Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Stanley Villa Farm Camping

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.7

Overall rating based on 23 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

86% would recommend this site to a friend.

91% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for johnt831

Nice site.

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We stayed with a Woucher offer for two nights. Initial impressions good, the site was clean and well laid out. The site is shared with a fishing lake. Friendly and informative staff. The pods looked fairly new, basic inside, clean and warm. The lodge has a large games room, kitchen (with kettle, toaster, microwave and fridge). Complimentary tea and coffee too. There's three very clean wet rooms (shower/toilets).
    Would stay again a for short or weekend break.
  • Disliked: Not major criticisms, but the site would benefit from additional shower and toilet facilities. On the day of departure I had to queue for a shower and then let two women use the toilet before I managed to have a shower.

    The kitchen would benefit from having an electric hob,, not everyone likes just using a microwave. Though I always bring a camping stove and pots with me.

    There was only one small battery powered LED light in the pod. Maybe they would benefit going the eco route and have a solar powered light in each pod, like I've previously used in a yurt last year.

    Each pod would benefit from having a couple of coat hooks.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A good clean site

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: They layout of the pods made it very family friendly site. The owners were welcoming and friendly and ensured we knew our way around including a country path to the local hostelry. Easy access to seaside resorts, we enjoyed a day in Lytham as suggested by the owners.
  • Disliked: Cold showers, but this problem was already in hand the owner informed us
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for stokeysteve

Lovley setting but not for Families. Ruined by large single sex groups

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely setting, pods themselves clean and tidy. BBQs and firepits provided which was a nice touch with the option to buy logs for £5.00 a bag.
  • Disliked: The toilets and shower block (log cabin) though clean when we arrived on Saturday afternoon went quickly down bank. Toilets blocked, and leaking with towels and toilet paper on the floor (I have seen cleaner night club toilets)

    Two groups large groups took residence in the common room on saturday evening/night which rendered this out of bounds for us having a toddler, seeing naked people running around and swearing is not ideal to say the least.

    No electric insdie the pod whcih I would have expected a single socket or powered light at least.

    Given the price I would have thought someone would have been on site to supervise or keep things in check or at least clean, overall v dissopointed had we have known about the large groups we would have gone on a different weekend whcih I am guessing may have led to a different experience. Shame as the place itseld could be fantastic.
From the manager...

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback. I understand and can completely sympathise with your situation and can only apologise.

To explain, we don’t typically allow groups on at the same time as families / couples. They have to book the entire site out if they want a ‘party type venue’.

However this group had written to me to explain that they wanted to come as a group to celebrate something personal - and it was not a 'hen type' affair. I allowed it on the basis they had their own area at the top of the camp site and that they didn’t disturb other campers (which I now know was not the case). I was on site at 10pm to take the group to the main lodge - so that any noise wouldn't disturb anyone. I also spoke to several campers to make sure they hadn't been disturbed. At this point the facilities were in a clean and tidy state. However as we don't live on site yet (planning permission pending), it's not possible to police it all night unfortunately.

I can only apologise for the bad language, etc, and the condition in which the facilities got to. A (very expensive) plumber was called yesterday to fix any leaks / blockages. We do pride ourselves on clean and tidy facilities and will be getting more toilets for next year.

This is by no means a reflection of a typical stay at our camp site, hopefully shown by the positive reviews we've received below and via facebook.

By way of an apology, I've emailed you personally, issued a full refund and would be happy to offer you a complimentary night’s stay so you can see first hand what the site is normally like.

I hope this helps and I hope we see you back again.

Many thanks,
Alex

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
3
Google Plus
avatar for daveoneill22

Brilliant, Fantastic, Loved it

(Family with young children, 1 review, 3 photos)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Stayed here in August for 2 nights, it was our first time in a pod, we went as a group so had 3 pods ages were 2year old to 43 year old and we all enjoyed it even the teenage boys :)
    The owner is fantastic, very friendly and accommodating, he even played cricket with us, Great personal touch.
    The pods were warm and clean, the lodge was the same with 3 wetrooms and kitchen facilities.
    We stayed as we were going to the airshow in Blackpool so the location was great only 10-15 min drive from Blackpool.
    There are BBQ's to use free of charge, even a great gas one (need your own gas which I had) there are firepits to use too again free to use.
    This place is perfect for those that are not keen on camping in a tent, I like tent camping but this was even better. We will be back and I am recommending to everyone that they give it a try
  • Disliked: Nothing :)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for hippy33

Getting locked in spoilt it, an also bbq falling over.

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I went with my friend and our two ten year old sons.
    I was made up with the large lodge cabin with the kitchen, showers and toilet in.
    It was good the layout of the pods so you wasn't directly straight infront of another, and you had access to fire pit and bbq, and wood.
    The smaller pod with the kids toys in was good idea also.
    pods looked cool.
    The whole area was lovely.

  • Disliked: I was not happy with the fact that my son and me got locked in the pod,due to a dogdy lock, my friend was trying to contact the owner but no luck and we was trapped from 7 to 9ish.
    We only got out as my friend some how opened the door after asking others if they could help.

    She had spent half of the top up on her phone trying to contact the owner, who when he came said it was second day he had been called to the pod as window was leaking the previous day, we appreciated that he couldn't have done much about the lock but maybe if someone was on site we could have got out sooner.

    Plus my friends clothes and shoes were in the pod so they were still in their pjamas outside the pod.

    Maybe have a spare key on site somewhere?

    We had no inside light as someone had stolen it, but we had our own torch.
    Maybe there could be some separate toilets as people were in the showers and those who needed toilet had to wait and everywhere was soaking when went to use the loo after the showers had been used.

    The bbq we had, has a dodgy leg and when we was cooking the burgers it collapsed and the food went on the floor so we just had the buns with crisps.
    Even though had these few issues it was a lovely place and it is quite new, it is worth going.
    There is also a nice pub down the lane aprox 30 min walk.
From the manager...

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback. I was really sorry to hear about you getting locked in the pod and can completely sympathise with you there.

We did also have an unrelated problem with the same pod the night before - a workman had not used enough sealant when installing the window and it had leaked slightly. We did fix this within 12 hours and have had a locksmith since fix the issue with that particular pods lock. I'm glad to say that this had never happened before, and hopefully will never happen again.

We've also been around to check all the bbq's and have thrown a couple of them away due to wear and tear (but sorry to hear about your dinner).

We do have plans to build an extra toilet and shower block (nearer to the pods - close to where the baby pod is situated), but being a new site we just need to save the money first.

Also, we have plans to be living on site before Christmas (it's just taking the planners a long time to grant us permission).

As we aim to give all of our customers a fantastic stay, and by way of apology for the problems you faced, I'd be happy to offer you a free night's stay with us. We'll even throw in a free takeaway delivered straight to your pod :) Just email us with the date you'd like to come.

Many thanks again for your feedback and I hope to see you again soon,

Alex

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for grantspicer

Stayed for 1 night as a pit stop on the way to the lake district

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: What a great site, beautiful location on the lake. Owners were very hospitable and hugely welcoming. Great relaxed atmosphere & bbq's and fire pits available to borrow on site with firewood available to buy. Pod was clean and comfortable with 2 good sized single beds, we had 2 kids aged 5 & 2 and we all fitted in beautifully. Communal facilities were of a high standard with decent sized wet rooms & good kitchen area. Would definitely visit again!
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Jekaterina__G

So far is the best place where we have been!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very nice site/farm,friendly atmosphere,nice people around,clean around,also its safe for kids.
    We stayed one night,just because wasn't sure how our little boy ( not 2 yet) gonna like there.But since we left thinking about going back again. :) Really nice place to spend time with family/friends.Definitely coming back again!
  • Disliked: Nothing!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for bethanyrex

Perfect change from city scenery

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This is the perfect basecamp for exploring the local area, or just staying put by the beautiful lake. These simple but comfortable pods are conveniently furnished with an actual bed (!) complete with mattress, placing the site firmly in the 'glamping' territory. The facilities are good; kitchen area and individual washrooms. BBQs and campfires are encouraged and firewood is available from the friendly and hospitable owners. The site has a really relaxed vibe and the pods are painted in different colours with numbers and your own key; it's basically a house!


  • Disliked: Nothing!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for joshallport

Superb site in great location

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Just returned from a fantastic stay here. The owners go out their way to make you feel welcome and at home. The site is really beautiful, feeling really relaxed, friendly and safe, with a great peaceful energy to it. The pods are great, charming things that are really light and comfy inside. I just bought a cheap sleeping bag with me to go over the mattress and slept like a log. The spotlessly clean log cabin with wet rooms are great - the showers are better than the ones I have at home!

    The location is possibly the best thing about it - quiet enough to feel you've got away from it all, but so easy and close to get into Blackpool if that's your thing.

    Toasting marshmallows on the fire, overlooking the moonlit lake, is a memory I shall treasure - thank you for a such a lovely time :)
  • Disliked: Genuinely can't think of anything!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Angela_W0

Birthday weekend

(Mature couple, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: First time stay and not the last , got a lot of our friends very interested , looked at other campsite near and others may have extras inside them like lighting and tv but for us that takes away the camping side of it what more can you ask for your own BBQ and fire Pitt .if all other campers go for the same reason children and adults will have a great time :)
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

2 night mid week stay with 2 familys over 2 pods

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything about our stay at the Stanley Villa Farm pods. The manager was very helpful and welcoming. The pods were clean and the site was well maintained. Close enough to the bright lights of Blackpool but far enough away to enjoy a peacful night watching the campfire toasting marshmallows. Free tea, coffee, sugar and milk in the main lodge house was an added bonus. Main lodge which has 3 wet rooms, a kitchen and large communal area was clean and not too far away from the pods. The "child friendly" mini pod containing bats, balls and nets was very much appreciated by the kids. I will def be recommening Stanley Villa Farm pods again and have already recommended to family and friends.
  • Disliked: No mirror in the washroom was the only thing I can think of but this is minor.
From the manager...

Thank you for your kind review. We now have a mirror up. We hope to see you again in the future :)

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Fantastic weekend!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything. Coming back again next year!
  • Disliked: Distance from the Pods to the toilets
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Very good site

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The lodge and facilities. Very friendly owners
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Fantastic cute 'hobbit huts'

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely outdoor space with free to borrow fire pits and barbeques. Lovely lady came to greet us and show us round, access to log cabin with central heating, wet rooms, lounge area. Beautiful area, close to lots of wildlife, birds, rabbits, hares and fish in the associated lake. Would definitely recommend to friends or family.
  • Disliked: Nothing. Not a criticism, but would note that the camping pods are small, so slightly difficult to stay longer than a few nights.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Jenstar

Excellent Glamping experience

(With friends, 1 review, 3 photos)

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This is excellent for those of you who want to be outdoorsy but with a bit of luxury. The pods were a good size with 2 comfy single beds which can be pushed together. The site is lovely and reminds me of something out of The Shire in Lord Of Rings. There are large green areas for games and a pond/fishery. The lodge on site has good quality facilities including clean showers, common room, toilets and kitchen which includes a microwave and kettle with tea and coffee available. The site is close to Weeton where there is an annual beer festival which we were lucky enough to catch. Nearby is one of the best Carboot sales I have been too. We were lucky with the weather and the managers Alex and Clair were extremely helpful and made our stay extremely enjoyable!
  • Disliked: The walk to the local area Weeton for the beet festival was quite difficult with a pram as it does take you through a field, but you can get taxis. This comment is really clutching at straws the place is extremely well run.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Salima_L

Stunning location - fabulous pods!

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This site was in a stunning location and only a few minutes drive from the M55. Perfect location for popping over to Kirkham, Lytham St Annes, Fleetwood & Blackpool. This site is fairly new. Since the original photos on pitchup.com of the pods were taken, the owners have given each pod a gravel path leading up to them which is perfect for any weather. The communal lodge is lovely, three wetrooms with shower, toilet, sink & radiators. The heating is on 24/7 and the lodge is unlocked 24/7. The common room is very large with large comfy sofas, dining table and plenty of chairs - doors leading onto the patio area. We met other residents in here and the children made lots of new friends. The kitchen has a microwave, toaster, kettle and fridge freezer that anyone can use. The owners kindly provided tea & coffee for anyone to help themselves. If you need more blankets, use of BBQs or fire pit, just let them know. The owners are very nice and made us feel at home. The pod itself is lovely and surprisingly spacious. Very cosy. As there were three of us (14 & 10 yr olds), we pushed the beds together. We were able to park the car directly outside the pod which was handy to leave some of our things in. We stayed in the pod looking directly over the lake which was beautiful. Watching and listening to the wildlife was very relaxing. There were a few benches placed around the lake and plenty of gravel pathways which made exploring lots of fun. Dogs are welcome too.
  • Disliked: Everything was brilliant :). Will definitely go back!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Different way to spend New Year's Eve, very enjoyable!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Dec 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely location and beautiful communal log cabin with high standard facilities. Friendly staff.
  • Disliked: No lights in the lodges. Ground around the lodges was extremely muddy.
From the manager...

Thank you for your kind review - we now have lights in all of the pods and have put in pathways so no more mud :)

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Nicquinn

Fantastic value

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Stayed in a pod for one night only,with my 2 young boys,as we was going into Blackpool it's only about 6 miles from Blackpool so location is great,the pods have 2 very comfortable single beds we also had a single campbed which fitted between the two beds,upon arrival I phoned Alex the manager to say we'd arrived,he was there within a couple of minuets,he shown us the lodge where the wetrooms are which are lovely and clean,a small kitchen with microwave,toaster,fridge freezer and kettle all which is at your disposal,Alex even said we could use the tea/coffee as well,we went and had breakfast in the lodge the day after,sitting on the decking over looking the lake,all in all loved the whole set up of the site,will be back..
  • Disliked: The only thing I could really say about the dislike is having to go the lodge in the night for the toilet,but I do believe that there is plans for a toilet in a pod within the camping field,which would be great.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Anne_C

Fine for an overnight stop

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The camping Pod was lovely. It had a high ceiling and the beds had good mattresses not the flat type i was expecting. It was lovely and warm. It had a better lock on the door than other pods I have stayed in and I nice big window to let in light in the day but had a blind for the night.

    the couple who we spoke to were very friendly and helpful. We had the use of a small kitchen that had a microwave and as we were the only couple on site they said to help ourselves to the tea and coffee!

    It was fine as an overnight stop but wouldn't want to spend more than one day here until they pretty the surroundings up abit.
  • Disliked: Tricky to find as the pods are in an isolated field not in a campsite and it is not signposted. Unfortunately it was a very wet muddy field. The owners say they plan to drain it. There are no lights anywhere so it is pitch black at night walking over a muddy surface.
    There are 3 showers but in the same room as the toilets. Hope there isn't a queue iif they get busy! Blinds on shower windows please and hang up a mirror and coatpegs in the pods.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
4
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great experience

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location, only 5 miles easy drive to Blackpool and shops nearby. Great, helpful, friendly staff. Clean facilities. Nice setting for campsite with woods and lakes on site.
  • Disliked: nothing :)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Kevin

A pleasant place to stay. Would definitely advise other to stay here

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: - The pod - dry, warm and secure
    - The tv room offers comfortable seating and a balcony overlooking the lake, perfect for bbq's
    - The 3 wet rooms with toilet an showers
    - Kitchen area to make a cuppa, use of microwave and fridge/freezer to store food
    - Outside wash area for the cooking utensils
    - That the site is close to a pub, indian restaurant and within driving distance of local towns

  • Disliked: - The signage upon arrival. We drove up and down the lane a couple of times as the only sign relates to the fishery. A number to contact Alex once on site would also be useful.
    - The field in the centre of the pods. If this was drained and mowed, it would be ideal for playing sports on
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

We enjoyed it

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We like it cause it was ideal for are dog and there was no trouble there
  • Disliked: The muddy field needs draining
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Sharon

Camping pod

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We booked 5 pods together with a group of friends & children...We had a bbq in the evening overlooking the lake with a glass of wine!! Very relaxing and enjoyable weekend...We will definitely be back!!
  • Disliked: No dislikes
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus

<< Go back to Stanley Villa Farm Camping