Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Hill Pond Caravan and Camping Site

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

7.3

Overall rating based on 19 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

63% would recommend this site to a friend.

68% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for bryan_e0

nice place but nothing there for the kids

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: It was nice an quiet and lots of space.
  • Disliked: 1 shower in each toilet block and cost a £1 for 15 mins when theres lots of kids thats a lot of money
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for divadav

basic camping

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Customer service was excellent. Really nice people.
  • Disliked: However, the facilities were very poor. The men's went out of order and had to start using the women's which was two toilets and a shower. The light didn't work in one toilet, the sinks only had cold water and the shower hot water took ages to work.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
3
Google Plus
avatar for desnadie

lovely

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: It was a very nice site, easy to find, clean, toilet and shower were clean.
    Friendly owners. Will def stay again.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for carolinesupersleuthwaite

Clean and quiet will use again

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very basic but clean,quiet site.
    Nice location to stay to explore devon and across the road from crealy.

  • Disliked: That there was no entertainment or facilities
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for alderman

pond hill site

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: i liked there at pond hill, why. very cheap.. also very friendly peoples and very relax..
  • Disliked: shower as like more shower and need very clean
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for mike_p0

Could do better!

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The price, at £8 per night, a cheap break.
  • Disliked: The toilets and shower were prehistoric with no handwash available after using the toilet. Also no hot water or proper sinks and draining boards for washing up of cooking utensils!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for Debbo61

I would avoid this site

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The one and only good thing about this site is that the site is flat.
  • Disliked: The general lack of hygiene, we stayed Friday and Saturday night, the toilets all 2 for the well overcrowded site was filthy, concrete floors painted with industrial paint walls and sinks, also taps pipes etc filthy. You had to pay £1 pound to use shower which on the whole is acceptable, but having to pay 0.50p any time you need to use the sink is appaulling, every time you use the lavatory, you either washed hands in cold water or had to pay, disgrace, infested with wasps and extremely near railway line airport and some sort of army camp that does night manoeuvres . I would advise others not to stay here. overcrowded two shower blocks 1 Male 1 Female, two toilets and one shower in each and disgusting, I have stayed on cheaper sites where the facilities reflect both occupancy and that the owners would like you to return, I am gobsmacked at the excellent comments these are obviously from the permanently sited caravans. water taps etc did not like using the place is a disgrace.
From the manager...

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. However we would like to correct some of your comments. The toilets themselves are cleaned with bleach everyday and the washbasins and showers are cleaned with anti-bacteria sprays and then washed down everyday by me. A recent inspection by the local Council Environmental Officer was fine. All the paint we use is household paint bought from the local Homebase. The nearest railway line is 4 to 5 miles away and the nearest army camp is 6 to 7 miles away and they do not come anywhere near us. They do however do some training on Woodbury Common which is 4 to 5 miles away. We are experiencing some problems with wasps but this is just around the bin area. All the reviews on this site are from people who have stayed on our site this summer and not from any of our regulars.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for mazndave

fantastic base!

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Flat area to pitch
    Friendly owner
    Welcoming campsite
    choice of pitch
    easy access to all of this part of the world with its fantastic destinations
    close to crealy theme park

  • Disliked: Toilets could do with an upgrade but the womens were clean every time.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for karen_r6

excellant value for money and good base to tour County

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: camping site welcoming and friendly on arrival, site grounds clean, tidy and well kept, very good value for money and an excellent base to tour Devon.
  • Disliked: Toilets require updating,
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Denise_E1

Simple, retro, convenient

(Solo traveller-female, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Level spacious field.
    Easy bus access to coast or Exeter.
    Family site, nice and quiet.
  • Disliked: Some main road noise at all hours.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for markpage984786

unsatisfactory

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: going home
  • Disliked: Very noisy main road near by.
    Whilst we were staying road works commenced that night and all through the night diggers trucks beeping the lot.
    we were not warned at all.
    If you like 1970s camp sites this is the one for you.
From the manager...

We are very sorry that these people did not enjoy their stay. The roadworks mentioned were actually supposed to be the week before during the daytime but they caused such traffic chaos that they had to abandon them and rescheduled them for 1 night the following week. As for the general noise on the main road most people's comment to me is how peaceful and quiet the site is.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for Rcmyers82

Really good value for money!

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: That it was easy to find, the people were friendly, fantastic value for money
  • Disliked: The showers could do with a bit of an overhaul but it was to be expected as the price was so good
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Robert_W3

Could be better

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Reasonably priced
  • Disliked: Toilet/shower facilities.

    Tents mixed in with tourers

    Only two water taps, long way from where I was pitched.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for stinaax022

loved it!!

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Toilets were basic but always kept very clean!!...lovely site really friendly owners...unfortunately due to personal issues we had to leave early but are already thinking about book back up for October. Perfect for our budget holiday...xx
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Margaret_M

Very Good Value for Money

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Nice flat pitch. Easy access. Very reasonable price.Clean and tidy site. Friendly but quiet.Limited facilities but excellent for price and ample for size of site and kept exceptionally clean.. If you are looking for a cheap base with toilets and shower this is ideal.We will definitely return.We paid a lot more for a bigger site with more facilities that proved to be on a hillside last year! Would choose Hill Pond any day. Very dog friendly with a great exercise field.We didn't take our dog but would next time.
  • Disliked: Couldn't fault.It was ideal for what we wanted.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for christopher_m6

EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was very family friendly,facilities were always clean,spacious pitches,loved this site as we were exploring areas in Devon and this site was the perfect base for us as there were many beaches within a 10 mile radius. Owners were friendly and welcoming.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great value for money

(Solo traveller-female, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was very spacious, clean and excellent value for money for a solo traveller.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Bartosz_P

Great place worth of money

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: was nice and quiet, plenty of space, access to drinking water, nice and clean, own by very friendly couple, many thanks Richard especially for sorting our boking :)
  • Disliked: coin operated showers
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for yvette_allsop4848

good location but facilities need improving if we were to stay again!!

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: very cheap site within 8 miles of my final destination. other sites minimum 3 night's which is why I chose this site.
  • Disliked: electric didn't work.we had .tp pay for shower which isn't a problem considering the cost of our.one night stay but they could do with a general overhaul of the toilets and showers.
From the manager...

We were not told of any electric problems and a full test was only done the week before. We have some electric hook-ups that require a half turn to the right, that this camper-van was on, and possibly this was not done! We are a where that the toilets and showers require a overhaul and are basic but they are cleaned every day. However we are unable to do anything at present while a dispute is sorted out.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
4
Google Plus

<< Go back to Hill Pond Caravan and Camping Site