Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Maes Carafanau Cefn Crib Caravan Park

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

9.4

Overall rating based on 24 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

91% would recommend this site to a friend.

91% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for shelley_d

what a fantastic place to stay even in the cold of the early season.

(Mature couple, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The owners were welcoming. The shower rooms were clean and large all being individual rooms which was great with plenty of hot water. We were o my tent there as so early in season and you would need very thick bedding as it was very cold but worth every minute of it.
  • Disliked: Nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for michelle_p5

great place. great dome tent lovly homly place. x

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Tent was perfect and kitchen great everything we needed and plenty.of logs x. Xx
  • Disliked: That it was close.to a busy.road which was noisy for kids at nite and struggled to find showers and it leaked in the rain . Xx but we all had a blast
From the manager...

Thanks for your review. I think you're the first people not to find the showers!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for SheilaG

50

(Mature couple, 2 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The Site was very peaceful with clean showers etc and good walks from nearby, Good dog walk on site.

  • Disliked: near a busy rd but not much noise- no shop on site so can be restrited if not able to walk far as my husband is.
From the manager...

Thank you for your review. Hope to see you @ Cefn Crib again!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for amiecraig

Fantastic views and fantastic facilities!

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I have stayed in a few camp sites up and down Wales as i am originally from the area. My partner forgot to book a campsite so booked online hee in just a few moments and was not dissapointed!

    Loved the place and will definitely be staying again. Sian was away the week we were down, however, credit to her brother who maintained the facilities in such an efficient manner.

    Some of the best shower rooms i have seen. Have a 9 year old so the fact the shower rooms are the size of very large disabled toilets (with toilets in them) was very convenient. This meant we could all get showered and ready promptly without getting clothes and other items wet as you usually do in cramped shower rooms.

    Will definitely be staying again. Thanks x
  • Disliked: I disliked nothing - will definitely be coming again!
From the manager...

So glad you enjoyed your time here @ Cefn Crib - hope you can make it back to visit us again!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for samjj77

Great place!

(Family with young children, 1 review, 2 photos)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We stayed in the 'glamping' bell tent which is set at the top of the hill and has a double bed, a double futon and a log burner inside. On the decking is a small enclosed camping kitchen. The tent itself is nicely decorated and furnished and feels really homely. The tent, kitchen and site as a whole are clean, well-maintained and very family friendly.
    Sian couldn't have been more helpful before or during our stay, even to the point of bringing us more blankets during our stay (thanks!!).
    The shower blocks and toilets are clean and well looked after and the children's play area is a bonus.
    On the whole, a great place despite the British weather!
  • Disliked: It is a shame that the tent is positioned so close to the road as the traffic noise at night was very distracting but I imagine that the position is the best place for the tent!
    It would be helpful to have more lighting going to the ladies toilets at night, the entrance to the mens toilet block was lit brightly but it was very dark walking round to the ladies at night.
From the manager...

Thank you for a great review considering the weather you had! We are hoping that the bell tent will be in a different area next year, as I realise that the traffic noise is not ideal. Hopefully we will have some more lighting around the shower block for next season as well. Thank you for your positive feed-back.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for DavidandGail

A good smaller camp ground in a lovely rural setting.

(Mature couple, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I liked the location, which was in a valley and not close to a built-up area. The toilets and bathroom were kept clean and were reasonably modern. A recent addition was a small freezer which is useful for freezing ice-packs. The washing machine in the laundry was free to use - a pleasant surprise. I think overall this has been very good value for money.
  • Disliked: For those of us who need to get up in the night, the toilets seemed a long walk from the tent field.
From the manager...

Thank you for some great comments. We are hoping to have a compost toilet near the camping/glamping field next year, which I'm sure many people would appreciate!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for sallyholdsworth

A great stay in the static caravan

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We had a great holiday in the static caravan, the site is in a beautiful area and is well looked after. The caravan is comfortable, clean with lots of storage - there was six of us and we had lots of room.

    There's Mchynlleth and Aberdovey very close by and lots more, including lakes and woodland a short drive away.


  • Disliked: Going home ....
From the manager...

Thank you a lovely review - so glad you enjoyed your holiday @ Cefn Crib.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Jeffhigham

Really nice site

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Stayed here for the first time for long weekend it's got everything you need to make a amazing camping holiday situated in a beautiful area of Wales , really good value for money and could not fault shower/toilet facilities owners were really nice and helpful, would recommend the bell tent it looks amazing with all you need included to make a great holiday, will be returning soon for a longer stay !
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike
From the manager...

Thank you for such a great review - hopefully we'll see you again next year!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for mariakateryniuk

Very friendly welcome. Set in a beautiful location.

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very welcoming. Facilities kept spotlessly clean. Given as much room as you wanted. Quiet and peaceful at night. Close to everything you need, shops, pubs, petrol etc. location is stunning with lovely beach nearby at Aberdyfi and many more within reach.
  • Disliked: nothing!
From the manager...

Thank you for a lovely review. So glad you enjoyed camping @ Cefn Crib.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for TheCaravanCarrs

Beautiful site, wonderful owners

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: What a beautiful site! The hardcore pitch with hook up was in excellent condition. There is a children's play area which is small but serves it's purpose. The toilet block is very clean with plenty of toilet paper! And the showers........ well what can I say, they're so clean & having shower rooms with a toilet & sink is fantastic for families with small children. There are also individual showers which again are in fantastic conditions. The owners work extremely hard & deserve praise. Really good value for money, unlike most sites with this site you pay for the pitch & hook up - there are no hidden extras such as fogs, awningd or children! We had a wonderful holiday & will definitely be back!
  • Disliked: The weather but that's why Snowdonia's so green!
From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely review! So glad you enjoyed your holiday with us @ cefn crib x

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for david_w5

great site with fantastic facilities.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We stayed for 4 nights in the bell tent at the top of the hill and it was great. It was kitted out to a very high standard and late evening when it started to get a bit cooler we would fire up the log burner (logs supplied for free) open up the front of the tent open a bottle or 2 and take in the views. Cian was nice and friendly making sure we had everything we needed. The shower facilities are the best I have ever experienced on any site. We would definitely recommend this site and look forward to staying again sometime.
  • Disliked: Although the setting was good there was not many places to let our dogs run free due to the walks taking us through fields with farm stock in them.
From the manager...

Thank you for a lovely review! So glad you enjoyed glamping @ cefn crib.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for shane_f0

Superb site, shame about the weather. Stargazing paradise.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Friendly owner, laid back approach
    Superb showers
    Ample pitch size
    Number of hook-ups and taps

    This site is one of the smallest I have stayed at but one of the best. It was quite quiet and this suited us. It's in or near a working farm so farm animal noises are par for the course.
    We all had a great time but unfortunately the deluge defeated us so we left a day or so early.
    I'd certainly be back.
    On a personal note the skies at this site are so dark that the Milky Way is very distinct and lots of wonderful objects can be seen with a small pair of binoculars. If there were any way to shield the bright light near the emergency point so it just shines down, this would be even better.
  • Disliked: Just the weather! Oh, and that nasty bee than gave our dog his first bee sting - right in the foot!
From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely comments! Hope the weather is better when you visit us next!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for gabrielavianna

Quiet, family friendly Caravan Park

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: These were our first holidays since we moved to UK, so we had great expectations and didn't get disappointed! The kids played and explored the site freely and the caravan was lovely!
  • Disliked: Shops, beaches, pubs and other amenities are all at least 5 miles away from the site and the roads are really narrow!
From the manager...

We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday in the caravan @ Cefn Crib. We happen to think that the location is what makes us special - in between the sea and the mountains, without any busy shops, roads and pubs disrupting the peace and quiet.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Maria_C

The perfect retreat with every comfort

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The lovely bell tent where every detail had been given thought and was practical, comfortable and fitting. The position was perfect with a lovely view of the hills and trees to watch alter as the day progressed and the light and weather changed. Every sort of walk from the tent and within a twenty minute drive. The site manager was welcoming helpful and professional and couldn't have been nicer! All facilities were clean and comprehensive. The wood burning stove is brilliant and easy to operate.
    The site freezer was great we kept ice blocks there to chill our food at the kitchenette.
    We had a lovely time getting away from it all in what felt like effortless luxury! Many thanks we hope to come again as soon as life permits!
  • Disliked: Some of the weather, we had a single day of constant rain! However we can vouch for the tent it is completely rain proof and remained cosy and comfortable through the storm :).
From the manager...

Thank you so much for your lovely comments! Hope you can find time to stay @ Cefn Crib again. Thank you also for all the lovely and useful things that you left for us! x

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Very pleasant peaceful site with good facilities.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The general tranquility of the site.
    The well maintained, well appointed and clean facilities.
    The sheltered nature of the site that still allowed some pleasant views.
    The close proximity to some wonderful countryside and features.

  • Disliked: The occasional early morning traffic noises in our part of the site.
From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely comments - hope you can visit us again @ Cefn Crib!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for jessicacharlotte

amazing glamping weekend

(Young couple, 1 review, 1 photo)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Just got back from an amazing weekend in the luxury bell tent at cefn crib. We had high expectations for this site and had heard great things and we certainly weren't disappointed.. if anything it was better than expected! Loved how cosy the tent was, how lovely it was to sit round the wood burner, the little kitchen shed by it, how clean all the facilities were, how friendly everyone was. The tent was like a tardis it was huge when you went inside!!!!!!! Thank you for an amazing weekend we will definitely be back xxx
  • Disliked: Nothing!!!!!!
From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely comments. So glad you enjoyed glamping @ cefn crib! Hope you can come again soon! x

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for jogoldie

Great site, very quiet. Good ground to pitch on and fantastic views

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Ground was great for pitching the tent. Fantastic view of the amazing countryside from the elevated field. Loved the shower blocks - not seen individual shower rooms before and this was very useful as I have two small children. Lots of space for the kids to run and play. Close to Aberdovey.

  • Disliked: Only downside is there is no shop close by - closest shop was in Aberdovey and there is also no cash point in Aberdovey - nothing to do with the site, but useful to know!
From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely comments. Glad that you enjoyed your time at Cefn Crib. In case you visit us again, there is a shop in the village of Pennal which is 2 miles from the site. There is also a cash point at Machynlleth which is 5 miles away.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for rowanne_b

Lovely quiet site on wales coastal path

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The facilities were kept clean and although there was road noise, the site was quiet. You can see the estuary in the distance down the valley, and occasionally a stream train on the other side of the water.

    It is on the coastal path,which you can follow to Pennal to find the pub,however be careful of some of the signs which are overhung with branches so keep your eye peeled.

  • Disliked: The tent pitches are on an incline, but don't be tempted to park under the oak trees as your tent will get covered in sap. But that is my only suggestion and not a moan as it was my idea!
From the manager...

Thank you, so glad that you enjoyed our stay with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

The best bathroom facility at a campsite I have ever been to !

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The campsite is ideally situated on the main road to Aberdovey (5 miles away)

    Nice high aspect camping site with electric hook up and water tap right next to each other !

    Fantastic showers in individual bathrooms which were really nice and clean

    Small park area and plenty of grassed area for children to play

    Free for dogs which is welcomed

    An easy relaxed atmosphere with no hassle of waiting to book in etc , pitch up and payment is collected in the evening

    Thoroughly enjoyed our weekend , have recommended it to fellow campers

    Will definately go again !!:0)
  • Disliked: No dislikes
From the manager...

Thank you - so glad you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you for recommending us to others!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Alan_R1

Excellent site

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The owners gave us a friendly welcome on arrival. This is a smaller campsite which we were looking for and fitted the bill perfectly. All the amenities were fresh and clean and although it is a short walk to the toilets this was not a problem. We would definitely return.
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike at this wonderful facility.
From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely comments, and glad that you had a great time in Wales. Hope that the sun is shining with you in Scotland!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Really fantastic way to take the kids camping without the hassle!!!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Thanks for a fantastic 3 days in a beautiful area with all the joys of camping, being out doors, cooking marshmallows over a fire and getting back to basics without all the hassle of bring all the camping equipment myself.
    Would absolutely recommend the experience of glamping!
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike. It did help the weather was fantastic.
From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely comments!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Pretty site at a nice location but holiday marred by other site users

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Nice site with well kept grounds. Easy to find and conveniently placed for days out. Site owners very pleasant and accommodating contacting us with a friendly and welcoming e-mail just before our arrival and greeting us on arrival. Located at the highest point on the site we had sun from dawn until an hour before sunset. The toilet and shower block was clean and tidy with hot water at all times.
  • Disliked: Both nights were disturbed by a noisy single sex party and also on the second night an extremely late arrival after we had retired to bed. I understand that this was the first and probably last single sex party to use the site. Also be aware that there is a small slope to the campsite so choose your pitch wisely. Finally do not get caught short during the night as it is a bit of a walk to the toilets.
From the manager...

Thank you for your review. We're sorry that you were disturbed on both nights of your stay. In response, I would just like to say that I enquired around the campsite and all our other guests had not been disturbed by the group of girls who were enjoying their glamping weekend.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Perfect!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We stayed on the 4th July in the bell tent. It was amazing! Situated at the top of a hill overlooking the camp site with awesome views. Inside the tent was spotless and the cooling hut had everything we needed! Toilets and showers were great and camp site was easy to find.
  • Disliked: Nothing!
From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely comments x

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for simonandangie

Loved staying in the Bell Tent

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Fabulous Bell Tent, with everything you needed.
    Decorated and furnished beautifully, with near by clean toilets & shower facilities.
    Great location, within walking distance of Plas Talgarth in Pennal.
    Only 4 miles from the beautiful beaches at Aberdyfi.
    We had a brilliant time and cant wait to come back and stay again soon.
    Thankyou to Sian & family.
  • Disliked: Nothing
From the manager...

Thank you! Hope to see you again soon!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus

<< Go back to Maes Carafanau Cefn Crib Caravan Park