Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Black Swan Holiday Park

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

6.4

Overall rating based on 14 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

50% would recommend this site to a friend.

42% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for michael_a3

Excellent

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Oct 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was clean and tidy, very well kept, plenty of space
    superb clean and warm showers
    £5 per night food vouchers came in very handy

    The Black swan pub itself was most impressive, excellent beer and food
  • Disliked: No complaints whatsoever
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for traceyduff3

beautiful but not looked after and noisy

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the view and pub
  • Disliked: the rowdy people and underage drinking. the park warden drove round in car, the park isnt really that big he couldve walked maybe he wouldve noticed more. our neighbour was vomiting outside tent all night. facilities arent kept very well.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for Nssmh

We pitched up for two nights. Booking on the internet was easy.

(Extended family, 1 review, 1 photo)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The reception when we arrived was efficient and satisfactory, everything was as asked for and some extras were accommodated easily and without fuss. The site was tidy, quiet and all in working order.
    We had dinner. Each evening in the Black swan! the food was excellent! good value for money. The service was quick and efficient but without rush.
  • Disliked: We had no dislikes, this was only a two night stay and everything was as expected.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Helen_C4

Disappointed first visit - will not repeat

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The View
  • Disliked: The owners dog pooing all over and having a go at my dog and other dogs. We had three piles of poo around our caravan from Pippa the poopa. It was let loose to charge all over whilst the owner stood with the lead in her hand.

    The "Super Pitch" too short for our caravan, dragged the rubber off the jokey wheel trying to get down the incline to the the pitch. Couldn't put up awning as the grass canted away from the hardstanding.

    Toilets dirty and very outdated
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for deborahharrison4

avoid at all costs

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I liked - nothing about this site
  • Disliked: Dislikes - attitude from owner/old woman her dog fouling all over site, half dead deceased rabbits on site, 1970's toilet/shower block, no shop for 2 miles, not in Masham at all
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for cheryl_w1

Good campsite with nice pub attached

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The view were lovely. We parked our caravan on the grass at the top facing down the hill so we had panoramic views out of front window. The owner made sure we had plenty of bricks so we were level and didn't roll away.
    The pub is nice and welcoming and food good but rather expensive. The £5 voucher per night was a good incentive and as we had two which we used together it made the meal more reasonable. We booked for Sunday lunch which meant we could stay all day Sunday instead of having to vacate at 12pm. Would go back.
  • Disliked: We had Sunday lunch which was nice but way over priced at £12.95. If it was priced more reasonably eg. £8 I am sure the pub would be full on a Sunday lunch time.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for jackie_e

lovely setting, plenty of space between tents and friendly staff.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was easily found. On arrival someone was there to show us our pitch.bonus of getting a £5 voucher per nights stay to use in the pub on site for a meal which may i add was lovely with home made food. Would defintely use this site again.
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike. Apart from the field being on a hill so you have to plan your lay out for sleeping unless you will be rolling down hill in your sleep.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for JulieM

Beautiful scenery but poor facilities for the price

(Family with young children, 1 review, 1 photo)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location - beautiful views and close (but not too close) to the village of Masham. Handy to have a pub on site and food quite nice.
  • Disliked: The toilet/shower block and pot wash. Basically they were filthy - especially the mens toilets and the pot wash.

    The bins didn't get emptied, there was a wobbly toilet in the mens, a dirty old mop with a mop bucket full of dirty water to wash the floor with. The toilets were not cleaned properly - although there was always plenty of loo roll.

    The pot wash area only had 2 sinks, one of which was useless as the taps didn't work & it was filthy.

    We paid £26 per night for a 3 person tent (2 adults & 1 child) which I think is extortionate based on the quality of the facilities. I've stayed on far nicer sites for considerably less per night.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
4
Google Plus
avatar for StephanieJayne1984

Nice views but dirty toilet/shower facilities.

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The camp sight is in a lovely setting with nice views.
  • Disliked: Although the views were lovely the sight is quite isolated with not a lot around, need to drive to get to the village of Masham which is a lovely place, although there is a pub on sight the food is expensive so we never ate there, the worst thing about this sight is the toilet/shower facilities, all weekend we stayed and they did not get cleaned once, there is a dirty mop in the bathroom with a note saying please mop up after you use the shower, I did not do this as the mop was black and was laying in brown water in the mop bucket, my boyfriend said the men's were just as bad so much so he wouldn't get showered on the 2nd night, I got showered in my flip flops so my feet didn't touch the floor, the toilets were smelly and not once for 3 days cleaned not even any bleach put in the toilets once. The area to wash your pots was again very unclean with just 1 tap working. it cost us £60 to stay 2 nights which is expensive for such dirty facilities, I wouldn't mind paying that for cleanliness. Everyone was complaining even the people who keep their touring caravans there said in the last year it as gone down hill massively and were also disgusted...I will not be staying here again and I probably would have if it had been claeaner because the setting is lovely.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for bentona965

Nice enough, great scenery

(With friends, 3 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Mar 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Great scenery
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Nice site,very nice people who run the place,meals were a bit 'pricey'

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely scenery,hot showers. Nice people running the place,meals nice but expensive
  • Disliked: no problems
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Zoe_P0

Lovely site and the pub had amazing food.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Got a really nice discount on the camping fees which made the march camping gamble worth it. The site was lovely and the staff were all very friendly plenty of room on site. The food vouchers were really good too and the food was amazing some of the best I've ever had.
  • Disliked: I don't have any complaints about this site, we had awful weather but the stay was still very enjoyable.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Very nice quiet area with friendly welcoming staff

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The meals at the resterurant and also free wifi.Good location for travelling to see other sights.Clean facilities for washing in.
  • Disliked: A few unruly kids which was not the sites fault,it was parents for not keeping them in control.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for steve_s0

a disappointment

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: location
    pub on site
  • Disliked: inadequate toilet & shower facilities for number of units
    not cleaned regularly

    very noisy rowdy youths shouting and swearing till 0230 disruptive of sleep
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus

<< Go back to Black Swan Holiday Park