Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Alpine Grove Touring Park

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.8

Overall rating based on 43 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

93% would recommend this site to a friend.

86% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for tim_h

nk

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: lack of rowdy families
  • Disliked: paying £16 for word burner and fuel. would have hoped to keep burner for a second night for this.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for pacharanero

Great site

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Excellent outdoor heated swimming pool; Shower and wash facilities clean & ample; Friendly owners who were around the site most of the day for enquiries etc. Simple PIN code lock on the gate meant a little added feeling of safety for those with kids without feeling like it was a locked-down site.
  • Disliked: We were given a choice of 2 woodland pitches which meant we were heavily shaded most of the day - we would have preferred a pitch on the open grassland, but overall even taking this into account it was an excellent stay and we will be back.

    The shop closes 11am - 3pm which was a shame as I thought they probably would have done some good trade during those hours.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for James_M8

nice site, good setting

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The setting, facilities such as trampoline, swings, table tennis and swimming pool. Friendly owner.
  • Disliked: My five year old daughter objected to spiders and creepy crawlies in the shower and toilet block (though it didn't look that bad to me)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Anthony_S

Nice and secure site, But would advise strongly against pitching your tent on the forest floor.

(Mature couple, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This was our fist venture to 'Alpine Grove' It is a well laid out site, With clean shower and washing facility's. The security gate made you feel safe and secure, anyone with a family would feel very comfortable.
  • Disliked: Ok we had no real issues, But I will point out to everyone that if you have booked the forest floor pitch area, and should it rain for some considerable time. To be prepared for what can become a little soft underfoot, ok maybe just a bit more than soft ! So ground sheet is strongly advised. The grass area is the best choice. Of course the weather is always going to be a changeable thing anyway. We were asked to please not drive onto our pitch area to help prevent the ground from getting churned up. Only problem with that is if you want to pump up any airbed's you may have, It would mean taking the bed to the car ! Or if you power any lights from your car, you will need real long cable. We did drive in close to tent, at least three times to simply pump up our deflated bed. Oh yes they saw that and had slight dig at my partner the following day. And yet everybody else was doing the self same thing with there cars. Washing lines oh yes, I think the on site policy says something like 'No Washing Lines Allowed' And yet Every tent and caravan had a washing line !! . The on site shop is very sparse, with ultra basic bread and milk (Two Pint Only) and local fresh produce.With a list of some other small items you can ask for displayed on front of freezer door.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent camp site

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: It was a small, friendly site close to many attractions.
    Weather not brilliant but this did not stop us enjoying ourselves.
    Very secure site.
  • Disliked: Would have liked another toilet and shower block but managed.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Arron_L

Really lovely campsite

(Family with young children, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: You can camp in either the open field or the woodland, we choose the woodland and didn't regret it. The owners reserve you a pitch and ours was perfect, plenty of space around us, ample room to pitch the tent and quite secluded (if you wanted to be more in amongst everything then I'd suggest camping on the open field). There are some lovely paths through the woodland that you can go exploring along and a nice little pool for the kids to play in (they need to be able to swim though, or have an adult in the pool with them as it's 1.4m deep throughout). There's a nice park for the kids too with trampoline, swings, slide, monkey bars etc. The location is pretty good, with easy access into Chard for shopping etc as well as only 30mins from Lyme Regis which is a really great seaside town with absolutely loads going on.
  • Disliked: The facilities were a little small when the campsite was at capacity - only 2 toilets and 2 showers in the men's and 3 of each in the women's. The shop stocked a great array of cheap toys, but little else - could have done with some more essentials for camping!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

2 nights break with 0ur grandchilldren

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We have been visiting Alpine Grove for 20 years and through 3 owners. The site now is very organised, extremely clean and safe. The site has always been in the past very relaxed and easy going so it was a bit of a surprise to see various rules and regulations and also a charge for most things. However, I understand that the owners are in business whereas the previous owners were more lax and I do not think that the extras provided and charged for were excessive, for example, the use of a full family bathroom at the rate of £3 for 1/2 hour was a boon with two small children and worth the money.

    The owners are friendly and helpful. The only thing I could say is that the shop could be better equipped as it is mostly toys.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent site

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very friendly owners, camp fires permitted, swimming pool, very relaxed and comfortable site. Will be returning at a later date
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for keef22

disgusted

(Extended family, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the journey
  • Disliked: as it rained most of the time the pitch was so boggy and muddy,we didnt like the fact we were told to turn our radio down at 10.30 in the morning,when you got dogs barking day and night,children shouting and playing, we would of understood if it was loud (what a joke) als the bin area was disgusting, all overflowing could attract vermin. no hot water after 8.00 am, the shop only opened when he felt like it, this was our 2nd visit,and our last,we will not be recommending this site to anyone
From the manager...

Thank you for your comment. Bin area emptied today - we were let down by Viridor.
Shop opening times were displayed 9am - 11am - then we clean the shower block 11-noon, the shop reopens 3 - 6pm. As most people go exploring during the day we feel that these time are sufficient. The rain was particularly heavy & prolonged - we are really sorry that you did not enjoy your break (especially as it was your 2nd visit). No one else mentioned the lack of warm water- I will investigate.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
3
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Delightful site amid mature woodland in quiet rural location.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Spent just one night at start of school holidays, so site was very busy but the woodland provided fair sound insulation. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.
    Site is level and gravel access roadways are good. Facilities reasonably clean considering the site was close to capacity.
    Watching the early morning sun shining through the mist around the trees on the morning we left was magical.
  • Disliked: We were pestered for a while by a roaming dog while setting up. Our own dog is always kept well under control, so perhaps firm advice to dog owners regarding the management of their pets would not come amiss when bookings are taken from pet owners.

    Visitors should be aware that when returning from trips out, there is a locked electronic vehicle security gate. Be prepared to telephone for the access code if you don't already have it. We were stuck for some time as all 3 telephone numbers given were either engaged or not available for a while. However, the knowledge that the owners take site security seriously was reassuring.

    Quite expensive by the time we added the awning and dog, but it was peak time.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

very friendly family run site,very well maintained.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The beautiful woodland setting, the friendly welcome,the clean well kept shower facilities, the fact that the owners were so accomodating with a good knowledge of surrounding area, the firepit that can be hired for a small charge big basket of logs included, just loved our stay, cant find fault in any area!
  • Disliked: Nothing at all!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for happycamperz

well....

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: camp is pretty . good toilet/washing facilities . nice trees / shade .little play area for kids .
  • Disliked: site is much smaller than shown . more like a large garden . if busy gets very packed . large swathes of site are gravelled over which leads too much tripping over guy ropes as people avoid walking on it at all costs . shop only opens 9-6 . campfire things are great but at £16 per night very expensive . everyday you have to collect it before 6pm which is total pain if on beach or out walking . better campsites in area . everything seems expensive here .
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for Lisa_T1

Lovely experience!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The clean washrooms, the beautiful scenery and the friendly service. The log cabins look amazing if you fancy a treat!
    I would recommend.
  • Disliked: N/A
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Fiona_O0

Lovely campsite

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely campsite with a variety of pitches. We opted for a secluded woodland pitch which was great in the hot weather. The only downside was pitching the tent was very difficult as the pegs wouldn't go into the ground! Our air bed also gave up the ghost on the first night and Richard (campsite owner) helpfully pumped up our newly purchased electric air bed, not sure what we would have done otherwise! All in all lovely campsite with very helpful owners and a lovely communal atmosphere!
  • Disliked: I can't say I disliked anything although it would be nice if the shower facilities were slightly larger. The first two miles of the cycle path are also more like off-roading, beware!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

2nd time just as good as the first.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The whole site is excellent. The showers were nice and private, the tent pitch we booked was set in the woods. The area had lots of restaraunts for take always and a supermarket a short drive away.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Martin_B1

Couldn't have asked for better!

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We stayed in one of the secluded pitches on the site and the surrounding woods really made you feel like you were alone.
    The site facilities were exceptional with a shop and shower block onsite.
    The site owners were extremely friendly and helpful.
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike!!!!!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for eunja

Secluded and Friendly

(Young couple, 3 reviews, 1 photo)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The purple Rhododendrons blooming throughout the site, the old Oak trees providing a canopy on rainy days, the winding pathways and bridleway for walking the dog, the clean facilities, being surrounded on three sides by bushes and feeling like you have your very own 'room', being able to use your own firepit, barely seeing another soul, easy access to Lyme, Golden Cap, Bridport, Crewkerne and Ilminster.

    The owner took time to give us a tour and helped us decide on a pitch specific to our needs. Even on the Saturday night, the site didn't feel crowded and bar the usual 'kids at 7am whacking a football about', the noise levels were almost always at silent to muted.
  • Disliked: I'd have preferred a slightly later check out time than 10.30am. Also, if the rules say dogs on leads, this should be enforced, otherwise take the signs down. Not necessarily the owners' fault, more other inconsiderate dog owners. Just because your dog is friendly, doesn't mean mine is when she first wakes up!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great site and a great time

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was fantastic, with the option of a grass pitch or the woodlands for the tent. We set up in the woodland as we have another couple joining us it felt quiet private and under cover. It was great when it rained as we had the space to put the two tents up facing one another and the seating area in the middle (benchs provided by site). As it rained for most of the time we were there we found that the forest floor did became a little muddy in places but over all the ground was solid. The trees gave great cover from the rain so we could still sit out side with water proffs on. Only down side of that is the trees drip for a lot longer than when it stops raining. The fire pits were great and we had one 3 out of the 4 nights we stayed (one night was to wet). They are costly at £16.00 but they are all set up so you just need to light then and wood for the night is provided. This ment we could stay out till lsate evening with out being cold and enjoy being outside with out the need for lamps etc. I'm currently 32 weeks pregant and found the toliets close enough not to worry and the showers lovely anmd hot every morning. The site was quiet and mostly young families or older couples when we were there, the only noise at night was not from the site it self but a local pub/sports club, but this didnt go on passed 11 and was only on the saturday night. Childrens area is well set up for young families as can be seen from most places in the site, and would give any parents space to set up tents etc. Shop is good with all you need if you forget anything and local to other stores only 10 minutes away. Area is perfect as 10 minutes drive away you can be in Deven or Dorest so opens up so many activites and locations to vistit. Site provides leaflets of local area activities so no need to research before you go. Owner was very helpful and really willing to chat/ help with any needs or requests. Lovely house located on site so always about if needed, and their dogs are lovely to! Would go back tomorrow!
  • Disliked: The only thing i can say about the site that i would improve would be the toliet block, the ladies loo seats moved when you sit down, which is not great when heavly pregant or in a hurry. Also the showers look as tho they give loads of room and space for changing and storing clothes in the cubical, however as many other reviews have stated the shows stray out towards the door and make everything wet. Best advise is to take a hole free plastic bag to put all clothes in. I think the showers could be improved by just putting a shower curtin up between the show area and changing area.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Lisa_C

Beautifully peaceful, family friendly site. Highly recommended.

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Flat pitches, beautiful scenery, peaceful surroundings, friendly owners, clean showers, security gates, children's play area, hired fire pits.
  • Disliked: Lukewarm water (in washing up facilities and showers at times), pool out of action at time of visit, limited stocked shop - no milk.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A fantastic site with friendly staff

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We loved the safe feeling of having a gated entry, our secluded wooded pitch was exactly what we wanted for a weekend away.
    The Owners were lovely and helpful and we had a fantastic time.


  • Disliked: The only thing I would say that I disliked as a minor point would be the shower, they were hot, powerful and clean, but I had to keep pushing the button in every 10-15 seconds (mens left shower), so couldn't really enjoy a decent shower without continually pressing the button in.

    That would be my only, and very minor complaint.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Beautiful woodland site

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Woodland setting, very tranquil, friendly helpful owner, relaxed approach.
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike at all!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Attractive location with great facilities

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was well presented and offered a great level of facilities for its size. The pool was closed for us as it was so early in the season, however, later in the year, it'll be a great attraction for the children which can be easily supervised.

    You can rent a ready to light fire pit for the evening at £16 including wood and you can buy marsh mellows and locally produced sausages to cook. The children enjoyed collecting extra fire wood from the surrounding area to add to your evenings 'burn time'.

    We were able to borrow an electric hook up cable from the proprieter who was welcoming and friendly.

    The children enjoyed running around the woodlands and park area in a safe environment suitable for my two eight year olds and they were able to offload some of their pocket money in the well stocked shop. The area must have been a WWII encampment with the old pill sentry boxes a great source of entertainment for the Girls.

    The site is located next to a public footpath / bridle way which offers some great walks for the dog.

    Chard Town Centre was very close (five minutes in car) and Forde Abbey (just a walk or short drive away). The Abbey was a beautiful location with fantastic gardens and an amazing 150ft fountain. The children enjoyed the visit exploring whilst 'letterboxing' their way around. The Abbey was dog friendly allowing access to all areas except within the Abbey building itself.

    I'd return again and use the site as a base as there is plenty to do in the surrounding area.


  • Disliked: Some of the children's park facilities were geared toward children a little younger than mine. Although they were perfectly clean and safe, the girls seemed to want a small sheltered area to 'hang out' away from the younger children with their new found friends.

    No criticism, just an observation they made.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Jon_L0

Everything you could ask for in a campsite!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, I'm not a big review writer but the owners of this site really do deserve credit. For couples/families this site is perfect, small enough that you don't get lost but large enough that you don't end up bunched together.

    The facilities, were perfectly adequate for the size of the site, with everything you'd need for a weekend away. The shop on site was great for any last minute needs and the nearest superstore is only a 10 minute drive. That said you feel very much part of the countryside, far enough away from any main roads that you don't get constant streams of traffic.

    The staff could not have been more curteous, the fire pits were a brilliant touch and the site generally was very well maintained and run. I would certainly not hesitate to recommend to friends/family alike or anyone looking for somewhere to stay that is relatively inexpensive but offers a genuine camping experience with some small luxuries, not just a grassy field somewhere!

    Overall very impressed.
  • Disliked: I honestly cannot think of anything, for some the site may be a little small (40 pitches overall?) but I see that as a good thing, it certainly wasn't crowded. Besides there is plenty to do and see in the area.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

what a wonderful experience

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: everythink about it and more, we turned up at about 1pm my wife and i as we were attending a wedding which was taking place in the wooded area in the camp site.We pitched our tent then had a walk through the woods amongst the tall oak trees, the whole location was very welcoming.
    The owner was there a very nice chap who made you feel welcome and i got to say the place was spotless even the toilet blocks.
    I will certainley be going back and spreadin g the word of this wonderful place.
    The wedding went perfect and its one that will be in my mind forever due to the fantastic location.
    Thankyou very much Alpine Grove for such a beautiful weekend.
    Mr J F CAVE
  • Disliked: NOTHING I DISLIKED IT WAS PERFECT
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

loved it

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: firepits ,freindlyness of staff, facilitys pool was an added bonus
  • Disliked: nothing to dislike about this sight if your a real camper
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for laura_h

We had a brilliant time here, will return in the future !!!!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I liked everything else about this site, it was very friendly facilities are well maintained and sleeping in the woods was really good fun.
  • Disliked: The trampoline is in need of replacing or removing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for joford73

We were given pitch 32, DO NOT ASK OR USE IT.

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: My grandaughter said the pool was warm. So thats a like.

  • Disliked: Disabled wheelchair or zimmer users cant get around as all roads/paths are shingle, WE COULDNT PARK NEXT TO OUR TENT. |wE PAID £30 POUND A N IGHT AND WERE PUT ON A PITCH WE CAN ONLY DESCRIBE AS A BOG. We had to have wooden pallet type planks to stop us sinking. Other tent pitches were reasonably dry. Were were on a slope and I felt I needed to secure myself to the tent frame so I didnt crush my grandaughgter. We had 2 sunny days when we would have liked to toast mashmallows over the firepit you hire, but at no time could we sit outside our tent as we would have sunk at least 6 inches into the soggy ground.
    The owners should put a light at the childrens play area and seats for parents to watch younger children. The trampoline
    safety netting kept breaking and parents fixed it back. More than 6 children in the pool and its crowded.Shop limited and order your freesh bread or you cant buy any. Dogs going to the toilet infront of us, although the owner picked the mess up there should be dog only areas. I saw one dog pee against a tent.The site owners dog wandered into our tent and frrightened my 2 year old grandson but he is friendly.The toilets are very narrow if you have to take a child with you. I think its overpriced, if we had a dry pitch like others maybe we would have had a different view. Feel we had a rotten time really with all the boggy mud directly outside our tent. We had to by wellies which is a first and we have been camping for years.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
2
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely campsite

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely quiet site.lots to do in surrounding area.staff very helpful.
  • Disliked: None
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Michelle_R

Nice site with very friendly and helpful owners

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The owners were extremely friendly and welcoming.
    Upon arrival the local area was very flooded, with many of the surrounding villages and roads being closed off. The owners kindly offered us a hard-standing pitch on which to put up our tent, along with extra groundsheets for protection, which we thought was very considerate.
    The site is in a great location for popping down to the South Coast (Lyme Regis is only ~15 miles away) and there are many attractions and things to do nearby.
    We had a really nice 6 night stay despite the terrible British summer. Highly recommended.
  • Disliked: nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

site would be perfect if shower worked properly

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: very friendly owners, beautiful location,
  • Disliked: showers were not the best as if someone else was in the shower they stopped working or you got a little trickle of water.
From the manager...

There was a faulty thermostatic valve (which strangely was not brought to our attention) that has now been replaced so there should be no further issue of lack of water pressure in out lovely warm showers when used by multiple people.
We thank you for your kind comments

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Anthony_

Great combo!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This site is a a great and rare combination of all the things I like. Beautiful site with big trees and wide open spaces. lots of gravel for hardstandings if you want them, but lots of grass too. hardstanding was very handy on the wettest weekend on record! hook ups. very nice friendly owner. in beautiful countryside, but only a 30 min drive to the coast. nice friendly pub 1 mile walk away. AND you can have fires (if you have/hire a fire pit) !!
  • Disliked: Toilets/showers were fine but could have been cleaned a bit more frequently.
    £15 to hire a firepit with wood is probably a little on the steep side, but worked very well.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Ronald_O

Friendly family run site in a lovely location, just a shame the weather at the time of our visit did not do it justice. We would definitely revisit to try out the swimming pool>

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location convenient for national cycle routes to small towns and coastal resorts adequate facilities on site small shop with shower block and outdoor swimming pool.
  • Disliked: Shower block stone floor always wet when trying to dress, the addition of raised duck boards would enable dressing and drying without having to stand on wet floor.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

I stayed one night here on my tour of Somerset and Dorset in a vw campervan

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was clean and well maintained with good facilities. The owners were friendly and helpful and I thought that the fresh bread delivery was a thoughtful touch. The fire pit hire service was also good value and allowed visitors to have an open fire in a safe way.
  • Disliked: The site shop was very basic and stocked very little food.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Paul_E

An excellent, well maintained and quiet site. Facilities were good and the site owners helpfull and courteous.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Maintainence of the site
  • Disliked: Nothing!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely site, easy to find and well positioned for nearby towns and attractions.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely site and surroundings, friendly Manager. All facilities to hand and plenty of water taps around so no long treks.
  • Disliked: Unfortunately the pool was not open. The website said late May which was when we stayed but it was not available.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Could not have asked for better, great facilities, friendly owners, flexible camping with the option to pitch up where ever took your fancy

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything
  • Disliked: Would have been beneficial if the campsite had been a little closer to the main towns
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

excellent site

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We loved this site.all facilities were excellent.
  • Disliked: No dislikes at all.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A small friendly camp site which provided a great stop off point for our Easter tour.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Close to a great cycle route which was ideal for my son and I. The welcoming staff were very helpful, friendly and the site had all the facilities we needed. Also great for kids as the area is secure and secluded. Set in a great location, just a few minutes from local shops and a 30 minute drive to the beach. We had a really good time and would recommend the site for short family breaks or couples. Although we didn't use them, the log cabins looked really smart!
  • Disliked: The site was a little smaller than expected and the bathroom facilities, whilst clean and well maintained, were quite small too - only a minor issue though as most occupants were in caravans so didn't use them at all.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Snowiejames

Wonderful woodland experience

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Mar 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Loved the seclusion in the woodland pitches and having the site virtually all to ourselves in late March. Best of all was the 'wildlfe rackowls whether it was owls, foxes, pheasants, woodpeckers or crows. Close enough to the coast for days out. Would also recommend Montacute House nearby.
  • Disliked: The midges but what can you expect!? Everything else was perfect!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for jko

one of the best

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: i have never been a fan of camping but the kids begged me to come this time. , so i was expecting to have a horrible time but i was surprised that i had a brilliant time. the pool amused the kids and the big play area kept them busy too. we had a van as i didnt want to sleep ina tent but we had a fire one night and the kids loved toasting marshmellows. we had a fab time and i was pleasently surprised with how much i loved it there, we`re looking at goin again this year
  • Disliked: i cant think of anythink i disliked
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for john_d

great time

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: location
  • Disliked: showers
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Camping at Alpine Grove

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We have a 3 & 4 year old so it was important that we chose the right campsite. We had a lovely welcome from the manager who showed us our pitch which I have to say was very large indeed.
    The play area was great, we were very close to the toilet and shower block which was clean and the showers lovely. The outdoor swimming pool was like having a bath and kept the children entertained for over an hour. I would definitely recommend ordering a firepit, the children loved toasting the marshmallows and it certainly kept us warm until it was time to turn in. All in all I would most defintely return to this campsite...oh and make sure you order your bread and pastries for the morning, they are wonderful.
  • Disliked: absolutely nothing to dislike about this site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for sarahhants

Fantastic

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2010
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The fire pits made for a cosy evening under the stars. The pitches were very secluded.
  • Disliked: Nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus

<< Go back to Alpine Grove Touring Park