Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Dartmoor Shepherd's Huts

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8

Overall rating based on 22 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

77% would recommend this site to a friend.

77% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for sally_l

Glorious site, wild and beautiful, cosy shepherd's hut, spring lambs

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location (think wild but also not far from civilisation)
    The shepherd's hut (cosy, clean and such an adventure)
    The firepit (chased away chilly nights)
    The farmer (offered us wild camping next time...and let us spend a lot of time with his lambs)
    The stream (didn't fool us...we carried our things across it...and left the car further up the campsite...others were more hasty and drove across the stream, only to find that they couldn't get back!)
  • Disliked: Nothing.
    Could be a squeeze in the summer, as the wash facilities were better suited to a few guests at a time (1 loo, 1 shower in ladies...but plenty of hot water)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for edwardfinlayson39

Truly old fashioned camping experience: in the best possible way

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This site is run as as an extension of a working farm and as such does not have any of the luxury features which might be expected on a more "modern" site. This is one example where modern does not mean better. This is a friendly, family run site which has no frills but instead allows the camper to "muck in" and enjoy the camping experience I. The way it used to be. There is no club house, swimming pool or gym, and if you want those things when on a camping holiday this is not the site for you. However, if you want a quiet site miles from a main road and within walking distance of the moor then please consider this site. One of our favourite things was being able to come back to camp in the evenings with a few beers and have dinner, then to round off the evening to be able to sit round our own little camp fire and toast marshmallows and enjoy aforementioned beer.
    Yes, this campsite DOES allow you to have your very own campfire. Moreover they will even furnish you with the firewood from a locally managed woodland.
    We found the people to be very friendly and due to the relaxed way that the site is run this fosters an equally relaxed attitude among the guests.
    I suppose that the best thing I could say is that we enjoyed our stay so much that we even stayed an extra night.

    Great site for campers who don't want a holiday park under canvas.
  • Disliked: At the time of our visit there were only one each (male and female) toilet, but two new ones are in the plan for construction before next season. Other thIs, we knew what we wanted from a site and this one exceeded all of our expectations.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for breese

Lovely spot, poorly organised.

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely location, many interesting activities and places within easy reach.
  • Disliked: The quiet site for 12 tents turned into our idea of hell, when on returning from a pleasant day out found 37 tents and a 30th birthday bash going on. Couldn't even park the car as someone had pitched their tent in our car park spot. Packed up and left early. Should try sorting out the booking!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
4
Google Plus
avatar for alexchis

had a fab time

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: My 6 and 7 year old girls and I had a really great time staying in a bell tent. We had not been camping before so it was good to have a tent set up for us. It's a really lovely small site, really peaceful. Only the sheep to be heard. The girls had fun just playing around the tress and in the stream that was mostly dried up when we were there. We went for a nice 20 minute walk to the tea rooms for lunch one day, and found a small playground on the way back.

    The best fun of all was making our own camp fire every evening. we brought a bag of wood from the site for £5, and that lasted the 3 nights, along with a few extra logs that someone had left over and kindly gave us. Just remember to bring lighter blocks.

    Would go again and enjoy more of Dartmoor.
  • Disliked: We managed to find it ok following the directions, but it really is the middle of nowhere, down tight lanes driving onto the site down a rough track which I'm not used to driving on, but was worth it. The toilet and shower was in Ok condition, but only one for each male and female.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for shell11

not quite what we expected, very basic but cheep weekend away.

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: having a tent already up and waiting, took the hassle out of going camping.
  • Disliked: advertised as glamping, it was not glamping. in the middle of no where. freezing cold at night in the tent and we had no fire pit or BBQ.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for emmabutt

First family camping experience...

(Family with young children, 1 review, 1 photo)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Having never been camping on impulse we bought a tent and a few basics at the end of our holiday in Cornwall and extended our stay on Dartmoor. We booked this site as we wanted something where we were going to be with nature rather than a place with playgrounds etc.. and we wanted to build a fire. This site has 2 toilets and two showers, we didn't use the showers but both seemed clean and adequate. The directions were comprehensive and we found the site with little problem between those and the satnav - although the roads are tiny in places as previous reviewers have mentioned, but we felt that added to the feel of being remote...
    We chose pitch 8 next to one of the shepherds huts and were pretty much on our own in that corner which was lovely. With hindsight it seemed the camp had few rules compared to many others I have subsequently looked at but all who were staying seemed plesant courteouse and quiet reigned from about 9pm-8am.
    We loved the random invasion of sheep and the stream, all in all a plesant experience and we would probably stay here again. Thank you :)
  • Disliked: The ground was a bit stony in the bottom field, but didn't stop us pitching.
    The fridges didn't work which was not a problem for us as we were there one night but I can imagine would be rather inconvenient as the site is advertised as having them - I think they need to be fixed or the facility removed from the site as many people have commented.
    Having no one on the site to welcome you was not a problem, but it would have been nice to have some info available about the local area, a map showing pubs/shops/opening hours - we had no phone signal so couldn't have a look, however did manage to find the old church inn in Holne (http://dartmoorchurchhouseinn.co.uk/) where we had a great meal.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for robert_r1

loved it!

(Young couple, 1 review, 2 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: loved the place, very cool, i didnt read up on the place so didnt know what to exspect, very relaxed feel, and felt like i was deep in the middle of dartmoor its self, so many camp sits have to many rules, you cant do this, you cant do that, not here, loved every min.
    will go back for sure.
  • Disliked: nothing!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Really enjoyed our holiday, with evenings round the fire.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: As the site was fairly quiet there was plenty of space to spread out and have open fires each night. We are a gay couple with a dog and everyone we met was really friendly and, thankfully, no all night louts. Shower and kitchen areas were clean. Lots of great walking and easy reach to local pub/restaurant with great food and friendly staff and owners. Even the weather was kind to us - mostly.
  • Disliked: Shower was cold the first morning there, but was fixed as soon as we mentioned it.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A very nice break - family friendly and informal

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We loved the informality and cosiness of the site - you are welcome to just choose your own pitch and settle in on arrival - the owners will find you when they do their morning / evening rounds to see if there are any issues and to collect payment and are very helpful. The location was great for those who like to be away from all the hubbub, amusement arcades, onsite cafes and suchlike and relax in natural surrounds - being tucked well away down (and up) some very twisting and narrow roads. Very family friendly - our children ran free with a group of others every evening until dark fell and we did not feel the need to be constantly monitoring as is often the case (the site is so little that you can hear them playing, albeit at the other end of the field or the dry streambed that runs through the site). Dartmoor National Park is right on the doorstep as are many very nice beaches. We found that Dawlish Warren had a little something for everybody but there are bigger beaches for body surfing lessons etc if you want to travel further. An hour and a bit from the Eden Project and some great little Cornish towns made for plenty to do when it rained so often that we just had to leave the tent.
  • Disliked: I did feel that although we liked the rustic and no fuss feel of the site, the facilities could use some improvements; the fridge was broken when we stayed but you were welcome to use the freezer compartments as a fridge as the temperature of that was equivalent - no freezing of ice blocks though; the toilet and shower block could be significantly improved, being quite exposed, cobbled together and only one for M and one for F but, having said that, what is there is adequate for the size of the site and also free which is great.

    I'm not sure if it was a dislike as we found it quite entertaining but watch out for the farm dog prowling at dusk for food left in Rubbish bags or open containers - we learned quickly to lock up as soon as we finished cooking after my husband chased the dog for our packet of pasta and promptly fell in a pile of stingy nettles - much to the dogs (I'm sure) amusement...
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great simple wild camping site

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Fire pits by tent so we could toast marshmallows in the evening! Not many campsites where you can do this. Logs are available for £5 per bag or take own.
    Large pitch where you can space out and room for car next to tent. Not many groups there so people were spread out - great to not be on top of others.
    Beautiful country walks nearby, mostly uphill but some great spots!
    Communal fridge, sockets, wash machine, small shop with honesty jar. Freezer wasn't working but fridge was available to keep our bbq food/drinks in.
    Quiet expected after 11pm so if you have children/want to get to sleep early then you aren't kept up all night by partiers.
    Clean shower/toilet - one for each sex but never busy - towel/toilet roll etc cleaned/replaced daily.
  • Disliked: Hard to find first time - go down into Holne town centre where you will see the pub, follow the sign for tea room and follow this road all the way. At bottom of hill, you will see a sign for Buckfastleigh to left. Follow the bridleway sign up the hill to your right and you will see a small camping sign. Use the lower gravel road and follow down past toilets/utility to camping pitches. Good luck!
    In middle of nowhere - you will have to drive down some narrow roads to get anywhere from/to campsite. Roads mostly quiet if you head towards Buckfast (right out of campsite rather than straight on).
    No reception/welcome so just set up camp when arrive. Farmer came to find us in the evening and ask for payment. Had no details of our booking etc so check how much you owe before you go and have money available.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Philip_L1

Fairly Average - nothing terrible but not value for money.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: It's very quiet and there are good walks in the local area.
    The facilities were basic but clean.
    It's very pretty.
    They sold logs and fire lighters to make you're own fire - that was fun!
  • Disliked: The owner of the campsite should know a little bit more about what available in terms of activities in the local area. We asked about cycle hire and she had no idea.

    The site is actually run by a girl that has a day job so we turned up at lunch time to find no-one there. One of the other campers told us it was very laid back and to just help ourselve to a pitch. This was a bit odd.

    It was a little too quiet for us as we were hoping for a local shop and a few pubs but the pubs weren't open until the evening and the shop was very small and only had one box of fresh produce. This is obviously not the campsite's fault but something to be aware of.

    We camped one night and used the huts on the second. The huts had a duvet and sink but the water didn't work in the morning and the duvet had no sheets on it.

    We realised (too late) that we were far more likely to get bitten in the huts than our tent as there is obviously access for bugs - this is something to be aware of.

    Overall, it's fine but for £65 for a wooden hut, you'd expect to have bed sheets, somewhere to buy food, someone to ask questions when you arrive especially given you can't use your phone due to signal and more than one toilet in the campsite.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Good basic campsite

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The area was lovely and secluded.
    utility room was very good - washer, sink, fridge freezer all available. Plus some extra's for a cost - nice touch e.g. Juice cereal wood for fires etc.
  • Disliked: The facilities were very basic. Ladies toilet/shower too exposed. Ground at the bottom pitch very stony making it harder to drive in pegs.
    The very narrow country roads are at times difficult to negotiate.
    Bit disappointed with the customer service
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Clare_G0

Quiet and lush

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Quiet site, wild wood and stream area for kids to play.
  • Disliked: Midges.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Amazing setting - very peaceful and relaxing.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The family running the site were all very friendly and welcoming - being mid week and off main season we were the only people at the site for the first night, so we were treated with extra flowers in our vase - a lovely touch. We had our dog with us also and he loved running around in the open space!

    The hut itself was very comfortable - brilliant for a few nights or even a week away if you wanted to explore the area. It rained one night and you could hardly hear the rain and we were kept very warm and dry. Brilliant extra touches like the flowers and a pretty candle.

    Toilet facilities were basic but kept to a high standard and very well maintained. Ice blocks were also provided for a cool box in the hut with access to a freezer so we were able to keep milk etc cold.
  • Disliked: Everything was brilliant other than the communal fridge smelt a bit off - possibly another camper had left some food in there, but just needed a wipe down and a fridge freshener in it.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely remote spot beware of possible noise at the farm next door

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Remote, picturesque, children friendly, campfire.
    It's small, its lovely, it very quiet and we had a lovely time.
  • Disliked: Well, it't not the fault of owner, but we (that's two mums and four kids under the age of 6) didn't have a wink of sleep on saturday night due to a massive party. That was noise from the farm next door (according to the owner), and it looked like it wasn't the first time. He said, that they were quite *angry people* to talk to, but well, it's his business after all.
    I don't expect to come to this neck of the woods with small kids to listen to the house music beat all night long (from 10 at night till 7 in the morning).

    Toilet and shower facilities are ok, fairly clean, though only one shower and one toilet per sex.

    Owners could be a little bit more welcoming, but that's I guess is my just being picky.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely friendly campsite.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This is a really lovely friendly campsite. The toilet & shower facilities were basic but always clean and the shower always had hot water. The tent pitch had a fire pit and wood was available on the campsite, as well as other essentials, which was really handy. The campsite itself was laid out well with plenty of room to pitch the tent on the grass, and a small stream ran through the site which was nice. You could walk to the local pub which was perfect for when the weather was no good for a bbq as it had great food & beer. There was a small utility room with fridge freezer, sink & washing machine making it easier for longer stays.
  • Disliked: The only negative was the incredibly hard ground, take a hammer for the tent pegs is my advice!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Proper camping in a sheltered location with Dartmoor on your doorstep

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location is perfect, your sheltered by the tree's around the edges of the field and your in a valley with a little stream running through the site which is quite a relaxing sound when your drifting off to sleep in the evening.
    You can have camp fires at this site which is rare to see and each pitch has a circle of rocks ready - you can buy large bags of wood for £5 which will last a while - its cut from the woodland too (some people were finding their own though).
    Facilities are basic but clean and not far away as the site is small, there is a utility room with sink, washing machine, fridge and freezer - also a few food basics are on the worktop and money goes into the honesty box for anything you want - this is a farm site so you need to call Libby who runs the site should you have any problems and her number is on the sign as you drive through to the building when you arrive.
    Dartmoor is up the hill from the entrance to the site - fantastic views looking down over Devon - We will definitely return, I've already recommended to friends.
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike about this site, its basic but beautiful.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Hindhaughgill

Camping that takes it back to basics

(Young couple, 1 review, 2 photos)

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: There was no frills with this campsite. You had good toilet and shower facility, then it was just you, your tent and your campfire. Logs sold on site which is helpful if you forget to pack a few!

    Children could explore the wooded areas and the stream and you could see were happy experience camping for what it is. Not asking to play pool at the clubhouse or go swimming in the heated pool.

    There were horses in the next field they could see and also some young sheep insure that were aloud to roam the campsite in the mornings.
  • Disliked: Could have some more toilet/ shower facilities save any queues forming.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Shepherds hut delight

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We loved the ease of staying in the Shepherds hut, all the best bits of camping with none of the drawbacks!! The hut was clean, warm, cosy and very comfy. The site is small and rural, basic but adequate, you are in the camping field but there are only a few pitches and they are all very well spread out. There is a stream running through the site and a small ford to get over to get to the lower field, surrounded by fields and trees its the perfect getaway from it all spot!! We had a great stay and look forward to going back again!!
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Back to basics camping...but we loved it.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The campsite was a great size and did not feel anything like a holiday park. The Children loved playing in the stream that ran through the campsite and the woods also provided an excellent playground. We purposely booked this campsite because we like traditional camping and not having any mod cons.

    The farm track leading to the campsite adds to the experience of camping in Devon!

    The two local pubs provide great food and ale...and a lot cheaper than the coastal towns.

  • Disliked: Farm was hard to find, could do with a few more signs. Thanks to the lady in the local tearoom in Holne we were able to find it!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Georgia_U

Lovely Easter break at Dartmoor Shepherds hut

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The accommodation was all ready for our arrival, really clean and with lovely extras like the daffodils inside and the bed was really comfortable. Despite the freezing weather we really enjoyed our stay, everyone was friendly and helpful. It is a beautiful spot and for anyone looking to get back to nature in a secluded setting then I would recommend this site. Showers and toilets were simple, clean and serviceable. The site is a short walk from the village of Holne where we were made very welcome at the Church house Inn for a couple of excellent meals.
  • Disliked: The weather!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

loved the situation

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the stream, the woods , the walk to and from the pub up the road, great food friendly staff, all in the area is beautiful and the situation of the site is perfect and the huts are lovely very spacious and cosy
  • Disliked: finding it thank gad for sat navs
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus

<< Go back to Dartmoor Shepherd's Huts