Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Riverside Country Park

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.4

Overall rating based on 86 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

87% would recommend this site to a friend.

84% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for helen_c5

Lovely site, very pleased and planning our next holiday there now.

(Family with young children, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Beautiful site, well maintained, very helpful and friendly staff, made very welcome. Excellent facilities in a gorgeous setting. We can't wait to return soon.
  • Disliked: That we had to leave.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for ann_a

Stayed for three nights in a pod

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I liked the location, the pod was great, better than our tent and didn't have to put it up!!! Took a little oil heater with us to take the chill off the place also a mattress, sheet, pillows and a duck down quilt, very cosy, would do it again. The toilets and showers were ok as well. The pod was exactly how it was described, all the fun of camping without having to erect a tent. the site even had security.
  • Disliked: I don't have any complaints about the site, it was exactly how it was described.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for ian_m9

Convenient, pleasant

(Solo traveller-male, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Convenient stopping point en route to Kelso
    Clean and pleasant surrounds
  • Disliked: N/A
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for maureen_k0

Lovely peaceful site

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Dec 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We enjoyed our break. The site was peaceful and quiet. There are plenty of bars and restaurants in the town if you wanted a more lively break. However i couldnt comment on these as we didnt venture out of an evening. We took 2 dogs and it was great for walks so they enjoyed it. It was however very muddy when we arrived and the pitch we supposed to go on was under about 5 inches of water. After a moan it was were relocated but we still decided against putting the awning up as usual. The site seemed to be on a flood plane so maybe it is better suited to summer months.
    Overall an excellent site and all the staff where very friendly
    Excellent location for walks and bars, restaurants and shops all within easy walking distance

  • Disliked: There was a few downsides to the site. One was that the waste water had to be lifted into a drain which is not user friendly for an elderly person and the bar/restaurant which was attached to the site was only open on weekends for a limited time so if you wanted to use this facilty it would be best to check hours prior to the visit. This of course may be different in the high season
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for alison_n0

Fantastic 4 day stay in a Camping Pod (2 adults and a German Shepherd)

(With friends, 1 review, 2 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Dec 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very friendly staff, well kept grounds, clean and tidy camping pod. This was our first experience of a 'pod' and it's great - all the simplicity of a tent but warmer (we took a radiator) and no assembly required!
    The toilet block was heated, modern and cleaned regularly and we particularly liked that the shower cubicles had solid, lockable doors (this may seem obvious but we have been places where you just get a ragged curtain, IF you're lucky!!).
    We had a dog and there were plenty of routes around the site to walk although the site asks that dogs are kept on a lead. It was especially useful that the main tracks were subtly street-lit so we could walk in the dark December evenings!

    On our first night we arrived after opening hours (as arranged) and rang the Night Warden as directed. He arrived within 2 minutes and couldn't have been more helpful - just what we needed after 2 hours on the road!

    There is free Wi-Fi in the bar/restaurant (part of the Riverside complex but 2 mins up the road from the main campsite) and the hot chocolate is good!

    Overall, an excellent winter camping experience and we'll definitely be back to use a pod again!

  • Disliked: I feel that I should balance the 'good' with some 'bad', but I would just be being picky! The lock on the pod door was quite fiddly (but that might just have been me...) and the bolt on the inside could have been more substantial. Saying that, the pods are a solid alternative to a tent, so they are much more secure than a tent from the start! The area is very rural and feels safe, and there are several security vehicles on site. The security staff patrol through the night, so we certainly didn't feel security was an issue!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for paul_o

fantastic site, first rate facilities

(With friends, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Security were absolutely on the ball, the site was so nice we ended up just walking along river bank and around the lake most of our stay. We stayed with friends who had kids with them and the kids absolutely loved it too, play areas for them etc.
  • Disliked: The only drawback if you can call it that, is the pub was a short walk and across a road. Although i have stayed on Haven and Park resorts and had to walk further to entertainment complex.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for bobrobbiemoo

Puppy Pod Adventures by "Masey" @The Riverside Country Park

(Mature couple, 1 review, 6 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Me & My humans!

    I'm a small Norfolk Terrier called Masey (4,3/4yrs old). It can sometimes be difficult for me to take my human Mum and Dad on holiday with me because not every campsite likes dogs, even small friendly ones!

    Pod!

    Whilst I do like tents, mum always has a difficult time finding things to keep me occupied whilst she puts up the tent... So this time, Mum decided it was best to stay in one of the Wooden Pods... I wasn't best pleased at first because I do love to run around with tent poles and get in everyone's way but I soon realised that the little camping Pod meant I could play out straight away, rather than wait for my humans to put a tent up!! BRILLIANT!

    Check-in

    We arrived late at night, about 10:30pm human time. It was mid-week so the campsite was very quiet and reception was locked up. We called the number on the reception door and a LOVELY man, Connor, came to check us into our Pod. He was lovely and Mum said she really liked his gorgeous Irish accent! Connor played with me and was very helpful - nothing was too much of a problem. Connor leant Mum a big umbrella because it was pouring "Cats & Dogs" - I don't know know why humans say that because I didn't see any?! WOOF!

    Accessibility

    Dad blew the double airbed up and put all the bags into the Pod whilst mum set-up the camping stove on the Pod porch. Just outside the door, there was a little decked area, it was a little small but comfortable and Mum said she liked it because there was only one step up. Mum has trouble with her mobility (that's why she never chases me with my toys!) but she was very happy camping here because it was only about 1min for her to walk very slowly to the Disabled shower cubicle & toilet. There was a ramp up
    to the toilets too (Mum was very impressed!). The toilets/ shower were ALWAYS clean & had lots of toilet paper in them too! Being a puppy, I never went into the showers. I don't think I was allowed. I prefer swimming in the little river at the back of the campsite over showers anyway! WOOF!

    Pub!

    The bar/restaurant was a "good walk" away - too much for Mum, we had to drive. Me & Dad would have walked it in about 4 minutes. We are superfast!!

    Water / Electric

    There is a water tap about 14 human-steps (that's about 28 puppy-steps) from the Pod number 51 that me & my humans stayed in. Inside the Pod it was quite dark because it was wooden and only had a tiny back window about as big as a small terrier could fit through. I won't tell you how I know that! There is no lighting inside the Pod so during the day, it's OK because the front double-door windows let enough light in but my Mum (British Sign Language Interpreter) says that if you are Deaf or Deafblind, it would be a bit too dark inside to communicate properly. Luckily, there are two electric sockets on the wall inside the Pod - like the ones we have at home.

    Heating

    Dad was very clever and took an extension lead so that we could have a light inside and also charge-up lots of things that humans hold and tap and talk into. Dad wasn't very clever for leaving one of the sleeping bags at home though and it did get a bit cold in the evenings inside the Pod. Even though I've got lots of fuzzy-furr I was still a bit brrrrr. Mum has just told me to tell you to bring sleeping bags and a spare big blanket too :o)

    Space outside

    There is lots of space for us furr-puppies and human-puppies to play outside of the Pods. We had a big field in front of us. There is a lonnng river that runs at the back of the field but it is quite shallow (maybe 3ft deep at the deepest parts when we went). The field is safe for children because of the built-up grass banks that stop young children seeing the river. Mum says to keep an eye on little kiddies though because they can run off exploring and maybe the river is deeper at different times of the year? Mum thinks that kiddies older than me, say around 9yrs+ (that's 63 dog yrs) would be safe to explore?
  • Disliked: Accessible Bathroom

    Mum says she would have preferred it if the campsite had an accessible bath / disabled bathroom because showering is exhausting and it's nice to have a relaxing hot bath sometimes to ease the pain in her joints.


    The REALLY BIG Step! On-site Shop/ Newsagents

    On Sunday, Mum took me over to the little newsagents shop by reception. It took us less than 2mins to walk around from our Pod, even with Mum walking REALLY slowly! I liked the little shop because outside there were footballs and fishing nets hanging up and other games and toys. I'm amazing at football - WOOF! There is a BIG step up to the entrance of the shop and that was quite difficult for Mum to get up. I did ask her if she wanted a puppy-back... It's like a piggy-back but from puppies! I was too small to help her up the step but she was OK on her own. I think she would have found it a bit easier if there were a couple of smaller steps, rather than one BIG one?

    Dad was very happy with the little shop because all he wanted was his weekend newspapers. They didn't have The Observer but they did have the 'i' newspaper and Dad likes that nearly just as much so it kept him quiet... Too quiet actually. I got bored and tried to steal his paper off him and ran around the field with it! WOOF!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Graeme_B

A very nice site in a peacefull setting.

(Family with older children, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very dog friendly site in a peaceful location. Ideal for walking. The village has several pubs & reasonable shopping facilities, good enough for basic supplies. The site itself has good amenities & surprisingly fair prices.
  • Disliked: Pitches a little close together & limited bathroom / shower facilities. Toilets could be cleaned more regularly.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for kdoyle14

Nice quiet stay

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The park was peaceful and well maintained. My boyfriend and I stayed in a camping pod. I can imagine some people not to like the pods but for us, a couple who aren't materialistic and just wanted to spend with each other, it was great.

    It was lovely walking next to the river and my boyfriend enjoyed the fly fishing lake- not the most scenic lake you've ever seen- but still, it was a fun afternoon.

    We visited after the school holidays so the clubhouse was pretty empty. We played a lot of pool. £1 per game was a bit much though considering we played a great number of games.

    We took a day trip to anlwick castle which was sweet and spent our evenings drinking wine, watching the stars or a dvd.

    Would recommend to a young couple who want to spend a few peaceful days with each other.
  • Disliked: The option to buy or rent dvds from the on site shop would have been very handy.

    Booking our pool session seemed very pointless since the pool was in very little demand at the time we were staying.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for traceywharton7

Very enjoyable stay

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The park was clean as were all facilities and we all had a great week staff were very welcoming and friendly.

  • Disliked: Coming home
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Incy

Noisy dirty crowded

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location near to the river
  • Disliked: Everything. The pitches were crowded with tents touching which I'm sure isn't allowed. The toilets and showers were very small and only clean at 7am. The pot washing area was also the laundry where people wee washing their clothes and their dogs !!!! At night the campsite was extremely noisy with drunken people shouting and swearing. We had just travelled from Scotland and were shocked when we arrived. Luckily we were only there for two nights otherwise we would have been cutting our holiday short.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for Lisa1981

Really lovely family place to stay the children loved it.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The swimming pool and the walks ,nice walk for the dogs.Lovely parks for the children to play in .
  • Disliked: None
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for christina_s0

A busy weekend at Riverside

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the location of the site. Wooler is a lovely place, full of character. Had a great meal at Milan Italian restaurant. Would recommend it.
  • Disliked: The site was just so busy when we arrived, full of tents & caravans galore. We thought it would be quiet as it was the last weekend in September but Saturday was too busy for us. Luckily we were visiting friends so not on the site very much at all. Sunday night, everyone had gone home & we were back to the quiet Riverside we have experienced before. When it is full the pitches are a bit on the small side as were encroached from both sides:-(
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Peter_B3

Awful Awful Place - Never again will I stay at this site

(Mature couple, 2 reviews, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The milk bar cafe over the road, lovely food and people.
  • Disliked: Well where do I start, I tell it how it is and this is how it is...

    1, This site is on a very busy main road which is very noisy.
    2, My request for a quiet pitch was totally ignored even though it was booked months in advance, we were placed on a pitch between kids and party goers, there is no attempt at splitting the type of travellers according to category, so between the two we had yobbos noisy at 02:00 when they get back from the pub and kids waking us up at 06:00 so 4 hours sleep a night at best - when asked to change pitch I was told they were full and yet a much quieter pitch next to the pods was available.
    3, In my opinion the tents are way too close together, I was told that they are a minimum of 3 meters apart as per the fire regulations for tents, I did just get 3 meters from the tents next door but this left nowhere to put my car as the tent behind had pitched too far back, there were multiples of tents on this site that were too close together, there is no control over the pitching at all, the staff should be controlling this but do not.
    4, The staff are rude and do not care about your welfare or requests.
    5, The site is huge and there are nowhere enough facilities with only 3 showers, 3 toilets and 3 sinks per gender, the layout of the shower blocks are awful, you are cleaning your teeth 3ft from a the toilet cubicle doors, you can taste the faeces whilst you are cleaning your teeth, the showers are next to the urinals - you have to walk through the urine on the floor to get to them, it is never dry during the day, the shower cubicles have a sign saying keep the curtain in the tray which is impossible as the heads of the showers point straight at them so when you turn it on it just blasts the curtain out the way and soaking the floor, at least this washes a bit of the urine away you have just walked into the cubicle, the shower curtains had mould growing on them as did the corner of the shower trays.

    All in all this site is not a camping site at all, it is a very chavvy holiday park site, don't go here if you like camping this is not camping it is akin to a caravan holiday site without the caravan.

    Watch your kids when you go to the clubhouse it is across the other side of the busy road with no crossing, an accident is waiting to happen.

    Awful site awful experience never to be repeated.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for arkley75

very dissatisfied

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Coming home
  • Disliked: That the staff didn't seem interested in your stay the pool had to be pre booked and the entertainment was off site across a busy main road so you had to take the children to the complex instead of letting them play and you relaxing in your tent facilities were clean but entrances not very well lit! !!!!! And the fact people usually pitch tent's back to back but no we had one that pitches right behind us facing our bedrooms so every day they would wake us up making breakfast I could go on and on button long story short we come home nearly three days early wasted my time and money on what should have been a nice holiday ..........
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
2
Google Plus
avatar for bennettal78

very good

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: site and location great and very clean disabled facilities were good too.
  • Disliked: Problems with noisy neighbours and security didnt address noise was very late 1am when this was happening.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for lynnepacker

Not for us

(Family with young children, 3 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The facilities were clean.
  • Disliked: We stayed in a pod, which was placed right by the main reception and therefore by the main road, so it was very noisy and didn't feel very safe with a small child.

    The pod didn't have a light or a hook, which would have been useful.

    We didn't feel the staff were very welcoming or friendly.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Richard_B5

Not bad

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The fact the showers and toilets were only 1 minute away. The on site shop was not badly overpriced.
  • Disliked: No staff coming to your tent and asking how your stay is. No leaflets being handed out as what entertainment is being offered at the club.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for michelle_b3

Brilliant clean site

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: All of it well maintained, helpful staff, toilets regularly cleaned. Lovely accommodation
  • Disliked: Could have more wash facilities
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Hmoc90

Excellent!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything about the site. Kids club was great, clubhouse on a night was good, pool was lots of fun, toilet/shower block very clean and I seen it been cleaned at least twice a day. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Have booked up again.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for gillianallen1

Nice clean site with good facilities.

(Family with young children, 1 review, 2 photos)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the surrounding area. The toilet/shower block was clean. The reception staff were helpful.
  • Disliked: the lack of friendliness and smiles from the staff in the Riverside Bar and the shop.
    Also thought the pitches were very close together.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for emmalouisesaxton

Excellent place to stay but shame about the swimming pool

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: we were right on an end pitch where we closest to the office (pitch 55), it was spacious being on the end, close to shop, offices and 2 min walk from the pub and pool. The staff were very helpful, friendly and polite, Food was very nice and the park was clean and tidy including the shower block and toilets. The shop was open from 8-8 so gave us plenty of time if we needed anything and was reasonably priced too.
  • Disliked: the only downfall is the swimming pool - you have to book in the morning as it only holds 20 people. Our kids were standing at the shop at 10 to 8 to make sure they could get into the pool first, think if there was any way possible this pool could be made bigger then this would make the site far more appealing, with that said I will definitely be back and will recommend this site to family and friends
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Robert_G1

In the words of Arnie “I’ll be back”.

(Family with older children, 3 reviews, 18 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: After reading a few of the reviews on here I thought I might have made a mistake in booking here, how wrong I was. The site is very well laid out and well maintained. The Staff were extremely friendly and helpful at all times. Guests were made to feel safe and secure with staff walking around the site frequently and security keeping a check on noise levels.

    The facilities were excellent. There’s a handy shop on site, well stocked and open late. The showers and toilets were warm and cleaned to high standards every day (There were only 3 cubicles but I never had to wait for a shower). There’s a laundry/ironing/dish washing room similarly well kept. The fishing lake is larger than it looks on the sites photographs and there’s no shortage of free rising rainbow trout. There’s a large field for dog walking and enclosed play areas for the children. The water points and rubbish bins are ideally situated.

    Two minutes walk from the Tent and Touring Area takes you to the bar, restaurant, amusements and free swimming pool across the road. The meals we tried at the restaurant facility were beautiful and reasonably priced. The beer prices were a bit on the high side but a further 3-minute walk away and you’re in the heart of friendly Wooler. The village has a good range of shops, cafes, bars, tearooms, takeaways etc. the pubs are very welcoming, family and dog friendly.

    Riverside Country Park is a very good place to stay and I can’t wait to return.

  • Disliked: Having to book a place in the swimming pool at 8am that day if you wanted to swim.

    The design of the shower cubicles causes a problem because the shower curtain has to be placed inside the tray. Once the shower is running, if you don’t check, the weight of the water causes the curtain to block the drain hole, resulting in the cubicles overflowing.

    The biggest dislike of all was having to leave.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Good facilities for teenage children, the river was a added bonus.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We liked the site, easy and straight forward to find. Booking in was friendly, the shop well stocked and stayed open late which was great as we've camped on other sites and their shops closed far too early. The shower block was okay but think 3 showers is not enough as there were 5 in our party alone, and all the other tents were large with big groups of people, did have to wait a little. Our girls enjoyed the fact they could cycle all around the large site. They had hours and hours of fun in the river which is something they don't get the opportunity to do back home. The club house/bar was okay we didn't actually eat there but the menu looked okay. The location of the site was excellent to visit the surrounding area.
  • Disliked: My main concern of this site is the closeness of the tent pitches, we stated we had a large tent 3 bedrooms when i booked and we were given a pitch which we felt was too small. We couldn't get our car next to the pitch. The tent pitches were very, very close together to the point the tent guide lines touched and prevented us able to walk round our tent! Due to the closeness of the pitches we could hear every single noise from the surrounding tents and I mean every single noise!!!!! This in turn caused a very sleepless night for us and actually felt exhausted by the next morning. I bumped into a family relative who has a static caravan for years on the site and they informed me that the tent pitches have been reduced and replaced with touring caravans, and in all the years they have been coming to this site they have never known the tents to be so close together and crammed into such a small area. We are regular campers and I feel this needs to be addressed as this is the only reason for myself and a few other very close and nearby campers, that we would be reluctant to book there again.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Stayed for 5 nights from July 22/ 2013. 2 adults 2 children.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location was an hour away from home. Site was clean. Shop was well stocked. pool was clean and not crowded.
  • Disliked: Pitch i booked was already taken. Tents were too close together the guide ropes from the tents were overlapping. Large group of mainly lads arrived on the last night of our stay, if they had arrived on our first night we would of left the site, due to the noise from their group. Busy main road outside site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for bethanyquintal

great place to go with kids

(Family with young children, 1 review, 1 photo)

  • Date stayed: May 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: everything it was great there was plenty to do and i cant wait to go next weekend
    the pool was fun and the entertainment was brilliant and the parks and river had a great time catching fish
  • Disliked: there was not much in the pool maybe a slide would be greate
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Good value for money

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was good and well maintained. Staff friendly and helpful. Other campers also very friendly which made the stay more fun and enjoyable.
  • Disliked: Having to book your pool place from 8am that day if you wanted to swim.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Mark_T11

A large well-appointed site with a range of good facilities.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site is well laid out, fringed with mature trees and has a good sized area for tourers, including tents, caravans and motorhomes. Very handy for the local village (Wooler), five minutes walk away, which has a good range of independent shops/cafes/bars/tearooms. We'd happily stay here again if we could be assured that the problem with the showers (see below) had been resolved.
  • Disliked: On the three days/nights we stayed, the showers were ineffective on two of the three mornings. Each of the available showers (and there are only three for each gender) the water was little more than trickle. This was reported on the first day and staff advised that they would have it looked at. However, it was the same on the following morning and it as again reported to staff. The problem persisted on the third morning. On each occasion, none of the other showers were being used at the time so the problem couldn't be put down to demand. The showers did work OK in the evening, but this is a premium site, charging premium rates, and i don't think it's unreasonable to expect to have a shower when you choose. This may not be a big issue for some but it resulted in us moving-on after the three nights we stayed.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

riverside camp site

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the camp site was very nice site well layed out very spacious nicly located also staff were very helpfull too
  • Disliked: the shower were a little on the small size could do with two of the cubicles in mens moved out so you have more room to get dried in also shower curtains could do with being moved out about 50mm to give more space in cubicle the females were the same also could do with some means of sqeazing floors so dont get clothes wet as water sits and does not run away
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Clean camp site, but ptiches too close together for privacy.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Mid week when it was quiet
  • Disliked: Small pitch, being on top of one another and inconsiderate noisy neighbours who played their music loud for long periods in to the night.Pitches around us turned in to a builders site for hard standing?
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for darren_o

we are defo comeing back

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: it was my first time talking my grandchildren camping and i have to say the loved it i found i felt very safe and clean for my grandchildren to play and everyone was quit frendley my grandchildren did not wont to go home.
  • Disliked: there was no disliked thing i could think ov eveything was spot on.we have booked for the beginning and the end of aug with the grandchildren again ,
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Good facilities, lovely site

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The faciilities were good. Handy shop on site and bar/restaurant across the road.
    Felt safe and secure. Staff walking around the site frequently.
  • Disliked: We stayed on the small tent pitch part of the site. Children from the large pitch site and caravans came to our part of the site to play football. Lost count how many times football hit my car. Their parents were enjoying peace and quiet!!
    Showers were poor, water was just a trickle, so ended up not having a shower. Glad I was only staying for the weekend.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Daniel_B2

Spot on campsite

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Spotless sight level pitches and very well spaced out
  • Disliked: Midges on an evening don't forget your repellent :-(
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent!

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This was the first time we had stayed on this site, we were really impressed, our pitch was lovely just a minute walk from toilets and shop etc, the only thing I would say is that the grass pitch is hard underneath, we bent lots of pegs trying to secure tent, also took longer to put up because of this.
    Reception was nice and friendly and staff didn't bother us while camping which was relaxing, I would defo go back, but this time take a hard hammer!

    I have been too many sites where there are locks on the main entrance door of toilet, these ones anybody could walk into....maybe an idea for the site to fit a code lock for security.
  • Disliked: Only the hard ground underneath grass.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for rachel_w0

lovely place

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Loved the location and our little pod weather was suberb and pubs in village were great. Toilets/shower block very clean. Shop had all you needed. Staff were lovely.
  • Disliked: No fault of the sites but a women ended up being arrested for being drunk. Gladly I didnt have my children with me on this occasion. Am sure it was a one off and we will still return as really is lovely place.
    Shame there was no light in our pod you def need to take one
    No open fires even though there is no where on site stating this so our small disposable bbq fire got a bucket of water tipped over it lol! Fair enough if we had been informedthere wasnt to be any but all other sites we have been on its been no problem
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Fabulous campsite with everything we needed

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Riverside country park had great friendly staff and location was perfect. We were worried that there was only 3 showers for females but didn't have to wait even though the campsite was full.
  • Disliked: No dislikes.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Wonderful

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything, we are so coming back in a fortnight have already booked (in a pod this time ) Staff were all great.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Wonderful wooler

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: my son and i stayed here for five nights camping lovely level pitches, not too cramped together and handy for showers and toilets which were kept clean and tidy. Site staff were friendly and very helpful. We used the bar /bar meals offered at the restaurant facility a short walk from the campsite, meals were tasty and reasonably priced and staff welcoming . Very good place to stay will almost certainly return to this lovely place.
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for sarahmasonappleton

Really clean and friendly Park. Will definitely go again

(Family with young children, 1 review, 2 photos)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything about our visit here
  • Disliked: The lack of washing up facilities. Other sites l have been to, had sinks outside for dishes .The evening entertainment was across a busy main road, not good with small children, but these didn't put me off going again
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Donna_B

Excellent Site

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The park was very well kept. The playpark and stream kept the kids entertained for hours! Pool was a bit small but all you needed for an hour out if the rain. All of the facilities were clean and well kept.
  • Disliked: The pitches were quite close together and tge next tent very close once the site got busy. Not a major problem though.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Good weekend had by all of us 2 dults nd 1 child aged 9

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Nice size caravan pitch, clubhouse swimming pool and amusments were ideal for our family needs as were the playgrounds. Staff were frendly and the shop was wll equiped for things one may have forgot.
  • Disliked: Although showers and toilet block were reasonably clean, I feel that there were not enough of them for the size of the tourig and camping site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for selina_s

Gorgeous sorroundings but troubled site!!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Wooler as a gorgeous village and the journey wasnt too bad. nice place and the park was beautiful too. the entertainment was great and the facilities were ok.
  • Disliked: What a horrific experience i had at this park!! never again will i return!Ti had to leave the sitr at 1.15 with a 2yr old coz the maniac in the neighbouring tent started venting his anger on the girlfriend, car and the caravan opposite! what a flaming bunch of idiots. As we couldnt sleep or settle we decided to leave. i parked my car at the junction to tell my sister i was leaving (who was walking from the clubhouse) and that maniac got in his range rover mortal and nearly wiped my car out with my baby asleep in it. i have never been so petrified in all my life! and the poor site warden kept asking them to keep the noise down and checked if i was alright at the junction then pulled away. i was told by my sister the security guard had been knocked out later that mornng!! absolutely disgrace.. the price of the shop, pub and the heat in the clubhouse!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
2
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Fantastic

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Loved every minute of the weekend staff were great so were the surrounding
  • Disliked: Pitty about the weather
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A lovely campsite! Good, clean facilities and surroundings.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The campsite was great, we took two of our dogs and the surroundings were great for them, there is even a dog walking field. It looks to be a good site for children too, as it has a enclosed park and a swimming pool.
    We had dinner in the campsites bar one night and the food was nice, a varied selection and good prices.
    The campsite was only a five minute walk from Wooler town centre and a twenty minute drive from the Cheviot hills which is great.
  • Disliked: There wasn't anything I disliked about the campsite but there is a stream that flows through the site which could be a disturbance if you are a light sleeper!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Tracy_H0

not good if in tent.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Friendly staff
    Flat tent pitches
  • Disliked: The toilet and shower block. Seemed to be a lot of tent and caravan pitches but not many showers or toilets. When you did shower you had to constantly push the button for water which proved difficult in the very enclosed space. Not much space for changing after shower as everything wet. No sockets for hair drying etc.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Jeremy_C

Qualiity site & value for mone

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Park in a lovely setting with good, clean amenities. The site was kept immacuately clean and the on-site shop had all 'the necessaries'.
    The on-site pub across the main road and swimming pool were good.
    Tents are pitched close to the busy main road, however the noise did not bother us it maybe well worth bearing in mind if you are noise sensitive.
    As far as we are concerned the beautiful park and riverside walks more than made up for this.
  • Disliked: The busy road nearby but as above it didn't really bother us.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for colshirl

for our first time stay we enjoyed it

(Mature couple, 1 review, 3 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This was our first camping experience together and found the site very friendly the staff could do no for u as they very good at there job. The showers and toilets were cleaned every day to high standards and very warm . The club house maynot be quite on site but it is only a short walking distance even my wife could walk it and she has a bad back. The town itself is very small but can get whatever you need or take a small trip i to berwick upon tweed. We found it very reasuring as there have around the clock security which we were impressed with they walk around the site at nite to make sure everything is ok. We were so impressed that we have rebooked another four days there at the end of june 2013. This time we have booked it with hook u.

  • Disliked: There was nothing to dislike
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

well kept site with fairly good facilities

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The clubhouse and the site itself
  • Disliked: The showering facilities as they were very cramped
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Marguerite_H

Very pleasant

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely maintained site, Very friendly and pleasant staff.
    This was our fist time camping in a tent and stayed for 2 nights but it has been a great experience.
    Thank you Riverside Park for a lovely stay x
  • Disliked: Having to leave
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great site perfect for kids

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Kids loved playing in the stream
    Lovely Riverside plot
    Nice warm swimming pool
    Limited numbers allowed per swimming session so never got too busy even in half term
    Friendly staff
    Good on site shop
    Clean & warm toilet block
  • Disliked: Bins were a bit of a walk from our pitch- almost out the site- could maybe have some nearer the toilet block
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Good pitches, lovely site.

(Extended family, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This is a great site for kids. There's a stream and a rope swing for the kids to muck about in, a platform for younger children, a field with a football goal....archery is available and there's a swimming pool.
    It's also dog friendly, with a field where dogs can be let off-road and plenty of poo bins for disposal of waste.
    There's a launderette and a small shop, both of which were fine. The washing machines/tumble dryers are big, allowing us to wash and dry all our wet and scruffy kit in one go.
    Showers and toilets were kept very clean and tidy.
    I can't comment on the pool, games room or restaurant/pub as I took my dog and couldn't use these facilities unless I left her in the tent - not really an option.
    I stayed first in a tent on a small pitch and then the last night in a pod. The tent pitch was a good size and on pretty level ground so that was fine.
    The pod, I think, is overpriced. It's quite small - 3 could sleep in it, but that would fill the pod. We moved all our food stuff Tec onto the porch when it was time to go to bed. There is no light and - more importantly - nowhere to hang a camping lamp. There's also no way to heat it as you're not allowed to use a camping stove inside (understandable!). On the plus side - and after 3 days of rain it was a major plus! - it is utterly dry. Also quieter than a tent. Given how basic the pod is I don't really think they are good value for money, but would stay in one if priced more realistically.
    Wooler is a short walk away - it's a charming village with shops, restaurants, take-aways and pubs. I was told at least one pub welcomes dogs.
    All in all, a great site and I'd happily stay again.
  • Disliked: The price of the pod. Same size as a small pitch, no light or heating (there are 2 electric points - perhaps they could rent out a little fan heater?) but three times the price. I'd be happy to pay £23 - £25 a night, but not £30.

    Having to book the pool and the limited times campers could use it was a kvetch to some of our party, but I didn't mind it. Booked for 12 o'clock so the kids went off and it gave me peace to cook lunch for when they came back.

    Shows cubicles are small - fine for one person but not great if you're showering with small children. Those of our party with young kids used the disabled shower, but this is not ideal - particularly for anyone disabled who might have wanted to be in there.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Overall a pleasurable exoerience

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location . Swimming pool . Quiet at night . Security good .
  • Disliked: Pitches small for the size of modern tents . Tollets/ showers in need of an upgrade.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

cold wintery may

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: showers and the neatness of the grounds , lawns well cut and showers reletivaly clean
  • Disliked: closeness to main road which runs from 60-30mph right outside the camp trucks and cars pounding within 50 yards of the tents
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

One noght stay at Riverside Camp Park Wooler

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Access, tidy site, facilities clean despite the site being full on bank holiday
  • Disliked: Busy..........but it was bank holiday and we should expect it, and they coped well
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

great time at this park. stayed in a camping pod. fabulous experienc

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Stayed in a camping pod. Spotless and very comfortable for 2 adults and our little dog. Staff very friendly, facilities were great and friendly staff. Would definitely recommend this park.
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

stayed with my campervan, poor weather but site presented no issues

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The fact you could take your dog, the site was easy to find and within easy reach of Wooler. The toliet block was lovely and clean and warm. Staff very helpful and friendly. Site was nice and quite with a good variety of walks and things to do.
  • Disliked: The fact you had a walk to get to the swimming pool. It also looked a lot larger on the web site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Very good except the weather

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything was here that anybody could want or need on a camping or caravanning holiday, from the clean toilets and showers to the onsite shop. The swimming pool was good too and the bar has regular entertainment.
  • Disliked: The spa wasn't working and it would have been nice after a night under canvas.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

great

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything about riverside country park was out standing I would definetly stay here again.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Eileen_B

a lovely site. ..lived it tha much booked up for both bank hols in may

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: that everything you need is in walking distance..baths. Pubs. Shops etc and lots of ideas for days out close by :))) also very friendly and helpful staff :)))
  • Disliked: How its set quite near to the front of the road. ..its not a busy road but did get woke up with the traffic but i you get used to it and i think the park itself makes up for that. .
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

AN excellent stay

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We have stayed here a few times we enjoy it very much .The toilet block are very good and kept very clean .The touring pitches have ample space and the park is well kept.The club house is only 2 minutes walk and the food and drink is good.It is a short distance into Wooler with shops, fish shop, chinese and Indians all of which are very good.There are also a few pubs which are family and dog friendly and very welcoming.We will be back.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Danielle_L0

The camping pod was fantastic and the site was very clean and tidy.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The camping pods were great and saved the hassle of putting up a tent. The double plug inside the pod was very handy. Shower block and toilets were very clean and easily accessible from the pod. The location of the site was lovely, with a short walk into wooler town centre.
  • Disliked: Nothing really. The only small criticism was that our pod didn't have a picnic table whereas the others did.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Will be going again in the summer for longer

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Was a lovely peaceful and clean camp site we made use off the club house, shop and pool
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

very good

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Nov 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: everything, very friendly staff. Quality of accommodation only got 9 because a hook in the roof is needed to hang your lamp up!
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

An enjoyable stay on a comfortable touring section

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Nov 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: * hardstanding pitch for tourers.

    * heated toilet block.

    * proximity of water point.

    * well kept appearance of the site

    * overall cleanliness in site buildings and site iteself
  • Disliked: * difficulty in operating toilet flush button which needed a hard press
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Tony_M

Site was clean and tidy and facility's good

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Oct 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Site club and swimming pool
  • Disliked: My wife uses wheelchair and we found entry into disabled facility's a little awkward due to door positions.
    Disabled toilet and shower good though!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Paul_G0

Stayed as first time caravaners

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Oct 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Overall everything on the complex
  • Disliked: Cold showers even after reporting this the showers remained cold upon our return we spoke to someone who had stayed there two years ago who said exactly the same thing 'very cold showers'
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for john_b1

excelent site and facilities

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Oct 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: everything
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

High expectations met

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Great price
    Nice site with alot of facilities
    Protected Camping area
    Friendly, helpful staff
    Heated toilet/shower area
    easy access to local village
    AMAZING FARM SHOP CLOSE BY
  • Disliked: 1 shower not working, the other 2 were warm
    Additional charges for swimming pool not mentioned
    Pool and other areas along a busy main road
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for christine_m0

excellent value, had a great time

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: everything about the site, my husband is disabled but the facilities were great for him.the pods were a revelation, would certainly use them again, the tent has been relegated to the shed!!!! it was so easy, just turn up and unpack and you are set to go.....
  • Disliked: the noise of the traffic from the main road but on saying that after a little while you did not seem to notice it.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great site, shame about the neighbours!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The campsite
    The location
    The facilities
  • Disliked: The couple having a domestic and slamming car doors all through the night - no-one could stop them.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Enjoyable experience and good facilities

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The size of the pitch was good and level.
    The toilets and showers were clean.
    Good space to wash up dishes.
  • Disliked: The flush on the toilet was hard to push in so there was often loo roll in the toilets
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Good campsite with good facilities onsite or close to site

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Swimming pool included in pitch price
    Location
    Facilities on site
  • Disliked: Pitches slightly packed to close together
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for sonia_r

very nice site

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: my family enjoyed their stay and would we would stay again
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for michael_b2

A1 would stay all year if I could

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Every thing
  • Disliked: Shower curtins
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A lovely site in a convenient location; probably better suited to young families as the river was a good 'safe' attraction.

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The space of the pitches.
    The quiet location.
    Sound of the river in the background.
    The fact that the 'entertainment' was across the road, so had no impact on me.
    the cleanliness of the facilities.
    The friendliness of all the staff.
  • Disliked: I thought that there could have been more showers or private cubicles to have a wash.( Having said that we never had to wait for a shower).
    Children from other parts of the site playing football in the dark right outside my tent.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellant Value, Super Campsite we will be staying again!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Gorgeous surroundings
    No Hassle check in
    The onsite facilities, there is a pool, a shop, a launderette on top of the usual shower block etc, all were kept clean and inspected regularly.
  • Disliked: Nothing, we can't fault this site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for THOBURN

good level pitches,clean shower blocks plenty of hot water,handy for village 5 mins up the hill.6 pubs most with home cooked food.banks,shops,indian rest,fishshop does kebabs aswell.

(Mature couple, 2 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: overall good
  • Disliked: slow service club house bar.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for stephen_w

great site plenty to do without the expense!!!!!!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: pitch sizes on electric brill.
    clean and tidy site
    we had a fantastic stay without the expense of a haven site. loads to do hours spent in the river with nets catching fish kids loved it. wooler only 10 mins walk, site prices very good pool great, staff lovely.back again soon
  • Disliked: no where to re-freeze ice blocks.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent site with great facilities in an ideal location for touring

(Solo traveller-male, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I needed a location for a photoshoot at the Farne Islands and also reasonable in price. I liked the look of Riverside because it was fairly close to where I wanted to go and also I was intrigued by the camping pods. Having a roof over your head but still needing camping gear was quite fun and a little more comfy. The site was fairly busy but noise wasn't a problem. The showers were clean and well maintained. The restaurant and bar were 100 yards down the road, which was good as this reduced the potential noise problem. Staff very friendly.
  • Disliked: Not sure there was anything I disliked to be honest.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for ann_j

2 nights

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We had a great time lovely site well looked after toilets and shower blocks are lovely and clean.Would def go back and would even stay longer
  • Disliked: Didnt dislike anything
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Alan_B

Nice site but some standards need to be raised

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The welcome very friendly and not rushed.
    Easy access to Wooler town (5 min walk)
    Convenience of fresh water taps.
    Great shower heads.
    Nice little shop
    Excellent to get to if your towing a tin tent.
  • Disliked: Our water point was full of cigarette ends no one came to clean it out. No we don't smoke
    Very Poor TV reception
    Cleaning in gents could be better.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Eileen_H

Really nice site, quite even though lots of children. Nice lounge, swimming pool(didnt use it though0 this was just a quick visit and would reccommend

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Yes we liked the site and area.Very quite, in fact we didnt waken up until 9 am on the Saturday morning.
  • Disliked: Didnt dislike anything apart from the weather!!!!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A very enjoyable stay, we'll definitely be coming back!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Good clean facilities, ie showers and toilets
    Convenient shop
    Easy to find
    Friendly staff
    Good leisure facilities, ie bar, pool tables and swimming pool only a five minute walk away
    Ground was well drained, when we arrived it was dry and when it rained heavily ground did not get boggy
    Very good price!

  • Disliked: Site being so close to the main (6omph) road, our pitch was 150 yards from the road, though there are other pitches further away.
    At times there was loud traffic and it could be dangerous for wandering children.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Riverside Park, Wooler

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the friendly and helpful staff on reception who went out of their way to try to get a dental appointment for my wife on a Saturday. The camping pods.
  • Disliked: nothing I really disliked except the pods could have had a couple of coathooks installed to hang wet coats
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great site

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Great walks, friendly staff, clean toilet block, plenty hook up points, quick access to water tap.
  • Disliked: Need to cross a main road to get to clubhouse without even the basics of traffic lights meaning I would never return with my grandchildren. Site shop was a bit small and sparse but as long as you take everything with you this would to be a problem.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for alan_price

re booked for this year. enjoyed the park so much.

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Accomodation was immaculate, Park was peaceful yet had plenty to do. The village of Wooler was 3 min walk The surrounding area was as stunning as the park. staff friendly. I am considering buying a caravan there.
  • Disliked: having to come home.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus

<< Go back to Riverside Country Park