Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Calloose Caravan Park

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

7

Overall rating based on 12 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

66% would recommend this site to a friend.

58% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for steve_t

This campsite wasn't for us only stayed two nights rather than a week.

(Family with young children, 2 reviews, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: ...
  • Disliked: No life guard in the pool area and no control.
    The food in the club house.
    The one small domestic hand dryer servicing one whole toilet and shower block.
    The lack of space at the pitches.
From the manager...

There is no life guard at the pool as the pool is 5ft deep and is no legal requirement, The pool is clearly sighed with rules and panic buttons. No children are allowed in the pool area unless they are with an adult. If anyone has any problems tell us at the time and we will do every thing we can.
The minimum size pitch is 28ft however most are much larger if you have a large unit or require a larger pitch it is best to give us a call and we always will accommodate you where possible

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
4
Google Plus
avatar for Wavey

Crammed in like sardines, poorly maintained facilities.

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The childrens play area looked lovely, until we discovered parts of that were in poor repair and dangerous. Leaving was the highlight for us.....
  • Disliked: We were really disappointed when we arrived at the campsite. Reception was scruffy, untidy and disorganised with a poor welcome. We always choose our sites carefully and look for a 4 or 5* rating. The pitches were very close together with no thought for where people would park their cars. All that we could see from our caravan was other caravans and cars, not even the grass area in front of us!!

    We found lots of things to be in a state of poor repair. We couldn't even fill our water carrier at the tap as the brass tap handle had been stolen. Overall it was not a place I would recommend and we certainly would not go back.

From the manager...

I am only aware of a swing which bent after two teenagers stood on it swinging. It is for small children. Soon as it was reported a new one was ordered and it was replaced up on arrival.

The minimum size pitch is 28ft however most are much larger if you have a large unit or require a larger pitch it is best to give us a call and we always will accommodate you where possible

During peak times there are 135 families on the park if anything is broken of vandalised we rectify it as soon as we are made aware. As a family run site we put are heart and sole into calloose and have many happy family’s return year after year. We always endeavour to make everyone feel welcome and have a great holiday.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
2
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Site was small and friendly.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Plenty of hot water and showers were good. Good facilities for washing up etc. Always clean. Pitches were mostly on the flat and there were plenty of access points for water/electricity. Family environment. Play park for small children. BBQ allowed. Dogs allowed (although we did not take ours). On site small outdoor pool. Owners allowed us to select an alternative pitch as the one allocated was not great.
  • Disliked: Entrance to site is difficult especially if you meet someone with a caravan going the other way - bends in the driveway so you are not able to see if there is anyone coming. Also on site there was no one-way system and so manoeuvring could be difficult at times. Vans parked sideways on in pitches as well as end on - good flexibility but made it difficult to park with large caravan/vehicle. Games room had activities but pins missing from bowling so could not play; all table tennis bats had been stripped of the rubber; balls missing from pool tables. Such a shame.
From the manager...

thanks for the review
If any thing in the games room is missing we have spares in reception . How ever kids will be kids and like picking, pealing and stuffing sweet wrapers down the pool table pocket. We sell table tennis sets for £2-75 for two bats and thee balls in the shop and the bar and do not supply them. The games room is inspected
to put wright these problems through out the day or report any problem to a member of staff and it will be sorted straight away.
If you like to play pool there is also a tornament table in the bar

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for beasley1

50

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: where the site was situated, not too far from beaches.
    staff were very helpful, pool was excellent.
  • Disliked: the lack of cleanliness in the so called luxury number 12 holiday van, the shower tray was very dirty and needed resealing ,cooker grease everywhere never been cleaned by the looks of it., top of the microwave was covered in dust as was the top of the headboard's in bedrooms, also dust on top of electric switches. the pull out bed in the lounge was not usable because of dead fly's and dirt. and an item of clothing left from previous occupants. it only rained once whilst we were there on that day we could not go in the kitchen area without getting wet from the leaking ceiling vent.. from past experience we would not call this van luxury.
From the manager...

Cleanliness is a number one priority at Calloose. The vans are cleaned and inspected. I can only think that some how the van had not been inspected.To make sure this never happened again we have added an extra final inspection before any keys are given out

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
2
Google Plus
avatar for rowan123

late night noise kept kids awake

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Kids loved the play area. Staff helpful on arrival.
  • Disliked: Like most sites we were given rules on late night noise, these were not enforced and there was an unacceptable level of noise, shouting, screaming and swearing from teenagers on the play area until well after dark. In addition, the site was dominated by the club which offers incredibly loud entertainment until nearly midnight almost every night. Not what we expected from a site that advertises itself as family friendly. Not the relaxing break we were hoping for.
From the manager...

I am sorry to here about the noise during your stay. A new night warden was employed from the last week in July as we were let down on 15th to the 21st July. We had no noise complaints all of the rest of the summer. All I can do is apologize if any would have been aware, I would have done my upmost to sort this straight away. The doors of the club are normally kept shut which stops the noise from Travelling I made all the staff aware not to keep them open

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for John_R5

lovely site with superb facilitiers including a swimming pool

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: facilities, swimming pool, very helpful staff, quiet at night time for kids to sleep
  • Disliked: nothing - it was perfect
From the manager...

thank you

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

went for one week stayed for 2

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: quality site , everything to hand , pretty central for visiting local attractions , friendly staff , quality showers ,
  • Disliked: nothing really to dislike
From the manager...

Thank you

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great site, very friendly, well maintained.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Great location. Easy travel to all tourist attractions in the area. Excellent facilities, well maintained and clean.

    Very quiet and peaceful.
  • Disliked: Nothing
From the manager...

thank you

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

fantastic family holiday in tent

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: on arrival owner helped us with pitching tent and even lent us an extension cable for electric hook up free of charge

    site was spotlessly clean including showers and toilet blocks and swimming pool

    was excellent value for money had everything we could of wanted at a fraction of the price some of the big sites have charged us

    geographically in a fantastic position to travel to various destinations and beaches

    would reccomend to all booking today for another stay in august this year
  • Disliked: nothing apart from having to leave and go back home
From the manager...

thank you

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Fantastic site and facilities

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site team and management couldn't do enough for you, very helpful and willing when asked.
  • Disliked: Nothing.
From the manager...

thank you

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Billt

excellent site

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Found this site a few years ago, we come back every year, this site is family run and found them very pleasant and helpful. The site is very clean toilets and showers are cleaned regular through out the day, site has a club and has different acts and fun games etc,The outdoor pool is heated and it is quite warm,even though i don`t use it myself the kids seem to love it.This is a site that you don`t want to miss out on your travel`s. 9/10
  • Disliked: site would get 10/10. but the beer isnt free!
From the manager...

thanks you

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for johnchadd1

Lodge was excellent

(Extended family, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2010
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The size of the rooms.
    Elevated position / views great.
    Master bedroom /ensuite.
    Bedrooms full-size singles.
    Family bathroom.
    40-inch telly was great.
    This unit also had a dishwasher.
    Overall super accommodation.
  • Disliked: Picnic table on balcony a bit small.
From the manager...

thank you hope to see you again. ill get some table and chairs many thanks john

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus

<< Go back to Calloose Caravan Park