Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Hendra Holiday Park

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.8

Overall rating based on 59 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

86% would recommend this site to a friend.

83% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for mark_k5

A fantastic campsite

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Oct 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: That the grounds were clean and well looked after,the toilets were always clean and never far away,the indoor swimming pool was a nice set up although none of the pools were very deep.
  • Disliked: The only thing I found was that when we stayed there were only maybe 3 other people around our area and the pitch we were given was on a bit of a slope but still it wasn't that bad he rest of the site more than made up for it
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for carolineapreece

We had a bill holiday and will be returning next year .

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We loved our stay at Hendra there was entertainment for anyone young or old.The entertainment at Mario's Pizza parlour was brill went there every night as the weather was good and you wasn't stuck indoors.The seating area outside the food hall was really good as well for when there was a chill in the air you could turn on the heaters. We really enjoyed using the indoor and outdoor pools. When we did go to the evening entertainment it was really good.The site shop was well stocked and the prices were fair, The whole park is really well maintained and attractive.
  • Disliked: The only problem that we had was being pitched directly behind the toilets and dish washing area which could be quite noisy with people in and out of the loos and it was noisy when peolpe were washing dishes as it echoed, some nights people were still washing dishes at 12.30am which was annoying when your trying to sleep and they begin again as early as 6am but that is the only negative thing i can say about our holiday experience with you .
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for hannah_r1

Friendly, happy staff. Great location, amazing pizza, awesome pool

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We stayed here last month for a long weekend. Let me just say that the friendly staff that can never do too much for you and the entertainment every night made me and my partner wish we stayed longer. We camped...this ment a shower every morning. The shower rooms are the cleanest ive seen in my life, and it wasnt a massive treck to the block either. We joined the entertainment every night, played bingo and had a few bevvies (which aren't expensive) we also went for a swim every morning with our half price vouchers which wasnt expected, but a nice surprise. In all, we will defiantly be back...for a weel or two next time.
  • Disliked: There was nothing to dislike here. Top notch!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for susan_v

Camping

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything about Hendra was very pleasing. We took our 12 year old with us and he had a great time on site with so much to do. Everywhere was clean and the toilets and showers were well looked after. I loved how the grounds looked with lots of beautiful hydrangea in purple and pinks ........very pleasing to the eye. We stayed for 7 nights and the price was very fair. Hendra is well situated with wonderful beaches close to camp site. I would recommend this site for a very happy fulfilling holiday.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for ferric

Excellent Facilities and good value.

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I stayed at Hendra twice in Summer 2013 along with my 8 year old. The first week was at the end of July and we stayed in Chestnut Field (tent pitch, non electric).

    The facilities within the site are excellent and my lad loved it, especially the pools and the stake park.

    In Chestnut field the showers are unfortunately in a temporary type building and so are adequate. The site is very well maintained and we enjoyed the stay so much we decided to return later in the summer.

    On our second visit at the end of August we stayed in Oak field which is much closer to the centre of the site and also has an outstanding shower/washing block.

    The outstanding feature of Hendra is undoubtedly the Oasis pools. When the weather is good the outside pools are all you need and are free to residents, if the weather is not so great then the indoor pool is excellent and is only a small fee of less than £3 for residents.

    Hendra is well located and we spent most days at the local beaches of Fistral and Watergate Bay. It is also ideally located for day trips and evenings out, we spent a few evenings in Padstow which is a lovely town.
  • Disliked: The onsite pizza bar (Mario's) was a bit of a let down. The one and only time we tried it was not on a particularly busy evening, but we still had to wait in excess of 45 minutes for out pizza - the staff said it was because they were busy, but in reality half the tables were empty. To top it all off the pizzas were average at best.

    The staff are always very helpful but on the whole very young and there doesn't ever seem to be anyone taking responsibility, therefore things such as young kids buzzing about inside the Tavern bar area on scooters goes unchallenged, despite the clear signage that no scooters are allowed in there.

    If you see the claims of award winning shower blocks/loos on the website and stay in one of the far fields then you will be disappointed - make sure if you can to talk to them prior to booking to ensure you get a pitch with one of the proper shower blocks rather than the temporary buildings.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Yvonnemoore1154

Absolutely beautiful and friendly

(Family with young children, 1 review, 3 photos)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The tent pitches were a decent size, everyone was chilled and friendly( staff and campers ). Showers and toilets were always clean. There was a Morrisons and Macdonalds close by and town was like 5-10 minutes away. The park itself is very beautiful. I would definitely stay here again and would defiantly recommend it to any one visiting Newquay. We stayed in Hendra for 6 nights and unfortunately moved to another site which I deeply regretted as that was a terrible site, we then went back to Hendra to book another night n realised again how lovely the park really was. Also it wasn't noisy at night. Xx
  • Disliked: I can't honestly say I disliked anything about Hendra!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for teunikalemmercarstens

We loved everything about Henda!

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This was our first camping experience with our 14month old son and we loved everything about it!! The staff was extremely friendly and the toilets/showers were VERY clean!! It felt like there was always someone in there cleaning. Washing up area is also very user friendly.

    The only reason we did not go back in August is because of the distance but our currant experience is really making me miss Henda and wishing we took on the long road!
  • Disliked: There not being more space to dress babies after bathing but did cope. Smaller babies should be fine.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Unitension

Overall a good experience

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Swimming pool, kids entertainment
  • Disliked: Drinks over priced
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for dawngingell

fantastic 3 night in a non electric tent pitch.

(Family with young children, 1 review, 3 photos)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We loved the pools, fantastic slides and areas to please all ages from the babe in arms to the stoppy teenager. The scuba lesson was an amazing experience and the highlight for my eldest, 11 year old son. In fact all the activities were high grade, well executed and therefore good value, especially as they were all on site.
    I was hugely impressed with the cleaniless. Even the small portaloos were always spotless, not to mention the main shower blocks and pool changing areas. The grass was cut whenever someone left a pitch and the patrol van was seen every hour keeping an eye on things.
    Unlike other sites we were not woken at the crack of dawn with other holidaymakers noise, in fact my boys were able ro sleep in till 8.00am.
    The entertainment was impressive for a holiday camp, an easily visable stage area with ample room to sit, even in August school holidays!
    The shop was good and not overpriced.
    Lots of eating out options.
    My sons want to return - need I say more.
  • Disliked: Nothing, except we wanted to buy some chicken from the shop and theh didn't have any. Small fry for a dislike.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for rowley84

Overall very good and a great place to stay!

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We loved the campsite and all the facilities and entertainment. There was plenty to do. The staff were very friendly and couldn't help enough.
    My boyfriend has previously stayed there but in a caravan and he also enjoyed the stay with hes kids. We found the site overall very clean.

  • Disliked: Nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Over priced

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Catering options, cleanliness
  • Disliked: Pitches, too small even though you have to send unit size in advance.
    Over demand on oasis pool, queues never seemed to be below 90 mins
    Noise, get a pitch close to a thoroughfare and be prepared to be kept awake.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Shane_T

Great destination for a value family holiday

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I liked all the facilities that the camp provided on site - the shower / toilet blocks are cleaned constantly all day ( music streamed into blocks),the showers were always hot & never had to que or wait. The wash up facilities for pots, pans etc were plentiful - no ques.

    The pitch sizes were generous, with plenty of room for our tent, gazebo & car. Drinking water taps were well positioned around the site as were the waste bin areas which were also fairly closeby but never smelt.

    There was planty of open spaces for kids to play whatever they liked, football, rugby , cricket etc etc. Theres pitch & put, segways to hire, archery, but these need to be prebooked to avoid dissapointment. Most kids of a certain age seem to congregate around the scooter park, its a place for socialising whilst also trying out new skills.

    Theres a Nisa shop on site, its good for all things, general groceries as well as fresh bread, milk, newspapers, sweets etc etc.

    Theres meals available at different locations - Marios does surprisingly good freshly made pizzas to eat in, (with entertainment) or to take out. Theres a fish & chip shop which is also very good as well as The Tavern which does a variety of good value family meals to eat inside or out. When on the outside terrace which overlooks the outdoor pool, you are sheltered with a canopy & heated, which creates a really good atmosphere at the end of your day.

    When the weather is good theres an outdoor pool for all campsite members to enjoy, when the weather is poor, theres also an indoor facility (extra charge) with slides etc. Both pools are staffed with lifeguards.

  • Disliked: Sometimes people drained their waste water containers down the white drinking water overflow drains.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely site, clean, friendly and spacious had a lovely time

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The spacious plots, the lovely clean toilet and shower facilities and the friendly staff
  • Disliked: No dislikes
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for elizabethdenbury

Lovely campsite. Clean good condition facilities & Friendly staff. A++

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The pool was great although I think the charges should be included in your stay. The food at the bar lovely. Plenty of facilities on site for myself and the kids.
    Kept clean. Good spaces around the site.
  • Disliked: The fact they let travellers stay there and pitch up after 10pm and let them stay as were very noisy and messy.
    That campsite users were charged for use of the indoor pool.
    That you had to pay extra to keep your car on your pitch.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

amazing place

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the site was wonderful,clean, quiet at night , the toilet block was exceptional, the facilities for children was excellent, the pool inside and outdoor was great , would definately go again, locATion brilliant for travelling all over cornwall.
  • Disliked: nothing to dislike as the weather was also great
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Very good!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Clean, large pitches, friendly staff, well equipped facilities and reasonable prices.
  • Disliked: Space in caberet club was restrictive on occasion.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

was a good site with good facilities.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the pools (indoor and out) were really good. toilet and shower facilities were very good. good location (short drive to beach and supermarket).
  • Disliked: . Pitch was good but bins not emptied regularly enough (they attracted very noisy sea gulls early in the mornings). Having to pay extra for taking dogs! was disappointing to see dogs like pit bulls allowed (although they were kept on a leash). Dog walking facilities were the sports pitches (were children play) at the rear of the site. This area was obviously not well patrolled/checked as dog mess was not always picked up and used condoms left in the shrub areas. Toilet areas became a point of social gathering for young, drunk people who were rather loud late at night.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Angela

Ok

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The entertainment was really good.
  • Disliked: The access to the swimming pool when it was raining was poor. I would suggest prioritising on site guests to have more priority. On several occassions we couldn't access it due to being busy. The restaurant was very expensive. The chip shop was disappointing too.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great site, excellent value

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: All the ameneties were clean and presentable, rarely had to wait to use anything, even though its a busy season. Pitch was a very good size even if the tent wasnt :). The pools were very well maintained and the amusement and onsite club were very entertaining. Would definately reccomend.
  • Disliked: Other than the weather i have no complaints to hendra holiday park :)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A fantastic holiday park site for campers!!

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The staff as extremely helpful and friendly - no questions was ever to trouble... All facilities were very clean. This was my family`s first week long camping holiday and I would not have asked for better.
  • Disliked: n/a
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Caroline_B0

would be specific about which area of the park i wanted to stay

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: variety of activities on offer
  • Disliked: pitches were on a camber which made it awkward when it rained
    some pitches backed onto the road
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Justyna_M0

Great place to stay

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We loved our pitch, the staff was always helpful and very friendly. Pool areas were very clean and safe. Definitely we'll go there again and would recommend it to anybody. Thanks
  • Disliked: We liked everything
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Perfect week camping

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: EXCELLENT

    WE HAVE BOOKED AGAIN FOR NEXT YEAR ALREADY BEFORE LEAVING. SAME PITCH TOO. (320)

    LOVELY PITCH, NOT TOO CLOSE TO NOISE, NEAR ENOUGH TO SHOPS ETC, AND NOT FAR AT ALL FROM THE SHOWER/TOILET/WASHING UP BLOCK. JUST PERFECT. BY THE WAY. THE TOILET AND SHOWERS ETC ARE SPOTLESS EVERYDAY!!

    LAUNDRETTE A GODSEND, YOU DONT EVEN NEED TO TAKE YOUR OWN WASHING TABS OR FABRIC CON., ITS ALL SUPPLIED AND REASONABLE TOO.

    ON SITE SHOP, GREAT!! FRESH HOT CROISSANTS EVERY MORNING FOR BREKKY! PRICES AREN'T MUCH DIFFERENT FROM YOU LOCAL SPAR, BUT
    MORRISONS IS LITERALLY A 2 MIN DRIVE OUT OF HENDRE.

    WE USED HENDRE AS OUR BASE, AS WE EXPLORED CORNWALL AND THE BEACHES. FAB!!!

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND HENDRE. WE DONT HAVE KIDS, BUT WERE MORE THAN HAPPY TO BE ON A FAMILY HOLIDAY CAMPING/TOURING/CARAVAN SITE.

    STAFF VERY HELPFUL.
    NO COMPLAINTS, JUST A GREAT TIME HAD BY US BOTH. LOOKING FORWARD TO OUR RETURN VISIT ON 26th JULY 2014.

    THANKS


  • Disliked: I DID NOT DISLIKE ANYTHING.
    A GOOD HOLIDAY IS WHAT YOU MAKE OF IT.
    THE WEATHER WAS HOT AND SUNNY, WITH ONLY ONE RAINNFALL IN THE NIGHT, BY WHICH TIME I WAS IN BED.
    EVEN IF IT HAD RAINED ALL WEEK, THIS WOULD NOT HAVE SPOILT OUR HOLIDAY.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Anna_G

Great campsite and lots to do for the kids

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site is kept very clean and there is always someone cleaning the toilets, emptying the bins. They are very strict with keeping the site rules and uphold them, we saw a young group asked to leave. We still had fun, just need to be respectful of the other campers which I was more than happy with. We all had a lovely time and I would recommend this site to other families. Great location to get to everything in Newquay and surrounding areas.
  • Disliked: When you book this via pitch up they sell the pitch as one price, when you get the price from Hendra it does differ from pitch up so make sure you check the bill. They add on extras for everything, the indoor pool is not included and at £3.95 per 1.5 hour session this can really bump up the family cost (watch out for pool reception charging £1 spectator fee as there is no charge for onsite residents, i only realised this on the last day after paying all week). They also wanted to add on £17 for us to drive our v.w camper on and off the pitch, apparently grass wear and tear costs :) £19 to link your booking if traveling with friends and that is per person and I'm also not sure what the £50 charge was for my puppy as i'm sure they would not have let him use any facilities. I would have much prefered to have been told from the onset that the all in cost of my pitch was around £55, instead of keeping getting weird charges added on. Also beware of the £20 cancelation fee that Hendra automatically add on to the booking, if you ask for it back you can get it refunded. All that said now I know the price I would go back.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

an amazing stay, and can't wait to come back asap!!!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The children's entertainers we're fantastic and all the staff we're very friendly. The indoor/outdoor pools we're brilliant, as a family we enjoyed all that was on offer.
    All the facilities we're clean and well maintained!
    Was one of the best campsite we've ever used and we we're sad to leave at the end of our holiday!
  • Disliked: absolutely nothing we disliked!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

overall ok. good play for kids.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: - Out door swimking pool once weather improved. Kids also loved it
    - henry hippo and kids entertainment very good. Both young children entrtained evem on rainy days!
    - good baby facilities in restrooms
  • Disliked: - food at main restaurant was very poor. Everything seemed microwaved or deep fat fried.
    -didnt seem to be many rules around camping rules eg - when was quiet time. Few times very noisey for our young children late at night.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Tinks2013

Sadly wouldn't return, looks pretty but went downhill after that.

(Family with young children, 6 reviews, 26 photos)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location, it's easy to get to Newquay shops and beaches.
    Pools inside and outside, though we had to pay for the indoor pool.
    Pretty looking site with lots of colourful flowers.

  • Disliked: After a long and tiring journey we arrived at Hendra, from the outside it looked very pretty and the gardens well kept. Once we had checked in (which was very quick, well organised and efficient), we arrived at our pitch. Clearly no one had done a pitch inspection as the pitch was unusable, cars had driven over it creating a mass of mud and mess, with the amount of rain they had had over the last week it was awful! After having to go back to the main reception and wait to speak to someone all we were offered was a pitch in the middle of 'Maple', in the middle of everyone - my worst nightmare - the pitch we had originally chose (and paid extra for) was 364 on the Acorn plot, which is at the end of a cul-de sac. The receptionist wasn't very helpful and told us to go back to the original pitch and wait for the warden to see if he could do anything to fix it, he basically said nothing could be done and he could show us one last pitch as the site was fully booked. We were shown pitch 496 on the Elm plot, not ideal but useable.
    After finally erecting the tent we went to check out the wash facilities / WC's etc, on entering the shower block I was faced with a large number of teenage girls hanging around in there - charging their mobile phones, straightening their hair and generally chatting - this was quite intimidating. I left and returned later, on closer inspection of the showers I have to say they are probably the worst ones I have used, they are small and cramp, with a triangular seat (which holds nothing - its too small) and one very small hook which is in the centre of the shower, so basically your stuff gets wet!! Although the cleaners did work hard I find it very strange that there is no mop left for you to quickly mop the shower after use ready for the next person, as you can imagine after the amount of rain they had had the showers were very muddy. Moving on to the toilets, although the toilets themselves are very clean the cubicles are disgusting and need a make over, another thing I found strange is there are approx 10 toilets and wash basins and only ONE hand dryer, overall the shower block was very disappointing. Outside there is also a porter cabin called the 'Ladies Powder Room', these again were disappointing, most of the time the loo's didnt flush, were flooded and again to my amazement only had COLD water taps to wash your hands - I didn't venture back in there.
    There are notices scattered around the site 'Shhh after 10pm respect your neighbours', this sounded promising, the music and cabaret shows from the complex were extremely loud and could be heard from the tent, this didn't stop until midnight and then you had the crowds of drunken people passing our tent and walking back to theirs, all we could hear were the fans from the back of the building, cars, vans, lorries you name it driving around at all hours, then to top it off the recycling bottle bank was behind our tent, I think they must have collected bottles from all over Newquay, it was never ending.
    We arrived on the Saturday and there was more heavy rain over night, so the pitch was getting quite soggy, we asked if we could a large plastic mat that we had seen other people being given we were told we would have to go and ask at reception as there were non left but they would put grit down for us, this never happened!! One pitch with a caravan had THREE mats, I think if there is a shortage then it should only be one mat per pitch. We finally got a mat on the Friday night - the night before we left.
    The staff all used the pitches opposite us to park their cars - no wonder the pitches are in the mess they are in!!
    The road from our pitch to the toilet block was NOT lit and was very dangerous at night for the kids to go to the toilets, I witnessed a car driving significantly faster the 5mph speed limit, another car hit the wall, people walking into each other.
    It's a shame but wouldn't stay in a tent again, a caravan may be ok though.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
4
Google Plus
avatar for alan_r1

A great weekend had

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We enjoyed our stay at henra hoilday park i would recomened to friends and family and we will be return very soon
  • Disliked: There nothing we didnt like
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Hendra Holiday Park - Great place for all to stay

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The place was friendly, clean and had everything you needed. Places to eat, entertainment, bar, swimming and close to the beach. The site was quiet and the shower/toilets very well kept. Great value for money too.
  • Disliked: I had only booked for a couple of nights!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for ThrillJunkieUK

Lovely Family Holiday Park

(Young couple, 7 reviews)

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The evening entertainment which was varied and good quality
    Large Tent Pitches
    Good views across the valley from pitch (we stayed in Pine area)
    Friendly and helpful staff
    Drinking water and recycling points well located
    Only 5min drive (40min walk) to Newquay
    Close to Supermarket (Morrisons), just 10min's walk down the road
    Nice convenience store onsite (prices not to bad either)
    Segway Hire
    Fish and Chip and Pizza Takeaway onsite
    Clean Toilet and Shower facilities onsite
    Good value for money (I paid £20 for two nights)
    Parking next to pitch

    I would highly recommend this site to everyone
  • Disliked: Very Small Shower cubicles (Pine Toilet/Shower block)
    Expensive onsite bar (£4 a pint)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Very good

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly. Everything seemed very well organised and the general camping area was very clean and well set out. Everything ran very well.
  • Disliked: The night security staff member was quite rude to us but apart from that, nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for charmainethomasevans

wonderful Easter Break

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: what a brilliant tenting experience and family easter break had by all, very highly entertaining and packed full of events for the 5 days we were there, beautiful sunshine throughout the day a lil chilli in the evenings but all exciting....hig hly recommend to all familys to come here, we r already in the process of booking for Easter nxt yr, Thank u

    P.s. Good value for money was Marios Tues ngt pizza offer BOGOF

    A huge thank you to staff an on ground staff for helping us re bump/start our car when our 2 young girls let's the battery go low :)
  • Disliked: Deposit for hiring items was a bit much £20, I have marked average score for value for £money only for the chip shop prices an local Nisa shop, bit pricey for a family on budget.
    Oasis pool saver tickets would of been more appropriate if the tickets were for 8passes instead of 7, as majority of family's are 2 adults An 2children why not opt discount prices for 4passes 8passes or 6 passes for a family of 4children an 2adults??
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Amazing weekend

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Facilities were superb!! Great pitch!! Location great for local amenities.
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for perry_a

fantastic holiday park

(Young couple, 2 reviews, 3 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: As first time campers we was abit skeptic however we thought the holiday park was brilliant. Shower/toilet block was spotless, hot showers, plenty of toilets/sinks. There was a cleaner constantly keeping it nice . grass pitches were firm and good distances from the neighbours. Not far from main town and beaches. supermarket and camping shop just round the corner (ideal)
  • Disliked: bloody seagulls in the morning (good alarm clock tho)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Dave_C

Another excellent Holiday at Hendra

(Family with young children, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: A few improvements on last year with the introduction of a Fish & Chip Shop, Coffee Shop, Patio Heaters Skate-park and no smoking policy around the main entertainment section.

    Enjoyed the new activities such as Archery, Bush Survival sessions
  • Disliked: The limited Arcade games and machines are pretty much the same as the previous year, not much in the way of action games, more the 2p shove games.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely holiday!!!!

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The toilets & showers where clean & shower was lovely & hot!!!!!
  • Disliked: The wet & windy weather but you can't help with that!!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent holiday park probably been to 30 over the years and this is certainly in the top 5

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Tavern Bar excellent food fast service for breakfast and evening meals.overlooks the pool with outside dining if required with electric heaters . Also skate park very good and a modern touch. Outdoor pool heated and close to all main activities - good supply of loungers and well supervised.

    Other separate eateries which was nice to
    have additional choice supported by live entertainment over and above the main club house.

    Aesthetically the main complex very well designed and a great atmosphere.
  • Disliked: Club house predictably boring with bingo.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely time

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Just liked the relaxing and everything that went with it
  • Disliked: Being told to keep my noise down early evening
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for andrew_s

amazing

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: everything that was on the site was great.
  • Disliked: the rain!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A++ :-)

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: very nice site.
    very good clean well matained facilities.
  • Disliked: indoor pool charges it should be free
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for john_s0

poor

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: good alround entertanment clean showers etc.
  • Disliked: gails when we wer there not sits fault ovs but ruined thet week
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

great place kids loved it

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: our pitch was great and well sheltered.
    pool was fantastic facilities brill
  • Disliked: not a lot really the club was quite loud but kids slept through it no worries
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Lindsey_W

fab camp site would highly recommend

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: clean facilities and good sized pitches. indoor and outdoor pool. security.
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for terryjfarrell

pretty good site

(Group-mostly male, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: breakfast was cheap,pitches and parking had plenty of room,plenty of showers,the grounds were well maintained,freindly staff and overall i would recommend it a would definately go again
  • Disliked: the toilets were cramped,shop was a little expensive and could do with a larger selection of camping essentials.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Brilliant

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely site with a good shop, nice places to eat, excellent swimming pool and some fun entertainment. The toilet and shower block was cleaned regularly and couldnt fault them at all (and this is coming from a fussy person when it comes to using the loo!)
  • Disliked: Extra charges for parking the car
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Hendra Site Newquay

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

fab , however next time would not book via pitchup.com as they took a deposit which they were not ment to take and it was easier to book through phone to the park .

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the area , the amusements , the outdoor pool ,inddor pool the shop .
  • Disliked: the seagulls at five to fivee every morning . the entertainment could of been a little better .
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Hendrika_T

4 day break with our t4 camper

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The lovely clean facilities and lots to do for children.
  • Disliked: Nothing really!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

An exceptional value for money holiday, and all services well catered for

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Overall cleanliness and amenities were very good. We've been twice now, and will make it three next year. Thankyou for your excellent service
  • Disliked: Arcade machInes wernt very good value, as two pence machines had no good decent prizes to win.more sweets and toys please
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Very nice site, beautifully clean and friendly staff

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: this site was exceptionally clean. the toilet and shower block were spotless, no matter what time of the day. there was always plenty of hot water for showers andd washing up. the evening entertainment was good value for money and the staff worked very hard to make it enjoyable for all ages.
  • Disliked: could not find any fault
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great site! Good pitch and facilities! Lots to do! Very close to Newquay centre.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location.
    Swimming pool.
    Entertainment and choices.
    Bus stop right outside.
    Plenty of information.
    Good value.

  • Disliked: Slippery showers and tiles.
    People being far too noisy at night.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Fantastic place to stay

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything. The staff were very pleasant and were always ready to help. Everything on the site was immaculate.
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Stephen_V

The camp site itself was well run being very tidy with decent sized plots 10m by 9m.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The frequency of the cleaning of the communal facilities and refuse collections reducing the possibility of bugs and wasps to a minimum. Upon arrival the reception were very helpful and informative directing us seamlessly to our pitch. The layout was excellent with all facilities close at hand being relatively central. The site shop was well stocked although a little pricey. However, Morrissons is about 1mile away and has everything you need.
  • Disliked: Generally as you would expect you pay holiday prices on site for food and alcohol and I felt taken advantage of if we stayed on site. Upon contacting Hendra I found the booking to be unconfirmed and could not be told if a 12ft by 12ft tent plus a 6ft by 7 ft tent would fit on a single pitch. I also wanted an electric pitch and was told there were none available however we noticed a pitch with electric available throughout our stay, which I thought was pretty poor. We were situated in Pine near the main raod into Newquay this road never stops 24hrs a day and can be like a race track at times.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

good site and would use again

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: good fun in the pool for kids and also the indoor pool was good
  • Disliked: thougth pitch was a little small for my tent and the cars needed to be reminded that children were about
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

perfect

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: everything about the place morrisons just down the road along with lidle and macdonalds 2mins away.(ideal for campers)
    entertainment brilliant shop on site reasonable toilets and showers spotless.going angain next year for 2 weeks instead of 1,all of us really enjoyed it. !!!!! credit to yourselfs !!!!!!
  • Disliked: just 2 things,before arrival asked for car at side of tent and sunny pitch and to be by toilets,car was 100 yards away no toilets close by but got a sunny pitch.whent back to office to tell them i was not accepting it and they gave me another field to look at ,and i found that brilliant i could then choose my pitch whitch was perfect.
    The other was 1 ordered 3 meals at the resturant on site only got 2 when i went back was told if i wanted to add the meal they missed off i had to go to back of the que of 8 people.so told them were to stick it,and bought a pasty from shop to eat in there resturant.
    After 1st meal got a 25% discount didnt get it second time after asking why this was u have to order after 5.30pm.so thats all i can say wrong with the place from our experiance here ....not bad ehhh...:) just been truthfull but will return next year.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Gary_T

Overall, this was an enjoyable holiday and the location of the site was good. As mentioned, we would recommend that pitches be slightly bigger to accommodate larger vans that have awnings etc...

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The central entertainment point. It had a lovely ambiance and when the weather was good, it felt like you could be abroad !
    The Pizza restaurant was particularly authentic and staff there were lovely!
  • Disliked: We have been touring a long time and this was the first site we have encountered where tents were pitched next to Caravans.
    Pitches were too close and we felt somewhat over-crowded. Pitches need to be far more spacious and tents need to be separated from Caravans in my opinion.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for fayexcooper

Great family site

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Oct 2009
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We love Hendra and have stayed several times, mostyly in hired caravan holiday homes, but also in a tent in high season.
    Like the feel of the place, the pool, the parks for kids, its tidy, clean and has all you need
  • Disliked: It gets busy in high season, which is fine if you like busy, but not if you dont, big site though, so can accommodate it ok
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Spizmo

Fantastic campsite

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2010
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The entertainment available - very family friendly.
    Club with a stage for acts which varied every night.
    Size of pitches (all marked off).
    Electric pitches available - also caravans that are a decent price (wide range for all budgets).
    Toilet blocks - were large and clean.
    Area - five-minute drive into Newquay itself, 45 mins from Land's End.
    Plenty of pitches.
    Five minute walk down to a pub, Morrisons and McDonald's!
    Small supermarket on site - reviews I read before we went was that it was very expensive! Not so...they sold oven baked croissants in the mornings :) Great for getting supplies you may have forgotten for just about anything!
    Pizza place on site - freshly baked.
    Tarmac roads leading between areas so no muddy grass!
    Friendliness of staff.
    Will be returning with friends at Easter time 2011 :) (even though it's a 5 hour drive for us, it's definitely worth it!). Surfing here we come again!
    Cost us £11 per night for two adults, a car (3 person tent)! Bargain (We went September time, bit more expensive in the height of summer)
  • Disliked: Showers, bit too small and cold when in them as big gaps above and below doors! They were in the same block as the toilets.
    Our pitch was on a bit of a slope! Hurt your back by the end of the stay! (four nights)
    Food in the restaurant was a bit pricey.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for gazmo1969

Best caravans yet

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Oct 2010
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The caravans with central heating and ensuite were superb.
    The park was very clean.
    Staff very friendly.
    Plenty of open spaces for football etc.
  • Disliked: Having to pay for swimming.
    Prices at the bar.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus

<< Go back to Hendra Holiday Park