Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.1

Overall rating based on 17 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

82% would recommend this site to a friend.

76% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for simon_p6

Good facilities & location

(Family with young children, 3 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Helpful staff, nice and relatively sympathetic setting with hedge borders to each pitch and convenient power access as well as a well-arrayed amenities block nearby. All in good working order.
  • Disliked: Nothing really; the main centre was a little bit old-fashioned but nothing to complain about
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for David_S23

A great site

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The facilities are excellent including shop, sauna, restaurant, bar play areas and entertainment. The toilet facilities are satisfactory and the showers are quite good but in need of better maintenance as some are defective - which is annoying to find yourself undressed but then the shower fails to operate!

    The position of the site is excellent.
  • Disliked: Signage could be better.

    "Reception" was unclear to the new visitor.

    "Way out" was not signed and in a large motorhome, that is annoying.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great camp site. loved it

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Really enjoyed our one night stay here. The facilites were great and the weather was fantastic. Our pitch was well positioned under shady pine cone trees. There is a nice walk down to Woolocombe which is a bit hilly but you have lovely views on the way down and I really enjoy the exercise. very helpful friendly staff. Def coming back with the kids they will love it too xx
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for kaylie_y

lovely place with great facilities

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The camp was set out well with great facilities. All the activities were well set out andwere what we wanted. The place was very clean and the staff were very helpfull.
  • Disliked: The walk from the camp site to the beach was qute long. Next time i would get the bus.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Nice place.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Clean facilities, friendly staff.
  • Disliked: The extremely loud birds that wake you up around 5am, not really in the camps control but was awoke around 5am on both mornings and failed to get back to sleep
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

NICE SITE, WOULD STAY AGAIN ,ALL FACILITIES CLEAN

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: THE SITE WAS WELL MAINTAINED AND QUIET , THE PRICE WAS VERY CHEAP PLUS WE HAD ELECTRIC WHICH WE NEEDED AS THE NIGHTS WERE STILL VERY COLD FOR JUNE . OUR VISIT WAS OUT OF SEASON, WE WOULD STAY AGAIN AND ARE INFACT GOING BACK AGAIN NEXT YEAR BUT BOOKED A STATIC CARAVAN AS THEY HAD A SPECIAL 50% OFF IF YOU BOOKED THERE AND THEN.
    THE STAFF IN RECEPTION WERE VERY HELPFULL KIRSTY MANAGED TO CHANGE OUR SPACE TO CLOSER TO THE TOILETS AND PRICED LOTS OF VANS FOR US INCASE WE DECIDED NOT TO CAMP AS IT WAS REALLY WINDY WHEN WE GOT THERE .
  • Disliked: NOT SURE WE WOULD LIKE IN THE MAIN SEASON AS AM SURE THERE WOULD BE LOTS OF NOISE AND THE FACILITIES NOT SO CLEAN?
    THE ACCESS TO THE CAMPSITE WAS A BIT OF A CHORE HAVING TO GO THROUGH ALL THE STATIC VANS FIRST - PERHAPS A MORE DIRECT WOULD BE BETTER ONCE YOU BOOKED IN.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for flyboy2u

Superb site, couldn't have been nicer or more friendly. 10/10 from us.

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jan 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: What a great site, I stayed here back in the 90's and it was nice then but it is much better now.
    Relaxed but friendly and professional staff were welcoming and helpful and had everything ready for us on arrival. The site is clean as are the facilities and our pitch was in a great location with easy hook-up for the electricity. We were camped under the trees which gave shade from the great weather we experienced. The Shower facilities were great and were constantly kept clean and in tip top condition throughout the day and throughout our stay
    There is lots to do onsite and much of it is free with the paid entertainments being quite reasonable from what we saw and we never even go to venture onto the other sites you can use.
    Our interest was Woolacombe Beach and as we had our dogs with us it was a great draw for us to be able to take the dogs to the beach but also have them with us on holiday. Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village is a very dog friendly site and they made it possible for us to enjoy our stay with the dogs as well.

    Absolutely fabulous holiday and we will be back.

    .
  • Disliked: Nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Would definitely recommend

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Size of the pitch. Layout of pitches being on different levels - made it seem quieter than it really was. Go karts. Sea view. Walk to the beach.
  • Disliked: Nothing.
From the manager...

Thank you for your review of Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Park. The layout of the pitches does make the camping area feel a lot more intimate than it would if it were an open field and the terraced levels make it great also for getting a good sea view. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Sarah Weekes - General Manager

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for claire_p

Over all good.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The non electric pitches had plenty of space even for our big tent. The showers and toilets were very clean when we used then. Staff were very friendly and very helpful. Lots for the kids to do. The shop prices were very reasonable in comparison to some I've been to and well stocked.
  • Disliked: The pitch was very lumpy with stones, we had to kick a lot away before we could pitch. There are a lot of crows in the trees and my car and tent both had quiet a lot of mess on it. It's a bit of a trek up hill to the loos especially at night. The water was cold at one point in the showers. And not many water taps. Only 3 out of 6 sinks worked and it serviced a very large number of tents and caravans.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Camping with 2 young children

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: childrens evening entertainment.
  • Disliked: shower and toilet facilities were a bit grubby, and shower temps not adjustable therefore not very suitable for toddlers.
    Also think it's unfair that the standard pitchs are the same price as those with electrical hook up.
From the manager...

Thank you for your review and we are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry to read that the wash block cleaning was not up to our usual high standards when you visited; we are unable to explain why but have reinforced the importance of this with our Housekeeping team.

During the Summer School Holidays in 2012 we did have a special offer on pitches without electrical hook-up offering a discount off the electric pitch price. At other times of the year the non-electric pitches did not typically fully book so those guests who booked earliest were able to benefit from the free electrical hook ups. From 2013 we have now changed our pricing to have a distinct price for Basic (without EHU) and Electric pitches to help those looking for the best value.

We hope to see you again soon!
Sarah Weekes - General Manager

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great location, avoid the campsite restaurant.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Clean, friendly staff, very helpful and helped to resolve any issues we had.

    Great for children entertainment.

    Walk to the beach in 30mins... (up hill on the way back, but we managed it with a 6 year old)

    Wonderful views and great beach just down the hill.
  • Disliked: The restaurant food, sorry but amongst the worst I have ever had.

    Unfortunately the tent got very wet, they perhaps could consider what to do in the camping area to help the water drain in wet conditions.
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, your feedback was very useful. We are making some changes to our catering venues for 2013 including new menus, so hopefully you'll be back to see the changes. We hope to see you again soon, Sarah Weekes - General Manager.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for 1234camp

great

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: great swimming pool in and out, excalent entertment, great shower and tolits , loved all the activities we could do , lots to do .
  • Disliked: no disliked
From the manager...

Thank you for your review, it was lovely to read you had a great time and we'd love to see you back again at Woolacombe Bay soon. Sarah Weekes - General Manager.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for amyheather1

Plenty to do!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Water flumes and heated pools were great and we are coming back again soon with the kids as they will love it! The showers each have their own mini bathroom with a sink and chair, so getting changed was easy and clothes didn't end up wet. Small steam room and sauna available free also which was lovely.
  • Disliked: Bar and restaurant prices are way too high. The showers also go hot and cold.
From the manager...

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're sorry you found the bar prices to be high, we do check these against local bars/restaurants including those which do not offer entertainment and against other holiday parks and we do compare very favourably. We hope to see you again at Woolacombe Bay again. Sarah Weekes - General Manager.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A LONG DRIVE OF THE M5

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: site was good overall,very hilly,entertainment good.shower block excellent
  • Disliked: weather was very bad,so much rain and wind.Not that much in the town,Bus from the site is £8 for the week,think you should be able to buy a day pass.
From the manager...

We're sorry to read that the weather wasn't great for your stay, it's been a bit of a wash out this year unfortunately. We were really pleased with your comments and it looked like you enjoyed your stay a lot. To clarify, the bus pass is £8 for a week for everyone in your party (up to 8 people) so we think that £1.15 per day for everyone on your booking is pretty good value, even if you only use it once. We hope to see you again at Woolacombe Bay, Sarah Weekes - General Manager.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for james_d

Good value for money

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Large pitch well arranged, flat and drained. Good views.Well stocked shop.
    Fairly quiet. Clean showers.
  • Disliked: No dislikes
From the manager...

Thanks for your review - we're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. Sarah Weekes - General Manager.

Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for bradley_T

Very enjoyable holiday for adults and children

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location and views
    Swimming pools and children's entertainment
    Clean facilities
    Good value supermarket
  • Disliked: Outdoor pool closed at 6pm, would like it to stay open longer when sunny.
    Electric hook up pitches small and cramped.
    Restaurant and bar a bit out-dated and food average.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for nannyt

Fantastic

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2001
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Stayed here with my late husband - it's a fantastic site and they have something to suit everyone from caravans to tents.
  • Disliked: Nothing.
From the manager...

It looks like you really enjoyed your stay and that one day you'd be back to try us again, Sarah Weekes - General Manager.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus

<< Go back to Woolacombe Bay Holiday Village