Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Osea Leisure Park

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.4

Overall rating based on 11 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

81% would recommend this site to a friend.

90% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for LadyKate

Liked it so much we came back for a second visit

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We stayed here in our touring caravan in July 2013 and again the last weekend of August. The staff were friendly and helpful. The toilet and shower block is modern and clean. A small ice cream shop in the touring field was great for the kids, although it was open more during our first break than our second. The kids play area is fantastic, best I've seen on a campsite, kids loved being able to ride to it on their bikes, giving them some controlled freedom! The Deck House served very nice food and the beach and walks were lovely (we have a dog so we do lots of walking). Not far from Heybridge and Maldon towns so short drive to supermarkets, and takeaways! The people in the static caravans were very friendly and made us feel very welcome.
  • Disliked: Nothing about the park, although we were slightly unfortunate during our second stay when on the Saturday night our neighbours in the caravan next door had a late night party, I was woken up at 0.45 and the music and noise finally stopped at 2am, just unlucky that these people didn't adhere to the noise policy of the site. We didn't complain to the people as our children managed to sleep through the noise, but if they had been woken then we would have complained, luckily they left the next day so Sunday night was peaceful!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for paulrust71

Very nice relaxed site with helpful staff

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The excellent toilet and shower facilities which were kept extremely clean and well maintained. The camping area was not over crowded which was fantastic and peaceful. Very nice sea walk, park area for children and club house.
  • Disliked: No shop for basic food which you need daily when camping also could not buy gas on site for camping stoves.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Danielt

Nice

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Nice big pitch fields. Very clean on site.
    Shower and washing facilities were very clean to use.
    Reception helpful.
    Play area for the children was good.
  • Disliked: No security as such during the evening. Anyone could walk onto the touring site.
    There was a barrier for the caravan area.
    Maybe could be a bit more for children to do.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Elizabeth_S2

Busy because of summer holidays, but next to a beautiful estuary

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We loved the location, the Park is right on the Blackwater Estuary, which was beautiful, great for walks and wildlife. The meadow itself was nice and the showers/loos were clean and well-looked after. If you're going at a busy time of year, it's probably good to get there early as it was quite hard to find a spot in the meadow that didn't feel like you were intruding on other people. If we come back, we'll try and avoid the busiest times of year.
  • Disliked: Just be aware that it gets really busy when school's out because it's a large caravan park. Lots of kids running around shouting well past 11.30pm - we camped at the farthest end of the field away from the road and near the playground where they gathered. Also, it may have been accidental, but one of us tried to use the loos at 5am and the the toilet block was locked.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Barryshaw09

Pet friendly fun!

(Young couple, 1 review, 6 photos)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: One arrival we were impressed. By far the better looking of the camping/caravan parks around. We checked into the Shepard hut and we loved it. Very clean and cozy. Our dog loved lying by the picnic table just outside the door. One the first day sat outside we decided we wanted to book an extra day because we loved our surroundings and having a peaceful break from London life. Plates, cups, cutlery etc were provided which was great. Another bonus was the sofa that pulled out to a double bed. Our only issue was that we forgot pillows so the first few nights were uncomfortable, but this was completely our fault. We were informed that there was a problem with hot water but this was fixed on the 2nd day there and was not an issue because we could boil the kettle. I recommend you pay a visit. Well worth the trip.
  • Disliked: Nothing. I had a great relaxing time!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A Very Friendly Spacious Clean Reasonably Priced Campsite

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location - very close to the coast - with a restaurant/ bar on the sea-wall.

    The facilities - plenty of space to pitch tents - a clean bathroom and showers - facilities to wash up - a children's adventure playground.

    The cost - about £20 for one night's stay - which we thought good value.

    The staff and other guests - very friendly and helpful.

  • Disliked: There was nothing to dislike.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for juliearnold96387

Very Impressed :)

(Family with young children, 1 review, 3 photos)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Really made welcome by Colin and showed to our accommodation. We stayed in a Shepherd's Hut on this park and booked for 3 nights. We loved it. There's a sofa bed, which goes into a small double and also bunk beds. A toilet room with handbasin. A two ring hob and small kitchen sink. A good amount of storage. All we needed to take was bedding, towels and washing up liquid, all plates,crockery, cooking utensils etc provided. Yes it is small but big enough for the 3 of us. Very quaint and something different. I agree with the previous review about a table, we did take a tv fold up table of our own but a fold up small table to sit and eat or play games at if the weathers not great would be a plus. The hut has a double plug socket and lighting. The doors have two key locks on them so the hut is secure when you are out. The field we was in was part mown and part meadow. Great for children to run around in. There's 2 Tipi's, 1 Safari Tent and 2 Shepherd's Huts in the field. No tents or caravans were in the same field as us on this stay and the site was very quiet. The children's play area is fantastic, set in it's own huge field, there's plenty to amuse children of all ages. Zip wire, Obstetrical course, climbing rope structure and so much more. The Shower Block was immaculate. There is no on site shop or facilities for freezing ice blocks although in fairness the pub will freeze them for you. Lots of rabbits and their babies, Bats flying at night. A very friendly horse and pony in the field next to ours. You can walk through the leisure park to the onsite pub/restaurant which has a garden with a children's adventure climbing frame and swings, just up the steps leads you to the River Blackwater Estuary where there's a small part stony and part sandy beach and lovely river side walks. We will be returning again. Love Promenade Park in Maldon and Heybridge Basin.
  • Disliked: Having to go home
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Madge_C

Ideal Location for Quiet Getaway

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Quiet, nice play area for the children. Dogs were allowed. Toilets/shower room were extremely clean. In fact we could not believe how clean they were. Fantastic location will not be disappointed, lots to do surrounding area. Long walks or just visiting area generally. The club house was good fun and the food was actually very nice.
  • Disliked: No facilities to buy little bits if needed. They needed shower/toilets near to the far end as it was a bit of walk if you decided to pitch up at the far end of the site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for LM87

Dissapointed

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location, clean facilities
  • Disliked: We booked a Tipi and were really looking forward to our stay. Unfortunately their booking system created an error which meant we were contacted a day before arrival to say that it had been double booked. We were offered the Shepherds Hut as an alternative so took this option open minded. Despite the concept having great potential it is somewhat flawed. There is the convenience of a toilet and running water, plus the hob, but there is no pull out table or practical surface to use should you get typical English weather like we did. Really the hut is a nicely presented shed but lacks the space or practicality as offered by other camping options when the sun isn’t shining.

    With regards to the campsite in general there could be better recycling bin facilities and the shower block is small so be prepared to wait for facilities during peak seasons.

    The bar is ok and we were delighted to win £4.00 on the quiz machine but it decided not to give us the money, so I spoke to management who said nothing but “yes, people have said that to me before, sorry, nothing I can do as I would have to call the company”. He then went over and turned the machine off at the wall and that was that. Perhaps it is better to remove the machine or offer some gesture of goodwill if it does ‘happen a lot’ not react with a negative attitude towards his customer.

    To add lastly we tried to send a few emails to let them know how disappointed we were with the mix up, being as polite as possible and we didn't receive one apology until we got through to the site manager himself. We didn't get offered anything for their mistake apart from an ‘upgrade’ to a shed when it was the tipi experience we were really looking forward to.

    Overall I wouldn't particularly recommend a stay with other options in the area, particularly on Mersea Island.
From the manager...

As a park operator we welcome constructive and honest criticism of our Park, of our staff and our product; as direct and honest feedback will help us improve every aspect of our service. However, all too often in recent years we are held hostage by disgruntled clients who wish to use “feedback web sites” as a way to bully or threaten the entire service industry.
With regard to a specific feedback, yes, we double booked one of our tipis, on identifying the issue we immediately called the person that made the booking and informed him of the situation we offered him the choice of a Shepherd Hut, an alternative date or a full refund, the Shepherd Hut was chosen.
The comments on the Shepherd Hut in my opinion are malicious and unconstructive; to date we have never received any negative comments on the Shepherd Huts in fact we have lots of repeat business.
As for the shower block I would argue in the strongest terms that the toilet block is amongst the best in East Anglia and is of adequate size for our site.
As our bar is franchised but I have discussed the issue with his quiz machine, I have been informed details were requested to ensure that payment would be made as and when the machine was checked, but this was rejected.
Criticism is always very welcome but please be constructive and honest.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
2
Google Plus
avatar for Mark_P5

Good clean and tidy, friendly site

(Family with young children, 1 review, 2 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Stayed for only one night, but was pleasantly suprised how clean, tidy and new everything looked at this campsite. All the facilities were 1st class, can't really fault anything to be honest and our 5 year old loved the play areas, so if he's happy, we're happy.

    The staff were all really friendly whether contact was by email, phone or face to face whilst at the site.

    Had a few drinks and some food in the on-site club house, again all really good, not expensive and the staff were really friendly.

    All in all, really enjoyed our stay, the site is only 45 mins or so from home, so is perfect for us to get to after work on a Friday evening to spend a couple of nights in the tent over the weekend, which hopefully we will be able to do in the next couple of weeks. But I can see us becoming regular visitors to this site in the future.
  • Disliked: As you can read in the above was really impressed with this campsite, there was one thing I wasn't overly happy about, but it hasn't actually got anything to do with the campsite, staff or club house, so it's not really fair to put it in the review. If your considering staying at this site and this last paragraph has put you off, please don't let it.If your still concerned, just ask me about it and I'll be happy to answer. But as I've said we will be going back.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for George_C0

Great little camp site.

(Family with young children, 1 review, 2 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Toilets and showers brand new and suitable for any 4 star hotel.
    Checking in with my Pitchup.com reservation was easy and went without a hitch.
    The field we camped in was freshly cut, flat and well maintained.
    Toilets and showers brand new and suitable for any 4 star hotel.
    The site is only a mile or so away from an Asda supermarket, Tesco minimart, McDonalds and pizza takeaway and many other essentials whilst camping!
  • Disliked: It was a bit strange being told the site was "full" as our field was huge with only a couple of other tents pitched!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus

<< Go back to Osea Leisure Park