Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Golden Sands Holiday Park

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

4.1

Overall rating based on 17 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

29% would recommend this site to a friend.

29% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for stephen_m2

disapointing

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: staff friendly
  • Disliked: pitches were tired and unkept with broken fences and the hard standing stank of dog pee.
    lots of construction on site, white van men coming and going early mornings and late eve slamming doors.
    toilet/shower block was tired and in need of updating
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
2
Google Plus
avatar for rebecca_t0

absouluty awful

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: nothing..... apart from the weather
  • Disliked: the camp site we stayed at was dirty dissapointing and old. if it hadnt been for the nice weather i would have gone home. never stayed somewhere that was so awful in all my years of camping.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for lovemedo99

AWFUL

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: ABSOLUTELY NOTHING
  • Disliked: tHE CAMPING PITCH WAS AWFUL ON A REALLY SLOPING HILL, AND THE WASHING AND CLEANING FACILITIES WERE FILTHY AND REALLY POOR, THE CAMPSITE IS NOT MUCH BETTER REALLY NEEDS A GOOD FACE LIFT
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for Woodyroz

Photos very misleading!

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The weather and seafront.
    Would definitely return to Dawlish Warren but never to this site!
  • Disliked: From first arriving the receptionist was too busy looking out the window while talking to me and did not make eye contact.
    From the pictures on the Park website we saw tents pitched up on nice FLAT ground. When we arrived we were told we could choose either the field on the left with a sea view or the field own the right which was flatter, this was a joke both fields are big hills where once all the flat pitches (flattish ground) were taken you were forced to set up on a slant.
    The ground was hard so the peg would go in about 2ins then you hit rocks we went through a whole pack of tent pegs and brought none back.
    Toilets could do with being cleaned more often.

    If your coming in from the back entrance there are no signs to reception.

    Facilities were too far away from the camping field, it feels like you have been dumped in the back of beyond and forgotten about.

    The walk to the clubhouse from the field is a good 10 minute walk, we walked to get food from the bar by the time we got back to our tent the food was cold.

    One night we was kept awake until 3am by campers partying, there seemed to be no one we could report this to and no on sight security to keep an eye on things.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for jasonfaulkner

bad time at golden sands dawlish

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Would not recamend this park to my worse enemy toilets and showeers were filthy if they were working at all one morning only 1 shower was working but had no lock or catch even to hold the door closed moved the car one day only to return to find some one had put their tent in our pitch leaving us with a 3rd of the pitch we had paid for and then to be told that ronnie the park manager desides who puts their tents where he desides and if you dont like it you can do one untill you politely explain to him that he is actuly break the law by re selling something that i have already paid for then he had to make a u turn and realy didnt like it but we didnt once get an apology in short park holidays need to provide their staff with some hygene and customer service training in short would never go near park holiday ever again you need a holiday to get over the stress.
  • Disliked: Golden sands
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

rubbish.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the weather, and only the weather.
  • Disliked: Camping are was not marked out into pitches properly, so you could I identify where you was supposed to be. Eclectic hook up boxes were broken laying in stinger nettles with rubbish, this is a very poor and serious health and safety as you know electric can kill. Pitches to close, creates fire hazards, another health and safety issue. as we payed for a weeks camping at peak season rates and stayed for approx. 6 hours because of issues will not be recommending this site to anyone and will never visit again.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for diane_l

facilities very poor

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location of park .
  • Disliked:
    Pitch we were given wasn't suitable to small and if you stepped out tent you were on the road .were givin another pitched up electrical output very dangerous was affraid to use it ,went out one day got a phone call to say we were on someone elses pitch to come back when we got back other family had moved we had been there a week .The family told us they were told to tell us to move,no member of staff came near i went to speak to them was told in quite a rude manner everybody was in the wrong place ,this continued to happen every time some one else arrived .toilets and showers were disgracful better ones were there but were not permitted to use them unless were in a caravan or a resident .went to do laundry had to walk back up through park to use toilet as not allowed to use those ones .pitches to small try to squeeze to many in to make as much money as possible
    treated like second class because we were in a tent .would not go back to any park resort
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Generally ok. Nothing outstanding about site. Very basic.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Toilets and shower area basic but clean.

    Kids play area very nice with beautiful view.


  • Disliked: Being sited next to row of 6 industrial sized waste bins.

    Amount of space allocated. Very tight to manoeuvre caravan into space.

    No ability to pay by credit/debit card. Cash only.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
4
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

camper van

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the holiday was park was good, nice hot showers and clean. we went out of season so i dont know what it would be like when middle of summer. we would be back, we didnt use the entertainment so cant comment.
  • Disliked: the staff were a little unsure as to how to book you in and paying was a bit odd, we could have left without paying as it was a young inexperienced girl on the main desk. should be an understanding person meeting and greeting guests.
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for welshwizzard

great little gem

(Young couple, 3 reviews)

  • Date stayed: May 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: close to the sea fishing on site and friendly staff
  • Disliked: nothing
From the manager...

Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, my team and I look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

muddy but fun first time campers!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: - the linked parks within walking distance for entertainment - these parks had plenty to occupy the children - close shower block - plenty of room in the tent area
  • Disliked: - shower block could have been cleaner - roads leading to camping area very mud locked (car stuck for 30 mins) could do with some traction tracks installed on the incline to the field
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Very good holiday

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We went as a family of 4 adults and 2 children and had a fabulous time.The site was lovely and clean. We would go back there again
  • Disliked: There was no entertainment on site and had to walk quite a way and no park or anything for children to play on site
From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate all comments whether positive or negative. Unfortunately this particular Park does not have many facilities however all customers are welcome to use Golden Sands Holiday Park which is adjacent to Peppermint Holiday Park. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! [Update: Golden Sands now incorporates Peppermint Park]

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for mandieing

dissapointing

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: location was fab & Dawlish Warren was lovely, would vist again but stay somewhere else!!
  • Disliked: pitches too over crowded so moved to casual camping field which was much better! but toilets & shower facilities were awful, dirty , never cleaned & showers were far too hot & could'nt be adjusted
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

poor customer service

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: going to the local towns
  • Disliked: booking was wrong twice, having to wait over a hour to be given a spot after a 4 hour drive, bills overflowed every night, power in shower block out for over 12 hours, no lights or shower, very scary for children and ladies, pitch backed onto the other park with noisey children and dogs all night
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
3
Google Plus
avatar for Trevor_L

I thought the campsite was excellent. Very disappointed in the cleanliness and hygiene of the toilets and shower blocks

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Dawlish Warren
  • Disliked: Very disappointed in the cleanliness and hygiene of the toilets and shower blocks. Very very poor and for that reason I probably wouldn't visit this site again.
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
4
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Staying at Golden Sands for two nights

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The facilitiesas they were always clean
  • Disliked: The noise from other campers, especially those with large families, feel there should be a seperate pitch for adults to seperate the families. Also, feel that some of the fields need patrolling as we experienced several couples arguing agressively and using poor language. This was not relaxing and made us feel very anxious.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for Englandgirl1

would go again

(Extended family, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: spent a night at Golden Sands with my grandson (5yrs)
    large tent pitch. fairly level tent pitch touring area. reasonable price.
    walking distance of beach, takeaways, shops, pubs etc
    friendly staff
    access to Golden Sands park facilities a bonus
    plenty of loos, showers. several wash up sinks.
    Fab view towards the beach area.
    we went to entertainment in the club house.
    kids seemed to love the games 6-7pm
    a good experience, would defo use again
  • Disliked: the gate keypad was on wrong side of car. had to jump out & run back into car.
    However if you are a family with 2 adults this would not be a problem.
    Numbers on touring area, very small, had to keep getting out of car to check them to find our pitch.
    Road signage on way to park, not great.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus

<< Go back to Golden Sands Holiday Park