Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Chafford Park Campsite

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

7.9

Overall rating based on 17 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

76% would recommend this site to a friend.

76% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for Gromm

Lovely sounds from the nature, but won't see us there again.

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Mar 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Loved the fact there where facility to have ground fires, but there were fire pits scattered around for you to love right in front of your tent, and is great to put your feet and legs under to heat them up as it was a bit chilly this time of the year. washing up facilities were very good and a lot of content to help a camper out including bin liners, paper towels and washing up liquid. Owner and people helping were very friendly but sometimes seemed a lack of concern when info is needed. The thing that stands out the most if the sounds from the woods down the bottom of the field including different owl hooting at night and birds in the morning including a pecking of woodpeckers to wake you up.
  • Disliked: I would like to think I've been to enough campsites to have an idea of what works and what doesn't so please understand this is only our opinion. There were a few things that let this place down. One that was most annoying is the fact we had to pay for the showers. Its not expensive but £1 for 10 min, after paying £10 per person per night, you would have expected some worm water would come included free. To an extent the showers themselves where ok but not enough places to hook your clothing were available and the one shower went cold after 2 min, losing the money we used to activate it. The only problem we see with the amount of showers, during the busy season, two showers per gender might be a bit of a fight to get a go, so many the payment option will help make it fair, but expensive.

    There where logs for sale on site, and a notice in the was room informing you of this, but also informed you to not bring other wood onsite. this would not normally be an issue, but with a bag of logs costing £5, for half the amount you would het at a cheap petrol station, this was extremely expensive, especially as we normally burn two to three FULL bags per night.

    The owner had lovely dogs, but the dogs always seem to appear from nowhere un supervised whenever you seem to be preparing food, this was a bit annoying.

    This isn't a downer on the site as such as it is a working farm, but in the dislike as it was unpleasant, but at 7am, there was a tractor spreading manure on the field right behind our tent. Again not a minus for the site as it does state on the website that its a working farm, but a warning when we handed over the money before we set cam would have helped.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
4
Google Plus
avatar for sam_p2

Lovely site, perfect for what we wanted.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We were the only campers so we had loads of privacy.
    The toilets, showers and washing up area were great, very clean.
    We loved the fire pit and logs provided (for £5) as it was March we had a fire both nights to keep us warm.
    Sarah was lovely and we just sent her a text if we needed anything.

    Thinking about coming back with a group of friends and try to hire the whole field.
  • Disliked: The motion sensor in the loo for the lights as the lights went off as soon as you sat down but other than that we loved it all.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for andrew_d8

lovely location

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Oct 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely area, not to far from town, clean campsite, quiet, good shower and bathroom facilities.
  • Disliked: Farm dogs became an annoyance, they were roaming free and begging for food at our campsite and also annoying our dogs.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for carla_68

Wow - amazing weekend, great facilities, amazingly helpful owner

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Its been many years since we had been camping and this was just the best place to re-introduce us to camping and all the wonderful things we love about it. The site is great and the owner is such a regular visitor to make sure all is ok. Warm and welcoming, logs as needed, advice as needed. Cost was great and the rain did not deter us from really soaking up the atmosphere. We met some lovely ladies who welcomed us every evening to their open camp fire.The whole expereince was so lovely that we cannot wait to do it again.
  • Disliked: There was not anything I disliked and the owner always welcomed feedback on improvements. A few mirrors in the bathroom for us vain ones wouldnt go a miss but dont go camping if you are not prepared to go without home comforts.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for vanessa_h0

Ignore any negative reviews.. This is a great site :0)

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything!
    What do you want for £10 a night?
    Where else could you find such a welcoming reception?
    The owner, Sarah was amazing.. Not only did she make regular trips to check on her campers well being but she delivered wood to your tent, allowed us to take shelter in her barn and provided us with many entertaining moments..
    A great weekend with fantastic people..
    Showers are steaming hot, toilets that are clean and actually flush, toilet roll
    readily available, phone charging points, freezer use for ice blocks, farm shop
    and spacious pitches with real camp fires.. (Once you have lit it, of course)!
    Will be returning and would highly recommend.


  • Disliked: 1. Only booking 3 nights, should have stayed for a week!
    2. The ludicrous expectations and attitudes of a family of 18, who decided it was acceptable to keep the entire site awake most of the night (although the owner soon put a stop to this).. and who felt it was acceptable to allow their children to steal the ice cream belonging to the farm shop from the freezer in the barn!
    3. Finally any negative reviews of this site or the owner.. Not called for at all.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for mackemdiver

Review of our weekend

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Site was not to busy.
    Owner very friendly.

  • Disliked: The continual jet noise from aircraft landing at Gatwick (directly under flight path. First plan at approx 6am (even on sunday) until 11 pm.
    No play area for children. If the play in the long grass then beware of cycles and cars driving aling the cut sections that are oblivious to small children.
    Washing facilities are clean but limited (2 toilets and 2 showers) per sex
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for hanneri_s

In general we had a good time camping here.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The fact you are camping in a big circle with a big open space in the middle, you can't see the people across from you.
    The personal touch of the owner coming round to check whether everything in order and if you need anything.
    Being able to make a fire!
    That they converted the barn into ablution blocks, it makes it look really natural.
    Plenty of space for our 2 year old to run around!
  • Disliked: No one coming to meet us on the Friday evening when we arrived and having no wood to make a fire, especially as they specifically ask you not to bring your own wood.
    Needing to have coins to shower.
    No mirrors in bathrooms.
    All of the aeroplanes flying really low over the campsite.
    No chair in showers to put your things on.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Mostly good!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The toilets and showers were good but the showers are metered so take 20p's and £1 coins. We had lots of space before the weekend began and really enjoyed having a camp fire. There are swings in the woodland beside the field which are fun. Tunbridge Wells was nice. The countryside is beautiful and we had some really enjoyable walks.
  • Disliked: We were on foot from the Ashurst train station and at points we had to walk on a busy road which we found a bit scary. The site is literally in the middle of nowhere and if you don't have a car it can be tricky to find footpaths into nearby towns. The nearest town did not have a village shop so on arrival on Thurs eve we had to eat at a pub.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Samantha_B4

Peaceful stay with beautiful surroundings.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The campsite was very quiet and peaceful. Infact when we arrived we thought that we were in the wrong place as we couldn't see any campers around. Staying around the perimiter of the field shielded you from the campers on the other side. (Very quiet)

    The whole stay was lovely, although unfortunately for most of the stay it rained. We also bought some wood to have a fire with and on the dry night of our stay we built the fire and sat around it. The toilets were clean and the owner of the campsite was very friendly.

    Over all we had a brilliant time and it was nice to get away for the weekend. Also we went to a pub called the spotted dog, which was just down the lane. They do lovely food there and I recommend it if you like pub lunch and a friendly atmosphere.
  • Disliked: The only thing that I would say I disliked was the lack of shops in the area. (Make sure that you buy food before you go) other than that it was a lovely camping trip.


    Make sure that you bring change! You have to pay for the showers.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for TONY_J

Excellent site going back next month :)

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: A large site and not to busy it was really secluded and toilets/shower block was exceptionally CLEAN.They have a chest freezer in the barn which was really handy. Allowing a camp fire next to your pitch was a nice touch! Andy & Bently the eccentric dog (his really lovely) made us very welcome and we even met the owner (Sarah) who was very helpful. We enjoyed it so much we are going again next month for another 4 nights :) and this time we are taking our dog, we can't wait!!.... it is really worth a visit!!

  • Disliked: The only thing i can think of is you do get a quite a lot of planes overhead (flight path to Gatwick) but it really didn't bother us we got used to it by the first day!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for john_b7

three nights camping with dog

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: lovely setting,scenery,friendly site owner and staff and some lovely walks.
  • Disliked: Sarah wheres the hot water?
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We went to chafford park campsite as a last minute thing last week.Booked on line and paid £6.00 of overall charge,the rest when we got there.As it was a sunday we had plenty of choice where to pitch.Great field with long grass and pitches around the outer areas with places for fires.great views of surrounding countryside,really chilled and relaxed.Owner of campsite chatty and friendly with a mad dog called bently who comes to visit now and again.Great shower and toilet blocks if your worried about that.Dont really know much else about area as the weather was so good we didn't feel we needed to go anywhere but stay by our tent.
  • Disliked: No complaints at all.Loved it and would definitely go back.Didnt bother us at all but some people might be bothered by the planes.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Tracy_B2

A Gem

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Relaxed, back to nature, quiet and delightful owners
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for katiemowat

Very basic camping site that allows camp fires, perfect for our needs

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Not crowded, formal or over-complicated. The site is basically a field with camping around the edges. Loved the fact we could have a campfire next to our text. Clean toilet and shower facilities in a barn.
  • Disliked: We arrived at 8pm on a Friday night and there was no one there to meet us and show us what was what. Asking other campers we found out that a lady comes round on a quad and quite a few others were waiting for her so we waited a while but no one showed up. We tried phoning the phone number several times but no answer. The site page says not to bring wood as they will supply but we had to go out to a local garage to get some as there was no one there to buy it from. The owner did come by in the morning with wood but that was a bit late considering we planned to cook on a fire the night before! I would suggest perhaps they should have some kind of honesty wood stock, so campers can take what they need and pay when she comes round, rather than waiting around in the cold.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great campsite

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Great campsite. Its a big camping field, big enough to feel that you're almost on your own with plenty of options to overlook the hills or camp under trees. You can buy firewood from the owner and have your own fire near your tent, there was as much firewood available as we wanted. The facilities are pretty good with showers and toilets.
  • Disliked: You just need to be aware that it would be hard to get to without a car. Plus there are only 2 showers (2 male and 2 female) for the whole site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great little campsite!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: loads of walking around and about. Sarah (owner) frequently checked in.
  • Disliked: Could have done with a little info leaflet with a small map of whats about.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Maria_H1

A very good site.

(Solo traveller-female, 1 review, 2 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I arrived late but that was not a problem, I was made to feel welcome and was shown to the camping field. This is a new site, excellant toilet and shower facilities, with a massive 'free to camp where you like' field that has trees around its boundaries.
    With the added bonus of a camp fire, the wood supplied in bags, I enjoyed the liberty of practicing my skills of open fire cooking. Despite its isolated feel, the campsite is in a good location for touring the area while being only about 4 miles from Tunbridge Wells.
  • Disliked: The only downside was the aeroplanes, but that is pretty much the problem all around that area. I would be happy to recommend and use the site again.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus

<< Go back to Chafford Park Campsite