Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Moorlands Caravan Park

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.7

Overall rating based on 27 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

96% would recommend this site to a friend.

96% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for liam_m1

Emergency stay Marathon Late booking

(Solo traveller-male, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The staff service was very good.
    A Taxi service to the local metro, but a bus also could be found
    The scenery was nice during at day, the lights of the local towns at night.
    Facilities were all good, warm showers early and late.
    Next time in Spring, I'd rent a Hut.
  • Disliked: The rain / drizzle during Saturday fore noon, and Sunday very early for 3 hours, fortunately I tock with a breathable rain gear for added night heat as a precaution.
    12 miles to centre of Manchester.
    No TV
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for eifwen

Owners so nice nothing too much trouble

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Nov 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything about this site is good.We stayed for a week and the owners were so lovely.Shower block is new and loads of hot water.Had snow one morning when we got up and the views are out of this world.Would love to go back in the summer for long walks.The only thing I would say is the pot holes on the entrance road need filling but it didn't really worry us.Nothing too much trouble for the owners.Seemed to have time for their guests.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for martin_s9

Fantastic views

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jan 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Only stayed for one night and a stop-over for further travel.
    The site was easy to find and booking in was very easy, (fob supplied to activate the entrance barrier). The pitch we used was hardstanding with the electric hookup very close by. The toilet and shower block was very clean and tidy with ample hot water. the view from our pitch was outstanding during the day, and then at night you could see the twinkle of far away houses and further on the moors towns.
    There is a pub/restaurant about 400 metres from the site entrance, and this serves very good.
    The entrance to the site is a little narrow, and the lane to the reception is very uneven but not a major problem.
    Will definately consider staying here for a longer period, but this time in the summer.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for robert_b6

Mr Briggs

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Nov 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was clean and the pitch was ready for use.
    The views were amazing but unfortunately the weather was not brilliant,very windy on the saturday night/sunday morning.
    Will probably go back but possibly not so late in the year.
  • Disliked: The approach road to the site was very potholed and quite unpleasant.
    Ths site office was unmanned even though i arrived before the time it would be closed.
    Having said that,the site manager was there very quickly after i had used the number on the office door.
    There is quite a steep approach to the pitch with a pond at the top and although it had warning signs on it,there was no fence of anykind to stop either vehicles or people falling into it.
    There was another pond on the same level as my pitch and again only signs but no fence.
    When i left the site on sunday,again the office was unmanned so i was unable to get my deposit back for the key to the electronic barrier so i hope my deposit will be sent back to me.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for talbot_d

Fantastic !

(Family with older children, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Oct 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The Pod. it was our first experience of pod life and really enjoyed the experience. The site management were friendly and very helpful, The views were delightful and breathtaking, its said that in good weather the UK can old its own against any seven wonders and the moors and rivers did not disappoint even in October !
    The sanitary block looked new and was clean and well fitted, no problems here.
  • Disliked: If i was being critical I would say the access road (unmade) was a little bumpy but at the end of the season after a busy summer what can you expect,
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for rachael_t0

Beautiful site

(Mature couple, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: wonderful scenery, excellent shower and toilet block , nice owner and very helpful. The fact we could take the dog with us.
  • Disliked: the noise from the people in the pods and thier disrespect for the countryside by leaving litter and cigerette ends.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for gemmakrzesinska

Beautiful views and very clean and tidy.

(Young couple, 1 review, 3 photos)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Wonderful views from all round the sight and looking out of our tent in the morning to stunning views of the peaks was fantastic. We pretty much had the tent pitch up field to ourselves so picked the best pitch of course :) Though there was shelter round for many pitches and the field was flat and well mowed.
    The toilet & shower block was very clean and the showers were great, not the usual weak ones you get. Staff were helpful and friendly. The pub just up the road did lovely food and drinks.

  • Disliked: Poopy weather, but the shelter round the pitch meant we didn't get blown off the top of the hill over night :)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Julie_L2

Gorgeous Views

(Young couple, 2 reviews, 3 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The views on this site are amazing, its practically on top of the Moors! There is a small village about a 20 min walk away with a lovely little pub - though the walk back is up a hill so be warned dont drink too much or it may take more than 20 mins ;o)

    Staff were very friendly and welcoming.

    There was a new shower and toilet block which was lovely and clean.

    We stayed at this site for two nights and although our poor little campervan struggled with the hills I would definetly recommend this site if your looking for peace and quiet and its perfect for people who enjoy walking.


  • Disliked: The amount of daddy-longlegs but that just because I'm a total wuss! lol
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

great little place.nice n quiet.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: staff on arriving were very helpful and welcoming.gave you a choice where you could pitch.residents of static homes very friendly.toilets and showers immaculate.would definately visit again and recomend to others.
  • Disliked: the british weather.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for robzicle

Loved it, what a view

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the setting is beautiful. Maybe the caravans get the better view but the non electric tent pitches are sheltered and their view is also lovely.
    The toilet and shower block is fantastic, new and very clean and fully functioning with hot water.
    The owner was very helpful and saved our day with having tent pegs for sale at £1 (who sells tent without pegs??!)
    Overall we had a great sleep, loved the location and would gladly come back. We were a little envious of the challets and pods but the tent pitches were flat, sheltered and spacious.
    Also had a great meal at the Old Bell Inn in Saddleworth, the only place serving meals on a Monday night that would let us in with a baby.
  • Disliked: Going home
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Plenty of room for the kids great views clean place

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We had a great time only a short stay but really enjoyed our nite and would be
    Be happy to go back again
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Matthew_C

Fantastically helpful site owners!

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: My 9 yr old son came down with a child sickness bug on the day of our trip and we were unable to "pitch up". I contacted the owners by e-mail to explain the situation. They promptly replied with sympathy and understanding. They also waived my liability for thee outstanding pitch fee which was very kind. I would highly recommend the campsite just down to the understanding shown for a typical 'family situation' that can happen to us all. We intend to visit in the very near future.
  • Disliked: Nothing.
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great campsite

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location, from where we live its about 30 mins away, the scenery is stunning, i was doubtful but as soon as we arrived we knew we had made the right choice. We had issues with our car and had to leave the caravan on site, Steve the owner was fantastic and very helpful. We enjoyed it that much we left the caravan all week and went back the following weekend. There are fantastic walks from the site and a pub very close by. The facilities on site were great, the toilets and showers were clean and in good condition.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for racheal_m

clean & friendly site

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely views over the moors, very quiet & friendly site. Good facilities toilets & showrrs very clean
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great views but bring your windcheater

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Local Pub. Excellent views. New clean facilities
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Amazing

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: An absolute must! very clean and so peaceful, all staff made us feel very welcome and we will return.
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for MollyB

Fantastic views and friendly site

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We received a warm welcome and were given a map showing us where our pitch was which had electric hook up etc. The pitch was a good size, the views are wonderful and it's a quiet area. We forgot to pack a windbreak and could really have done with it - with the fantastic views came a bit of breeze!!

    There was a picnic table across from our pitch which I thought was a nice touch.

    Toilets and showers are new and kept clean.

    We walked to the local pub for a meal which is probably half a mile away, but you can walk down a bridleway to avoid walking so far on the road. The road doesn't have a pavement so I wouldn't have wanted to walk on it in the dark, but it was fine on a light evening.

    Would recommend as a quiet site and would stay again.
  • Disliked: I would have liked some handwash in the toilets and maybe some cleaning cloths to just wipe round the washbasins after use, but this is a minor point.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Brillians

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We liked everything about the site. We arrived at what we thought was the reception and a nice older couple redirected us to the correct place. Upon arrival at reception we were greeted by a young man who was lovely. He gave us a map showing us where we could pitch our tent and off we were.
    The toilet/shower block was extremely clean as was the washing up area.
    The view from the area we pitched our tent was amazing. Could see for miles.
    The campsite cost us £14 for 1 night which I thought was reasonable, although its a little cheaper if you book direct.
  • Disliked: There was nothing we disliked, the ground was wet as it had been raining for a couple of days before we arrived but that's our English weather for you!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Nuri_Z

Very friendly, great location and happy to recommend

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location was great and the views were fantastic. The facilities block was brand new and was clean/tidy.
    The pods had a great view also!
  • Disliked: The wind breaks around our pitch were a little unsightly, I think they are still "work in progress" (exposed bricks, broken pipes etc).
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for susan4030

Lovely frienly site

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The views and the peace and quiet and only 30 mins from home. A few dog friendly pubs a short walk or car ride away.

    Toilet and shower block were new and mostly clean. This is only as good as the people visiting. A mop and bucket in the shower area would be good but apparently they disappear.
  • Disliked: The distance to local shops for basics. You need to bring everything with you or face a car trip. No problem if you are aware of this.

    Not a place to bring kids if they need entertainment ie play park,
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for RachelHennessy

Will be planning our next trip here soon!

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: On arrival, we were welcomed by friendly faces. The site owner took us to the reception desk to check our booking, give us the keys to the pod and give us useful information regarding our stay.
    The camping pods were beautiful, spacious, extremely clean and warm too!
    We went on a gorgeous walk of the local area which tired us out ready for sleep. We slept amazingly and didn't want to leave!

    We would recommend taking an air bed or a camping roll mat instead of just a sleeping bag like we did, as the floor was harder than we imagined.
    Our fault for being such camping rookies though!

    We also got chatting to some of the local campers on the site and they were absolutely lovely to talk to also. Lovely location with beautiful scenery, we have lots of beautiful photos from our stay.
  • Disliked: That we didn't stay for longer!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for John__C

pleasant campsite stunning views

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: lovely and clean toilet /shower block.very friendly staff.
    We loved the fact that you cant hear any noise at all a very tranquill site
    all in all a great two nighy stay.
  • Disliked: thr wind
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Beautiful views from the campsite.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Great pub around 1/2 mile away.
    Great walks in the area.
    Beautiful views from the site.
    Nice and helpful owner.
  • Disliked: Very narrow to get into site.
    Upset no water or electric this was due to the bad weather, maybe should not of been allowed on the campsite
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great spot and wonderful views. Great basic site for getting away.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: lots of space
    fantastic views
    friendly staff
    new toilet block
    central location for exploring the area

  • Disliked: bumpy road to touring site
    drive through existing mobile home site to get to camping/touring area
    no shop
    (none of above enough to be a problem - just to be aware of)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for kelly_h1

good little site

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Ground was level, site was clean an tidy and toilets were clean. Easy to find too.
  • Disliked: Nothing, all straight forward
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Amazing little get away!!!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Had a lovely time very peaceful and just what we needed would highly recommend to anyone out there! The joys of camping without having to lug everything about!!
  • Disliked: Not booking longer here and taking the kids with us cause they would of absolutely loved it!!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Stayed in a pod - brilliant, it threw it down with rain and we stayed dry and warm!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Good communication from the owners.
  • Disliked: The weather - but what do you expect at that time of year?
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus

<< Go back to Moorlands Caravan Park