Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Wyreside Lakes Fishery

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.4

Overall rating based on 33 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

84% would recommend this site to a friend.

75% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for dawn_h6

Brilliant!!!!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The staff (Bob and his family) were warm and friendly throughout the holiday! The site had some beautiful views and the facilities were spotlessly clean.
    We had only intended to stay for a couple of nights as I was camping for the first time but extended the stay to 5 days on the first day as we were so impressed. The staff gave some brill advice on days out locally and were accomodating throughout our stay.

    Excellant value for money at £16 a night.

    We will definitley be returning!
  • Disliked: There was nothing we could idenify. It was simply Brilliant.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for samanthamartin31924

lovely place but weather completely spoilt it.

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The staff. very helpful, and when in desperation over putting up the trailer tent for the first time in wind and rain, came to our rescue. The site is beautiful, and it would have been great for the kids to run around if the weather hadn't of seriously let us down. The showers were lovely and clean and modern.
  • Disliked: The pitch we eventually got on was described as 'flat' but it was far from it. As we had never used our trailer tent before, we didnt level it out properly, but this was also due to the terrible weather & just getting it pegged down was a miracle, however, the pitch was on a slope, and was definitely not flat. The drainage in the grass pitches is not clever either. we were at the top of the pitch area and it was extremely boggy, our pitch was a mud bath. This wasnt the first area we had tried, and the first pitch was up a small incline which our car could not get up due to the grass being so wet. I know they can't control the weather, but it would be much better if they can sort their drainage issues out.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for foggypants

Perfect family holiday

(Family with young children, 1 review, 2 photos)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: From the minute we arrived we felt welcomed by the friendly staff, there was even an offer to help put the tent up in the downpour. Once the rain cleared, the real beauty of the site and it's amazing views began to shine. The kids from various families all played together on the green and we felt at ease to sit back and relax. Being mid week, it was quieter which suited us as we could get to know the other campers and the owner. The owner had all the time in the world for us and fascinated us with how they had built it from nothing. The facilities were always very clean and in good working order, staff were always seen cleaning and working around the place. Whilst we are not fishermen, the lakes were a great place to go for a mid evening walk to walk off dinner and seemed very popular with fishermen. Entertainment was only at weekends which we missed, but it was nice and welcoming for a quiet drink. The field had a lot of rain before and as we arrived, yet it drained very quickly. If we are holidaying around this area again we will definitely be booking in again as we were very impressed.
  • Disliked: We really couldn't find anything wrong, I guess if you had to pick something then it would have been nice for the games room to be open Mon and Tues as the boy was a bit bored on the first night, but that said, being closed we managed to chat with the owner and hear some of his amazing stories. The field was on a slope (as advertised) so sleeping has to be thought about not to wake up against the side of the tent but hey, it is the countryside and it would actually be worse if the area was flat as it would seem to fake. It sounds like it gets very busy at weekends so the ambience could be different so might not have been for us, but having not experienced it, it is a bit unfair to really comment or judge.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Karen_H1

first time camping and loved it!!

(Family with older children, 1 review, 2 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The stunning lakes and countryside.. friendly staff and the bacon buttys were to die fir!!
  • Disliked: I loved everything
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Samantha_E1

Beautiful place!

(Young couple, 1 review, 1 photo)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Wyreside lakes is such a beautiful place and the views from our tent were all over them, when we first looked on here as we are a young couple we was unsure whether it would be our seen but it was just brilliant, when I looked at the views there was a small amount mentioning a tattooed man? Well whether he has tattoos or not he was very welcoming and when we was around the reception area he would go out his way to see if you needs drinks or food, looking to come back in the next couple of months!! Thank you for a lovely time :)
  • Disliked: Apart from some moody and inconsiderate camper in the next tent (haha) I have nothing to complain about :)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for simonibison

Very enjoyable

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very pleasant staff, well kept facilities. Would happily stay there again
  • Disliked: nothing really. If the kid's play area had more things on that'd be nice, but it really wasn't a deal breaker.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for shell_ad8

family friendly

(Extended family, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: polite and helpful staff.good facilities.friendly. nice walk along the lakes.
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Louise_C7

Family friendly site with reasonable facilites

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site staff were friendly and helpful.
    There are some lovely walks around the lakes and the small play area was enough to keep the little ones entertained for short spells.

  • Disliked: Lots of children were left relatively unsupervised in the play area.
    Whilst we were camped opposite, this did have its merits in that I could observe my own children relatively easily. The downside is that I felt like I was also supervising everyone else's. I also think that the site would benefit from a curfew on the play area. Some of the older children were still cavorting and being pretty loud up to 10pm. It was only the rain that drove them away.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Good place, a lot further from Blackpool than expected

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I liked the site beautiful location, friendly helpful staff, everything of a good standard.

  • Disliked: My problem is I booked the site for it's nearness to Blackpool, it is in reality approximately 28 miles away that makes it a 56 mile round trip to Blackpool and back to the site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A site that is managed well by friendly helpfull staff.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Good size pitches on a well maintained site. Easy access to the motorway. We enjoyed our stay at Wyreside and will stay there again when visiting the area.
  • Disliked: I found nothing substantual to dislike about the site or its facilities.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Amazing

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: That it had everything that I needed. ESP the pub on site!
  • Disliked: Nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Well kept

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lots of space and so well kept and very clean.
  • Disliked: Should have nearer toilets to site. Not in walking distance to shops/pubs, also to near the motorway noise ongoing throughout the night.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
4
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

overall awesome

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Beautiful location on site facilities are good excellent value for money
  • Disliked: The flies not the fault of anyone but I got eaten alive take fly spray when you go and its hot
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Loved it but midges were a nightmare

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We really enjoyed our stay the place was lovely and staff very helpfull and friendly they made us feel very welcome. The shop was reasonably priced and great for kids toys etc.




  • Disliked: The only problem was the midges (which can not be helped) we were covered in insect repellant and had citronella candels and citronella insence sticks but between the hours of 8 and 11pm we were attacked by hundreds of midges. I sustained 19 bites on my face and 15 on my legs, my husbad has over 100 all over his body, i ended up sharing my tea tree face wipes with some other campers to sooth the itch and it seemed to repel them more than the spray and citronella did.

    The place is really lovely but we will not come again due to the camp site being near a lake / water which clearly attracts the midges and i feel this ruins the camping experience, especially with children getting upset they are being bitten.

    Regards
    Leona Hilton
From the manager...

Dear Leona
Many thanks for your review, your feedback was most appreciated. I’m very pleased to hear you enjoyed the setting of the site and your lovely comments about the staff / facilities, I shall make sure I pass that on to the team. As for the midges, what can I say? Your family must be very tasty! They are a pain and it is true that they do multiply around water. I sincerely hope you may visit us again (maybe out of midge season) and if you do please call ahead and ask to be placed in the top field, it is a lot further away from the lake than the lower one. Take care and thanks for coming,
Kindest regards
Wyreside Lakes

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Tom__P

Benidorm !!

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Leaving!

    Didnt even stay the night just packed up and left.
    Awful.
    The Owner met us on a quad bike, I went over to say hello and shake his hand but he sped off shouting 'follow me'.
    He took us to a camping field which had caravans in as well as tents. The field was tiny and was crammed with tents which were pitched 5-6 feet apart! the whole area was on a slope, so no one was able to camp to a flat surface .

    I asked if we could move and he said 'no you can't' and sped off. Clearly it was a case of like or lump it luv!

    We had asked in advance to be in the adult only field, but this didnt even exist, why advertise what you clearly havnt got!
    Within minuets of erecting the tent we were hit by a football, then a frisby.

    I convinced my partner to pack up and leave as it just wasn't a relaxing situation, we left at 9pm and drove home.
  • Disliked: The crammed sloping Tent field.

    The noise from barking dogs, children playing football across our tent, children with automatic guns with sirens, loud drunken people with a ghetto blaster on.

    I would never go there again and certainly wouldn't recommend this place to anyone , unless you like being surrounded by drunken, fowl mouthed, tattooed, gob shites

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

fantastic site service brilliant definitely recommend for families

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Facilities were spotless and more than adequate for your stay. Site fantastic in beautiful surroundings booked again already definitely recommend for families and couples
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike in our stay
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Andrea_T

overnight stay

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I would definitely recommend this campsight. It is well organised and plenty of space. The people who own it are very pleasant and helpful. Will be going back!!
  • Disliked: Nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Barrowgirl

Fantastic site

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Just back from a 3 day stay at this campsite and have to say we really couldn't fault it.The site is beautiful and very well cared for,there is a 6 metre space between each tent which is great,the toilets and showers were always immaculate.Bar prices were very reasonable,Sally was very helpful both when we got there and with my e-mail questions and Bob is a great character with an obvious passion for the site which is an absolute credit to him,his family and all the staff.
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Stephen_G3

Another brilliant weekend

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Just got back from another brilliant weekend, we love this site so friendly so clean great value for money its our 2nd time in space of two weeks and if it wasn't for a christening we'd be there again this weekend.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

First camping trip with our young children and we absolutely loved it!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Immaculately kept site.
    Good facilities.
    Friendly staff.
    Beautiful scenery.
  • Disliked: Play park for the kids could do with a slide/roundabout. Other than that all good!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

very good

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very clean also very nice staff will be going back
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for wendy_h0

Nice setting but faced inconsiderate campers

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The setting and facilities. Went for walks around lakes. Plenty of pitch room for tent and car. Staff very friendly and keen to help.
  • Disliked: Family groups playing cricket right in front of our pitch. Ball hit car and came in tent. Also children quite noisy at night. Would have been better if families and couples were placed in separate areas. We wanted a quiet site and unfortunately this was not the case.
From the manager...

Hello Wendy, many thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience in the family field. We do have an adults only field up at the top of the property, I’m unsure as to why you were placed in the family field –perhaps it was full- However, if you do visit us again in the summer season and experience any serious disruptions , noise or physical, please come and inform us immediately and we will come down and speak with the persons concerned to sort out the situation. Happy Camping :)

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great place, friendly staff, good facilities - weather helped!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Layout is nice and open, good for walks and kids
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

just got back from one night stay.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This site was recommended to me by a friend so we decided to try it with our two boys aged 2 and 4,
    We arrived on Saturday noon and was greated by a bloke called bob who was very friendly he rode a quad bike around site making sure every one was ok he also showed you where to pitch he directed me to the reception, at the reception we was met by a really pleasant lady didn't catch her name but she was very helpfull and friendly 10/10 for the check in.
    Once bob showed us to our pitch he explained where all the facilities where we pitched our tent in ample space with lots of room for the kids to play which was nice . The weather was great so didn't need much to entertain the kids a couple of buckets of water and water pistols they where very happy there is also a small park great for the young ones.
    The showers and toilets looked new and was very clean.
    We also went to the on site pub for tea which was lovely a real homely feeling and the food was spot on and the girls serving were great.
  • Disliked: The only thing to dislike was a man who worked behind the bar in the pub bald head tattoos on his hands didn't catch his name but was very arrogant I really didnt like him.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for kirstine_k

good position

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: liked the idea that the site was revisited by many! Great views, facilities and staff, perfect and affordable.
  • Disliked: Nothing really
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Easy to find. Staff were friendly. Would highly recommend !!!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Facilities were very good. The site itself was well maintained, shower and toilet facilities were very clean and well kept. Overall nothing negative to say about the site. Will be going again with my children in the next two weeks.
  • Disliked: No negatives to speak of.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for amanda_c0

Friendliest site ever

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The staff , the facilities
  • Disliked: Not being able to stay longer
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Our first camping trip and we loved it!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was extremely clean and tidy, my children could play safely on the park while we chilled rounf the tent, we loved the bar at night and the kids karaoke, great idea! Overall we had a fabulous time and will definitely be back!!
  • Disliked: Could do with a few more sink units but thats just being picky!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

We had a lovely weekend.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: It was a lovely friendly site. No complaints about cleanliness or noise.
  • Disliked: I'd rather not have shared the toilets with the club.
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

nice clean site, good facilities

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Peaceful, good pub (The fleece) near by
  • Disliked: only stayed for one night so didnt have any problems
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for dcb

Loved it. Hope to come again soon!

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: A warm welcome on arrival. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

  • Disliked: We have found it very useful at other camp sites where they issue new arrivals with swipe cards that are used to open the gate.
    This is preferable to having to beep the car hooter and risk disturbing other campers.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for MrsShoer

Enjoyed the stay, beatuiful campsite with good facilities.

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The views which are lovely. Toilets/showers are very clean. Onsite shop which is good if you run out of essentials. Had a bar/restaurant which is great if it rains and you are struggling to get food cooked. Small park for young children.
  • Disliked: If you are a light sleeper then the sound of sheep may disturb you at night.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for suedewtalktalknet

lovely site in quiet location with lovely walks around the lakes and in woodland, very well run by friendly people.

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location.
  • Disliked: nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus

<< Go back to Wyreside Lakes Fishery