Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Barcdy Touring Caravan & Camping Park

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

9.4

Overall rating based on 26 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

100% would recommend this site to a friend.

96% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for ian_d6

Superb

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Stayed here as a couple and we haven't a bad word for the place. Great pitch overlooking the estuary on to portmerrion. Site is very well kept, facilities are very clean with great showers and the owners were very friendly.

    Highly recommend.
  • Disliked: None
From the manager...

Thank you for taking the trouble to write this review and thank you for staying with us. Pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for simon_y0

quiet out the way site. good value .

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the site was very clean and tidy through out. owners very nice and helpful. great location to get away from it all. just needed transportation to get about as nearest shop was 4 miles away due to bridge being repaired. will be back in the future.
  • Disliked: nothing
From the manager...

Thank you for taking the trouble to write this review and thank you for staying with us. We are very aware of the inconvenience of the lack of a bridge across the estuary and the difference it will make for our guests this coming season. However, when the new bridge is completed, well in time for next year's season, it will make the journey from here to Porthmadog a very easy one. Thank you for being so patient and we look forward to seeing you back in the future.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for foxfamily

Excellent family campsite

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very clean with wonderful hot clean showers
  • Disliked: Not being able to stay longer!!!!!! - Not the campsites fault!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for FrancoEnglish

Delightful campsite

(Family with older children, 1 review, 5 photos)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely setting with views over the estuary and hills, but well protected from the wind ( when we were staying).
    Beautifully maintained .
    Great central hill for kids to explore, A few basic tyre swings to give it a rustic hedge.
    Excellent facilities, always spotless, whenever we went there. Never had to queue, ( even during August Bank holiday when the campsite was full), always had hot water. Very well thought facilities with plenty of hooks, folding seats, baskets, baby baths, etc.
    Free access to fridge and freezer + free phone, camera, tablet, computer charging facility.
    Very friendly and helpful owners
    Best campsite so far.
  • Disliked: Never met midges before but I was personally introduced to the pests the last two evenings. Probably a pay off for lovely weather during the days, so I guess I should not complain.

    Would be nice to have some milk for sale for people not so organised as we are.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely location, clean and spacious

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very nice campsite and we could pitch up where ever we liked. There were plenty of toilets and showers and these were very clean.
  • Disliked: Only downfall was that they do not provide milk, bread etc.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Jabs

Fab campsite

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This camp was superb lovely and clean and very relaxing. All the amenities were great and the forestry was lovely.
  • Disliked: The weather it rained and rained with gale force winds
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Clean, quiet, friendly

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very clean washing facilities, laundry facilities.
    Friendly manager/staff
    Quiet campsite
    Surrounding countryside
    Access to fridge & freezer
    Safe for young children
  • Disliked: Slow expensive internet access £4/day.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for lisadparker1

Good location for exploring the area, clean and tidy site

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: A very friendly welcome from the owner, advice given on travelling around. Pitches were a good size, first super pitch we'd stayed on n it was great. The site is very quiet and peaceful. It is located in a lovely area with trees behind and views out over the estuary the other way. The whole area was kept immaculate and the shower block was very clean, spacious with hot water always.
  • Disliked: Nothing really to dislike except the midges as soon as the sun went down which is just nature. Just take insect spray n citronella candles!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Peter_H3

Lovely place

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We really enjoyed our stay, the owners of the campsite were so helpful, without being in any way intrusive, will definitely go back. lovely peaceful place


  • Disliked: I loved everything
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

An excellent site, to be thoroughly recommended.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The fully serviced, gravel pitches are spacious and reasonably separated, with beautiful, West facing views over the estuary. The toilets/washrooms/showers are well maintained and the staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful, even assisting us to get onto our pitch.
  • Disliked: Nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Quiet and clean, well looked after site.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location and space were great and the facilities were more than adequate.
  • Disliked: The midges and the birds in the morning but you have to expect this.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for kjohns

a fantastic site, clean with lots of room, quiet, relaxing and safe

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: In a lovely countryside setting with easy access to lots of things to do with family. Swimming and rock climbing at Harlech pool and a fabulous beach and a great base for days out. Enjoyed Barmouth as a traditional seaside town. Kids were free to play and explore without fear of them disturbing other campers. Excellent facilities which were well maintained. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Can't wait to come back!
  • Disliked: Nothing. Perfect!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for denitsaivanova79

Our first camping ever with our two children

(Family with young children, 3 reviews, 3 photos)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: It is a fantastic place to relax and to enjoy the nature. The camping is well protected with all of the necessary things including clean toilets and showers. Very friendly reception staff. There are plenty of interesting historical places to visit and at the end of the day you can feel and smell the taste of sea, grass and fresh air. Our children loved the camping and are ready for the next one.
  • Disliked: I disliked nothing about the camping site, as I very much enjoyed it.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for denitsaivanova79

Our first camping ever with our two children

(Family with young children, 3 reviews, 3 photos)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: It is a fantastic place to relax and to enjoy the nature. The camping is well protected with all of the necessary things including clean toilets and showers. Very friendly reception staff. There are plenty of interesting historical places to visit and at the end of the day you can feel and smell the taste of sea, grass and fresh air. Our children loved the camping and are ready for the next one.
  • Disliked: I disliked nothing about the camping site, as I very much enjoyed it.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for zoepyatt

Lovely child family site. Gorgeous location

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The meadow area lots of space for my son to play rope swing and hills to roll down.
    Shower block clean and fold down changing tables in shower very useful. Laundry room snd use if fridge again really helpful.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for cara_p

Qiuet and peacefull. Very clean. Everything it says on tin !

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Fantastic scenery surrounding the campsite. We enjoyed a lovely walk up to the lake with the children, my youngest just made it with her little legs. Harlech just a short drive away is a must visit and Porthmadog also a fabulous town full of small shops and a lovely steam train.
  • Disliked: Only thing was, we camped high up on the hill which is quite rocky. It would be a good idea to check the tent pegs will go into the ground before you unpack or have a decent lump hammer.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Kulwant_C

Good location to visit near by attractions or stay put

(With friends, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The camp site was nice, clean and quite at night- so you can get a good night sleep. It is located in an ideal setting with great views. Located close to attractions, woodland walks and seaside.

    The facilities at the camp are very good, clean toilet blocks, showers, wash rooms and a frezeer for cool packs. Can not compare too much since I last camped 30 years ago and things have certainly changed for the better.

    The owner is very friendly and on site.
  • Disliked: The Internet WiFi connection was poor at our tent location. Mobile phone receptions is poor or no service at all- depends on service provider.

    It would be very good if the site had a shop selling or order the night before basic amenities like milk, bread, eggs etc.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Very clean and tidey with beautiful countryside surrounding camp sight

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I liked the facilities, kept very clean and tidy. Plenty of space for the kids to run round and play and the surrounding countryside is beautiful.
  • Disliked: Could do with additional flat areas to camp specially the upper camping area away from the road.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

definitely going back

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Great place and friendly helpful people. the park spreads out so you can choose to pitch up your tent in two different areas: one part is more open and probably good for kids (space for playing) the other is a bit more hidden on a hill. everything is provided: there are two buildings on the campground with a laundrette, washing up facilities, bathroom etc. all clean and well kept.
    Location of the park is great for exploring the Snowdon National Park or the peninsula and its beaches. Conwy in the north is roughly an hour drive away. We´ll probably go back already this year.
  • Disliked: -
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Richard_C3

Nice Family friendly site. Good facilities,great location,superb views

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Family friendly, location good, facilities good, view great
  • Disliked: Access road a little 'tight' for a twin axle.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

enjoyed every minute

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely campsite. Facilities really kept clean and well maintained. Cant wait to go back.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Clean,tidy,well maintained site. Nice layout.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Chris_B3

Great view, great site.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was fantastically positioned over looking the estuary. The grounds are landscaped well using local materials and plants. The pitches were level and well equipped with mains water and electricity, drainage, tv and satellite connections. There's a mix of fixed caravans and and touring pitches. The touring pitches in use all overlooked the estuary but there is an extensive field available too.

    The toilet blocks and washing facilities were completely spotless although rather chilly, mind you the weather was freezing!

    We arrived and were shown to our pitch, we stayed until we were ready to leave and sought out our hosts to pay. They were always busy but were very friendly.
  • Disliked: Everything was great but perhaps the wifi that is available could be set up so that you could log on and pay online?
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great site !

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Loved the site, it was very well laid out and the super pitches were great with extra pipe and bricks and slabs provided. The views from these pitches were really nice over to the estuary. The shower block and toilets were very clean whenever we used them. There were some lovely walks to go on straight from the site. The owners were very helpful and friendly and had lots of leaflets and info.
  • Disliked: I can't say that I disliked anything except that we had to leave to come home
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Jan_H

'top of the tree' site

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Superb pitches with every service available.
    Well managed immaculate site with planted gardens all round.
    Excellent facilities - spotless.
    Great sunsets.
  • Disliked: Not quite as close to the sea as we expected - but we did have a view of the bay.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Very Clean, well kept site.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The amenities were clean and close to the tent field. Nice area for touring. Quiet site, wasn't too busy.
  • Disliked: No beaches within walking distance. Bins were very close to tent field (noise).
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus

<< Go back to Barcdy Touring Caravan & Camping Park