Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Ty Mawr Holiday Park

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

6.2

Overall rating based on 15 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

53% would recommend this site to a friend.

60% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for linda_m

Over crowded and noisy

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: -swimming pool
    -good standard toilet and shower block
  • Disliked: -tents pitched very very close together
    -large rowdy groups
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
4
Google Plus
avatar for Amanda_O

Amazing

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Pool, fairly close to beach, Children's entertainments, arcade, clean toilets and shower block.

    We felt very safe, as even during the night there were regular patrols by security staff. Everyone was helpful and polite, and made us feel like they were really happy we were there, even though it was the end of the season and the staff must have been feeling jaded - there was no sign of that. We had a wonderful holiday enjoyed by all of us.
  • Disliked: The general shop/newsagent didn't stock the newspaper we wanted (The telegraph) and didn't do anything to order it for the remaining days we were there, even though we asked for them to. The same shop also didn't stock stamps.

    Pool seemed to have a high level of chlorine, causing some sore eyes. Although having been earlier in the year we didn't have the same problem, so this could have been a one off.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

clean site, expensive drinks, good base for touring. Security van doing a tour every hour was a bit concerting as were bouncers on the door for the entertainment only went once as it was a bit like a poor mans Butlins.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: efficient check in, good location for touring, swimming pool was good for the kids
  • Disliked: in non electric field you have to trek to electric field to use toilets and showers
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Doc_W

50/50

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The facilities were great for the kids.
  • Disliked: The total disregard for the 'camping 'law' that states that there must be 6 metres between units.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for safrow46

DIRTY NOISY UNSAFE AND A COMPLETE SHAMBLES

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: NOTHING
  • Disliked: On arrival we were checked in smoothly then left to find a pitch. What a free for all, tents everywhere, some absolutely huge despite being asked if our tent did not exceed 6x6m. Music blaring from several groups around the field, grass was long and full of dog poo. Toilets and showers were dirty with no soap or toilet roll, one unmotivated MALE cleaner for whole block of toilets and showers who did enter toilets with what looked like cleaning products however they never got any cleaner! The floor was flooded and stayed flooded for our duration. The pool was dirty with a huge scum line around the pool. The night was one from hell, drunken idiots shouting and swearing and what even sounded like a fight between some males. At one point we found a young male urinating behind our tent. The music and noise continued throughout the night right into the early hours of the morning. As for security? A lone man driving around in his van every few hours doing nothing to stop the noise and music which was supposed to be off by 10.30pm! What a joke. We did not sleep at all and neither did our two children who were terrified. We complained and left the next day even though we had paid for 4 nights stay. This place needs shutting down.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for Gillian__E

Terrible, very disappointing!!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: NOTHING!!!
  • Disliked: It was horrid!! Over crowded, dirty Horrid. We didn't stay, the security guards everywhere put us off. We luckily managed to find a nice campsite up the road. I would not have felt safe staying their with my children, the whole ordeal has cost me quite a lot of money and upset.
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

kids loved it

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: kids love camping always a bonus

    adventure playground; spent most of our time there

    sparkys krew club in the club house, though the 8 o'clock start for 'madness and mayhem' was a bit late for my 5 yo ( he was shattered by then!)

    north wales. beautiful part of the country with lots to do
  • Disliked: it had been raining a lot leading up to us getting there. there were big puddles all over the tent field, but there were enough drained pitches too

    tent field close to road and railway line so a little noisy at night

    'beach' near to site was just pebbles, but rhyl and abergele not too far away

    expensive chippy and drinks in bar
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for andrewgreen20

Disappointing, felt very unwelcome on arrival, expensive bar

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Clean toilets / showers

  • Disliked: Check-in was a frustrating experience, on arrival at about 5:30pm reception had already closed by 5pm and although we booked that day we were not forewarned. Dialling the sites security was pointless as nobody answered. Endeavouring to check-in we were passed between clueless staff. Initially we approached resort staff in the sites info centre who told us to go to ‘Sands Bar’ where staff sent us to their pub, a third building on site where they had no idea what to do. Eventually we were told to “pitch up and come back later” with a vague idea of where to go and no info on loo/shower/washing facilities which all turned out to be in a porter cabin. A short while later I resumed my attempts to check in, security pointed me to Sands Bar where staff there sent me to the sites pub and from there I was told to return to Sands Bar! Bar prices are extortionate, £3.80 for a pint of strongbow and that was one of the cheaper drinks! The resorts pool was let down by very narrow opening hours and restricting use of the huge slide to only an hour each am/pm, despite plenty of lifeguards, meaning patrons queued to use it and I saw disappointed children turned away. The pool opens late, at 10am and patrons were removed from the pool as early as 4:45pm to make way for other activities so don’t expect to take a dip before/after a day out. The camping field was waterlogged, with large areas of standing water. When you save up to go on holiday this is not the experience you deserve.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
2
Google Plus
avatar for alexwright

bank holiday weekend overbooked and crampt

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the fact that it had a pool and childrens activities. toilets were clean
  • Disliked: the pool was dirty, scum mark all the way round. Showers were way too hot,children were crying .
    very run down site. quite old now needs some cash injecting into it.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
4
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Nice Holiday in North Wales Kids loved it.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The size of the pitch was good with plenty of electric hook ups. The pool was nice and warm, the kids loved it. Good over all toilets and showers. Nice views from the sight with lots of good shops and things to do around you.
  • Disliked: The seagulls !! They pecked the top of our tent and caused some damage. Some other holidays makers were quite noisey late at night those are the ones who didn't appear to have young children with them !
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Really enjoyed our hoilday in Wales. This campsite is perfect for families and people who want entertainment whilst camping.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The toilets, showers, washing areas and the general campsite was kept clean.
    There are two sites and we stayed on the field with the portacabins which had better showers.
  • Disliked: Because this campsite is very busy with families it can be quite noisy at night time.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Peter_S

Good quality site with lots to do!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: My daughter loved the Adventure Playground and we both enjoyed the warm swimming pool. Felt safe the whole time we were there.
  • Disliked: Evening entertainment
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

very good

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: there was so much for the children to do and they were safe to play at all times
  • Disliked: the wasnt anything we disliked
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for m_geragh

Great and Helpful

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)

  • Date stayed: May 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Great site, very clean and tidy, very nelpful staff who were happy to help. Pool and entertainment were included in the reasonable price too which surprised me.
  • Disliked: Having to leave :(
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for nataliecole69

Fantastic!!

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Absolutley everything! :)
  • Disliked: Nothing, Everything was great :)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus

<< Go back to Ty Mawr Holiday Park