Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Bwlchgwyn Campsite

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.7

Overall rating based on 13 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

92% would recommend this site to a friend.

92% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for pauladaley583

A quiet site with easy access to the costal path and beach.

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: After we'd been there a few days we found out the site had only been open a yr. This, and the fact it is reasonable small, meant it was perhaps less crowded during the busy bank hol weekend, which suited us perfectly. Getting to the site is easy, it's a nice spot, a bit out of Aberdaron but easy to find. We were made welcome by the couple running the site and they attended to the toilet/shower block daily, so it was always clean and stocked with loo rolls. Because the site was new the all-in-one cabin/container type toilet and shower was in very good condition. It is a peaceful site with plenty of room for sitting outside your tent, playing balls games etc and has pleasant and relaxing views.
  • Disliked: The newness of the site explained the absence of dish washing facilities and only one loo and shower for the whole site. If it had been busier the queuing would have been horrendous. There also seemed to be inadequate bins for rubbish and recycling which after a bank hol weekend amounted to people dumping rubbish wherever in the bin area which was pretty unsightly. We might have felt a bit better about the minimum facilities if it had been explained when we arrived that the site was new. We also didn't get any friendly local advice on the best way to pitch in terms of general wind direction and it would have been good to either have a local map, e.g walking routes nearby, or at least to have that explained a little. One side of the site is against a road, so there is some traffic noise as this road is a popular route to a viewing point over the peninsula.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for DaveM

??

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the location was quiet and not to far from Aberdaron, the owner was friendly and he made sure that the toilet/shower block was kept clean and supplied, and waste bins were emptied every day, we stayed in our tent and had a hook up which made all the difference to our stay, well worth it, we were the the couple who a previous review stated struggled to erect our tent in the gale force wind ( no fault of the owner), we gave up trying to get the tent up due to one of the tent poles snapping in the wind, and i might add that NO ONE came to help us as the previous review stated, there was a motor home next to the pitch were we were trying to put the tent up and all they did was to close the curtains.... very helpful indeed, we had to return home to get the tent repaired and came back on the following tuesday and had no problems erecting the tent and had a good break at a good campsite.
  • Disliked: The toilet/shower block was to small, only one toilet will be a problem when site is full.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for dawste

Nice peaceful site!

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Site was located in nice location within walking distance to abadaron which is the local town which had lovely beach.. Owner friendly. Very clean and tidy.
  • Disliked: The toilet/washing facilities very small especially shower could be a bit bigger as just a square box which you had to also get dried and dressed in very restricting and clostraphobic although shower very warm and powerful.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for MarkD

Very nice site for families

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location very remote.
    Clean.
    Friendly.

    We stayed for 3 nights.
    When we were there a couple turned up in the wind and rain and nearly the whole site tried to help them erect their tent. We all failed to erect it but it is not often that you get total strangers willing to help others in a howling gale who are struggling.
  • Disliked: I could see the toilet block becoming a problem, due to long queues, if the site got full.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for louisegoodenough1

very enjoyable, kids enjoyed it which was a bonus.

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Not over crowded plenty of space between tents, very reasonable price compared to some site's in the area.just a short walk in to aberdaron village ( approx 20 mins )where there is a lovely beach, local shop, chippy and two very nice pub/ restaurants.
    Camp site only has 1 toilet and 1 shower which there was a wait on a couple of occasions, but not much of a problem really for us,they are kept really clean by the owners.
    It's good also as you can use a bbq which again a few sites don't allow.
    Would recommend this site and will be returning again.
  • Disliked: Nothing we disliked.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for gianburge

lovely well kept campsite - friendly owner clean facilities

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The field was mown with plenty of room, facilities great but could do with more than 1 toilet and 1 shower.
    Loads of space - very clean and tidy. close to the village and fantastic beach. We liked everything!
  • Disliked: nothing to dislike!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for kathleenwright1428

The gentleman who owned the place was very friendly

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We all liked the fact that there was toilets and showers available. The man who owns the place sorted out any problems we may have had straight away and he also helped us gind other places to see and told us thing we could do near the campsite, he was very helpful and kind. We liked the fact that after 11 the campsite was quiet so we could get to sleep. When we arrived he wasnt there, but when i phoned him he told me to set the tent up and he came and spoke as soon as he arrived, he disnt take payment until after we had set up. We as a group would definately stay there again, we enjoyed our week and found plenty of things in the area to do
  • Disliked: We didnt dislike anything about our stay.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Agnieszka_S0

Lovely place to stay at

(Family with young children, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Peace and quiet. Very friendly owner told us about lovely hill that You see all island and also beautiful beach on the other side of Aberdaron. Clean toilet and shower place.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Small site with excellent views, new facilities and well maintained

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Quiet rural setting on a farm. Near Aberdaron, at the western end of Llyn peninsula
  • Disliked: When we stayed only 3 or 4 pitches were occupied and the facilities - 1 shower and 1 toilet were adequate, if full I don't think they would cope.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

70

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very nice family site, extremely clean showers toilet and grounds great location for beaches and walks. We received a warm welcome and will be returning very soon, have recomended to family and friends
  • Disliked: I did not dislike
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for angela_w3

lovely level pitches , immaculate toilet and shower.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Small but beautifully positioned campsite, friendly owner. although only one toilet and shower the owner cleaned them at least 3x daily and they were outstandingly clean.owner lives onsite but leaves you to get on with it. on the day we left he said as he wasnt busy that day so was pretty much upto us what time we packed up.great place, highly recommended!!!
  • Disliked: not a dislike, but as the site got busier queues were forming for shower/toilet, not a major problem. There was no direct sea view from the campsite, a 20 minute walk downhill into town/beach(an hour back uphill if unfit like us :)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely relaxed site

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Small and friendly with fantastic views all around.
  • Disliked: Nothing really but I suspect that as it gets more popular more toilets will be needed.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Quiet, great, clean and very basic campsite

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the toilet block and shower, small clean and emasculate. one toilet one shower but with a small but well kept site its all you need. i liked the piece and quiet. we were greeted on arrival and left alone after that. When i approached the owner for advice he was very helpful
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus

<< Go back to Bwlchgwyn Campsite