Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Leadstone Camping

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

9.1

Overall rating based on 26 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

96% would recommend this site to a friend.

92% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for redhaed

Very good site

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Excellent site, Good facilities, nice area.Owners were attentive with out being intrusive.
    The Dawlish air show was on during our stay and we got a Grandstand view whilst pitching our tent!!

  • Disliked: Having to que for showers in the morning. It would be great if another shower block could be added
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for hayley_b0

Friendly CampSite

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Stayed for 4 nights end of August 2013 with my partner in a tent. On arrival we were taken to our pitch (46A) very spacious and flat pitch right next to the facilities block (Toilets,Shower,Wash up area,Launderette,Skip and Drinking water tap) This pitch was great as we were next to everything but it has a slight down fall due to constant noise day and night, Cleaners clean at midnight onwards so would not reccommend this pitch if you have small children but it suited me and my partner.The nearest family pub/restaurant is located within a 5 minute walk which serves great food but is very busy so best to book a table.Aprox 10 t0 15 minute walk and your at Dawlish sea front, Slight hill so walking back takes slightly longer. Overall a great campsite located in a great place, Torquay, Paignton, Brixham all within a 20 - 30 minute drive away.


  • Disliked: Slight Noise on the night from the cleaners
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Malcolm_S

Very Quiet at night

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This was our second stay at the site, the owners/staff were always friendly and helpful, the toilets/shower were kepted lovely and clean also the washing up areas and washing machines and tumble dryer rooms.
    When it was dark there was no kids running around which was lovely, on some sites this does not happen.
  • Disliked: The only thing we would say when its high season more toilets and showers are needed.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Mandi_N

Clean friendly site in a lovely location

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The obviously new toilets,showers and laundry rooms.Clean and airy.Enough showers to keep waiting to a minimum.Site was kept very clean and the owners gace a cheery wave whenever you came in or out.
    I liked the curfew times on the kiddies park.
  • Disliked: Being right next to the childrens play park as it did get very very noisy from 7.30 am.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for lilycat

excellent stay

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This campsite was perfect for us. We were touring Devon and Cornwall and this was our first stop. The campsite was all that it said it was. It was a short walk to the pubs and restaurants and down to the coast which was perfect for crabbing, kids entertainment and fantastic atmosphere for adults. The campsite was well equipt for us, we were in a motorhome, had a fantastic size plot, facilities for the motorhome were good which included filling the water and emptying the waste. Although we had a shower in the motorhome we used the facilities here as they were in excellent condition. To save us driving it was a short walk to the train station which took us to Paignton and other towns. This meant that we had a break from driving. We were only here for 3 days but it was fantastic. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I would certainly stay again and recommend to family and friends.
  • Disliked: There was nothing that I could fault it was all it said it was.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for linda_e

Lovely, clean, peaceful small play area for kids would stay again.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Friendly service, good size pitches, good value for money, forgot how much there is to do in this area of the country .
    no shop on site to temp little kids - great .

  • Disliked: Lack of toilets for size of site , but not enough to stop me from going back.
    Beaches not the best in this area , but still went in the sea.
    pebble beaches , red sand not golden sand .

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Jaroslaw_M

lovely holiday

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: it was nice, quite and beautiful and clean
  • Disliked: need more showers
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for madking88

The site is great for a family get away for camping.

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We have never been down this end of the country as a family camping before, we searched a lot of sites and areas around Devon and decided that this would be a great location for us.
    The site itself is a great site and has great facilites for showers, toilets, washing up, and washing your clothes ( it also has drying and ironing facilities aswell at a small cost )
    Its a great site for families that want a close location to the sea ( Right on Dawlish Warren )
    and has good access to all the towns in Devon.
    The site has a small shop with a limited supply of stock, but you can just pop down to the farm shop on the corner just a short walk away.
    This was a great camping holiday for our family, who enjoyed it and the kids made a lot of new friends.
    The easy access to everywhere makes this site great, dont miss a day out at the water park in Goodrington with its slides and flumes, the boys loved it.
    All in all this is a lovely family run camp site and is a great run site, good job guys.
    Just waiting for the site to open up next years dates so we can book again.
    Cant wait.
    Thanks for the lovely time we had guys.
    See you again soon.
  • Disliked: Not much to add in here as didnt really have any problems or major dislikes in our stay.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for andy_m

Excellent Holiday

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This was our first holiday as a family camping and thanks to all at Leadstone camping it was perfect. From the moment we got there they were friendly and helpful. Great pitch which we could see the park so our eldest go run off and play thinking he was a big boy yet we could still see him.
    Lovely toilet and shower blocks and the washing up area was always clean.
    Excellent site cant wait to go back next year.

  • Disliked: Nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for mjwood

A well-organised site with new facilities

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Good organisation and efficiency, new block with all toilet/shower/washing facilities.
  • Disliked: The pitches were tightly packed and did not give a feeling of space.
    The site was noisy and felt more like staying at a holiday camp than camping in the country.
    Showers fairly mucky.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Nigel_T

A lovely campsite, quiet and relaxing. Good facilities.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Stayed for 7 nights on tent pitch with electric hook-up. Campsite is well organised with good washing facilities in a new purpose built block. Plenty of space - pitches are not too crammed together. There is small playground for younger children. No clubhouse so no late night noise - excellent. A small Reception "hut" which has everything needed. Good service with freezing your cool box freezer blocks too - very reasonable. Staff were helpful. Location is very good - 10 min walk into Dawlish Warren, 15 min cycle to Dawlish, 15 mins car to Teignmouth etc. so pretty handy as a base for the Torbay area in general. Pitches were tidy and only a gentle slope. Electric hook-up was very reasonable too.
    Thoroughly recommended for a nice break without rowdy late night stuff if you like a quiet relaxing site and don't need loads of organised activities to keep the kids "amused".
  • Disliked: A very, very minor dislike - WiFi was quite expensive. Could have been cheaper or included as most places do these days. Not a huge issue but probably worth taking a wifi 3G dongle if you want internet access. Would not put me off staying there again.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Trisherbell

Lovely site!

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely, quiet site, plenty of room for our caravan, awning and gazebo! Nice roomy and clean showers.
  • Disliked: Not enough showers really, queues formed at busy times.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Soles2564

Excellent holiday

(Mature couple, 1 review, 2 photos)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very well organised. Value for money the site was well managed. Local to all amenities. Will go back someday. The dog enjoyed the site too. Staff friendly and helpful
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for kathybaines

Fantastic holiday stay

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We loved everything about Leadstone Camping. It was exactly as they said on the tin - good clean facilities with no unwanted extras. It was a clean, quiet site which felt very safe for the younger children. The new facilities block was cleaned twice daily and always accessible. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times.
    It was an easy 15 minutes walk to the beach and buses accessible outside the site. We hired bikes locally and the site was ideally located for the cycle paths to Exeter.
    We would certainly visit again and booking via Pitchup.com worked perfectly.
  • Disliked:
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for NikkiB

A lovely, clean, safe and friendly site, would highly recommend

(Family with older children, 2 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The fact that it is uncommercialised. The pitches are a very generous size and you dont feel hemmed in at all. There is a small childrens play area, but as we dont have small children and don't really want lots around it was really nice to see them all playing so nicely and the space for them to play ball games was good. The toilet & shower block was spotless! 20p for a shower, well worth it, plenty of hot water!
    We were welcomed by the owners and shown to our pitch, thet continued to be very helpful for the duration of our stay, we would definatley return if visiting this part of Devon again.
  • Disliked: Not really anything we disliked!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for lizblenkinsop7

Fantastic 6 day break in a quiet,clean site located

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The quiet site everyone was in the tents by 10.30 as promised on their website so we all got a good nights sleep. The toilets and showers and pot wash area were the cleanest i have ever visited . the site is very gently sloping but pitches were quite flat and a reasonable size (we only booked for a 4man tent but managed to pitch a seperate 2 man on our pitch at no extra cost ) the site is close (15 minute walk) to the fantastic beach area. Which is child friendly and family orientated
  • Disliked: The showers were not very powerfully but the 20p to turn them on did mean that queues were short and the time did allow for a reasonable shower
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Quiet and Friendly Atmosphere Close to the Sea

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: On arrival, we were greeted and shown to our pitch which was suitable spacious for a 8 x 5m tent. The site was clean and suitable sheltered with high hedges and trees on our side of the site.

    The ablution block appeared to be new and was clean and tidy at all times of the day. The bins and recycling area was suitably large enough to cope with everybody's waste. There were some grumbles from other guests with regards to having to wait for a shower in the morning although in response to this I'd say plan ahead; there was plenty of hot water and if you did have to wait it was not for long at all.

    The shop/reception hut was small and catered for the emergency items (bread/milk/bacon). This was not an issue as you're in walking distance from a shop less than a Mile away or Sainsbury a short drive down the road.

    The children's play area is located next to the ablution block which is handy as you can keep an eye on your pesky critters whilst doing the washing up. The area is closed at dusk by the warden and reopens at 0830 hrs therefore not allowing noise pollution late at night.

    Overall, I'd recommend the site and give it a 9/10.
  • Disliked: Slightly sloping ground although this was counteracted by moving the bed to a different angle and using so spare furniture to prop stuff up. 'You can't have it all'.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Jane_S2

Very good campsite with excellent facilities and well situated.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We enjoyed our stay very much. The owners and staff are very helpful and there are excellent toilet and shower facilities, which are new and very clean. The showers have a 20p charge, which last for at least 5 mins, which is plenty of time. We were very pleased that there were a lot of tents there, rather than being mainly caravans and motor homes. The small shop on site selling the basics was very handy and open every day. The site was very peacefull, with everyone following the no noise after 11pm rule.
    It is in an ideal location for walking to the beach and town. There is a hill down to Dawlish Warren and coming back up is fine if taken steady, there's 3 pubs on the way. We walked down to Dawlish Warren and back several times and walked along the sea wall to Dawlish and back once. The site is beside a main bus route, with bus stop outside camp for Dawlish, Teignmouth (which we used) & Torquay, or down to Dawlish Warren. There are train stations in Dawlish and Dawlish Warren. We had a good day out to Exmouth using the ferry from Starcross.
    We are looking forward to staying at Leadstone again and would recommend it to anyone who wants a quiet relaxing holiday.
  • Disliked: Our only problem was puting up the tent, as the ground was very stoney and as it was very dry the stones were bending the tent pegs in the ground. Our pitch was on slight slope, which meant propping up things like the fridge and table.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for youcantgowrong

Most homely in the area

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lack of commercialism
    Wonderfully friendly staff
    Easy- going
    Low-key
    Roomy
    Great shower block etc
  • Disliked: The walk back up the hill from the beach! Main road walk.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Craig_W

Holiday in South Devon. Hot Summer 2013

(Young couple, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: A wonderful campsite which exactly represented the picture I imagined having read previous reports & reviews of Leadstone Campsite online. A perfect site for all the family. Lot's of local facilities within walking distance. A lovely new farm shop just outside the site entrance. A weekly market held less than five minutes walk away in a local field. So many things made it a great visit.
  • Disliked: It was hard to think of one single complaint about Leadstone. The staff were very polite & helpful.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for ASKS

We have just returned from 10 nights at Leadstone.

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was centrally located between Dawlish and Dawlish Warren and situated on a direct bus route between Exeter and Torquay.

    The site was very quite after ten o'clock which is just what we wanted and it seemed that the management tried to separate adult only parties from families. The toilet block was new and very clean.
  • Disliked: The only problem we have was a nearby dog 'yapping' early in the morning, sometimes six o'clock. Very early!!!!!! The dog was not on the site and I think it was in one of the nearby houses.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

We thought the campsite was exellant. Very clean,well laid out.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The fact that the site was near to a bus route and also within walking distance of Dawlish and Dawlish Warren. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The new shower/toilet block was spot-on! clean and tidy with plenty of hot water and other facilities. Drinking water taps were placed conveniently and to top is the weather was good too!
  • Disliked: There was nothing to dislike.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

excellent campsite, our labrador loved there!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: It was situated not far away from the beach, very friendly atmosphere, the sizes of pitches were really good we had a 4 man tent and gazebo and still lots of space even with the car parked
  • Disliked: didn't like the 20 pence showers as had to make sure I had the change when wanting one
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent site with great facilities

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We really enjoyed our stay at Leadstone which ended just a couple of days ago. The position of the site was such that you could easily walk down into Dawlish Warren and also far enough out that you weren't disturbed by noisy traffic (foot or vehicle!)

    The most impressive things were the facilities. The recently built block containing toilets, showers, launderette and washing up rooms was very well appointed and maintained. The opportunity to buy essentials and make ice block exchange at reception was also a nice feature, together with some excellent local knowledge on where to eat and find entertainment.

    All in all, staying at Leadstone definitely added to our enjoyment of this part of our holiday.
  • Disliked: This will seem rather pernickety, but the recycling facilities on site were very minimal. We're used to separating out rubbish for compost, recycling and general waste, however the waste facilities only seems to handle compost and general. It might be nice to at least have plastic and cardboard recycling as we did generate a fair bit of each.
From the manager...

Hi there
Thanks for staying with us and thanks for your great comments - we are really proud of our facilities which were brand new in 2012. Being 10 minutes walk to the Blue Flag beach is very handy - saves paying car park charges!
With regard to our recycling facilities we do have bins for glass bottles, plastic bottles, cans and newspapers adjacent to the general waste facility.
Sarah and I are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.
Andrew

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Caroline_G

We stayed mon-fri in Dawlish for a quiet break

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The cleanliness of the facilities, the size of the pitches, the location 10mins from sea, the bus stop outside, the hire of ice packs, the fact we had a choice of loads of pitches, reception was available all day then there was a warden onsite out of hours.
  • Disliked: The pressure in the hand basins was so high I got soaked everytime I washed my hands.
    It was really quiet mon-thurs so we were spoilt. People arrived late on thurs night and were noisy up to 11.30
From the manager...

Thanks for posting your review and such great comments about our seaside location and how we operate as a small family owned and run business (in or 40th season this year!) We are closed for 9 months of the year so once everything is set up and turned on for the new season (early June this year) sometimes it takes me a day or two to get everything, including the tap pressure just right. I am confident that it is correct now! Of little consolation to you now and apologies for any inconvenience.

We are well known for our "No noise after 11pm" policy so I am as disappointed as you are that there was some disturbance. The Warden that night must have missed the offenders for reasons unknown so I do apologise. A a quiet family site we do take this issue very seriously, as regulars will know.

Sarah and I look forward to seeing you again.
Andrew

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for deafdoggie

FANTASTIC!

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely site. No clubs, bars, large shops, etc, just peaceful family site. Small playground for the children, washers & dryers, toilets & showers. Everything you need. Reception doubles as a (very) small shop for milk, bread, etc. Bus stop outside the gate. Strict no noise policy at night, which means the children don't get woken by drunken revellers!
  • Disliked: The walk back up the hill from the beach!! Would be good if had lockers with power sockets in for securely charging phones, games consoles etc.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus

<< Go back to Leadstone Camping