Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Sandymouth Holiday Park

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.4

Overall rating based on 54 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

87% would recommend this site to a friend.

83% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for robin_t0

Lovely site

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Beautiful views
    Entertaintent good
    Very clean and tidy
    Overall very good site
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for motorhomefamily

Lovely campsite, friendly staff, everything very clean

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Big pitches, awning/hook-up/dogs included in the price. Nice sea views. All staff members very courteous and friendly. Very well organised park, kept really clean and tidy. Toilets also very clean and the fan heaters kept the toilet blocks nice and warm. I didn't use the showers but apparently, so hubby tells me, these are now really warm so sounds like they may have been updated? Swimming pool and pirate ship big hit with my children.
    All in all a great stay and I would highly recommend this park.
  • Disliked: Nothing I can think of really. Nope. Not a thing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for jaynatkenz03

fantastic holiday

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: views stunning,nice clean tidy site,family friendly,staff great,food lovely very reasonably priced,entertainment good plenty to do on site very good for children pirate ship brilliant with zip wire,swimming pool nice and clean even supply floats etc for children.Need car as no local amenities closest supermarket in bude about 15 minute drive,
  • Disliked: Only problem was the camping touring showers a bit hit and miss sometimes far too hot/hot but this is the only downside will def be coming back next year highly recommended.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Brian_W1

Good location, inadequate toilet/shower facilities

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location was excellent with great views and plenty of space. The park was generally clean and well cared for and the staff friendly and helpful.
  • Disliked: Totally inadequate toilet and shower facilities.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for clikfire

Lovely site but noisy at night

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location was superb with fantastic views to the sea. Play area pirate ship entertained the kids for hours. The bar and entertainment section was in good order and well staffed. The indoor pool was well received by the two elder children (9 & 12).

  • Disliked: Problems on site seemed to abound which was causing the staff and customers major issues. Extraction in kitchen not working, so limited menu on offer. Shower block water heater failed so cold showers for a day, but they did then open some of the static vans for customers to use. Blocked urinals in the gents. Cash machine broken and next nearest place was miles away.

    But the only thing I felt was really wrong and fully in their control was the showers in the shower block were in a really bad state, and desperately needed updating.

    Large group, obviously friends up till the early hours, keeping us awake.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for lisamillsx

lovely park!

(Family with young children, 1 review, 5 photos)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: had a lovely time at samndymouth, park was very clean, staff very friendly and helpful, will be going back next year for 2 weeks, , all in all a great place to stay, we loved it! thank you to all at samndymouth x
  • Disliked: it was very windy on the pitch, more so where we pitched because i wanted my lovely sea views, will be pitching next to the fence line next year x
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Alan_N0

Great site, great amenities, friendly staff and great views.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The view from the camping field is truly stunning. The amenities on site are great, friendly staff and a good atmosphere all around. The play ground and pool and night life were perfectly suited to our 9 year old.
  • Disliked: Although the views are amazing the site is therefore very open to the elements and we found that in the british weather this proved to be very windy and wet (Cornish rain is definatley wetter than anywhere else's)....
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Joanne_W0

Poor washing amenities but otherwise ok

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The indoor pool was a great added benefit, especially as it rained solidly whilst we were there, but it is small and couldn't cope with the amount of people on site. The children's play area was good. I liked also having the freedom to pitch your tent where you liked within the field.
  • Disliked: The showers were ice cold every day for three days (at different times each day) which was particularly poor as the weather was bad and we couldn't warm the kids up with a nice hot shower. The evening entertainment was dire and kids disco started far too late at 10.30 each night.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
2
Google Plus
avatar for Leanne_M

Fantastic holiday park!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Pitches were a great size we had a large trailer tent plus gazebo and windbreaks. Amazing views of the countryside and sea. Children had lots of freedom and felt safe with the large open space for them to play within view of all tents.
    Outdoor pirate ship play area and mini golf (so cheap) big hit with our boys!!!
    Swimming pool lovely and clean and toys added to pool as well.
    Club house lovely, food well priced as were drinks. Compliments to the chef... Jerk chicken was delicious as was the very very hot chicken balti which was very tasty!
    All staff very friendly, extremely helpful, polite and always smiling!
    Entertainment staff were very hard working in the evening with the children and the adult games were fun!
    Beach was lovely drove down and carried little one over rocky bit great for rock pool exploring!
    Toilets and launderette were clean and tidy.
    Would definitely stay again!
  • Disliked: Showers were a bit hit and miss either hot or cold and no real pressure ended up in one with just a dribble. But believe these are being replaced this year.

    Entertainment staff could do with being a little more lively in the morning as they are at night.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for marianne_a

wonderfull

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: we liked that you could pitch your tent anywhere you liked.
    Great views
    All staff friendly
    Entertainment basic but fine and enjoyable esp for children
    Bar good
    Food good
    Children loved outdoor play area and indoor machines
    Swimming Pool small but was warm and clean children enjoyed it
  • Disliked: Showers were cold in morning but ok in afternoon but we were warned of this by staff on arrival and offered full refund if we didn't want to stay.
    Could have done with the odd outside light on main camping field.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Stanyerk

Lovely holiday,lovely location, people very friendly excellently clean

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I loved the beautiful views from camp site. Lovely atmosphere everyone who works there are very friendly everything was Exceptionally clean to the site itself to the toilet blocks.
  • Disliked: Only dislike was the showers could be a bit more powerful in toilet block as we were camping.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for angela_h0

Loved it

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was fantastic and kids loved the freedom. The views were amazing and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were fantastic and we couldn't have asked for better. Would defo come back again.
  • Disliked: The shower block could be respected more by those using it and maybe cleaned an extra time each day.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for sophiedave

loved it !!

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the staff was very nice, entertainment staff worked very hard fantastic with the kids, very clean all around the site, food and drink good prices, plenty to do with the kids, beach 15 min walk away. we had a lot of days out and felt relaxed when we got back to camp, we will be back next year, thank you to sandymouth for a fantastic holiday , sophie dave owen and ellie xxxx from Grimsby.
  • Disliked: the only thing I could moan about was the showers wasn't very predictable but was free unlike some places, they was clean and so was all other facilities.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for lorraine_a

brillant site, very large pitches,

(Family with older children, 2 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very large tent pitches, beautiful views from camping field. Swimming pool clean and warm. Evening entertainment good for young children. Restaurant food prices cheap and food excellent. Campsite peaceful at night.
  • Disliked: Toilet/shower block in camping field needs updating. Although kept clean only four showers, water is hot but water doesnt flow very well. If camping field full then toilet block would struggle to cope.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Jonathon_R

Great family park with amazing views

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Facilities and friendly staff were great. We used a services pitch which was a great size and located near to all facilities.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for lougardner50

Good but could improve!

(Family with older children, 1 review, 1 photo)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Loved the view from the campsite. The facilities were great for children. Friendly staff. Shower block was clean with 'free' hair dryer!
  • Disliked: The showers were a big problem. The laundry dryers didn't do very well. The swimming pool was too small. The shop opening hours were terrible, it needs to stay open a lot later.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Awesome holiday!! Highly recommended

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: There is no better way to wake up in the morning, than to the views you get from Sandymouth's tent pitches. The pitches themselves are spacious and well maintained as are the shower/toilet block. We found all the staff to be very friendly and happy in their work which made for a great atmosphere, the entertainment staff were lively and energetic, making sure everyone was having a great time. Would definitely recommend Sandymouth and we will be returning soon
  • Disliked: N/A
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excelent site

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything about the site, it's in a beautiful location. The staff are helpful and polite always willing to help with a smile. The food served is of a excellent quality. The pirate ship was a big hit with our children.
  • Disliked: The only let down for the site was the toilet/shower block the water was either far to hot or freezing no happy medium. The showers were just a dribble of water.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

7

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very nice
  • Disliked: N\A
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

tent blew down moved to caravan

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely views and the rain sounded good on the roof.
  • Disliked: noise in club house
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent campsite for young family

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The swimming pool and play area were great for the kids.
    Views were stunning from the tent field.
    The facilities were modern and clean.
    The tent field was huge so plenty of space between tents and loads of room for kids to run around.

  • Disliked: Nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for tfjmansfield

Great campsite for all.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The view, space and on-site facilities. We booked a couple of nights at the beginning of the summer holidays to give our girls a go at camping. We went for Sandymouth Holiday Park as the price was very reasonable and were not disappointed. They had plenty of space in which to play and explore. We never got to use the pool but the girls had a fab time on the pirate ship play area.
  • Disliked: The toilets and shower block is tired and requires updating. The cleaning staff do a good job and if those using the toilets, etc. did their bit by cleaning up after themselves then cleanliness should not be a problem! That said, the water pressure was poor; also too hot for children and some way of controlling the temperature is needed. I feel that updating these facilities is of a much higher priority than providing an on-site gym.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

We had a fab time :)

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The whole place was very clean and tidy. The swimming pool was great. The staff were very friendly and the pirate ship was lived by all the kids. We will be booking a pitch for next year.
  • Disliked: The showers need a bit more pressure but other than that all was good.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Andrew_F4

good views nice field to pitch tent

(Mature couple, 3 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the views and there are plenty of walks and beach near by
  • Disliked: the toilet and shower block could do with a moor regular clean the just once a day at 11-12 am
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Sarah_H4

very good

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: swimming pool. how quite the site was. the views. the location.
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The Breathtaking views of the sea and Bude.
    Pirate ship playarea
    Clean Shower and Wash Facilities
  • Disliked: Slight slope in the pitch making tent base uneven. Only a minor issue.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great park

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend break. All staff were really nice and friendly.The electric services pitch had an amazing view of the sea and to the left we could see Bude itself.Quiet location. Looking forward to our next stay
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Brilliant weekend, excellent priced, we've hoping to go again soon.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Sandymouth was a brilliant place to camp, it was clean and very friendly place to be , staff we.ve to happy to help with any problems or questions, The food at the restaurant was good and priced well,
    It was my gran-daughter first camping trip and she enjoyed it that much she did'nt want to go,
    should'nt get her out the play area or the swimming pool,
    We've planning to go back soon with other family members,
  • Disliked: The only problem we found camping was the toilets we've to far away from where we camped more toilets are needed on the field
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for melanie_w0

excellent

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: great site for families . lots to do , brilliant location , helpful friendly staff , and clean facilities . We were only here for two nights, but will definately be going back .
  • Disliked: there is nothing i can say here .. i liked everything, if i had to be picky i would say changing facilities in the swimming pool area could do with an update, but other than that i have no complaints
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Clean quiet site . (Out of season). Great views . Bistro and bar. Wifi

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The generous sized touring pitches. The view from our pitch (SP14). Each pitch had own water tap. At the time we were there the site was very quiet. The food at the Bistro was of. Good quality. The Bistro and bar were modern, bright and clean.
    Although not used by ourselves there was a swimming pool and family entertainment available.
    Excellent TV and free WiFi reception.
  • Disliked: The toilet block for the tourers is in need of an upgrade . Facilities insufficient if all pitches were in use and if tent field was busy.
    The water pressure in the showers is pathetic . Most of our second week the showers were in fact cold.
    This is a shame as this lets down an otherwise excellent campsite.
From the manager...

The toilet block is to be removed or replaced at the end of the 2013 season.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Enjoyable stay

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely views and nice settings
  • Disliked: Showers had no temperature control. One day the water was too hot to shower and the next too cold.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for steve_t

Our first camping trip with the family and it was fantastic.

(Family with young children, 2 reviews, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: it was our first camping trip with the family children s ages ranges from 7 months to 14.
    Great site from start to finish, lovely clean site with very friendly staff throughout.
  • Disliked: The shops supplies were limited no stove gas etc and closed too early (5.00pm)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent location and facilities and great value for money

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We were the only people camping on the field where there were no designated pitches or hook up. The site was on the top of a cliff with a fantastic view out over the Atlantic. The beach was only a few mins walk away but down a very steep hill. The beach is also only accessible after walking over large boulders and pebbles making it suitable for anyone with walking difficulties. The only problem we had was our son is only 2yrs and so he couldn't make the walk to and from the campsite. Luckily there is a car park about 100yds from the beach. The showers were always spotless and plenty of hot water. We usually shy away from large campsites but because of our little boy we found the facilities to be a godsend. Decent sized swimming pool and a brilliant life size pirate ship climbing frame. We will definitely be returning to this campsite next year.
  • Disliked: Probably a bit cliche but there was nothing that we disliked.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

long weekend break

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Caravan and site very clean and well kept .
  • Disliked: The weather !!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Marc_J

Whatever the weather happy and friendly camp site :)

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We arrived at the site after the reception had closed however the staff on duty for the evening were really helpful. Due to the AWFUL weather pitching our tent was out of the question! The staff worked with us in finding a caravan that would suit our group’s needs for the night. We ended up having the caravan for two nights. We could not fault the caravan it was clean and well equipped.
    The evening entertainment was enjoyed by the whole group our ages ranging from 7-43 years.
    We did take a look at the facilities for campers which we gave the thumbs up and are looking forward to returning again in the hope that the weather will be on our side and we will be able to camp!

  • Disliked: NOTHING
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Slightly dissapointed / very disorganised / lovely site

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was beautifully situated on the coastline near Bude, with breathtaking views.

    The site was impeccably clean throughout, with suitable facilities to cater for couples and families.

    Pitches for tents were very suitable.

    Access to waste disposal and shower blocks was very good.
  • Disliked: On arrival (5.30pm) there was no one to meet and greet at reception, which was closed at 5pm. I deemed this to be early to close on a Friday, however I know it's sometimes protocol to check-in at the bar in this instance. I went to the bar, where I waited around 5 mins to be approached (bearing in mind there was only one person in the bar), to be finally greeted by a young lady who had no idea with regards to processing my booking! The campsite was fairly empty (no tents on the site), therefore the site was not inundated with bookings and demands on staff this weekend was ultimately very low.

    It took nearly 20-25mins to finally check-in, in which time there were several trips to-and-from the bar to reception. It was all very frustrating and unprofessional, especially as the staff appeared to have no concept of how to find or process Pitchup.com bookings.

    The following evening was also a big disappointment, when arriving at the bar (9.40pm) all the power in building went out. It was not a village power cut, merely a site issue. It was frustrating as we get turned away due to health and safety (which I do understand), but we were offered no alternative on site entertainment / activities. This left us without anything to do and nowhere to go. I believe this pretty much ruined our stay. Fortunately, we didn’t bring children, because that would have been very difficult to keep them entertained under the circumstances. We received little apology for these events and certainly no mention of compensation.

    In total we paid £50 for 2 nights of camping, which I consider expensive for a grass electric pitch, but due to the rating of the site and the envisaged facilities I was happy to pay, but expected far better.

    My final issue was with the shower blocks, which although very well located and accessible were below par. For example, out of the 5 shower cubicles, four of them had missing shower heads, which doesn't exactly lead to a convenient quick shower.

    Despite the beautiful setting, we will never return to Sandymouth Holiday Park, feeling we overpaid for poor service and facility usage, plus undercompensated bearing in mind the issues. I hope other people can make the most of their stay here as it really does have great potential, and if I was the manager of the site, I would be incredibly disappointed to hear how my staff had responded to customers under the circumstances. However, poor service cannot be deemed acceptable in an industry which relies heavily on tourism. Tourists have an expectation, unfortunately Sandymouth was very wide of the mark.

    I believe that the issues above are accurate and I would welcome discussions regarding the issues with the site manager, if he deems them unfair or wants to action them.

    Regards
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
3
Google Plus
avatar for Kelly_Y

Great Site for Families

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We loved everything about this park...the camping meadow was awesome, close to all the amenities and had an AWESOME view and loads of space for our son to play football, frisbee etc.

    The Swimming Pool was fab as was the play area and amusements! All staff (Especially the Kids Ents Team) Were fantastic and very customer focused, kind and helpful.

    Clubhouse was a nice environment and the drinks were reasonably priced as was the food etc.

    The whole site was clean tidy and well maintained and well exceeded our expectations.
  • Disliked: The only slight fault I can mention is that the showers in the shower blocks lacked power and had no temperature control which was a bit of a pain to rinse soap from hair or when you have young children who moan its Too hot or Too Cold. However this did not cause us any major problems and is only a very minor issue and the block was always extremely clean and tidy!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Leah_H

Good Clean site, nice park, fantastic views

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Cleanliness
    Views
    Kids loved the pirate play park
    Location
    Price
    Swimming pool
    Prices in the shop and the bar were very reasonable


  • Disliked: Showers- although very clean and warm they dibbled out like a tap!
    Children's evening entertainment- just a ploy to get people in the club house earlier. It was meant to be an hour long but one night of our stay only lasted 20 mins.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for ajmangan

Fantastic site with great staff and facilities

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was very clean and catered for us as a family of five very well. We still can't get over the value for money from our break, although dont expect cheap meals if you're planning to eat at the restaurant - however this is comparable with any other restaurant nearby we'd say.

    If you're a Geek or your kids can't say away from the internet, the wifi is really accessible on site - the best we've ever accessed at any previous site.

    I guess the most impressive thing about our stay was the view. Wow! Overlooking the coastline was simply stunning, but, we had good weather so wouldn't like to comment on wet weather views....

  • Disliked: The on site shop could have been better stocked and whilst the toilets/shower block is clean, the showers are a little underpowered.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Overall very good. Would come again.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Good points:
    Very big pitches
    Good value for money
    Very friendly staff
    Lots for young children to do - lots of it free.
    Close to great beach, although a steep hill down!
    Free indoor swimming pool!
    Clean and tidy
  • Disliked: The showers were too hot for children and weren't powerful enough to get soap out of hair.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Maria_R0

Overall a very good Holiday park.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The views were breathtaking. We had a very large pitch. Lovely clean site & very safe for little ones. Plenty to do onsite with swimming pool, pirate ship play area, crazy golf, amusement arcade, bar & restaurant with entertainment. Just a short drive (or you could walk) down to Sandymouth Beach, and a short drive to nearest supermarket in Bude for supplies.
  • Disliked: The shower/toilet block was not very family friendly. The showers were scalding hot with no way to adjust temperature, making it very difficult to wash our very young children.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Nice site for families

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Good private pitches down the bottom, well away from the kiddies areas, bar, swimming pool etc. Good camping area in similar spot too. Great views.
  • Disliked: Note that the site is on a hill, 20 min walk to beach, with a very steep walk back up the hill.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Very inflexible

(Extended family, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location of site

  • Disliked: Lack of facilities:
    - Showers were absolutely useless, you either get a mist or a trickle of water
    - Taps in the toilet block are press-type but they barely stay on for 10seconds
    - Disabled toilet had no facility to dry your hands
    - Disabled toilet is not suitable for someone in a wheelchair

    Lack of customer focus:
    - although we paid for both a camper van and a tent, we were not allowed to stay together as a family either in the tents field or in the pitch field.
    - Our small dog had to be on a lead at all times near our camper van, and yet a neighbour's dog was able to walk around the site. The only thing that could have caused an accident was the staff driving at 25mph in a 10mph speed restricted zone.
    - Shop opening hours displayed not followed
    - Opening times for pool and other facilities absolutely useless to guests (close at 16:45)

    Very busy traffic caused by maintenance vehicles speeding up and down

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for sally_m1

Top class site great staff and lovely accommodation

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: All of it
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

the place was clean , quiet and staff were polite

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the pitches were a good size plenty of room we were in our motorhome with a small fre standing awning and there was still enough space for a car, a bigger awning and still the kids would of had enough grass to play on.
    the pitches were well layed out we had a sevice pitch so no walking to get water.
    the whole park was clean and tidy can't fault anything on that side
    the play park was great mykids couldnt stop talking about the pirate ship and what they had on it - like a jail , a rat run , 2 slides and lots of place to climb
    they also loved the zip line on the ghost ship and the crazy golf
    the cafe was great on price and the meals were great and they had a good choice of meals
    the bar was graet and the prices were good as well
    the childrens entertainers were really good they had the children and adults alike laughing all the time
    my children also loved the family bingo tey liked the funny bits inbetween
    all the staff that we met during our stay from the reception to the bar were friendly, polite, were dressed well and were helpful
    as i am disabled i automatically look out for things and they catered rather well for the disabled
    we will definately go again
  • Disliked: i didnt dislike anything
    but a couple of things caught my attention
    the ramp to the bar and cafe was rather steep i went in through the amusments as the step there tapered off so i was able to get to the bar and cafe that way
    and if they could extend the stage that would be good as well
    and if they could have more range of items in their shop
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

We hooked late and got a great price via the pitchup website. great location, quiet small holiday park but enough to keep young kids happy

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Seaview, swimming pool (constant depth, great for young kids)9
  • Disliked: On-site shop, was poorly stocked
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent all round!!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Stunning view. The entertainment for such a small park was great and perfect for all the family. Kids play area so clean and interesting. Swimming pool good and lovely to have sauna for 10 minutes peace Shop well stocked staff very friendly and helpful. Will be going back again for sure! Others have mentioned the grass but if its long it's not so messy if its cut short the cut bits end up everywhere so on balance long is better!
  • Disliked: The shower block was looking a bit tired on the inside (peeling paint on the shower walls) although it was always kept clean. It would have been helpful to make clear the day before any times when the pool would be closed and/or special event on so that we could plan and book in advance but this a very minor point.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

good camping location

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: loved location
    pirates of carribean play area
    kids entertainment
  • Disliked: think showers/toilets could have been cleaner.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for sandie_y

fantastic site. Loved it

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location and the amazing views. Excellent facillities , though the toilets / showers could do with being updated.
    We ate in the very resonably priced restaurant at least once a day. Standard of food was excellent. My children loved the play area and the indoor pool.
    Plenty of very friendly staff on the grounds and in the restaurant and bar.

  • Disliked: waiting to go in the pool . Perhaps a notice on the door to the pool to explain maximum number of swimmers allowed in the pool at one time would be beneficial , as my children and myself had to wait in our swimming costumes for other swimmers to get out. Lockers that worked in there too . Not a big deal though, as we had a brilliant week camping there !
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Mike_H1

Good but have Experienced Better

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Good geneerally clean site with good facilities.
    Swimming pool temperature a bit cold but not crowded.
    Great location for the area.
  • Disliked: The campsite views were limited seaview. Controlling the hedge at the bottom of the field would have made a huge difference. Field was slightly sloping but not too bad.
    A bit exposed to the wind which certainly makes it a challenge.
    Needed a lick of paint here and there and general maintenance which would have made it better. Shower facilities were poorly maintained.
    Clubhouse and bar facilities should have segregated areas so that if you do not want to be involved in the entertainment you do not have to hear it.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Bad storm ruined our tent but staff brilliant and helped us find a solution. The children loved the entertainment. Food in the clubhouse reasonably priced.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The clubhouse and food
  • Disliked: The pool was too cold
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Really enjoyed our stay. Staff helpful and friendly.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Entertainment, size of site, not to big or crowded. Facilities
  • Disliked: N/a
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

nice but needs improving for campers.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely park for the kids. Friendly staff. Club house was lovely with nice food. Nice if you were staying in the mobiles homes.
  • Disliked: We camped ,if the grass had been cut short it would have been much better as as soon as you went out your trousers were soaked, you dragged previously cut, rotting, smelling grass (which attracted the flys) into your tent. The steps leading down the the loo,s were only swept once in the 5 days we were there so all the grass and mud on them made it very slippery . The toilets were dirty and in need of up dating with NO hair driers or sockets for you own. Washing up sinks are right outside the mens loo's. Could do with another toilet block the other end of the field.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

good family holiday

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: we had a lovely pitch with wonderful views over the sea. my children enjoyed the pirate ship play area and the swimming pool. there was a nice family club house serving good meals and providing entertainment. Although the park is fairly big and obviously busy it was never noisy or over crowded.would definately return again.
  • Disliked: My only critism was that the shower block is looking a little tired however, they were clean and there was always plenty of hot water, soap and toilet tissue so nothing really to worry about. the only other thing i would mention it that due to the position of the park it can get very windy if the weather bad but again the view is worth putting up with the wind. we had a lovely family holiday and came back very relaxed.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus

<< Go back to Sandymouth Holiday Park