Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Bucklegrove Caravan & Camping Park

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.2

Overall rating based on 9 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

88% would recommend this site to a friend.

88% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for MaxK

Great cabin, brilliant site

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: May 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The cabin at the site was great - large comfortable bed for me and bunks for teenage boys. I'm used to camping so this was real luxurious comfort!
    It rained like hell the weekend we were there - so it was nice to be warm and dry in he cabin - cook under cover, electric kettle and a TV. Really well equipped.

    The site itself has really good facilities. There is an indoor swimming pool and a bar with lots of events. We had a cracking Sunday lunch - really recommend that.
    And friendly owners - cant do enough for you.

    I would recommend this site to anyone - the cabin made a lovely change, but I've camped here too. The facilities are good, the site is clean and the views are fantastic!
  • Disliked: Nothing that I can think of.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for barrie_g

log cabin review

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: area chedder,wells all nice
  • Disliked: ower was rude ,said to me i am taking the pi.. out of him ,slaged me off to next door ,this was all because my sister stayed with me for one night and i did not tell them, he said to next door sorry about them next door i carnt always control who comes here ,what a check..... we left next day . would not recomend to anybody it felt like we were being watched had to leave a day early shocking!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
From the manager...

Dear Mr Green
When you booked the cabin directly with us (not pitchup) in February you were sent an information pack with check-in times and booking conditions. It is made very clear that the cabins are only suitable for a maximum of 2 adults and 3 children. You booked for 2 adults and 2 children. When you arrived at 10am; (before the previous guests had departed) some 4 hours before the check in time, you insisted on waiting and we went out of our way to accommodate you early.
Upon check in you were once again given information that clearly stated that you shouldn’t let visitors onto the park with your barrier card and that they must be signed in at reception. We take the well-being and safety of our guests very seriously and so we were very surprised to learn that your sister, her partner and 2 extra children had stayed on your first night. That is a total of 4 adults and 4 children in a cabin designed and insured for a total of 5 people. We approached you about this and you tried to tell us that they had arrived late after reception had closed. This in fact was not the case and you later admitted that your sister and her family arrived before reception closed and that you had not only let them in with your barrier card but had deliberately chosen not to register them at reception. We are not used to rudeness of any sort from our guests and so we were a little surprised by this. When we tried to point out that you had shown a lack of consideration to us and your neighbours you seemed baffled and so Chris used language which was easier for you to understand. And yes, he also felt the need to apologise to your neighbours for you overcrowding the cabin.
We could have asked you to leave the park that morning and to pay for your additional 4 guests. However we did neither of these things and opted to give you the benefit of doubt. We are offended by your suggestion that you were being ‘watched’. That is clearly not true otherwise we would have approached you that same evening. Our business is everything to us, and we have guests who come back year after year, because they enjoy the service we offer. We are sorry that you did not feel this way and went away feeling disappointed, as we try to do everything we can to give our guests the best holiday we can.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for maccapacca

friendly warm greeting and staff very helpfull

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the camp and good views, the setup was clean and hospitable, toilets blocks were kept immacculately clean and all working plenty of hot water and showers very easy to control for the aged and the young alike. the park was clean and well kept recently mowed pitch sites and water and waste clearly marked out and all within a good distance to every pitch, views were very good and quite a lot of siteseeing to do in surrounding areas young one loved it but not much for our older lad of 14 to do the pool table was not up to much and very badly positioned being next to the toilets you have to pass through them to go and return to the bar area nearly knocked a little ones teeth out when they run through during a game not good at all
    and the swimming pool leaves a lot to be desired as they are very small and would fill up easily
    i think the touring pitches could be a bit further apart as our awning was very close to waste tanks on next door van and does not seem very hygenic especially as people do like to barbecue jus outside their awnings
    we are new to carravaning and if i have t many pitches like this i think i would seriously consider going back to hotel rooms

  • Disliked: the swimming pool sizes and the positioning of them
    as the bar area is the only means to get in to them not fair on adults trying to relax when our kids want to make noise and run bak and fo
    also th pool table is not very well positione as i said the toilets or table needs to move to allow people playing pool to do so and others not to get hit with pool sticks when passing
    all in all a good site and quite quiet
    but positiones coud be looked into a bit think
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for justinheasman

Absolutely fantastic and very friendly place

(Family with young children, 1 review, 1 photo)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The facilities were great, the pitches were clean and grass was recently mowed. The view was amazing. Good fun entertainment and the on site restaurant was also very nice. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    We ran into some very bad traffic on the way and the staff were very understandable and arranged for us to pick our details up after the last check in and they get a huge thumbs up from us.
  • Disliked: Nothing to be honest. We had a most enjoyable stay.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent stay!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Excellent campsite Great for the children. Lovely swimming pool great bar. I reccomend the carlsberg export extra cold! The park warden is always available during your stay and the camp is very secure excellent location for wooky hole, cheddar gorge, wells and cheddar. Will definitely be back here again.
  • Disliked: No dislikes at all.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great location, good pitch set up

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We would stay again as a family, site full of dogs, great views and excellent facilities.

    Only downfall but out of anyone's control is the early morning wake up call from the crows.
  • Disliked: The early crows :0(
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Nice site, professionally run & friendly staff

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Friendliness of the staff
    Cleanliness of the facilities
    Site layout & pitch sizes were very good
  • Disliked: Neighbouring tent allowed their dog to run around without a leash, playing ball and running into our tent on a few occasions. This was annoying but that isn't the fault of the site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for amyvaughan351

Brilliant cabins

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Nov 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the log cabins were very comfortable, warm, lovely views. very warm friendly welcome. Just what you need nice and quite location. The shower blocks were clean.
  • Disliked: nothing.....
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for simonacook

Lovely little site. Highly recommended. Stay here for a quiet break in the wilds of Somerset.

(Family with older children, 5 reviews, 3 photos)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Good size and quality of pitches. Bar and food excellent value. Quiet location with stunning views and surrounding countryside. Friendly on-site staff. Reasonably good showers and plenty of hot water.
  • Disliked: Swiiming pool marketed as an attraction but in reality very small and always packed.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus

<< Go back to Bucklegrove Caravan & Camping Park