Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Quantock Orchard Caravan Park

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.4

Overall rating based on 25 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

88% would recommend this site to a friend.

84% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for ryan_h3

Excellent place to stay for young adults

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We loved the campsite it was very accommodating to use specially as we was a group of young adults not many people accepted us but this campsite did, the owners of the campsite were lovely they gave us lots of information about the area and was very helpful for our needs. We also loved the games room and the ladies shower room was very clean. We also liked how there was a microwave, fridge and washing up facilities for everyone to use which came in very handy as we only had a tent. Overall a great place to stay!
  • Disliked: Would like more stock in the shop, other then that nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for colin_s8

Welcoming site easy to find but more suited to caravans than tents

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Good facilities, shower, toilets and kitchen area with a microwave all well maintained and kept clean despite appalling weather conditions. Was made to feel very welcomed and although games room needed a few repairs to pool table was warm and comfortable and we made use of all facilities including pool table.
  • Disliked: Tent pitches were obviously used as caravan sites as although at beginning of season they were muddy and no fresh grass had been laid/seeded over winter period. Although staff could be found on site the office/shop was closed more often than open requiring a hunt around for staff, although a phone option was also available (mainly for out of hours)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for alan_c12

An enjoyable break in a lovely area

(Mature couple, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Feb 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The clean facilities. Everything looked well maintained. Friendly staff
  • Disliked: The pitches were quite small. Our motorhome is quite large and the only way our van would fit on the hard standing pad was to reverse in and let the overhang extend beyond the pad so that we cleared the roadway. This meant that our van door was right next to the hedge. In fact it seemed to me that the concrete pad plus gravel and the grass were the wrong way round. If you had a caravan and wanted to put up an awning you would have to push the caravan in nose first.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for laura_c5

lovely caravan park, great facilities, really good bargain

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jan 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I really loved the gym, sauna and steam room which we had exclusive use of over the weekend of our stay. The static caravan was really spacious and the lounge warmed up nicely. We were shown our van and then left to it with no hassle, unnecessary rules and regulations or pressure to vacate the van on the Sunday. Its a lovely area and the site formed a perfect base for exploring the Quantocks.
    We will definitely be coming back.
  • Disliked: It was quite cold in the twin bedroom. However, we found an extra heater which did help.
    The only thing we felt we would have liked was a radio.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for paul_f0

Great campsite, highly recommended

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We like this site very much mainly because of its size and location. The size is great for us as we do not like the larger sites which often have too many pitches for the facilities available. The location is also great as it is quiet enough to relax but not too far from busier places. The staff are friendly, as were the other campers.

  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

lovely, friendly well kept site

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Owners very friendly and helpful. Site was well kept, with good clean facilities. Added bonus of swimming pool and games room for the kids. All situated in beautiful countryside next to a steam railway station. There were loads of families there, our son loved it. We would definitely stay there again.
  • Disliked: I have nothing negative to add
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

unhelpful

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Nothing
  • Disliked: The way i was treated by the manager
From the manager...

Unfortunately, this customer did not stay with us due to a double booking. The booking was completed less than two hours before their arrival and there was nothing further we could have done to assist them. We offered an immediate refund and suggested alterative accommodation. Unfortunately, we were unaware of their imminent arrival for this we sincerely apologies.

Location
(No rating)
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for Darryl_H

top notch

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: lovely exceptionly clean site, apart from kids whacking there ball in my caravan every 5 minutes.....excellent
  • Disliked: kids.............too old..had mine....served my time....
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great Weekend Away

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We loved the park as it was a small, quiet. well maintained caravan park. The owner was helpful and sorted out the small problems we had when we initially arrived. The caravan was ample for 2 adults and a teenager. Would definitely go back for another visit. Thanks Mike, James and Richard for all your help.
  • Disliked: A bit out in the sticks and had to drive to go any where, especially to find a pub for food in the evenings - but then I knew that before we departed. A few little things would have helped like knowing where the trip switch was if the electric tripped out & been reset in the park(which it did twice). Also for someone to be in the shop more as we tried a few times but no-one was there. Also the light on the outside of the caravan next to ours was left on all night even though no-one was in it but that was sorted for the 2nd night when I mentioned it. Like I said small things.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Very pleasant, cosy site.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Helpful staff, close amenities, hot showers, nice area.
  • Disliked: My girlfriend spent haf an hour cleaning the shower and toilet before using it.
From the manager...

Thank you for your comments. We are disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your holiday. We are always looking to improve our campsite and we have bought your comments to the attention of our staff. In our defence the weather was dreadful during your stay, which unfortunately resulted in our guests walking through our facility block with dirty shoes, perhaps your girlfriend used our facilities in between cleaning schedules. We have asked our staff to clean the facility block more frequently during wet weather conditions. We apologies once again and would welcome you to our campsite in the near future.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Christine_G

Lovely Campsite

(Family with young children, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The showers
    Swimming Pool
    Playground
  • Disliked: The pitches could have been bigger. Seemed a bit cramped.

    Nowhere to let dogs off lead on site.
From the manager...

Thank you for your kind comments. Unfortunately we are small campsite and we are limited with the amount of land that we have available. However, we do try and allocate each guest with the most appropriate pitch, ensuring they have as much space as possible. We are always looking to increase the size of each pitch. As pointed out in your review we do not have a dog walk on site; however we do have a quiet country lane beside the campsite, which leads to some woods where you could let you dogs off their leads.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for walnad

Excellent customer service with a smile!

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Layout of site was random and not regimented although pitches are not generous in size. Owner and family were very pleasant and went out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible, nothing too much trouble.
    Fish and chip van on saturday night is a gem!
    Touring pitches generally on gravel so although it rained awnings etc were dry.
    Ask for a large pitch is space is important to you.
  • Disliked: I got the impression they did not want to turn anyone away so space was tight and with only 1 facilities block it only just coped, but although a bit dated they were clean and water was plentiful and very hot.
From the manager...

Thank you for your kind comments. Unfortunately we are small campsite and we are limited with the amount of land that we have available. However, we do try and allocate each guest with the most appropriate pitch, ensuring they have as much space as possible. We are always looking to increase the size of each pitch. We have been really busy over the winter period and we are in the process of redecorating our facility block. We also plan to install modern lighting throughout to improve the ambience of the facility block. We hope our guests like our improvements.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for leighton_j

great site and facilities

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Pitch was nice size and private with hedges,
    Showers were clean and hot all the time,
    Nice quiet site which was great for my two young kids.
  • Disliked: Unfortunately the only thing I could fault was that the pool was to cold to use, apart from that I thought the site was perfect.
From the manager...

Thank you for your kind comments. We would welcome you back to our campsite in the near future.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Donna_F

Child friendly

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Quiet campsite. Kids were able to play safely and were entertained with the play area. The pool was heated however youngest became cold after half hour. Shop is stocked with essentials but there us a tesco otherside of Taunton . The showers were hot with good pressure , cubicles with wash basins and toilets all clean could do with possible updating.
    Games room didn't really suit our kids as they are little - pool table and table tennis.

    A very pleasant stay
  • Disliked: Weather and could do with possible more lighting but not a major issue
From the manager...

Thank you for your kind comments. We would welcome you back to our campsite in the near future. We have been really busy over the winter period and we are in the process of redecorating our facility block. We also plan to install modern lighting throughout to improve the ambience of the facility block. We hope our guests like our improvements.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Good stay. Some improvments needed.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Trees and hedges seperating our pitch. Fairly quiet even with it just being off main road.Excellent heated outdoor pool.excellent shop!
  • Disliked: Only 2 showers in mens and Womans Toilets.Showers a little tempremental.They fluctuate from being extremely hot and the cold.we found if you put the head to its max height it stabilised the shower and you got a constant temp.water pressure very good though.the bathroom floors got extremely muddy even in the hot dry weather.No mop next to showers to mop after use.grass pitches got muddy in the rain.

    The man who cleans the toilets uses the drinking water tap to wash out the dirty buckets and wash mats etc.he touches the tap with gloved hands that have been used to clean the toilets! Waste water also emptyed at the drinking water tap.seperate toilet empying point though.

    Pitches very tight and if u have no powered movers on the caravan, a certain amount of pushing and pulling is required to get van out of pitch to hook up to car.No turning circle on site so u have to unhitch and turn van by hand outside to toilet blocks to.

    Although nothing to do with campsite exactly.one couple kept going out in the evening to the pub leaving their two dogs in the caravan.who just constantly barked for a couple hours every night.warden never did anything about it.
From the manager...

Thank you for your comments. We are disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your holiday. We are always looking to improve our campsite and we have bought your comments to the attention of our staff. In our defence the weather was dreadful during your stay, which unfortunately resulted in our guests walking through our facility block with dirty shoes, perhaps you used our facilities in between cleaning schedules. We have asked our staff to clean the facility block more frequently during wet weather conditions. We always continually ensure our staff follow our strict hygiene policy and we have addressed the staff in question with your comments.
We are always happy to assist you when manoeuvring your unit in and out of your pitch, but please ask for assistance. Most of our guests normally do not have any problems manoeuvring in and out of their pitch. Finally, we have four showers for each sex not two as stated in your comments and we have addressed the issues with our hot water. We would welcome you back to our campsite in the near future. Thanks

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Enjoyed our stay which was for a few days mid week during the Summer 12. A remote country location just a few miles from Taunton. Packed with good facilities that is managed by extremely friendly and helpful owners.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful owners.
    Gym facilities.
    Swimming Pool.
    Good size pitch.
    Well maintained, clean with nice borders/flowers.
  • Disliked: Although mature hedging between pitches, when full the site feels very close.
    People contantly using our pitch as a shortcut to get to toilets (not a fault of the caravan park).
    No pub in walking distance (nearby roads not ideal for safe walking).
From the manager...

Thank you for your kind comments. We would welcome you to our campsite in the near future. In response to your comments: Unfortunately we are small campsite and we are limited with the amount of land that we have available. However, we do try and allocate each guest with the most appropriate pitch, ensuring they have as much space as possible. We are always looking to increase the size of each pitch.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

An excellent campsite.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very friendly owners and son. Excellent pool and facilities. Toliet block and showers were always very clean.
  • Disliked: My only gripe was the opening times of the shop. It would have been nice if the shop opened slightly later in the evenings.
From the manager...

Thank you for your kind comments. We would welcome you to our campsite in the near future. We do try and open our shop for as long as possible. We have taken your comments on board and may look to increase the opening times in the future.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Fiona_S0

Great site!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We had a lovely big pitch close to water tap and near toilet and shower block. Kids loved the pool which was used everyday as weather was great. Toilets and showers were ok but a bit outdated. There was a young guy working at this site who was so helpful and friendly. Really went out of his way to help, lending us a few mugs, etc.
  • Disliked: Only let down was the tv in the tv room was not tuned in and we couldn't get it working. There was a few dissapointed families as we all wanted to watch the Olympics opening ceremony.
From the manager...

Thank you for your kind comments. We would welcome you to our campsite in the near future. We have now fixed the issues we were experiencing with our TV during your stay. We apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

very relaxing with beautiful surroundings

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Pitch was a very good size, shower facilities excellent. Friendly staff.
  • Disliked: The pool wasn't open even though we had a few days of glorious sunshine.
From the manager...

Thank you for your kind comments. We would welcome you to our campsite again in the near future. In response to your comments: during off peak season we open the pool on request to try and reduce the heating costs. We would have gladly opened the pool for you if requested, may be for your next holiday. Thanks.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for tim_k

excellent value, very peaceful, landscaped gardens, good facilities

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: everything, beautiful surroundings, excellent dishwashing facility with microwave and fridge for customer use. good showers, loos.
    T.V. room
  • Disliked: a couple of the loo seats were a bit wobbly, but that is the only negative
From the manager...

Thank you for your kind comments. We would welcome you to our campsite again in the near future. In response to your comments: We are always maintaining our facility block and will ensure all our toilet seats are tightened. Thanks.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Devon_diva

Wonderful little haven

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This is a peaceful little park and great value for money. Facilities block very clean and well lit at night. Great location
  • Disliked: Nothing!
From the manager...

Thank you for your kind comments. We would welcome you to our campsite again in the near future.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Shelli_R

Fabulous welcome, excellent site. Clean, accessible facilities - will return with childen

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2010
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: People - Site staff helpful and friendly
    Facilities - everything was clean and tidy
    Location - Site well situated for exploring the area
  • Disliked: We booked at last moment, so there was no record of our booking and had not received confirmation from the park before we left home for a long journey - bit unnerving.
From the manager...

Thank you for your kind comments. We would welcome you to our campsite again in the near future.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for juliethomas

Fantastic site

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: May 2010
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: As I was travelling with a friend who was waiting for a knee replacement, the owners were very helpful in placing us within feet of the facilities on site.

    This was a return visit for me as I had been there in Febuary with my husband as it's a great spot if you want to get into the Quantocks.
  • Disliked: Nothing at all.
From the manager...

Thank you for your kind comments. We would welcome you to our campsite again in the near future.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Fuzzy

Excellent site

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2009
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This site is not too large, nice pitches, nicely landscaped ... well, all of it's good

    Been here about 4 times now, always a pleasure.
  • Disliked: Nothing actually
From the manager...

Thank you for your kind comments. We would welcome you to our campsite again in the near future.

Location
(No rating)
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for suke

Will definitely be going back in the summer!

(Family with young children, 1 review, 2 photos)

  • Date stayed: Dec 2009
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location, amenities, very impressed with the static caravan with regard to size and facilities.
  • Disliked: Although always very clean and tidy, toilet/shower block could do with refurbishing.
From the manager...

Thank you for your kind comments. We would welcome you back to our campsite in the near future. In response to your comments: We have been really busy over the winter period and we are in the process of redecorating our facility block. We also plan to install modern lighting throughout to improve the ambience of the facility block. We hope our guests like our improvements.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus

<< Go back to Quantock Orchard Caravan Park