Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Osney Lodge Farm

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

7.9

Overall rating based on 35 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

77% would recommend this site to a friend.

77% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for Torzy82

Amazing forced family time

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We fell in love with this campsite here's why , there is nothing there i mean nothing to entertain you no park, no discos, no entertainment i mean nothing but this pushed us all closer together as a family forced us all to play games cricket, tennis, cards, tickles, giggles, things we wouldnt normally have time to do in our busy schedule, this was our first time on site and we came with a 2 month old baby the owners of the site made sure we was ok at all times in fact they really looked after me on the phone too,
    best thing about this site is its not like all posh expensive sites its very relaxed, all children play together in the middle of the field while you are able to sit back and watch, 2nd best thing is no phone signal or wifi which was brilliant for us, this really helped bring our family together,
    we last stayed on one of the wettest wknds last july 2013 the weather was abismol but every single person on the site was all in the same boat every one was very friendly. there was a few noisy moments but ppl was on holiday and making the most of the nice weather, if my 2 yo and at the time 2 month old could sleep through it i think it shows how little it was
    we watched the planes going over and took some really amazing pictures, my sons were fascinated by them, the local village looks like it belongs in Yorkshire which is a home from home for me and every one in the village was friendly and didn't treat us like holiday people like you get at most place
    We fully love this site yes the toilets could be bigger or more yes cleaner but you know what it added to it all it was just perfect for us and we have a 9yo, 5yo, 2yo and when we go back a 9 month old
    The family that run/own this site truly do make the experience better they are constantly popping up on quads and just chattering away to everyone making them feel welcome we are going back in April 2014 and we all cannot wait
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for snottypasta

A truly splendid experience...

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Fantastic views, A brilliant back to basics week, Being able to sit under the stars around an open fire is a brilliant way to spend your evenings, Being able to have our dogs with us was a must as they are a huge part of the family, a lovely peaceful week, Sandy and Graham were so helpful and accommodating, Looking forward to coming back soon...
  • Disliked: NOTHING!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for ali_k

Fantastic staff, beautiful surroundings!!!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Osney farm was a lovely introduction to camping for my 4 year old. We travelled alone, and had a lovely peaceful stay. The site itself was quiet, and basic although it had WC and running water. The staff were friendly and recommended places to visit locally. There was a nice pub with a childrens play area half a mile walk away, that served great food and the most amazing home made chicken breast nuggets on the childrens menu.
    Thank you very much for the stay...we will definitely stay again at £8 pn....bargain!!!!!
  • Disliked: There was nothing to dislike!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for ATaylor

Nice basic campsite, lovely views. Shame about the neighborly noise.

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This is a lovely campsite, with basic but clean amenities. It is a nice size and has lovely views from the camping field of the South Downs. It is in a good location, easy to find, yet off the beaten track so no road noise.
    The owner was friendly and helpful and came round in the morning to make sure everything was in order.
  • Disliked: It is a shame there are no showers as this would put us off staying any longer than one night.
    There is some noise from Gatwick traffic overhead. This didn't bother us and in fact quite entertained our two year old, although the planes were not directly overhead while we were there.
    It is also a shame that the farm shop is no longer open, this would have been a nice extra.
    The main concern was from our noisy neighbors who were family members of the owner; they were chatting very loudly until 1am, which was unacceptable. My husband did ask them to keep the noise down just after midnight, although we were told that they owned the campsite (with a few expletives thrown in) so this had little effect. I believe they were relatives of the owner and I surmised from his response the following day that this has happened before; it must be very frustrating for him. I don't think the main noise culprits were even staying at the campsite as they left just before 1am in their car (very sociable) and it all went quiet then. If the owner can keep these relatives in check (or off the site), we would have no issue in returning as it was lovely and peaceful otherwise.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for naomiruthxx

Perfect place to sneak away!

(With friends, 1 review, 1 photo)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The field had a beautiful view, there were no rules as to where to pitch up so you could be near people with lots of space between you or pitch near nobody. The farmer came around in the evening and again in the morning he was very friendly and checked that you had everything you needed which was a nice touch. A lovely place for a little break. As mentioned on a few other reviews the toilets are basic portaloo's but let's face it if you are camping you aren't going to get posh bogs! A nice atmosphere with local pubs.
  • Disliked: Nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for maggiemitch

great little site!!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: A very basic site in beautiful countryside! Facilities were clean and there was always someone around if you needed assistance. Kids loved being able to run around with the dogs and there was plenty of room.

    The planes on the Gatwick flightpath were not an issue as they were not directly overhead.

    All in all, if you are looking for a quiet, basic site then this one is certainly worth a visit - you would not be disappointed! I will deffo be going back!!! :)
  • Disliked: Water pressure not great and could see problems when busy as it takes a while to collect your water from the standpipe.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

excellent

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Nice campsite with friendly owners
    They let you pitch where you want.
    Nice environment.
    Good for kids.
    Basic but clean toilets.
    Very basic campsite as described.
    Excellent value for money.
    Campfires allowed, with rented fire basket, bags of logs .
  • Disliked: None.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Martin_J1

A rustic campsite with great views.

(Solo traveller-male, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The views of the Surrey hills are great.
  • Disliked: Having read previous reviews, I wasn't expecting the earth, just some personal quiet time. I wasn't disappointed with the site placement, just first thing in the morning depending on the wind direction the noise from departing aircraft from Gatwick airport. It was also concerning the people I noticed (while on site) how many people came up on bikes/cars, who were not campers, that surveyed the site and tents, then left. And finally, the guy that checks the site on his 4 wheeler bike, doesn't really interact with the campers, and as suggested in previous posts that the toilets are checked twice daily, while I was there, this was not the case, and to make sure, I did check the toilets first thing and last thing on one particular day, and nothing had been cleaned or emptied. So even with basic amenities, these should be cleaned daily.
From the manager...

What a strange review ! As the site owner (and the man on the 4 wheeler bike !) I make an absolute point of conversing with all our customers on a regular basis, to ensure their satisfaction. In this case the reviewer was a sole traveller who states he was looking for some personal quiet time, so it is highly likely that sat in his chair quietly enjoying the view (or even having a doze) I would have purposely not disturbed him. Common courtesy. Sorry, can't control the wind direction from Gatwick, some 10 miles away ! And finally I can assure you toilet facilities are checked and cleaned 2 or 3 times a day.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Brilliant

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The view was amazing after a long drive we could finally sit in silence and enjoy the country, best of all it was quiet the site was clean and well looked after. Would stay again.
  • Disliked: I only stayed one night but if I stayed longer a shower would of been needed as we was in a tent.
    The night we stayed cooking our tea a gentleman decided to mow the lawn real close, this made me feel ill as I have hay fever.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for eunja

The Ronseal of camping....

(Young couple, 3 reviews, 1 photo)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I liked being able to choose whether to camp in the beating sun or to try and get some shade from the other side with the trees. Fairly cheap. Clean facilities and pretty view.
  • Disliked: Well, this is pretty difficult, because I'm unsure how much of my disappointment was the 'campsite's fault' or other campers or just my expectations. Anyway, a few things made us cut our trip short by a day;

    The field was right next to a field being mown for hay - I appreciate this is a rural location (as we live only 10 miles away!), but if I had been advised there was a possibility of this whilst booking via telephone then I wouldn't have stayed due to hayfever!

    The field felt really cramped and 'on top of each other'.

    Dogs running wildly around the field, with very loud shouts from the Bell Tent occupants of 'Noodle! Noodle! come here!' every five minutes - it felt like we were trespassing on their own personal field at times and because they couldn't control their dog properly, our dog got the frights and started yapping resulting in US getting filthy looks from Noodle's Mater and Pater and deciding to give up the gost and go home. If dogs are meant to be controlled, please supervise this.

    The shop is very sweet and had good BBQ offerings, but I was disappointed at the lack of simple things like bread at 12.00 on a Saturday!

    The road up to the field has some random school chairs and building bits and bobs and the field itself seems to have a pile of dog agility training stuff piled in a corner - just wasn't pleasing aesthetically compared to lots of other wild camping farms we have stayed at.

    All gates to pathways seemed to be locked from the field, meaning a walk past the junk to the main road before being able to walk the dog (I may have missed an obvious place to get through here though.)

    Finally, we were charged twice. I paid over the phone, then my husband was told they couldn't get the info up and he had to pay again because the system wasn't working. No refund received as yet. Also, whilst I saw the owners zipping up and down on the quad bikes lots (lovely to hear the engines over the birdsong) they didn't check everything was ok with us at all, despite stating everywhere that they do this, otherwise I would have raised the issue re the manic dog and VERY loud owners. Perhaps my frown of disappointment prevented them from approaching me.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
4
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Very basic, but nice and quiet

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The friendliness of the camp site owners and the quite site. There were giant hay bales with the kids loved playing on. Open fires were brill and it was cheap.
  • Disliked: The lack of facilities - apparently there are showers but I couldn't find them. There was no soap in the ladies loo, no where to wash up and the outside tap/drinking water only worked on occassion.
From the manager...

We would respectfully point out that this is advertised as a rural site, and as illustrated by other reviews its enviable location is outstanding. We do not advertise that there are showers and since as owners we personally visit every pitch twice daily to ensure our campers are comfortable. We do not understand why the question of showers was not raised. Soap is available in both the ladies and gents in a permanent wall dispenser which is checked twice daily. We can only summise that this family are looking more for an entertainment based site than a rural one.....perhaps the comments about clambering over the hay bales confirms this ?

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
4
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Brilliant campsite

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location is amazing, extremely helpful owners who let you enjoy the stay without petty and unreasonable rules, gladly loud music is not tolerated if it disturbes other campers and is dealt with rapidly. This is real camping with none of the comforts of home such as hot showers, endless supplies of fast flowing water etc! we stayed for nine nights and my grandson and his friend came and joined us for the weekend, they did not want to leave , neither did we when our time came. They thoroughly enjoyed be able to have a camp fire, meeting and playing with other children and having the space to run around and explore the natural surroundings. We have no hesitation in recommending this site, visit and enjoy.
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Recommend it!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: View, friendly and helpful staff, excellent farm shop. Peaceful.
  • Disliked: Toilets are basic, but cannot complain, clean and well maintained.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Perfect spot for a weekend in the countryside

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Really friendly staff on site who made us feel welcome. They let you pitch up wherever you can find a space, so you can opt for a bit of evening/morning shade. The fact that you can have a fire means that you've got somewhere to toast those marshmallows and also creates a brilliant atmosphere on the site. There are fine views across the Sussex countryside to wake up to and even the planes flying out of nearby Gatwick aren't a major problem.
    Excellent value for money, so we'll definitely be packing up the car on a Friday after work and heading there again.

  • Disliked: If you don't fancy roughing it (not showering) then this probably isn't the place for you, but for a weekend break from the big smoke, its perfect.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Fab

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: First time camping so just right for what we needed.
  • Disliked: No showers or washing area but we were only there for one night so it was ok if we stayed any longer would of been a issue .
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Caroline_B1

Spacious and pleasant pitches.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very spacious area. Stayed for the night and had a lovely time. Very basic but that's how camping should be!
    Enjoyable stay. Beautiful views.
  • Disliked: n/a
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Perfect site for families. Very good views

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This was a perfect site for families. Everyone was extremely friendly. The kids all played really well together. Really good views. The sun was shining. The owners were very helpful and friendly. They came around asking if everything was ok. Farm shop well stocked. My kids are already asking when we are going back which is always a good sign when you have children.
  • Disliked: Lack of showers, but I guess that is what true camping is all about! Did it bother us - No. Why - because the kids were having lots of fun and it meant the adults could relax.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Peter_D1

Good

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location and very friendly owners and the price! We have already recommended it to friends despite the water issue.
  • Disliked: Lack of water as I know water pressure was an issue but even a bucket of cold water to wash in would have been good.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Overall a good little place to stay...

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The view and that you can choose your own pitch...
  • Disliked: No showers available, no hot water in the toilet sinks and that the toilets were a porta cabin...otherwise they were clean and had plenty of toilet roll.

    Planes a little noisy in the morning from gatwick airport but that's not the farms fault.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

great stay

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The view was great
    Very friendly
  • Disliked: Liked it all
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for davemason7127

Basic but great

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The owners were fab, nice farm shop, plenty of space, very good value
  • Disliked: Noisy group that arrived late and kept us awake, but were swiftly dealt with by owners in morning.
    Toilets are very basic, but fine.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great location, friendly owners & perfect weekend

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location was great & relaxing. The field was quiet and tranquil, and there was a pub within walking distance!

    There was a very relaxed attitude to when you turn up & leave which was good. And the owners were really friendly.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great little site for a short stay

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: There was a lot of space available with few restrictions on where you could camp and the size of your tent.
    Very reasonable rates
    A nice field where the kids could have a run around and play games safely
    Staff were helpful and the farm has a shop where you could buy food for BBQ's etc.
    In nice countryside close to plenty of things to do
  • Disliked: No showers or washing up facilities so any thing longer than a night or 2 would be impractical.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for aaron_m

nice weekend away

(Family with young children, 2 reviews, 2 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: loads of space for my big tent
    massive field for the kids to run around
    the people who run the farm are very nice and pop around 2 or 3 times a day to see if you are ok
    my girls loved being close to Gatwick and watching all the airplanes
    great price
  • Disliked: toilet block is looking old
    no showers
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

It's a big field with a toilet block.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Bloke was friendly. Field had a nice view. Location good for touring around.
  • Disliked: Toilets very basic. No hot water. Cheapest toilet roll available. Just about clean. Nothing to dry your hands on. Field is under gatwick flight path.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great site, great reception

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We booked the night before and arrived quite late but were greeted with a smile and enjoyed our stay. The toilet block was clean and the site was very clean and tidy, lots of space for the lil uns to run around and great plane spotting!
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Ian_E

Lovely, convenient position with beautiful views.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very easy to find. Good customer service. Beautiful views. Very convenient location. The nearby British Wildlife Centre was the highpoint of our holiday.
    Very good value for money.
    Ability to have camp fires (in basket).

  • Disliked: The noisy foreigners who appeared on the Saturday night blaring Europop! Luckily they went home the next day. Lack of showers. Farm shop was closed for refurbishment.
    Although you could have fires they prefer you to have a fire basket (which you can hire). Some people ignored this and used already burnt ground as fireplace. In my opinion it made no difference having a basket as the fire baskets did as much damage to the turf as a camp fire. In fact probably more so as you could put them where you liked they encouraged more burnt patches of turf. A solution would be to have permanent camp fire spots - although then the farm would not make the extra hire money from the baskets.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

We had a very relaxing few days.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We enjoyed the space and peacefulness of the site. It is good to find a site that is so relaxed about the children playing games, especially ball games and provides enough space. We also enjoyed being able to have a fire pit as the evenings were a bit chiilly.
  • Disliked: The toilets had no lights, but they were clean.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Mixed thoughts

(Extended family, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Beautiful view from our pitch and plenty of room.
  • Disliked: Toilets were dirty, no soap or hand towels. On the Saturday evening cars came into the field and were playing load music for most of the night.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for neil_L

Fantastic staff and owners but spoilt by some visitors from hell!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Staff/owners were really lovely, helpful and supportive.

    Nice setting with beautiful views.
  • Disliked: The awful group next to us - consisting if two dads and four children. The men drank cans of Tennants Extra all day long, their kids were shouting and screaming until 1.00am whilst the dads laughed and swore until gone 3.00am.

    It was our first time camping and had it not been for the hospitality of the owners and obvious shock by other campers, we would have given up forever!
From the manager...

We have identified the "offenders" and they have been notified that they are no longer welcome at the site.
Our sincere apologies to anyone affected and thank you for acknowledging our quick response.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for Russ_I

Great for a last minute overnight camping trip

(Family with older children, 3 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The view is lovely, friendly staff, able to light small campfires and have a BBQ
  • Disliked: Light in the loos not working, paper towels ran out
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for rosie351

Value for money

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: A very friendly camp site with a great view. Nice to get back to basics with the simple facilities provided. The toilets were cleaned and stocked regularly although there were no working lights in there. Would recommend a trip to Goldstone Farm which is just a few minutes drive away.
  • Disliked: Bit of a pain needing a key to use the toilet, towards the end of our stay they were left open which made it a lot easier to access, especially for the children.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely campsite. The owner was a lovely, friendly lady, the field where you could pitch up was huge, plenty of open space for the kids to run around.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The views were amazing, and we liked the fact that you could pitch up wherever you wanted and had lots of space to yourself. They also allow raised camp fires (you could hire the fire basket from the owner of the campsite), which is rare to find in a campsite these days.
  • Disliked: It has no showers, but for one night it didnt matter. Also the Farm shop onsite has now been closed down, and there wasnt really any other shops within walking distance, so you have to drive to go and get anything you need. Next time we'll remember to take everything we need with us.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for davidtymm1

You don't get the farm experience the web site suggests

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Clean toilets
  • Disliked: The farm shop is shut for the foreseeable future
    We were asked to leave when we strayed into the farmyard to see some animals
    The advertised "magnificent view" was spoiled by portaloos strewn round the field from an earlier event
    If you want a deserted field, clean toilets and not much else, this is for you
From the manager...

Sorry this customer was dissappointed, but we would comment as follows :
Our ex farm shop is not advertised as a facility and is not part of the campsite. We dont quite understand how a responsible parent crosses the road from the campsite "strays" through a closed gate into a completely seperate part of the farm, housing our beef cattle and then takes offence when we gently point out this was not a good idea !
We were asked, at short notice to accomodate some Olympic security staff hence 4 temporary portaloos were sited in an adjacent area for 4 days then removed. Clearly they were not a permanent feature.
The 2 acre designated camping area is part of a 10 acre hay meadow surrounded by mature trees and hedgerows, which we find most children love to explore with or without their parents. Also there is a childrens zoo a mile away and the famous British Wildlife Centre 2 miles away.
With all respect, I think perhaps Butlins would suit this customer better.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
3
Google Plus
avatar for spencermarsh

Fantastic location, family run campsite with a relaxed atmosphere.

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Great location
    Very frendly and helpful owners
    Allows last minitue bookings
    Very good value for money
    On arrive you get a welcome pack which highlight great days out for everyone and local pubs with fantastic food

  • Disliked: Not much too dislike about this site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus

<< Go back to Osney Lodge Farm