless I just struck lucky every time!). The site is very well positioned for the beaches - North and South sands were lovely. We did mackerel fishing with the children which was great fun (caught loads which you take home) and obviously did the crabbing in Kingsbridge which the children also loved.
  • Disliked: The road noise! Like many have said previously the road is noisy, not that this is the fault of the owners of course. But if you're after a quiet, peaceful and relaxing holiday this isn't the site for you. There were times when we couldn't hear each other talking for the noise of tractors and lorries speeding past. There was also a steam rally on in the field directly over the road which created yet more noise, although the live band in the evening provided a brilliant sound for us whilst sat in the awning playing cards! Also in the shop everything is to be paid for in cash which whilst wasn't a real problem for us, could eat into some peoples holiday spends. I didn't remember reading anything on their web site about this.
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, very pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and the constant hot water.
Like you say, nothing we can do about our location, but sorry that you were on a pitch backing onto the road. The shop is a new venture this year and as a small seasonal business we found it hard to justify to the costs involved in having a merchant account and credit card facilities for 12 months, when it would only be used for 3 or 4 months - but we will look at this again.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for jennicaddy

Superb facilities, very friendly owners, faultless

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The owners could not be more helpful.We arrived late afternoon after a bad experience at another site, we were shown to a level pitch with electric hook up. The grass was manicured to perfection! We couldnt believe our luck to have found such a perfect place for our first camping holiday with a 3 and 1 year old.
    W
    Pitches were spacious with a small hedge around for a bit of privacy too. The site was packed with families in tents and caravans, but at no point did we queue for showers or toilets, nor did it feel crowded or noisy.

    The site was superb value for money at £20 a night peak season. A tour of the facilities revealed spotless toilets and showers (cleaned twice daily) a well stocked shop and great play area. Waste management was simple with the purchase of a bag for non recyclables and a recycing area for glass etc. Freezers and washing machine/tumble drier were available for use during your stay.

    We could of asked for no more, it was a perfect stay and we will be back. Thank you for all your hard work.
  • Disliked: nothing at all
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, we are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Parkland. Manicured grass - James loves this comment as he works hard at keeping the grass well cared for! We look forward to welcoming you back to Parkland in the future.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for alan_c4

Nice compact small site with good facilities and friendly staff

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Free use of fridges and freezers very helpfull
    No real pitch size restrictions as such.
    Very good selection of items in shop.
    Proximitity to local shops etc. good size Tesco and Morrisons nearby.
    Not as far as we thought from Bantham, Thurlstone and other excellent Beachs.
    Free hand soap at all sinks.
    The size of the site made it more personal and not commercial as many sites become.
    Free electric
    Good online deal prices
  • Disliked: -WASPS - lots of them attracted to hedges on site.
    -Very quiet road during the day but at night it was quite busy and noisy
    -Play park was too close to the road
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed stay, but disappointed to read that you would not visit us again.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for angieferris14

Outstanding site. Very family friendly

(Family with young children, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The facilities were exceptionally clean. The children's play area was great. The shop was well stocked and reasonably priced. James and Tracy were lovely hosts and nothing was too much trouble.
  • Disliked: NOTHING
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our facilities to be exceptionally clean, and we are doing our best at keeping our prices as reasonable as possible in the shop.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for JoyLouise1

We thouroghly enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The facilites were very good, however the washing up area which was a little snug. Showers and toilets always clean and plenty available. The onsite shop was very handy and reasonably priced. Site owners were very helpful and the site was an excellent base from which to explore the surrounding areas.
  • Disliked: The pitches were quite close together and although we had room for the car, tent and windbreakers there was not much privacy from others, especially the children which there were alot of (it was the school holidays though, so this was not too much of a surprise.)
From the manager...

Thank you for your review we are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. You will be pleased to know that we have plans to add additional washing up facilities during our winter refurbishment programme. we hope to welcome you back to Parkland in the future.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Ele_W

Loved it and we want to go back as soon as possible!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We liked everything about the campsite. It was run by very friendly and helpful people who are obviously very proud of their business. We we very impressed with the facilities especially the recently build shower block with wet rooms. Each pitch, regardless of size had a free electric hook up; we were are now going to buy our selves a power adaptor so we can have a decent light.
    The pitches were on level ground with lovely views of the South Devon country side. The camp site was perfectly placed for exploring South Hams with Kingsbridge only a mile or so away, Salcombe and Dartmouth not too far either.
    We are already planning our return trip and bringing friends with us.
    It is very family friendly and has a lovely little play area with climbing frame.

  • Disliked: Nothing!
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, we are delighted to read your lovely comments about our site, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Pretty site, nice surroundings, not recommended peak season.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Where it was situated, easy to get to and in and out of gateway. Facilites very good but too few. Pretty site with lovely views when not impeded by your neighbours.
  • Disliked: Not pleased with the distance between units, our overall pitch was a supposed to be a super pitch but as we wanted to have the awning on the grass it meant the next caravan that came in was too close to us, 13 feet to the side of his van from the nearest side of ours as he seemed to want to be on the edge of his pitch and leave the rest of his hard standing and grass the other side, this meant our awning could not be used at the front as we would have gone straight into his van window, so we had to use the side door but he was looking straight into us all the time so had to stay zipped up. We thought the minimum distance was 6 meters from one unit to the next, we were just told what was ours but it was not stepped out so that everyone was happy with the distance given. Surely this is a fire hazard as people cook in awnings also. Right to the back of us was the toilet block which can be noisey we found and the other side of us a motorhome awning which we found we needed to have our blinds down also as we looked straight at them. So no privacy whatsoever. The site was very full and disappointed tents are not kept seperate from vans and families from couples. We have been on sites where this is the case and as you get older children running around your van does not appeal to us. Facilites too few for the number on the site, there were always people waiting to get in.
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, we are obviously sorry to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay at Parkland. I wish we had known at the time as we may have been able to offer an alternative pitch for you. Our super pitches are designed for the caravan and awning to be on the hard standing, this means that all units are the appropriate distance apart. We are a caravan and camping site and during the school holidays I expect like most sites have tents and caravans and families with children who want to have fun and enjoy the freedom to play on their holidays, if they were bothering you, you could of asked them to play somewhere else, or perhaps next time chose an adults only site during the holidays.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for jason_g1

generally very pleasant stay, great value.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: electric hook up included, plenty of water points, very reasonable cost.
  • Disliked: very close pitches, you had to ring a bell and wait for someone to attend the shop, which means you can't just go and have a look and makes you feel like you've got to buy something even if what you went for isn't there.
    I waited about 5 minutes before anyone came.
    the sink in the gents is right next to the urinal which isn't nice when cleaning your teeth, and it's the only sink which isn't nice when someone wants to wash there hands after..... while you are cleaning your teeth.
From the manager...

Dear Jason, Thank you for your review, we are glad that you had a pleasant stay, but disappointed that you did not enjoy everything about Parkland.

Yes, at certain times we may have to lock the shop and ask you to ring a bell for assistance, sorry that you had to wait for one of us to appear. We try not to close the shop but in certain circumstances we do have to attend to other things around the site - perhaps showing a new arrival to pitch, or restocking toilet rolls or even just popping into our home for our lunch. We would certainly not expect anyone to buy something that they didn't need!

With regards to the proximity of the urinal and wash hand basin - yes, the wash hand basin is there for some one to wash there hands after using the facilities, I am sorry that you were not able to clean your teeth in private in the individual or family washrooms.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Slavka_S

Feedback

(Family with young children, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: All wash facilities, quiet evenings and nights, other people there, friendly environment, location was great, close to town Kingsbridge,
  • Disliked: everything was fine.
From the manager...

Thank you for our 10 out 10 review...we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and the quiet nights!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for robj

Best campsite we've ever stayed at!!

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Clean showers, free hot water, family bathrooms, great for the kids. Lovely to not have set pitches, free electric, lovely setting, great friendly owners.
  • Disliked: Nothing
From the manager...

Thank you so much for your review, 10 out of 10..what can we say - we certainly pride ourselves on our facilities and really glad that the children enjoyed themselves.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely, quiet, little site.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Friendly and helpful owners/staff.
    tidy and well maintained.
    Kids liked the play park.
    Shop well stocked and reasonably priced.
  • Disliked: Our stay wasn't long enough.
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Parkland and of course our new addition of the onsite shop...look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

simply best

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: great place to stay short drive to the beaches, friendly place and very helpful owners and EXCELLENT FACILITIES
    i am going back in September
  • Disliked: nothing to dislike
From the manager...

Thank you so much for your review, really pleased that enjoyed your stay and our facilities, look forward to seeing you in September...

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

It was the first time we had used this web site and the campsite we ch

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The welcome e got from the owners, kay and James started the weekend off well. we booked the day before and found everything ready for us when we arrived. We had the choice of pitches and the toilet and shower blocks we very clean with ample toilet paper!!!. We had the use of a fridge and freezer which proved vital as the weather was great.
    We were able to walk to Kingsbridge from the site. It took about 40 minutes but was handy as the Kingsbridge gala week was on.
  • Disliked: Nothing
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, if we can we will always give people a choice of pitches, and toilet paper I would certainly hope that we never ran out! As the fridge freezers have proved to be very busy with all this hot weather.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for ShellyDevon

Excellent Site

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We stayed at this fabulous site for 5 nights - arriving at the start of the glorious sunny weather. I would highly recommend this site if you want peace and quiet. Its lovely with fantastic views. Its a small site but also very spacious. We have a pretty big tent with a side extension and we also took a large gazebo and we had plenty of room. There are plenty of electric hook up points and the site is very flat and very well looked after. Wherever you are at the site, both the amenity blocks, water etc are all so close by ! No having to walk miles to take a shower. On that point, the two shower blocks were great. There is a new block which in the ladies had 3 individual shower rooms, with a toilet and sink in each. I was delighted that there was no push button shower that trickled out but a lovely powerful shower that you turned on and off (very rare nowadays). The old shower block was just as good with the powerful showers. There were two large family rooms as well, which I sometimes used to myself when there was nobody else there! There are also very good disabled facilities. There is are washing and drying facilities and use of a large fridge and freezer.

    The little shop had fresh bread/rolls etc delivered every day and plenty of fresh produce all at very reasonable prices. I would highly recommend this site and we fully intend using it again.

    It's in a very convenient location, not far from lots of different beautiful places to visit, not to mention a Tesco and Morrisons just over a mile away !
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike apart from the sounds of snoring from other tents but thats camping for you !
From the manager...

Thank you so much for your review...10 out of 10! and thank you for the comprehensive review, this really helps other people make a decision on where to stay, hopefully at Parkland after reading your review.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Friendly site with clean facilities - We enjoyed our stay

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We had a level pitch near the entrance to the camping field away from the road-noise.
    Free electric hook-up.
  • Disliked: Nothing disliked enough to mention here
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, really pleased that you enjoyed your stay

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Very well located, clean and friendly site

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The campsite was small but well laid out, the owners were very helpful. The facilities were very clean and easily accessible from all of the site (they seemed to be cleaned at least twice a day). The shop on site sells a range of everyday items and everything is very reasonably priced. The site is very well located close to Kingsbridge (fantastic for crabbing! you can buy equipment for £5 at the crabshell in) and there are lots of fantastic beaches, towns and villages very close by as well as many attractions to visit. We stayed for 3 nights and have fallen in love with this part of Devon - we will be making a return visit!
  • Disliked: The wind! It was very hot but very windy - to be fair you can't control the weather but you would be wise to take hard ground pegs to ensure your tent doesnt blow away! :)
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, delighted to hear that you have fallen in love with part of the country.
We hope to welcome you back to Parkland - on a less windy day - hopefully!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely site very clean and quiet nice setting.

(Solo traveller-male, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The toilet and shower block was a pleasure to use better than some b&b I have stayed at all so clean and well maintained.
    Everybody was so helpful and the site shop was well stocked.
    Also a great little pub just a mile down the road in village.
    I would use this site again no problem.


  • Disliked: Nothing
From the manager...

Thank you for your 10 out of 10 review, we are so pleased that we are doing something right! Why should campsite facilities not be better than a B&B - this is most probably one of the main attractions for most campers - modern, clean facilities with lots of hot water!
Hope to welcome you back...

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Amelia_C0

Great site, good facilities and lovely owners

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Situation, views, shop, quietness, fellow campers/caravaners, local pubs and towns
  • Disliked: Windy at times, but not so bad we had to relocate.
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, really pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at Parkland, and the area.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Fantastic site. Clean throughout! All facilities you would need.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The shop! So reasonable and selling everything you could need!
  • Disliked: The fact you need a green bag costing a pound to dispose of rubbish although I understand this is for the environment! And can't really fault them for that!
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, really pleased that you found the shop useful and reasonably priced. Yes, we do charge additional for waste disposal - with our green bags you can place everything in it (except glass, which we have a bin for) and then it is recycled for you.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Good

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Nice pitches and a good base for exploring if you have a car
    Shop very good too
  • Disliked: Far too much noise from main road ... And before anyone says it can't be helped, it is constant
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, sadly nothing we can do about our location!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Well appointed family run site

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The range of facilities was very comprehensive. No entertainment but that was not a requirement for us. Plenty of room to pitch our tent and park car. No intrusion from site owners/managers. All showers and toilets were very clean. A well stocked shop at very reasonable prices. The number of very scenic towns within a short drive.
  • Disliked: The proximity of a fairly busy main road to our pitch - about 30 metres.
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, and for mentioning our on site shop and our reasonable prices, this is something that we are passionate about - supplying local produce and every day essentials with a price that is as good as the supermarkets...

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Well run camp site

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: in general camp site location and the site. Toilets/showers very clean excellent supply of hot water, over all very good.
  • Disliked: nothing
From the manager...

Thank you for your review...our water is always hot, nothing worse than a tepid shower!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excelent all round

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything, it was all good, no complaints at all. The on site shop is fantastic, priced very reasonable, has a very good selection of what you may require. The toilet/shower blocks are fantastic, always clean and always piping hot water what ever the time of day, showers are powerful if you like or soft a gentle, fully controllable. The grounds are in kept in good order and are clean and tidy at all times. The only thing I would say is the site is close to a road and you do get traffic noise now and again, however it caused us no distress over our stay. The site is in a good spot with nice views, local village about a mile away has a nice pub with a good selection of beverages, and food. The nearest town is easy to get to and has all the usual shops and services.

    Overall I would recommend this site to all and would defiantly stay again if I where in the area. Well done Parkland, first class.
  • Disliked: Nothing at all.
From the manager...

10 out of 10...Thank you for much for your review and all your comments regarding our facilities, we do certainly try hard to provide you with a 'first class' service and amenities.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely family run site

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location (although close to a slightly busy road) lovely country side.
    Wash facilities
    Shop and playground etc
    Nice size pitches and not too busy
  • Disliked: We were pitched on the front on the field next to the road so a little noisey.
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

short stay

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: second time have been to camp site, great site not to busy, very helpful only there for three days but weather was fantastic, very nice rest thanks....
  • Disliked: none
From the manager...

2nd visit...look forward to welcoming you back for your 3rd...

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Stayed here for 3 nights and had an amazing time!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Campsite had all facilities that we required, we were able to walk to the nearest towns and enjoyed a number of nice meals from the loacl pubs and restaurants. The beaches were only a short drive away and the views were fantastic.
  • Disliked: There weren't any bin or recycling facilities on site.
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, the inland footpath is a real advantage to be able walk to Kingsbridge and enjoy some great meals.

We do have a glass bin for recycling, and we recycle for you - with our green bag system our private waste disposal company recycles for you.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Jason_B0

Great friendly camp site with a lovely shop

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Large flat pitches, well kept site, family friendly.

    Enough space between pitches for some privacy, within easy reach of amenities. A play area that the children enjoyed, along with a small games room.

    Friendly owners, who took an interest in us, providing suggestions and help with activities to do.

    Well stocked shop with lots of local produce, reasonably priced which saved us tripping to the supermarket.

    Loved our stay, hoping to come again soon!
  • Disliked: Nothing, we enjoyed our stay.
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We will always do our best for our customers to ensure that you not only enjoy Parkland, but the whole area and what there is to see and do, and we are so proud of our new little shop and at being able to offer you local produce, at hopefully very competitive prices!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Nice site, clean and tidy, good facilities and welcoming owners

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The owners were very pleasant and welcoming. They helped me out with a booking issue which was my fault and made the whole experience very easy.

    The site is clean, tidy and peaceful with a spotless shower/toilet block. Would definately stay again and handy being only 1 mile from the centre of Kingsbridge.

    Regards Andy Croker
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike other than the weather but that was not there fault!!
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, we were obviously more than happy to accommodate the changes to reservation. Thank for mentioning our spotless showers and toilets - this is something that is extremely important to us. we hope to welcome you back in the future (on the correct day!) and we will try better with the weather!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Simple and small, excellent and clean wash/toilet facilities

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: fantastic location for local beaches and town's.
    A small camp site with very friendly owners, well stocked small onsite shop. All facitilites excellently maintained
  • Disliked: If the site was busy i think you could feel a little on top of each other.
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, we love our location with the views over Kingsbridge and the top of Salcombe, and being near to Bantham beach is an added bonus. Our shop is new this year and we are doing our best to stock everything that you could need on a camping holiday, as well as being as competitive as possible. Please be assured we do not over book our pitches, but the site can get busy during school holiday periods.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for mark1maz

Relaxed and easy atmosphere , very clean and tidy site.

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: very clean and homely site would highly recommend to family and friends
    we found the owner more then helpful james and his wife made our stay very easy good and enjoyable.
    This is the second time we have stayed here and without doubt we will come back again and again 10 out 10 a BIG THANKS James
  • Disliked: Nothing every thing was great again
From the manager...

Thank you so much for your review, 10 out of 10, wow. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Parkland, we certainly try our best to ensure everyone enjoys their stay as well as having clean and tidy facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
James and Tracey

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Good

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The campsite
  • Disliked: Nothing
From the manager...

Thank you for liking our campsite, we really hope that you did enjoy your stay with us.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for robsouth

Excellent, great welcome, lovely site

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We, as a family liked nearly everything about Parkland. James was very welcoming and obviously passionate about Parkland and the area. He gave us a couple of options to pitch our rather large family tent, we were given some local guides which certainly helped with picking the best beach, and somewhere for dinner after the day travelling. Amongst the brochure was a info leaflet on the site and yes, it had a few rules, but I guess that should help to make for a good stay for everyone.

    The site appears well maintained, the grass was very well kept, and showers were spotless and lots of hot water - we liked the larger ones as room to sort the kids out. There is a small shop and James explained this was new for this season. It had a good stock, all the basics you could need when camping, and to be honest it appeared to be resonably prices you could even get a takeaway coffee.
  • Disliked: Not much really, perhaps seating around playarea to make it more comfy to watch the children
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for mentioning seating in the play area - a great idea and something we will look into organising. Hope to welcome you back in the future.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely, clean site.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very friendly site with lovely views. The facilities are very good, clean, hot water - great showers! There is an offer on in June and what was already a very reasonable charge for the site became an excellent one!
  • Disliked: Not really a dislike as such but as we were only there for one night we were allocated a space and I would have preferred to have been in the back field where the views are much nicer and you have that wide-open space feeling.

    An issue for 'Pitch-up' is the instructions that came via the Pitch-up booking site i.e. google. They weren't all that great and I recommend that people using your link use an alternative.
From the manager...

Thank you for your review and for mentioning how good the showers are! But, I am sorry to read that you were not happy with your allocated pitch - please, next time always tell us as I am sure we could have provided an alternative pitch for you...and I will look into the pitchup.com directions.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for james_c2

Lovely campsite in a great location

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Friendly welcome from owner who supplied lots of useful info about surrounding area. Site fairly quiet so we were directed to a field and were free to pitch where we liked - all electric hook up. Although, there is a busy road nearby we weren't bothered by the traffic noise from where we were in the middle field. There are brand new facilities with under floor heating but, unfortunately, were not quite ready for us to use. However, existing toilet & shower block perfectly ok, basic but clean with plenty of hot water. Shop well stocked with local produce and fairly priced. Great location for visiting Kingsbridge, Salcombe, Slapton Sands, Blackpool Sands & Hope Cove - well worth a visit.
  • Disliked: All in all a great site. Just a few small things. On entering the site there were a few caravans that seemed to be on a seasonal let - the area looked a little untidy bearing in mind this was the first impression on entering the site. We were a little apprehensive until we turned the corner to the touring fields. Also, the doors to the facilities were not clearly marked which caused some confusion as the washing up area is in the same building as the ladies toilet & shower block!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

excellent holiday enjoyed by whole family.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location was great, very clean site, beaches close by, the owners were very friendly.
  • Disliked: No land fill waste disposal. Not really that much of an issue as there were plenty of bins around in nearby villages.
From the manager...

Dear Stuart C.
Thank you for your review and your comments, we love our location, especially with being so close to the beaches at Bantham and Thurlestone.

I guess we do have a rather unusual waste disposal system, especially as we ask for a £1.00 per bag (costs us a lot more than that!), but we do find this works for us as you can all place everything in our bags, so no confusion as to what should go into what bin etc...and this does ease the situation on local landfill sites and avoids us having smelly overflowing bins - 87% of the refuse you place in one of our green bags is recycled...we all try to do our bit!

I hope to welcome you back to Parkland in the future...

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for simonsellick14

very helpfull staff, level site

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: very clean shower blocks,
    level site with 16Amp supply,
    good location to various tourists spots, owner was very helpful in directing to good places to visit.

  • Disliked: nothing really good value for money. would stay here again.
From the manager...

Dear simonsellick14
Thank you for your review, it has been so lovely to hear that everyone who stayed with us over the half term period has had such a good holiday in this area, and yes, there is lots to see and do...and I really do hope to see you again at Parkland.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Darren_T

Week stay at clean and welcoming site - even stayed an extra night

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Cleanliness of the site in general. The toilet block was cleaned twice a day, facilities were modern and accessible. Showers were hot and constant, no having to keep pressing the button or putting 50p in to have a shower Tent pitches were large and grass well kept Site owners friendly and helpful
  • Disliked: Quality of the wifi speed, paid £5 donation for the week but speed was between 0.01mbps and 1.1 Mbps which at times struggled to load a web page.
From the manager...

Dear Darren_T
Thank you for your review and for all your positive points - we love our showers, there is nothing worse than slow tepid water or coin meters when you are camping!
I am sorry to hear about the wifi issue, this was something that I was unaware of and I will now investigate to see if we can improve the system - and yes all the donations for wifi use are donated to a local charity - last year we raised over £500 for the community bus.
we look forward to welcoming you back to Parkland in the future - hopefully with better wifi!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Frances_H

Well run site

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Almost level pitches, clean faciities, friendly and helpful owner, good showers.
  • Disliked: Washing facilities were a little low for numbers of campers. Exposed to wind. Proximity of main road.
From the manager...

Dear Frances_H
Thank you for your review, I guess you stayed last Monday night, it was a particularly rough night, but I think that was the only one last week. We are located on the A381, and a lot of people do prefer this as it does give very easy access. Thank you for mentioning our clean facilities and good showers, we certainly try very hard to ensure all our facilities are of a high standard.
We hope to welcome you back to Parkland in the future.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for AJ

Excellent

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Mar 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This site is has everything we needed for our stay.
    Beautiful views,excellent facilities,lovely hot and powerfull showers,clean toilets,washing up area,nice small laundry room.
    This is a very friendly site with a very helpfull owner who comes around daily to check everything is ok.
    The site is well lit with sensor lighting.Good ground drainage and ample room for manoeuvrability.
    And to add to all this there is now a shop on site with all goods catered for including a coffee bar.
    We really enjoyed our stay and will be useing this site again
  • Disliked: Did not find any dislikes
From the manager...

Dear AJ, thank you for your review, and sorry it has taken so long to respond! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Parkland, and yes the new shop and coffee bar have a been fantastic addition for us. We do hope to welcome you back in the future, perhaps during this lovely weather.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for David_J1

Potential but listed facilities non-existent at the moment

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Clean and tidy site. Grass very good. Electric supply good. Good location for the area and Kingsbridge only a short drive with two big supermarkets.
  • Disliked: Children's play area was a building site. New toilet block facilities appeared to be a long way from completion. Never found the games room, tried all the doors but they were locked and had no entry on them. Poor lighting, hard to find way back from toilet block in the dark. No heating on in men's block and not very good in ladies either. Ladies toilet not signed until you are in the washing up/family shower area. Very tiny washing up area with two sinks but only one person could fit in at any time. Really strange rubbish policy which, I think, should have been detailed on booking. I appreciate recycling and would welcome sorting my rubbish but am not willing to pay £1.00 for a bag from reception. Being in a caravan and cooking for a family you need to get rid of rubbish regularly. I would not have wanted to store waste overnight in the van so the bag is quite useless and costly. Very windy site
From the manager...

Thank you for posting a review on pitchup.com, and of course we are very sorry to read that you didn't fully enjoy your Parkland exprience, and also sorry that you felt unable to bring various points to our attention during your stay.

Yes, the winter months are a refurbishment time, and due to the very wet conditions a couple of weeks ago we are now behind schedule. I believe your booking was made via pitchup.com and in hindsight we should of asked them to change our listing to mention winter refurbishments. It was a late decision this year to refurb and landscape the playarea, and again due to the weather perhaps a project we wished we hadnt started as we havent been able to get the new equipment in.

I am sorry that you did not find our small games room, but there was obviously one door that you didnt try! You could have just asked us. And yes some doors are locked with no entry signs, these will lead into our private house areas or into boiler/storage areas which are kept locked as per health & safety requirements.

With regards to the heating in ladies and gents - a BIG THANK YOU for bringing this to my attention, I am just sorry it was not sooner. I called my plumber to the site today and he has found a problem with the thermosatic control and this has now been rectified.

All the lights in the facilities and on the pathway around the bungalow that you use to access the facilities are on a motion/light sensor system (energy saving). As soon as the light fades this evening I will ensure I go and check everyone - they were all working a couple of nights ago as I regular go and check around the site to make sure that everything is ok and all the facility doors are closed to keep the heat in. Due to our rural location in an area of outstanding natural beauty there are restrictions regarding causing light pollution, so the main open camping areas do not have any lights. We find that campers prefer this, the kids love flashing torches etc..and many find it nice to get away from street lighting and enjoy being able to see the stars.

On trying to answer all your comments, I guess I can only say that perhaps the Indoor dishwashing area is small with only two sinks, and again sorry that our large outdoor sink area was not available due to the refurb work. It was also remiss of me on your arrival to not point out where the main ladies facilities are.

As i am sure you can appreciate waste disposal and recycling are big environmental issues in all counties across the country and is a continuous problem, but we have found over the last 3-4 years that this system does work for us and I am sorry that you were unable to access the terms & conditions on our website where it does state that additional charges apply. On reflection we perhaps need to send everyone that makes a booking a full copy of our t&c's, as again this states that we reserve the right to alter or amend site facilities without prior notice.

A lot of our customers are repeat visitors and it is disappointing that you feel that you would not return to our site. Parkland is our passion and we have great pride in our AA 5 pennant status. As a gesture of goodwill I would be pleased to offer you a complimentary two night stay at a mutually conveinent time this year at Parkland, so please do contact me if you decide to give us another go for a caravan holiday. Should you decide to visit again I will say that unfortunately unseasonal and adverse weather conditions including the wind are beyond my control!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
3
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Fine, but somewhat restricted facilities because of end of peak season. Torrential rain necessitated call-out of recovery service to winch motorhome off grass pitch even though only gently sloping

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Oct 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: staff - friendly and helpful
  • Disliked: steep entrance pull-off from main road
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

There for a week, never been camping before.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: How clean the facilities were, especially the showers. Witnessed the cleaner everyday sorting it all out so always tidy. Especially liked the family bathroom area where the toilet and shower were together, little things but this was convenient. Liked the number of electric hook ups and being able to choose where we were ourselves. Kingsbridge is very good, with lots of restaurants and facilities.
  • Disliked: How it was on the peak of a hill and so very windy. There was no information on location and would have been handy to know this instead of having to find out on arrival. Yet not a lot can be done about this so thats all there was on the negative side.
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your first camping experience. We pride ourselves on our high standard of cleanliness in the facilities, alot of time, care and attention is required throughout everyday. We are sorry to hear that you experienced some windy weather, it not always windy, but it can seem worse in a tent sometimes anad we hope to welcome you back once again...

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for alistair_m

Campsite really exposed to high winds and near the main road

(Family with older children, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Clean hot showers

    Good location for Kingsbridge
  • Disliked: Wind - really exposed with little shelter - so tent took a battering and difficult to sleep at night.

    Also very close to main road so lots of traffic noise.
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Parkland this summer. Unfortunately during your stay we did experience some inclement weather, and yes it did get windy, but we were lucky not be washed away like some local sites. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our clean hot showers, we feel this is a really important aspect for anyone camping. I am sorry that you feel that you are unlikely to return to Parkland, but do hope you continue to enjoy camping, and should you change your mind you are always very welcome back.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
4
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Good value for money with decent facilities

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location to town centre (including two major superstores - useful for obtaining supplies)

    Toilet and shower facilities (clean)

    Good ground drainage because higher up

    Good electrical connection

    Pleasant staff
  • Disliked: Site a little windy at times
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, its really nice to know you enjoyed your stay and would visit us again despite the weather you exprienced over the bank holiday!
We are lucky that our ground does drain very well, and with regards to our facilities we would be extremely upset if they are not clean (this was hard work though over the weekend with all the rain, mud and grass!). We look forward to welcoming you back to Parkland during calmer weather!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Jon_L

Excellent site with lovely grass and good facilities

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: everything
  • Disliked: nothing
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear you like our grass!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future...

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

good holiday

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: well maintained and well drained flat pitch with free electric
  • Disliked: nothing
From the manager...

Thank you for your review. Yes, we are very lucky that we are a flat site with excellent ground drainage, especially after the rain this past week! We hope to welcome you back to Parkland in the future.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for brian5

fantastic location beautiful site stunning views of river and the moors

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: May 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: large hard standing more than enough room for my double axle van plus awning .
    super pitches have 16amp mains supply, personal water supply, waste water drainage on each pitch and waste water pipe can be connected directly to the drain for longer stays. the views are the best Devon can offer straight down to Salcombe in one direction and the hills of Dartmoor in the other. Plenty of space between caravans/tents. Great location for touring . Prices very reasonable James the site owner always available to help, a quiet peaceful site,child friendly but without all the noise of club houses etc.

  • Disliked: nothing
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our 'super pitches' are very popular so please make sure you reserve one at the time of booking. We hope to welcome you back to Parkland.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Jean_W

Lovely campsite and owner

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Good sized pitches with free electricity.
    Lots of information provided on arrival.
    Very well kept site
    Hot showers
  • Disliked: No rubbish bins, recycle bags available at a small cost.
    Close to road but not too noisy
From the manager...

Thank you for your review and your positive feedback, we pride ourselves on our generous pitches, and there is nothing worse than a tepid shower! We look forward to welcoming you back...

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus

<< Go back to Parkland Caravan and Camping Site