Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Bryn Dinas Camping Pods

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

9.8

Overall rating based on 22 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

100% would recommend this site to a friend.

100% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for simon_h7

Excellent accommodation for a stay near Snowdon

(Extended family, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I stayed for 2 nights in mid-March with a friend. The Pods are in a great location for Snowdon and the surrounding countryside. The facilities were very clean and tidy. The pods were warm with electric heating and lights. The power sockets were useful for charging various devices during the trip. The beds were comfortable with a cover sheet, pillow and pillow-case provided. There was also storage under the bed and hooks on the wall for coats, etc. The in-pod coffee and tea making facilities were of great use with some coffee, tea and milk provided. The shower and toilet facilities were clean and a big relief after a day mountain biking. We paid extra for Wi-Fi which was essential as there was no phone signal. There is also a payphone in the communal area if you are without a mobile. I cooked on a camping stove and my friend used the microwave provided. The pot washing facility was great with sponges, washing-up liquid and tea towels also provided.
    Our stay at Bryn Dinas Camping Pods was great and I hope to book for a stay with my wife sometime in the future. I would recommend the site to anyone.

  • Disliked: My only criticisms are that I found it hard to contact the people who run the site from the site with no mobile phone signal and had to spend several pounds on the payphone to do so. This is the only reason I give the customer service an 8 and not a 10. In addition, the parking is limited and on the side of the road next to the pods. Our thoughts and speculation only were that, if the site was full, there would not be a great deal of car parking and that this may cause an issue for some.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for chris_s16

Ronseal

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Ease of booking, clear and simple transaction.
    It does exactly what it says on the tin!
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for paulhargreaves1428

Perfect in every wat

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Nov 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: A group of us stayed at the pods. Absolutely perfect in every aspect. Spotlessly clean, really warm with the little touches that make for a truly pleasant stay. Would definitely return, In fact we are hoping to in 2014. A big well done to the owners.
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for annierailton1

Loved it, loved it, loved it

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Oct 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The PODS were clean, warm and comfortable, well situated near the Watkins path, a short drive from Beddgelert. Claire was so helpful and my friends and i despite the weather had the best time. Beautiful area, fantastic walks and the loveliest helpful bus driver.
  • Disliked: Not a thing!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for traceyfisher7503

Wonderful stay - wonderful accommodation

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Oct 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The comfort and facilities of the pods, Claire was an amazing host, the whole experience made the bad weather much less of a problem!! We were supervising a Gold Duke of Edinburgh test expedition in the area and having the pods in the perfect location meant that we were near enough to remotely supervise our team. The weather was awful but the facilities available to us made such a big difference. Thank you!!! Would definitely recommend Bryn Dinas and looking forward to going back!!
  • Disliked: Nothing!!! The weather was awful but that was hardly controllable!!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for carl_b6

Brilliant mini break

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The pods were amazing . From the minute we arrived everything was perfect. Claire was very helpful although we did not need her assistance after we arrived and collected our key. Everything about the pods were superb. Bathrooms were great, spotlessly clean and great showers, and the actual pods were much better than I anticipated . The location made it the perfect mini break. Bedding was lovely and clean and fresh and so comfortable . The complimentary tea and coffee was such a nice touch too. Kitchen facilities and wash room although not needed were first class.

    We will be returning very soon and have told lots of people about them .

    Keep up the good work !!
  • Disliked: Overall mark of 9 is due to the bright light outside shining right into our pod during the night , but no great deal.

    Just something that maybe could be looked at !
From the manager...

Thanks for the review Carl, the light was only fitted last week and we will look to get a timer fitted so it goes off between midnight and 7am....appreciate the feedback and hope to see you soon, all @ Bryn Dinas Camping Pods.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for ruthduke311

love these pods

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Warm, comfortable, small site. I loved the fact that dogs were welcome, the basic package included crockery, cutlery tea/coffee making facilities and a hairdryer! The shower/toilet block is immaculate and the individual cubicles roomy. It's a real find!
  • Disliked: There's nothing to dislike.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for mattwade902

Great value and location.

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The Pods were situated in an excellent location with easy access to all areas of Snowdonia national park. They were priced very reasonably and were clean and tidy on arrival. Claire was very pleasant and helpful. We had a great stay here and will be coming back in the near future.
    Matt and Vicky.
  • Disliked: Nothing!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for magdalena_w

Fantastic place to stay. Good location

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Nice, clean, warm and comfy pods with all necessary facilities just few feet away. Clean bathroom and showers (with hot water- great thing after a whole day of walking and climbing:). Two computers with internet in community room so even the fact that we didn't have mobile reception wasn't that bad (we could still check weather forecast). Great location, just few minutes walk to Watkin path on Snowdon, close to a nice lake, Beddgelert only 5 minutes drive (at Saracen's Head we had yummy dinner and they serve till 8.30). Fantastic time on a short break!
  • Disliked: We couldn't stay longer:(
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for mareeyork9

Very cosy and friendly place to stay.

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The camping pods were very warm and cosy with very comfy beds and little home comforts.
    Loved having our own kettle to make tea and coffee : )
    Overall a very nice place to stay if you're looking for something a bit more comfortable than a tent and a great location for exploring Snowdonia.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Gavin_E0

Excellent value and facilities.

(Family with older children, 1 review, 5 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I was fortunate enough to visit Bryn Dinas with my son for four nights at the beginning of August. It was our first time staying in a 'pod'. We had a first rate experience.

    The 'cocoon', as they call it, was spotlessly clean, relatively spacious and well equipped. We opted for the basic package and took our own sleeping bags and pillows. The beds were comfortable and had large storage areas under each which you cannot see in the photographs on their website. Each cocoon has four electric points, a bedside lamp, a kettle and tea and coffee making items. They also have a heater which we did not need to use in August.

    The basic package in August costs £40 per night + £2 for the use of their Wi-Fi facility. I thought this was reasonable and certainly cheaper than any of the bed and breakfast options available. If you do not wish to use their Wi-Fi there is a communal cabin with 2 PCs which have Internet access. The communal room also has a large fridge for guests to use.

    There were two shower rooms, each of which had a WC. If all the pods and cabins had been occupied this might have presented a few problems, but as it was we did not experience any difficulties. The bathroom facilities are almost new and were spotlessly clean.

    There is also a tiny kitchenette with fridge, microwave and kettle, a separate washing-up sink and a roomy and well equipped drying room and laundry.

    I was impressed by a few of the little extras that you would not usually expect to find on a campsite such as bottles of hand soap in the shower rooms, and washing-up liquid and utensils beside the sink.

    The site is literally 300 yards from the base of the Watkin Path leading to the summit of Snowdon. You could not wish to be better situated, provided the Watkin Path is the right one for you. I have not climbed it for 15 years and I was very surprised at how much it has deteriorated with use. It is not for you if you have young children, and I would avoid it if it is misty or there is snow or frost on the ground. The last section before the summit involves scrambling up some narrow and very loose scree pathways which are very easy to miss. Should you fall you would slide/tumble hundreds of feet.

    I cannot say that I think the 'new (ish)' visitor centre on the summit is an improvement. It seems smaller than the one it replaced and it certainly could not cope with the crowd of over 500 people who were on the summit when we arrived. Our plans to stay for a meal and a couple of pints were soon ditched when we saw the long queue waiting nearly 40 minutes for mediocre pasties and overpriced, re-labelled beer (£3.95 per half pint bottle). Instead we bolted down a packet of crisps, used the loos and headed back down again. Perhaps it was because we visited in August, but this was certainly the low spot of an otherwise fantastic day.

    There is no mobile reception at Bryn Dinas, and though Beddgelert is only 2.5 miles away not all networks are available even there. We were lucky because 'EE' is.
    Beddgelert has most things you would need during your stay including a range of hotels/cafes and pubs. The village shop is small but quite useful. If you need to do a big shop then you will need to travel further afield.

    The only real difficulty we experienced was with the mosquitoes and gnats. The site is close to a river and not far from a lake, so it is well blessed with the presence of our little buzzing friends. We chose to stay in our pod with the door shut, but you might find a citronelle candle or a 'buzz off' device might do the trick. You cannot blame the management for the bugs and in any case it was much better than being under canvas. If you go at a different time of the year, or have a thicker hide, you just might get to use the excellent picnic tables and your barbecue.

    For a cheaper alternative to bed-and-breakfast, or a more luxurious alternative to camping, we thought the pods were excellent. We would certainly recommend them
  • Disliked:
    Leaving!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Kath

Wow!! What a fantastic place to stay!! Loved it!! Loved it!! Loved it!

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Wonderful peaceful location just 300metres from the start of the Watkin Path. Fantastic hosts...Claire couldn't have been more helpful. Personal touches like the complimentary bottle of wine and card for our wedding anniversary made it that extra special.could easily keep this place quiet...but would like to shout it from the mountains...it's AMAZING!! Loved it!!! Loved it!!! Loved it!!!
  • Disliked: We should have stayed longer.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Clean and comfortable

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Friendly welcome on arrival. Whole site was very clean well planned and dogs were allowed. Will definitely be returning.
  • Disliked: The rain !! but you cant really blame anyone for that
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for emroyster

Comfortable and enjoyable stay. Great location.

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Upon arrival at the pod site, Claire greeted us and explained where all the amenities were located on site. The site is small but has a kitchen area which comprises of a hut separated by a wall: one side contains the microwave, toaster and work top area, the other side contains the sink. The toilets are situated in another hut and are located in a room with a shower and sink like a proper bathroom. There is also a laundry room with a washer and dryer.

    In the pod itself, coffee, tea and a kettle are provided as well as a small selection of cutlery and plates in the bedside table/box. We forgot our bed linen so en route phoned to ask if we could have bed linen provided, this wasn't a problem and when we arrived at the pod, it had all been laid out ready for us.

    The location is good if you want to climb snowdon, it's a 5 minute drive up the road. We also found a great cycle route at the Beddgellert forest. That was also a 5 minute drive. Beddgellert itself is a 5 minute drive and there are a few places to eat but beware, most stop serving around 8-8:30pm. Saracens head serves til 9pm and the food there is fab.

    There are no disappointing elements to this accommodation, the only thing I would say is, be prepared to share your personal space with creepy crawlies. I have a serious phobia of spiders and my nerves were stretched to the limit because they're everywhere you turn. I was told that there a 6 weeks of the year that they are immensely prevalent and the time we went was around week 4 so this may not be an issue any other time.

    Definitely recommended.
  • Disliked: Spiders - but they can't be helped!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for ljd68

Fantastic Pods

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jan 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything was fantastic. So clean and friendly. Would definitely go back. Was able to take the dogs too which was a fab bonus.
  • Disliked: There was nothing to dislike or complain about.
From the manager...

Glad you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you again soon....hope Milo is feeling more himself.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for lizziesinclair9

Absolutely Perfect!

(Extended family, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Myself and my family stayed in 3 of the camping pods for one night and were genuinely delighted. For a much lower price than other pods we were supplied with beds, comfortable mattresses, tea, coffee and excellent facilities. The community room was great for when the bad weather set in and it was much nicer to have actual bathrooms as opposed to shower and toilet blocks.

    Nothing to complain about at all, we will definitely be returning!
  • Disliked: N/a - We loved every minute
From the manager...

Glad you had a nice time....we are prepared for rain.....not that it happens often in Wales ;-)

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for emmapenney

LOVED IT!

(Young couple, 1 review, 9 photos)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I have stayed in some pods before, but never with beds in, so we liked the idea of these ones as they had beds in and the price was cheap too! The beds were very comfortable and the pods were warm too, which was great! The owners were on site aswell, if you needed anything and they were very friendly. Claire put lots of nice touches in the pods too, such as light, kettle, cups, plates etc, tea bags, coffee, hot water bottles, so it made us feel very welcome. The showers are literally outside the pods too, so that was very easy and they were all new and clean, which was refreshing.
    Theres a lovely area outside the pods for sitting outside and cooking, so we just loved it. The area is beautiful too!!
  • Disliked: Nothing! loved it all! definitely going back :)
From the manager...

The beds are a definite must after a day out waking...hope to see you again soon

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A really enjoyable stay

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The camping pods were really well kitted out, absolutely perfect for relaxation after climbing the 3 peaks. She gave us everything we needed and more, and the facilities were wonderful. The bathrooms were always clean and the drying room was a great idea for those going walking around the hills with wet boot and coats etc. The location as well is PERFECT for anyone who wants to climb Snowdon, with the Watkins trail quite literally 300m down the road. Any other trail is only a ten minute drive away. Also the patio type area outside the pods is great for having BBQ's and enjoying the views of the surrounding hills and lake.

    A mention as well for the woman and her family who run the Red Dragon site. She couldn't be anymore welcoming and helpful. She had great knowledge of the local area and was just always there to help us if we needed anything. Truly a lovely woman who made us feel at home.
  • Disliked: For us it wasn't a problem at all but the site is on the roadside (Although not a busy road). Whilst we found this convenient for us and you could barely hear the cars passing inside the pod so it really wasn't a bother, it may be a problem for young children left unsupervised.
From the manager...

I am blushing now! Since your visit we have fitted a gate across the opening so hopefully a little more child friendly. Hope to see you again in the future. Claire @ Red Dragon

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for lesleyt28

Can't wait to return

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Clean, cosy, friendly, dogs welcome, bathrooms close-by! It's so great to find somewhere that dogs are welcome (not just tolerated). The owners were really friendly and welcoming and the pods were comfortable and clean. What a great way to explore the area with a dry, warm base to return to.
  • Disliked: Nothing really!
From the manager...

We love all our 4 legged guests and if their humans are well behaved they are welcome too!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Something different

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Pods were clean and quite roomy with ample storage space under the beds. Handy electrical sockets and the complimentary tea and coffee were welcome. Owner was friendly and sorted out breakfast and a packed lunch for the following day at short notice. Good location - walking distance to the Watkin Path for Snowdon and pretty village of Beddgelert 2 miles away. Excellent shower.
  • Disliked: Not much really. I paid £35/nt to stay in the camping pods 2nts during June - nice for a one-off experience, but a B&B is cheaper. Thought £20 returnable deposit for map hire (+£5 for the rental) was steep as a tenner would cover a replacement. Midgies were annoying, but not much anyone can do about that.
From the manager...

Fortunately the midges are only with us for about 4 weeks every year.....thank goodness!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Rob

Top Quality accomodation, Facilities and location

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Stayed in a camping Pod for 3 nights and genuinley could not fault any of it. The Pod and the Facilities were top notch, new clean and cosy. 3 options are available when you book a pod ranging from the cheapest option which is the pod itself with no linen put to the dearest option which includes A lovely Down quilt, 2 pillows and fluffy towels. Each pod is supplied with a kettle, cups, tea making facilies and crocery/utensils so it really does combine all the plus points of self catering but with the sense of freemdon you get from camping. The site is also dog friendly which for us having two dogs is a real bonus.

    Picnic tables and a bbq area are provided also and even though the weather wasnt brilliant we managed to eat out and stay dry under the umbrellas at the table.

    Liked it so much weve booked to go again
  • Disliked: Having to go home back to work, boo
From the manager...

See you again soon in a couple of weeks Claire @ Red Dragon Team

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Ambrose

Fantastic camping cocoons! We had a fab wkend & cant wait to return!

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We loved the new camping cocoons. They were warm and cosy and we really liked the extra little luxuries you had thought about like tea and coffee making facilities, plug sockets to charge your phone and a hair-dryer!

    It was also so nice to sleep on a proper bed with feather pillows and duvets rather than mats and sleeping bags!

    The kitchenette was really useful with having a little one and the bathrooms were clean and warm and spacious enough for families.

    Thank you to everyone at Red Dragon for making our stay so wonderful.
  • Disliked: There was nothing that we were not happy with. Claire and Neil made sure we had settled in and knew where to find things and were generally really welcoming and helpful!
From the manager...

Glad you all enjoyed your stay Ambrose family; hope to see you again soon. Claire and Neil @ Red Dragon Holidays

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus

<< Go back to Bryn Dinas Camping Pods