Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Brightlycott Barton

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.7

Overall rating based on 21 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

80% would recommend this site to a friend.

85% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for lewis_w

Basic, honest camping.

(Mature couple, 4 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This is simply a farm that has given over some land to camping. There are some level pitches and electric hook ups.
    There are no other amenities aside from toilet / showers but if that's what you're after, this is fine.
    No frills but lovely views from an elevated position.
    You can even buy eggs laid on the farm, a nice touch.
  • Disliked: There is a modern toilet and shower block which looks very nice. However, this was not available when we visited and the only reason for this that I could see, was that we were the only people camping so it was not worth opening them for us. This was very disappointing, as the alternative facilities were not up to scratch and consisted of a basic outhouse with holes in the roof, lights that don't all work and spiders for company!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Carl_H0

Overall a very peaceful clean friendly site with great views

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: peace and quiet, being right next door to shower/toilet block, cleanliness, views of surrounding Devon countryside. Not having to drive too far for visiting places.
  • Disliked: Lack of campsite shop
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Swardle

Loved everything about this site

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Great campsite. No fuss good honest camping. Peace and quiet lovely views. Owner makes you feel very welcome and we enjoyed the free range eggs and the apples were fab!
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for chrissimmons3726

good

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Good quite site with good views towards Barnstaple
  • Disliked: the toilets etc could be cleaner
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for janedeanwood

Great, very friendly, clean, lovely views, lots things for children

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Extremely friendly welcome from Charles, who was always easy to find
    Beautiful setting, enjoyed the mix of touring and camping pitches, not
    statics
    Really spacious, the site is not too big so it had a lovely friendly atmosphere
    A great play barn with ping pong and basket ball, table football,
    there are swings and paths round the site for the chilren to ride bikes
    There were lovely animals for everyone to visit & help feeding with the chickens & collect eggs
    showers & toilets really clean, and economic washing machine/drier
    we will definitely go again
    Great location for Saunton sands, takes 20 min drive
  • Disliked: the only improvement we would say for the showers to be a bit hotter and
    stronger pressure
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for neal_y

Wonderful site, peaceful and amazing views

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This site is great. A small friendly site with 2 rows of tents/tourers. One at the top of the hill the other half way down. Then masses of space for the kids to play.

    The views are stunning, the welcome we received was great and personal. All the facilities are new and well kept and everything you need is here. There is also a little barn with some toys in for the kids to use.

    Would recommend and will be returning soon.
  • Disliked: There was nothing to dislike
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Petrina

Perfect!

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything about this site, it's simplicity, it's cleanliness, it's friendliness. Absolutely no complaints, just good honest quiet camping (apart from the snoring in the tents next door :-0 tee hee!) Will definitley go there again.
  • Disliked: Nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Deborah_H4

Unspoilt campsite with splendid views

(Mature couple, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The views from our pitch were stunning, the site is very rural and un-manicured, which we prefer. Yet there were modern facilities and a friendly sincere welcome from the owner. Even in July, we had a very private pitch many meters from our closest neighbour.
  • Disliked:
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Liza__M

absolutely fantastic holiday

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I liked everything about this site also very close to surrounding coastal areas..
  • Disliked: There is nothing i disliked
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Enjoyed our stay very much

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The pitches were large even for our tent
    Toilets and showers clean and lots of nice hot water
    Free use of the fridge freezer was a real boon as was the free use of the
    washing machine.
    Tumble dryer at £1 for 30 mins was excellent value.
    Lovely friendly owners
    Feeding the hens was a treat
    View from the pitch was very pretty and the grass was kept very short so we had no problems trailing grass into the tent.
    Only a short drive into Barnstaple and the shops and to Arlington House, well worth a visit.
  • Disliked: I can honestly say that I disliked nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Martin_A1

Quiet peaceful site in beautiful area, Well run by the owner Charles

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The perfect quiet, no traffic noise, it doesn't have a bar or swimming pool to host screaming shouty over exited people. It is a lovely clean site well organised with generous space between the pitches. It is a small site with easy access to the toilet block which houses toilet, showers and wash basins for male and female in seperate areas of the block with the kitchen wash room facilities including the use of a fridge and freezer, Brilliant! The pitches were all flat and level that I saw in use. Would I recommend this site, well to be honest only to my nicest of friends.
  • Disliked: My plastic tent pegs who would think up that. had to buy some proper metal pegs if anyone from outwell should read this com'on guys what is this about.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Very quiet, lovely countryside views on outskirts of Barnstaple

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We were very lucky to have perfect hot sunny weather
    Quiet setting on a working farm - lots of flies
    Beautiful countryside views
    Hedgerows of wild flowers,predominantly foxgloves during our visit
    Level pitches which are all grass
    Electric hook-up
    Informal, friendly farm family
    Reasonably easy to find from the directions given on website
    Site accepts card payment


  • Disliked: The shower block would benefit from updating offering more privacy and child friendly facilities
    Lots of spider webs
    The light in the shower block is on a sensor/timer and I was often left in the dark.
    No private washbasin cubicles
    I noticed there was no baby changing facility
    Only one drinking water tap on site at entrance to shower block
    The CDP is in the 'old' shower block down steps as was the waste water drain
    No bus stop nearby so a long walk into Barnstaple but a very steep walk back
    Taxi costs £6.50
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for suzik1

Fantastic Site

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location - was perfect for exploring all that North Devon has to offer. Easy to reach from main roads but far enough away to be peaceful and relaxing.

    Limited number of pitches - masses of open space to enjoy the views and for the children to play. Terraced to take advantage of the views.

    Lovely, relaxing, friendly, welcoming. Free washing machine!!! Fresh free range eggs from the chickens. Helpful owners.

    Clean and spacious amenities block including hot showers, free washing machine, cheap dryer, fridge freezer.

    Loved this site. Can't wait to go back.


  • Disliked: Not a dislike but point to make - need rock pegs as the ground is very stony. This appears to be a result of levelling the pitches though and helps with drainage. Even in heavy wind and rain the tent stayed put and the ground drained well.

    I was happy with the facilities but want to clarify the lower score for child friendliness - the outdoor play area is just a swing frame and there is a table tennis table, etc, table football and couple of tractors for the children to play on in the barn if it rains. Not the best play facilities I have ever seen but given the pitch fees and the size of the site this is adequate. The children were all quite happy to take advantage of the masses of space in which to play ball games and run around. The only other issue is the bathing facilities. There is a large shower and separate disabled room which can be used for showering families. However, my daughter is 4 and will not use a shower so I had to buy a crate to give her a bath in (she's small!) Also, even if she did like the shower the temperature is not adjustable so it is just too hot for her.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

excellant stay, friendly owner facilities just what we needed

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the friendly reception we had and continued warmth and welcome from Charles the owner.
    The toilet block showers and Laundry washing up facilities were excellent and clean. Pitch was good and flat with a light to lead our way.
    The dogs were allowed to roam free and were as good as gold, yet worn our by the end of our stay.
  • Disliked: Pub not in walking distance
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for matildegarcia

Great campsite!

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Quiet campsite with beautiful views over the hills.
    Clean toilet and shower block.
    Friendly owner.
    Free range chicken - fresh delicious eggs available
    Games room/barn



  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Mark_P3

quite site no club house, no noise at all. great

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: pease and quite with good size pitch.
  • Disliked: ground very wet
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent, well maintained, quiet, small, site with good facilities.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Level, terraced pitches.
    Lovely views.
    Quite location.
    Good facilities.
    Sensible price.
  • Disliked: No chemical toilet disposal facilities.
From the manager...

We do have chemical toilet disposal in the old toilet block.
Our apologies that you were not aware of this - we will look to make this clearer for visitors..

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

We had a good week here but found there needed a lot of improvements for us to consider a revisit.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I liked the views, the owner was very friendly and welcoming.
  • Disliked: The showers cubicles were very clean, spacious but the water was very low pressure and tepid. We were there all week and the hand towel appeared not to have been changed and was very grubby. The old original toilets/showers at the other end of the site are desperately wanting, leaving a lot to be desired.
From the manager...

Thank you for your comments, it is always useful to have feedback.
We have now replaced the hand towels with hand driers in the main ablutions block.
With regard to the old toilet block (which is used as a chemical toilet waste disposal area), this has now been repainted and we have put up a hand rail next to the steps leading to it. New for this year is also a coin operated tumble drier.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for shirley_g0

Stayed 2 nights . Weather reasonable. Ground rather muddy !

(Extended family, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The welcome we received.
    The size and location of the pitch.
    The lovely views.
    The facilities and cleanliness of the shower block.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely quiet site, a bit off the beaten track but with great views over the Taw valley

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Site owner very helpful and personally conducted everyone to their allotted pitch. Pitches are very generous and terraced so everyone gets a good view. Facilities limited but every thing clean and in good order with plenty of hot water.
  • Disliked: No dislikes
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for creativewriter1985

We'll definitely be returning to the site

(Young couple, 7 reviews)

  • Date stayed: May 2010
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This was our first time visiting this site, and we would definitely go back.

    The location is great: just a few minutes' drive out of Barnstaple which has supermarkets, shops, pubs etc. It's an ideal base for exploring North Devon.

    The campsite is large and wasn't very busy at all, but we only stayed for one night on a Sunday evening, en route to somewhere else.

    The toilet block is spacious and clean, though it would benefit from some electric hand dryers. The showers are plenty warm enough and the cubicles a decent size.

    The owner is very pleasant and can be called upon to recommend a decent pub. The pricing was excellent too.
  • Disliked: Nothing - we really liked the site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus

<< Go back to Brightlycott Barton