Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Runswick Bay Caravan Park

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

9

Overall rating based on 16 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

100% would recommend this site to a friend.

100% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for Michael_H10

Fantastic site, helpful staff, beautiful location

(Young couple, 2 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We arrived at the camp site around mid day, very well presented, clean and well kept.
    Easily located the camp site office and was welcomed by a very helpful gentleman. Despite not having received the booking we made through Pitchup.com he said we could pitch our tent anywhere on the allocated tent area.
    The gentleman show us round the site, explained and advised where all the facilities were and were we could go for food and the local dog walks nearby as we had our dog with us.
    The beach is dog friendly and so was the local pub we ate at later on that evening. A thoroughly enjoyable stay and will defiantly go again very soon.
    My only reservation is that if it was in the height of the season, and my booking wasn't in their book we may not have been able to stay if it was full!
    Would recommend 100% for a long weekend or even a week as Whitby, Robin Hoods Bay and Scarborough are all close by car.
  • Disliked: None what so ever
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Michael_H10

Fantastic site, helpful staff, beautiful location

(Young couple, 2 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We arrived at the camp site around mid day, very well presented, clean and well kept.
    Easily located the camp site office and was welcomed by a very helpful gentleman. Despite not having received the booking we made through Pitchup.com he said we could pitch our tent anywhere on the allocated tent area.
    The gentleman show us round the site, explained and advised where all the facilities were and were we could go for food and the local dog walks nearby as we had our dog with us.
    The beach is dog friendly and so was the local pub we ate at later on that evening. A thoroughly enjoyable stay and will defiantly go again very soon.
    My only reservation is that if it was in the height of the season, and my booking wasn't in their book we may not have been able to stay if it was full!
    Would recommend 100% for a long weekend or even a week as Whitby, Robin Hoods Bay and Scarborough are all close by car.
  • Disliked: None what so ever
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Kay__B

lovely quiet, clean and cheap camp site

(Young couple, 2 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: we are a young couple and it was our first time there. it was a lovely quiet campsite, very clean, shower and heated (flooring) toilet block. friendly and helpful owner. definitely come back again next year but stay in a electric tent pitch up :-). very friendly campers who explained to us about electric pitch up so when we returned home we purchased a high raised bed and and electric hook up. used this on a camping trip last month it was luxury. see you all next year and looking forward to visiting the nearby pub this time.
  • Disliked: none
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

stayed for 4 nights, wished it was more.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This camp site is lovely. Great location to see Runswick bay and close enough to Whitby.
    The tent site was clean., quiet and... well., perfect.
    The facilities were immaculate, well stocked and a welcome relief from some i have seen I will be coming back to this area and this is the only campsite i would consider.
  • Disliked: Finding the easier path back up from the bay on the last evening. The road way is just not fun (bottle of wine or not). Seriously. Take the path from the hotel down and back not the road.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for jpclawson05

brilliant stay. we will definitely return

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jan 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Excellent place to stay. Ideal location with young children and within walking distance to beach. Perfect! Also friendly people ready to greet you and answer any questions.
  • Disliked: N/A
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great Location Friendly Campsite

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Runswick Bay is a very pretty place to stay. The camp-site was attractive and well kept. We got a friendly welcome and everything was well organised. Toilet block and shower facilities were good.
  • Disliked: The camp-site was very busy, I expect due to the warm weather, so the tents were a little crowded together. Even though we had booked in advance people had just turned up so we had quite a small corner to pitch in. Luckily we only had a small tent.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for hmocc

Great location and ideal size

(Young couple, 3 reviews, 2 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location is superb within short walking distance of beach, pub, etc.

    Walking the "Cleveland Way" to the lovely village of Staithes is a must do and only about 4 miles each way although on the way back you have to bear in mind the 3 steep climbs (walking steep that is - not rock climbing!).

    Back to campsite, very clean and family friendly without being exclusively family friendly. Owners/Keepers very friendly and helpful.

    Facilities are small but perfectly adequate and regularly cleaned.

    Grass pitches were well kept and easy to pitch-up on.

    All in all an excellent campsite in summer weather conditions.
  • Disliked: Midges and mosquitos. Clouds of them in the early evening, but that's not campsite's fault.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for gillsteve

absolutely fab weekend

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: simplicity of the site, but everything that could be required was available, superb settings and cleanliness was second to non, friendliness and welcoming of the owners,
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Enjoyed my stay

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: we really enjoyed our two night stay at this camp site, the weather was very good and the reception could not have been more friendly. The toilets were always clean and the showers hot. Their was a good mix of tourers tents and statics. We particularly liked the location, not to far from the beach and a friendly hotel a short walk away. We would certainly return
  • Disliked: Only one small criticism no on site shop, but reception were very helpful with milk
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely and friendly site

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very well looked after, sheltered above a lovely bay.
  • Disliked: Could do with more toilets and better showers for when its busy. No shop the village. No facility to pay by card.
From the manager...

Thankyou :)

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great. Definitely visit again soon!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The office lady was lovely very helpful. Howard was very helpful, never to busy to busy to lend a hand.

    All very friendly. Everywhere nice and clean.

    Going again before September. Very impressed.
  • Disliked: We didn't stay long enough :-(
From the manager...

Thankyou Charlene for your kind word's i am so pleased you all enjoyed yourselve's :)

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Angela_B0

Nice site, definitely worth a revisit.

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: -Nice location, hidden just far enough from the road but very close to aminities i.e. pubs, the bay, bus stop, Cleveland Way.
    -The lady in the office was very friendly and helpful.
    -The toilet block was clean (and cleaned) and well stocked. Use of free shower & hairdryer.
    -Fridge,freezer, washing machine and tumble dryer all available to use.


    The Runswick Bay hotel looks like its mid referb but dont let this put you off, our food was lovely.
    The Royal hotel hidden down in with the houses on the hillside has an amazing view out across the Bay. A lovely tiny local feel pub...the toilets are outside though!!
    The Cliffemount hotel is ideal for that bit of grandeur, not bad prices too really for the food and drinks.

    We caught the bus into Whitby just across the road from the campsite. They were every half an hour and it cost less than £5.

    Ideal base really.
  • Disliked: Only one power socket available.
From the manager...

Thankyou for your positive review :)

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for JEN_B

Great location near the beach.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location 5 minutes walk to a great beach for amateur fossil hunters. Staff were friendly and helpful. Site was flat and sheltered. Facilities were clean.
  • Disliked: Not enough showers for the size of site.

    Kids play area was a bit basic.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

very nice and family friendly site,

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: we were welcomed warmly by the people running it, never had a trouble, water and rubbish bins were fairly close by as were the toilets, there was also a classic car triumph kinda gathering thing that was on at the same time, so the kids got to see that and have a good dance at the disco they put on, which we didnt expect so was a nice suprise, its also ideally situated close to other seaside places, we took a day out to saltburn and was nice to return back on site, over all, would definately go there again and would thoroughly recommend to others
  • Disliked: toilets could have been kept a bit better, but it did rain for one of the days we were there....
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

great place to stay.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Friendly staff, couldn't be more accommodating. Clean areas and easy to find. Will definitely stay again.
  • Disliked: N/A
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Anthony_G

Space to breathe - great potential

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Site has recently been taken over by the owners who intend to upgrade the facilities which, combined with their hospitality, will make it a great place to stay. Very nice helpful owners.
  • Disliked: When the wind blows it is a little exposed. The owners agree that work needs to be done on the facilities and I understand plans are in hand for a major upgrade. Please note we stayed during the last week of March - the coldest March for 50 years - but in the summer I can see that this Site could be a great place to stay - even more so if the plans are put into force.
From the manager...

Thankyou Anthony, for your kind words, hope to see you again in the future :)
Caroline

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Overall
7
Google Plus

<< Go back to Runswick Bay Caravan Park