Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Castle Brake Holiday Park

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.3

Overall rating based on 31 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

87% would recommend this site to a friend.

77% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for margaret_m3

Location lovely, site poor.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location was great. Lovely lady on reception , very helpful.
  • Disliked: The site is mainly seasonal, very crowded. The touring pitches are small.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
4
Google Plus
avatar for fay_d

Castle Brake. Nice site

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The postcode took us about ten miles out of our way. When we finally arrived. The lovely lady in reception said they had advised the Royal mail as other people had had the same problem,
    The staff on the site were friendly. The staff in the Bistro were lovely. Lovely clean site. Lovely toilet block.

  • Disliked: The only problem we had was the ground was so boggy due to the rain. Because we were so far from the toilet block and I am disabled We had to drive to the block. A lot of the campers packed on the road because of the boggy grass. So it was very difficult to get around them. We could not put the awing up as the ground was far to wet.
    I am sure In the "dryer" season the site would be fine.
    It's in a great location.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for sheila_l0

Beautiful views

(Solo traveller-female, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Staying in March I found the campsite a peaceful place and pitched high up on the site I had commanding views over the Exmouth estuary. Wi-Fi access was a great feature. Thanks to the welcoming staff.
  • Disliked: No dislikes discovered during my 4 nights stay
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for caroline_l2

Nice clean site in a good location

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The warm clean showers and toilets
    The friendly staff
    The tidy well kept site
    The fact that it wasn't school holidays and was fairly quiet
  • Disliked: Lots of pitches all overlooking each other
    The feeling of being a bit crowded
    We stayed at this site, which is very clean and tidy. We tend to choose sites that are quiet and spacious, with an 'individual' feel. This site is well suited to those who enjoy lots of interaction with their fellow campers. It's very populated with permanent vans, and lots of pitches used as regular escapes with many towable caravans that are a permanent fixture.
    Overall it was not our scene. That said it's a nice clean site with warm toilets and showers and friendly staff.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for chris_c8

Friendly site - good location

(Mature couple, 1 review, 2 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Nov 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Staff were very friendly and welcoming on arrival and assisted in getting our motorhome onto a fully serviced pitch. Toilet block was modern, clean and warm and site location was close to good walks into Woodbury, Woodbury Salterton for pubs and Woodbury Common for wildlife
  • Disliked: Though the pitch was all-weather gravel and level it was necessary to cross grass and mud . It would be a good idea in winter weather to extend the all weather surface to the access roads.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Cherry

Quiet clean site. Very good value.

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The pitch size was very good with own water and waste connections. The toilet and shower block was the best I've used. They have a good size family shower room. The site is quiet and you have to drive to local amenities and beaches. Ok for young families but would more suite mature people. The majority of touring caravans appear to be seasonally pitched here.
  • Disliked: ???
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for neil_g

Great site, will plan to visit again

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Cath_B

Very friendly staff

(Solo traveller-female, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Relaxed atmosphere and very friendly staff. But most of all the dog walk how great that was and my dog loved it.
    The bistro was great ad the take away really suited me so I didn't have to leave the dog whilst I ate( infact we shared : ). Very quiet. And heated shore block brilliant.
  • Disliked: Nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for markcameron94

Ideal location for Exeter, Exmouth and Jurassic Coast

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Facilities were very good. On-site restaurant was reasonably priced and good quality food with friendly service. Lovely (but small) terrace for dining outside on warmer days.
    Shower blocks clean and serviceable with good size shower cubicles including clothing hooks and shelves for storage of clothes/toiletries.
    Small play park for those with under 12s. Touring pitches were large and mostly flat although some slopes evident throughout the park.
  • Disliked: Lack of clear signage on the way to the site for the first time. Luckily had friends already on site who were able to guide us in.
    Other than that, nothing negative to say.
    There was an incident where the guy mowing the grass cut through my friends electrical cable but this was replaced with a temporary cable straight away and a new item within a day or two.
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Dellaanddean

Excellent site and facility's

(Mature couple, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Excellent site, plenty off room on pitches, facility's best I've found disabled block which is what I needed I'd give this a 5 star rating.showers excellent. Nice and clean as site was busy.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for HelenHill

Very good

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The toilet facilities were always clean, the staff were all friendly. Not alot on sight but not too far to travel to coastlines, shopping centres and amusement places. But had lovely countrysides.
  • Disliked: Was no disliked I was 100% satisfied
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Yvette_F

Fab time

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Cleanliness of the facilities. The staff were very friendly & helpful. The bistro had a kids eat for £1.99 offer on Mondays. Excellent idea & the kids loved their holiday.
  • Disliked: Nothing. I couldn't fault it
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Loved it from start to finish

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Loved the showers and the fact we were close to the park which went down amazing with the kids !! Staff very helpful and friendly
    Food from restaurant very very good steak night is a must is u are there a Saturday night . Shame it's not open for longer than 6-9pm for food as I think it would have a lot of interest but we loved what we received .( book a table to avoid a wait)
    Bit dark walking to toilet block from grass pitch take a torch but nothing to complain about! Overall loved the site :-))) would go back!
  • Disliked: Going home :-)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for john_c6

Excellent site- easy to get to and easy to get to other destinations.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Felt homely and peaceful but had lots of amenities
    Friendly welcome on arrival
    Excellent shower and toilet block
    Easy recycling
    Felt safe and secure

  • Disliked: There was nothing which we disliked
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Loved it, worth every penny!!!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The camp site was very well laid out and the pitches weren't too close together.
    The staff are very friendly and always said "good morning" or "hello" in passing.
    The new toilet and shower bloke was amazing. Any time of day or night there was hot water. Family friendly with 2 large family rooms fitted out with a bath, shower, toilet and baby changing area.
    The on site bar was great value for money and food was good to.
    I would give this site a 10/10, I couldn't fault the site at all.
    Will be booking again, thank you.
  • Disliked: Nothing!!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for johnnybonus

Great value visited twice, will return.

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The hard standing pitch near the entrance, level and well serviced. Good value WiFi for the week. Well placed for all the local towns and beaches. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
  • Disliked: Going home!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The pitch. The bistro which had a good family atmosphere and served a fine curry with a good pint of local bitter.
    Very clean toilets and showers. The owner showed us to our pitch upon arrival.
    All good.
  • Disliked: Nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Not bad

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Nice shower/toilet block, well kept peaceful site.
    Only paid £13 with electric as special July offer, so at that price can't really grumble.
  • Disliked: Small pitches. As July offer on it was quite busy so felt a little hemed in.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Fantastic Weekend Break

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We had a fantastic time here and loved every minute of our stay. I love that the pitches were right opposite the play area for the younger families and also near enough to the toilet block/washing facilities.
    The facilities were exceptional. Heated floors in the shower unit, hairdryers and automatic water without having to push buttons all the time. Easily accessible and an area with loads to do.
  • Disliked: I wouldn't say its a dislike more that the shop didn't stock much and I think its something that they could improve upon but only because of the ease from our point of view. It didn't seem to have any milk by Sunday morning and we'd run out and also it would have been great to pick up camping basics like bacon and egg but like I say it was more because I hadn't organised myself to get it while we were out so just a thought but it certainly wouldn't stop me going back and I can understand it would be a costly thing to put on if people don't generally buy this sort of thing regularly.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Sue_T0

Will go back again

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Friendly helpful staff. Loved the grass touring pitch area. Toilet/shower block was clean, plenty of room, warm because of the underfloor heating, automatic taps will plenty of hot water.
    The situation of the site was perfect for walking on the Woodbury commons, cycling down to Exmouth and visiting the coast and Exeter.
    People on the site were very friendly.
    Will certainly go back again.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for mari

very nice site

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: stayed two nights - very nice site - good toilet/shower block - had meal first night - excellent food - reasonably priced - easy access to Exmouth and Exeter - would stay there again if in that area - live in Poole Dorset so venture into North Devon frequently - much recommended
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for vanessa_e

Spent 2 nights at this site as we were on our way to Cornwall

(Mature couple, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Under floor heating in showers. Very clean, well maintained site with lovely views. Was very quiet whilst we were there. Great for a stop off on way to Cornwall as it not far from M5.
  • Disliked: Nothing!
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

stayed for 4 nights on motorhome

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the showers
  • Disliked: we had an issue with the people staying next to us, played very loud music, all day and into the early hours, the children ran riot, they had two dogs, which they walked near our motorhome and the play park, and did not clear up the dog mess, we asked to be moved, but told no pitches were available.

    the night before departure the group staying next to us, lit a bonfire, which smoked us out, and gave no regard to the safety factors, we carry LPG on board, so naked flames is hazard, we rang reception, they sent some one down, who told them to put out the fire, they failed to do so, on departure, they emptied the grey water, toilet waste all over the grass, the rubbish, and let the children pee all over the grassed area next to us, again we rang reception, and they said, when they check out we will make them go back and clear up the mess, this failed to happen, so we were ,left next to all this mess for the following 24 hours, staff members came down, but again failed to clear up the mess. sadly, case seems to be take your money, and not care when things go wrong, we were not offered a refund, just a weak apology with no result. also note it is very expensive, sausage and chips take away £5.50 not great for those on a budget. reception closed at 6pm so no one to talk to after if you have an issue.
From the manager...

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry you did not enjoy your holiday with us. We pride ourselves with great customer service, and I am very sorry if you feel that was not the case. Although the office does close at 6pm we do have an out of hours emergency line which is given out with the welcome pack you receive on arrival. This is a 24 hour phone line which we respond to, there is always a notice on the office door stating the emergency staff and where they are situated and they are always happy to help. We were fully booked over the Bank Holiday weekend so unfortunately we were unable to move when requested. Staff were asked to speak to the people, which I believed had happened. If you would like to call us to discuss this further please do so as I would be happy to talk to you.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for Rosalynd_M

Clean, friendly and well maintained!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Great shower block. The first time I have camped and it's not been a bit nippy getting out of the shower. So toasty!

    The entire site was well maintained, and had a gentile atmosphere.
  • Disliked: There is nothing really to dislike, but it would have been an added bonus to have a quiet bar area where there were no children running around. We appreciate that it is a family friendly site, so it would be unfair to count this as a negative, just a 'would be nice'.

    Walking distance from Woodbury meant that there was access to 2 friendly pubs, but it is a fair jaunt in the dark after a few jars!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely very well equipped place with very friendly staff

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I liked everything about this place. The place itself is in a quiet, beautiful location.
    The camping is nice and well looked after.
    Facilities were clean all the time. The toilets / showers were warm and on top of that they have floor heating in the shower booths!!! Amazing.
    Even tent pitches had their own water tap and electricity hook up points.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful all the time.
    We arrived well after 8pm in the evening and the reception was already closed but this wasn't any problem.

    Everything was perfect it was a very pleasant stay for us.
    Would/will go there again.

    I can only recommend Castle Brake Holiday Park!
    Lovely place!
  • Disliked: No such thing :)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Brilliant site defiantly stay there again

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: What a nice site . Toilet shower block very clean . Small bar but nice staff were lovely very welcoming they did a quiz which was fun . Local pubs says are 20 min walk away this isn't the case more like 30 40 mins walk away which would be fine in summer anyway but should be advertise as this !! Would definitely stay again 9 out of 10 .
  • Disliked: Pub distance not advertised correct
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Mr King

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Good pitch
    Nice views
    Friendly staff
    Walk to village/pubs (20 mins)
  • Disliked: Had to pay for wifi
    No tv siginal
    Bumpy roads on site
    Hard to find in fog - poor sinage?
    Post code - took us miles away on sat nav
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Fantastic holiday, rural setting with everything you need on site and the outside world just a short drive away! Well equipped, clean and safe surroundings for the kids to explore, with friendly staff to deal with enquiries. Would definitely book again!!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Clean, well equipped facilities.
    Peaceful surroundings.
    Friendly staff.


  • Disliked: Nothing!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for rebecca_d

wet and windy

(Family with older children, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: it was clean and the staff were all friendly and helpful.
  • Disliked: no lighting around the site so was extremely dark in the night going to the toilet block.
    Only 3 washing up sinks for a large site.
    Shop was very very limited. Need to stock camping basics like matches.
    Tight, small country lanes to site, I am glad I wasnt driving a car with a caravan.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for steven_h

great place to stay!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The surroundings
    The facilities
    The staff
    Location
    The pitches
  • Disliked: No entertainment but we knew this when booking
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Overall pleased!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: There was good quality of facilities, the toilets were always kept sparkling clean and the showers were a nice temperature. There are also sinks with hot water for washing up, and electric hook-up if you want it. I was most pleased by having a tap right next to my tent, as I am used to having to walk miles across a campsite to find a tap. There is also a small shop on site which sells things fairly cheaply like eggs, milk, bread, etc. There is also a pub/restaurant on site. All the other campers/caravanners were friendly and smiley.
  • Disliked: I had a slight bad experience with the showers, in terms of the lighting system. It turns off after 20 minutes (unless someone else walks in), which I don't think is enough time to have a shower AND dry off AND get dressed. It really should be longer. One of the times I was in the shower the lights went off before I had a chance to get dressed. I reached for something in my bag and cut my finger because I could not see what I was doing.
    One other bad point is that, as me and my other half did not know exactly what places we could go to eat in the area (perhaps we were misinformed) we decided to eat at the restaurant on site. The food was very tasty but just very expensive! It cost us about £15 each. The meals were quite big, but we could not afford to go there every night.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus

<< Go back to Castle Brake Holiday Park