Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Marshford Camping

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.5

Overall rating based on 16 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

87% would recommend this site to a friend.

87% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for 61ab7f3f9f9e4f59b6280b13400920

A basic new site, friendly, well located and good value for money

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Oct 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The owners are welcoming and keen to develop this quiet campsite. Their organic food shop is open Tues- Sat and is well stocked. The setting is rural and there are many walks - linking to the coastal path. Good dog walks and a field (and dog poo bin) is available on site. The site is however by the main road into Appledore (only about a mile away so also walk-able) but we were not disturbed by the traffic. A bonus is that the bus stops at the entrance to the the shop and campsite - a frequent daytime service, less so in the evening.
    The 'organic' theme is noticeable in the campsite e.g Eco friendly washing up liquid provided in the wash up area. Recycling encouraged.
    Good value for money. We will definitely visit again, perhaps for the Appledore Book Festival next year
  • Disliked: We appreciate that the campsite is new and being developed - the main areas for improvement are the toilet,shower and the wash up facilities. Although kept very clean they are basic. There were only two other motor-homes on the site when we visited but at busy times (especially with campers) I expect there can be problems with only 2 loos, 1 shower and 1 wash-up sink. The concrete path access to the building would benefit from being extended around the watertap/bins etc and right up to the door, and the steps improved. The water was not very hot at times and we could not see any form of heating in the 'loo block'.
    There are no specific facilities for children - not an issue for us and there are lots of nearby attractions.
    Suggest - a dog hook by the loos; a brick BBQ near the picnic table; better advertising on the road (if allowed !!); communal indoor eating area for campers
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Philip_M1

Well maintained, pleasant owners, very quiet - just right!

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location - just outside Appledore - on handy bus route. Well maintained, clean and quiet
  • Disliked: Heavy rain - but can't really blame the site
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Deekarendee

Loved this little site......

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We stayed on this site for a week and found it to be perfect for our needs. Loo's & shower were lovely and clean with plenty of hot water.
    The organic shop on site was a treat selling lots of different items and daily fresh bread, rolls & tea cakes - delicious.
    Vanessa and her family were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
    The site is in a great location close to beautiful Appledore. We managed to drive 400+ miles around the area.
    Can't wait to return.
  • Disliked: Absolutely NOTHING
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for jamesdickens

Could not have been better value or more friendly with smart clean fac

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We all liked the simple clean fresh Toilet and shower block.. just one shower,, but it was big and easy and we all managed no problem..

    The washing up area was also simple and clean with endless hot water.. perfect..

    owners were friendly and accommodating.. the onsite shop is worth the trip on its own.. easy to town. easy and nice bike rides to sea... and dunes...

    we all had Bikes. / canoes and kit and they could not have been more helpful with local knowledge..

    Good size, well mowed, safe flat pitches... clean smart Toilets, lots of hot water, regular empty to bins. near road but hardly heard it... not a problem at all.
    such great value.. will be back this summer for sure.. a gem..
  • Disliked: had to go home after only a couple of days!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

review of camp site

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location was good with easy access to Bideford and surrounding area. I think there is room for improvement but for me and my husband it was not one of the best camp sites we have been to.
  • Disliked: The camp site only has one shower and two toilets not enough as whilst there one night there was over 30 people camping. There is one room with a sink and small mirror to use but this is not adequate if you wish to see putting make up on or doing your hair. Also only one sink to wash up in and because there was no bulb working unable to wash up in the dark.
    I was not too bothered by the noise of the traffic adjacent to the site as this was blocked out by other campers loud music.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Good location for beaches but still a drive away small campsite

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Small campsite when not full area for children to play in. Nice owner.
  • Disliked: Only one shower and two toilets not really enough in high season. Road next to campsite so cars could be heard at all times. All local attractions had to be driven to.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A very enjoyable stay.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We liked the small campsite, the owners were very helpful,gave us lots of
    information of the area, provided us with bus timetables ,nothing was to much
    trouble for them.

    Facilities shower & toilets were very clean.,a nice quite site .
  • Disliked: We didnt dislike anything .
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Trevor_M0

Great little campsite.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Toilets / showers were clean.
    Plenty of space between pitches
    Very friendly
    Small site.
    Location was good for us but had a car so wasn't worried about driving.
  • Disliked: Bit of road noise but bearable during night.
    Only 1 shower.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

great site

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: really friendly people Dave waited for my late arrival which was appreciated as I didnt arrive until 10.30pm and was new to site . Toilets basic but clean . grass newly cut and clean . enjoyed my safe . would go again. they have an organic shop --- fab ... Qiet site alhough near a road ... I slept well thanks Dave .see you soon
    Suzi and George
  • Disliked: nothing . got what ou pay for at great value .
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for kelvin_l

quiet camp site close to Bideford, easy walking distance to appledore

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Quiet campsite with all the neccesary facilities, an excellent organic shop on the site.

  • Disliked: no dislikes
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Ben_H

Quiet site with very friendly owners.

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The campsite owners were extremely friendly. We had a few issues with our van battery and they kindly jump started it on one day and then lent us their battery charger on another day - excellent service.

    The toilet and shower block was very clean.

    Lovely farm shop.


  • Disliked: Nothing really!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

The pitch for our tent was generous and reasonably level with just a gentle downhill slope

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The owners were very friendly and they sell organic produce with they grow themselves. The shop is well stocked and Very handy
  • Disliked: The campsite is situated alongside a busy A road and although quite after 11pm early morning traffic sounds can be heard. The ablutions could use a spring clean but all fully serviceable.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

good value

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: small campsite ,friendly owners ,nice shop
  • Disliked: nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A good place to stay if you want access to local activities and are not too worried about leaving home comforts behind!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The fact that it was a relatively small campsite with basic facilities in a good location for local services.
  • Disliked: The main road right next to the site, but this wasn't a big issue.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Enjoyed my stay

(Solo traveller-male, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The friendliness of the owners - ideal site to stay for walks along the local coastline.

    Will definitely be returning in the future.
  • Disliked: There is nothing I disliked about the site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for suanchmo

Stayed for long weekend with 2 mini dachshunds.

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Vannessa and her staff were very friendly and helpful. The amenities were substantial and the campsite was more than pleasant to be on.The camp shop which sells only organic foods was wonderful. Home made breads and a choice of cheeses to be envied by many other shops. A wide variety of other stuff too. We look forward to staying again
  • Disliked: There was nothing to dislike.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus

<< Go back to Marshford Camping