Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Woodview Campsite

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

9.1

Overall rating based on 26 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

100% would recommend this site to a friend.

100% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for abrilli-_p

Loved it

(Family with young children, 1 review, 5 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I visited Woodview for two nights in the Easter. I must have missed the memo that the camping season had not quite begun and unfortunately was the only person there with my daughter. That said we thoroughly loved it.

    The campsite is very clean and has excellent facilities including very good Wifi and phone reception. My daughter particularly liked the games room. Our favourite was definitely the campfire sections by the stream. With lots of places to sit round the fire.

    A great place for the amateur camper to get a real experience but feel like a pro.

    The owner and his son were lovely and very accommodating and even helped give me a jump start when my car battery ran flat.

    20 minutes away from the beautiful Bude and even less to Sandymouth Beach, which is just divine.

    Will definitely visit again!



  • Disliked: The shower had an automatic cut off which sometimes made showering a slow process. However a hot shower whilst camping is a bonus though.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for timothy_b0

this site is very clean with helpful staff, we will visit again.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The little shop has all the your basic needs covered.

    The pitches are nice and flat.

    The indoor play area is a real asset, we took 13 year old twins and an 8 year old child, they loved the play area when the weather was cool and wet

    we loved the fire pits and being able to have a bbq.

    The location is ideal for several good surfing beaches.

    Very clean.
  • Disliked: could do with more toilets and shower facilities, but this did not spoil out holiday.
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Ruth_P2

Beautiful peaceful camping site

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Spacious pitches. Parking off the grass next to your pitch. Games room especially came in handy when it rained. Clean toilet and shower facilities.
    an attempt to offer WiFi, though it rarely worked and only at the entrance.
    Friendly and helpful owners. Information freely available on things to do, local beaches, places to eat etc. Laundry facilities.
  • Disliked: Although campsite policy is to keep dogs on leads, we were plagued by another tents dog. The owners had no control of the dog and we constantly had it our tent, around our chairs etc. Whilst the blame does lie with the dogs owners, for being irresponsible, the campsite owners should have had a word with them.
    other tents being able to pitch up right outside your door! Due to parallel grass pitches, we had someone pitch right opposite our tent, a little more guidance from the owners on where to pitch would be nice.
From the manager...

We have strict rules for the dogs on site,they must be kept on leads at all times,there are nice woodland and country walks for them,also there are dog friendly beaches here.Any problems with dogs must be notified to us and it will be dealt with quickly,please let us know.We always go with the campers to show them where to pitch to spread out as much as possible.Points noted.By the way we have a new Wifi system for next season,covers most of the field!!Hurah

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for jane_m0

Great place

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Great location, quite, clean, good facilities, lovely wooded area with fire pits and very helpful and friendly staff
  • Disliked: The local hunt - not sure if it was drag or fox hunting - hopefully drag hunting.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for simongibbins75

very very good place to stay loved everything about it

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: everything
  • Disliked: nothing can not fault it
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for jamestaylor18

Brilliant site!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Stayed here for the August BH weekend. The site was perfect. Only quite small in comparison to other sites, but this makes it all the better! The owners are very friendly. They have produced a map of the local area for all guests, which is a lovely personal touch!

    The showers/toilets are ample, spotlessly clean & all you need really! Some other people have commented on there only being 2 showers. Even though the site was practically fully this weekend, i didn't have to queue for a shower once!

    The hammocks & BBQ/fire areas are a nice touch! Used mainly by families.

    The local area has lots to do & explore. Sandy mouth bay is breath taking! We went every day. Bude town centre is small, but has lots to offer.

    Would defo stay again without a shadow of a doubt!
  • Disliked: Nothing!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Rob_C0

Great for the weekend

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Easy to find, well laid out, plenty of room to pitch and good hard standing for the cars parked alongside.
  • Disliked: No complaints about this site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for jim_f

coment

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: we liked the whole stay it was fab loveley people very friendly facilaties 2nd to none i would recomend to anyone wanting a nice site to stay
  • Disliked: the only thing we didnt like was the fact someone decided to cut our tent in two places the day before we were due home very upset about that
From the manager...

We were also very sorry this happened in the middle of the night.Sometime children get up to stupid pranks,we hope the insurance will cover this.We have never had this happen before.Very disapointed about this.

Michael.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for jimbob1

brill site, will return next year

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Layout of the site is very good, very friendly people with good local knowledge. Good base camp to visit other areas of Cornwall and Devon.
  • Disliked: Not enough showers or fire pits
From the manager...

We have previously said that the 5 showers will be increased by adding 2 family rooms at the end of the season,also we increased the fire pits from 2 to 5 when we saw how popular they were at the end of last season,the demand has grown a lot faster than we thought.The children seem to get a lot of enjoyment from this,so we have to increase again.Thank you for you comments.

Michael.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Claire_W6

Overall a good site I would recommendto families or couples.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: quiet calm environment. Plenty of space. Sheltered from the wind. Good clean toilet and shower facilities. Indoor play area for children. Approachable and helpful staff. Reasonable prices. No pressure.
  • Disliked: The site was sloping which was a little difficult for sleeping.!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Highly recommend

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Clean, easy to locate and not far from beaches and attractions. We really enjoyed our stay and were grateful that Woodview does not have large groups of stag and hen parties, so for us it was perfect.
  • Disliked: Its was not a big thing as it was a quiet weekend but there are only two showers so I guess during a busier period, that would be a problem.
From the manager...

We appreciate your comments,There are 2 ladies showers,plus the use of the disabled shower room with baby changing station.2 mens showers and one out door shower.As the site grows will are adding family shower rooms.We are here to make your holiday a enjoyable experience.

Michael.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely clean and friendly.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The hole site was calm safe and clean. The kids enjoyed the games room and the hammocks.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Lee_M3

Nice friendly quiet site with games room to entertain the kids

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: everything
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A great stay

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Friendly owner, toilets and showers were very clean and warm, the indoor activity area was fun and very handy for when it was raining. Camp fire area by the river was really nice. Campsite as a whole was really well kept. Had a lovely time and would definitely recommend!
  • Disliked: Nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Lynda_D

Loved the campsite

(Extended family, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Oct 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely campsite, very peaceful and good toilet block etc. Easy access to Bude, Bideford and Barnstable. Will return in Summer as campers,
  • Disliked: Nothing at all.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for amyvaughan351

lovely camp site

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Oct 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: every thing from the moment of arrivel to departure was lovely, i stayed the the two bed carvan which was clean,well stocked of all items needed was a case of just add food. was a nice quite peaceful location just a stones throw from both bude and bideford with plenty of things to do with children or not woodview has a childrens indoor play area on site very nice very clean communal shower/toilet for campers also has washer and dryers. keep an eye out for the local cat very friendly.
  • Disliked: nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for sally_g

would reccomend

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The camp site was clean and catered well for
    children with there indoor play area, liked the
    camp fire area
  • Disliked: would benefit from a few more toilets and showers
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for leannepreston37

Great site, great price!

(Family with young children, 3 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Good value. The play barn with facilities and tv was a great respite from the relentless rain we had during that week. The site stood up really well to the bad weather too. Facilities were kept very clean, although I do agree they could be a bit cramped when the site gets busy. Very friendly reception from the owners, thanks!
  • Disliked: Slippery flooring in the facilities building. Also the tiny fridge (although a lovely idea) wasn't big enough for the size of the site.
From the manager...

Have added more fridge space plus a shop,Michael

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Brilliant

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Well maintained pitches. Well laid out. Games room for the kids was a great bonus. Dog friendly too.
  • Disliked: Little bit noisy at night - not the sites fault though. Showers were cold if you didn't get in them early morning.
From the manager...

Have added more hotwater heaters,as we found the sinks used more hotwater than we thought.
Michael.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

An impressive site

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: A very warm welcome. Fantastic indoor play area for the children. Toilets and showers were nice and clean. Firepit next to stream added a special touch to the holiday for the children.
    I'm useless with names but the chap that greeted us had a great local knowledge and suggested some great places to visit.
  • Disliked: No outdoor play area (but the indoor area more than made up for this) and the wife would have like a shop on site, but on arrival we were advised of the closest shops and the were only a short drive away.

    If booking on pitchup "cars included" shows as unlimited but on arrival we were charged £2 per car. Not a problem as it was still a great price for the campsite but when booking include the number of cars to get the correct price.
From the manager...

Have opened a small shop this year 2013,Michael.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

friendly, child friendly, attractive,quiet snd peacefull campsite

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: pitches,games room,staff
  • Disliked: Shower facilities could be bigger and a little better organised
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for PaulP

the camp site and family running it was excellent

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the shop/cafe i liked,camp site i liked,toilet/shower blockes i liked.family running camp site i liked.
  • Disliked: i disliked nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely location and easy 5min drive to super Sandymouth beach

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Its location, cleanliness, campfire permission and BBQ pits. As well as the indoor play area for kids.
  • Disliked: The slippery tiles in bathroom (but this is being resolved) and they may need a couple more wash-up sinks if site full.
From the manager...

New anti slip matts have been added to the showers,Michael

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely site and people

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very friendly
    Nice location
    Nice flat pitch
  • Disliked: Very slippery floor in the bathroom
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

it was a lovely camp site with all the necessary facilities!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The facilities available
    The camp fire and you could bbq.
  • Disliked: The showers got very wet and not reali anywhere to place ya clothes.
    And if it rains no shelter to cook, though it did add to our adventure.
From the manager...

Have made more hanging space for clothes in the showers,Michael.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Beautiful site

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This was a brand new site - only opened three weeks prior to our arrival so all brand new and cean and fresh. Toilet/showers exceptional, pitches superb, site owner was lovely. Thank you for a lovely stay.
  • Disliked: Only negative comment would be taht he floors in the washingup and showers/toilets get v v sippery when wet so could be a slight hazard.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus

<< Go back to Woodview Campsite