Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Lime Tree Holiday Park

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

7.8

Overall rating based on 15 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

80% would recommend this site to a friend.

73% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for maggie_b0

Nice site would stay again.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location, not far from some lovely walks, but yet still close enough to walk in to Buxton.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for tangotonyb

Slightly deceived

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Feb 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location - close to Buxton (1 mile walk) it has many pubs/restaurants close by.
  • Disliked: We specifically asked if they were FULLY open to tent bookings - we were told yes. We paid a deposit on this basis.

    When we got there, they said the normal pitches were water-logged. and we'd have to pitch in an area reserved for late-arrivals that was a thin cover over rubble - took ages to find cracks to get the tent pegs into. We were also told that they were actually closed to tents and the person who'd taken the deposit had been "too keen". It felt like they were trying to make out they were doing us a favour for letting us stay, but no apology given for their false promises.

    I checked the normal pitches - they were fine. The site we pitched on was surrounded by statics and right next to the road - convenient for going to the loo, but unpleasant for camping on for any length of time - fortunately we were only there 2 nights so we didn't kick up a fuss.

    The toilet blocks were unheated (they had heaters but they were turned off), and had no hot water. They also said we could use showers, but only in the block that was up where we were expecting to pitch - however, this block was also unheated (it may have had hot water we didn't check).

    We noticed that the man in front of us was requesting a specific location, and was told he'd been put somewhere else... I guess it's their normal practise to assign pitches when they take the booking? Worth asking when making the booking as most people will prefer at least some choice!
    In our case the fact they refused to let us go anywhere else is puzzling as the reasons they offered (water-logging) were patently untrue. They also mentioned shelter from the wind, and while we were certainly sheltered where we pitched, the tent was more than capable of standing up to the winds in the regular location. At least I'd expect to be offered the option.

    So in short - don't come here in a tent out of season. Or if you do, don't pay a deposit until you've found out where they want to put you and are happy with that location and the facilities on offer.
From the manager...

I am sorry to hear your comments and apologise if you were not happy. With the ground being so wet we thought that the pitch you were on was the best considering the weather. however If we had known that you would like a different pitch then we could have certainly considered a different pitch.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
3
Google Plus
avatar for june-_w

not happy

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: nothing
  • Disliked: really bad weather forcast so asked if we could change the dates was told no so I will not be booking this place again ever they take your money and that's it disgusted.
From the manager...

Details of the cancellation policy are set out in the email to you confirming your booking and are also shown on the campsite’s detail page prior to you making a booking.
We are sorry that you are wanted to change because of the weather. We would advise that you consider Travel Insurance before booking your holiday.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for chris_b3

Very pleasant!!!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: My two children and I stayed here for a week, and had a lovely time. The weather wasn't exactly beautiful, but a really restful break.

    The site is surprisingly spacious, toilet block spotless, and whilst the shop, laundry and play room are basic, they provided amble support for our needs.

    Only a 5 minute drive to Morrison's, and Buxton a 15 minute walk away, we were pleasantly surprised, as we booked very last minute.

    Staff were very friendly, and the activities around the area were perfect for our needs.

    Recommended, although probably for a short break - to a week maximum!
  • Disliked: The ground got very wet, and the car did get stuck early one morning... but that's the fun of camping!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Zoe_J

Nice enough but wouldn't book again.......

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We booked due to location of family and were impressed with the campsites location and setting. Easy enough to check in and pitch, we thought we had a perfect spot..... If you need a base for getting out and about then this be the one.
  • Disliked: Very very busy on the Saturday evening with no real order to where tents could pitch and cars park. We thought we had a great spot until we realised not only were there only one set of toilets and showers but that we were on the path down to reach them.
    People were really very inconsiderate walking past the tent and really didn't respect the 10pm curfew. It was also stated that no groups were able to book together, actually there were lots of them and very very noisy. Toilets were clean enough.

    Sunday night much better due to the majority of people leaving.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for toni83

Lovely campsite in beautiful location

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Staff were really helpful and friendly.
    Toilets were clean
    Campsite was in a good location, all places we visited were no more than half hour drive away.
  • Disliked: there was nothing that we disliked about the site
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for ashhiggins75

A little gem of a site.

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The staff were extremely friendly, the pitches were well placed at the top end of the site if a little bit of a trek to the ablutions.

    There was a games room and play park for the kids, a small but well stocked shop and all the facilities were clean and tidy.

    We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed our time there, location is excellent for local attractions.


    Overall it was a lovely site and would recommend to anyone.
  • Disliked: Even though the facilities were great, the site could benefit from a club/bar.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for sparkle303

Lovely place, fantastic scenery, staff bent over backwards to help us!

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We are by no means seasoned campers. We decided to take our 2 children (16 & 12) camping for the first time on a total whim.
    The staff at Lime Tree were incredibly friendly when we arrived, showing us the nearest attractions and telling us about what they offer.

    When we were putting our tent up we realised there was a pole missing *disaster*. We thought we would be turning around and going home. However as i was grumbling in reception the lady there said she could probably help us out. amazingly minutes later they gave us a bag of assorted tent poles to try out. One was perfect! Not once did they make us feel stupid or inexperienced (of which we were both) and said if they could do anything else to help we should just ask. They probably shouldnt have asked as they were then roped into charging our mobile phones all weekend.

    The whole place is clean and tidy, the shop is adequately stocked for emergencies and the shower block is large with lovely hot water.

    The views from the camping area are fantastic! There was a thunder storm on the night we arrived and nothing could beat watching the lightening shoot across the sky.

    They offer discount vouchers for local attractions which we used with ease.

    All in all, we cant wait to go back ...this time we'll be better prepared :o)
  • Disliked: Nothing about Lime Tree Holiday park... i cant wait to go back!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent camp site!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location
    Location
    Location
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Friendly welcome to a great little clean, quiet camp site.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything about this little gem of a campsite from the initial contact by staff who were friendly and charming to the well laid out site with its terraces all the way upto the large field.

    The site was well maintained and looked after with attentive staff constantly clearing the bins and rubbish throughout the day. The shower block was lovely and clean although could probably be enhanced by a makeover as is a little dated...but that is my only criticism.

    The adequate playground was a safe haven for our six year old to meet and make new friends.

    We enjoy campsites that a family friendly and not full of young groups blearing out there music and this site fitted the bill.

    We would definitely be recommending it to others and will be organising a return visit.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Stunning

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The whole place was clean and very tidy, the staff were more than helpful,extremely polite and friendly, plenty of room too pitch a good size tent with stunning views
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Tony_D0

Excellent Site

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The whole park is very clean and tidy. Facilities are spotlessly clean and regularly attended. Staff are very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. Nice easy stroll in to centre of Buxton taking around 15 minutes.
  • Disliked: Tent field has quite a slope, but didn't really cause any problems. Quite a walk to shower block, up and down a fairly steep track.
From the manager...

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Lime Tree Holiday Park and hope to see you again soon. Thank you.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for creativewriter1985

We'll definitely be coming back here!

(Young couple, 7 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Apr 2010
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We chose Lime Tree Park due to its proximity to Buxton, knowing that even if the weather was rubbish, we'd still be able to find something to do!

    On arrival, we were greeted in reception by some very smiley and polite folk who took payment and gave us our tent tag. Not only that, they fully explained the rules and regulations of the campsite, where everything was and even went so far as to give us a map of Buxton and tell us a few things about the area. We were also told that you can order a takeaway and it'll be delivered to the campsite too! We didn't take advantage on this occasion, but it's definitely worth knowing!

    Anyway, we headed up to the camping field, which due to the rubbish weather was pretty muddy (which is obviously nobody's fault!). We found a spot and pitched the tent, then headed to check out the facilities. There's a coded lock on the door, pretty high up which is great because it stops little kids from being able to get in (campsite rules say they're not allowed in unattended) and mess around. The toilet block for campers was great - not huge so I suspect it gets very busy in summer, but at Easter there was no queuing for loos or showers! Everything was clean, plenty of loo roll and hot water, with a hairdryer, and a mop and bucket to clean the floor after yourself - which plenty of us had to do given muddy boots!

    The pot wash area is between the ladies' and gents' toilets, with a little shelter, bowls and a bin. Again, this was kept clean and tidy with no shortage of hot water.

    The site has a quiet policy between 10pm and 8am, which everyone seemed to adhere to - fantastic! One of the staff would roll up to the field every now and again to check everyone was OK and empty bins etc. - again, very friendly.

    There were plenty of bins and fresh water, and even some bricks you could use for BBQs, as long as you returned them.

    Next to reception is a little shop, stocking the basics as well as lots of books for sale, the proceeds of which went to charity. There's also a games room with a pool table, and a laundry room. A little further up towards the camping field is a playground, great for keeping the kids entertained.

    On Easter Sunday the staff even organised an Easter Egg Hunt type thing for the kids - we even spotted a couple of them dressed up as bunnies!

    The location is fantastic because of its proximity to Buxton and many other places in the Peak District, dependent on your interests. The town itself has lots of pubs, restaurants and takeaways, so you definitely wouldn't starve! There are also great views from the camping field across to Grin Low and Solomon's Temple - we could see quite a lot of snow on the hills!

    Despite the rubbish weather, we still had a great time and were very impressed with the site. Lovely location, average pricing, friendly and happy staff, great facilities. We'll definitely be coming back.
  • Disliked: Nothing - everything was great.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for missbean

Lovely setting , friendly staff and immaculate facilities

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2009
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The warm welcome and being shown to our pitch.
    Toilet blocks and showers were very clean.
    Splendid views and easy walking distance to Buxton and Morrisons.
    Ideal base for walking and some good pubs nearby. Will certainly be back!
  • Disliked: Weather!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for smegheads

excellent site with good playground

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2009
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the playground
    the facilities
    the area
  • Disliked: the sloping fields
    the weather!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus

<< Go back to Lime Tree Holiday Park