Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Hawkshead Youth Hostel

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.7

Overall rating based on 31 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

90% would recommend this site to a friend.

90% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for matthew_c3

Great Campsite - Quiet, Clean, Good Facilities, Friendly Staff

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Camped here during a cycling/hillwalking weekend in September. Nice, quiet, grassed area area for tents (quite small - probably maximum 5 or 6 family sized tents?) alongside permanent camping pods. Tent pitches are level.

    As a camper you have access to a communal kitchen with cutlery & utensils, refrigerators for storing your food and hobs & ovens to prepare your food. This is great and makes preparing food whilst camping really easy - just bring the ingredients.

    Shower facilities are great and appear to have been recently refurbished. Nice hot showers. It is a unisex shower room with 3 shower enclosures.

    Really enjoyed our stay here and will probably book again if we return to the Lakes. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
  • Disliked: Nothing. Things that didn't bother me which might bother others: shower room is unisex and no electric hook up on tent pitches. May need to bring tent pegs suitable for hard ground as ground is a little rocky.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for susanwilkinson18062

Great camping experience

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: A few of us camped and others stayed in a pod. It was really good, nice and quiet especially considering it was August bank holiday weekend. It was great to have use of the hostel kitchen facilities including fridge/freezer, although there was very little cooking equipment and cutlery there so it was lucky we had brought our own. It was a nice walk to Hawkshead, only a small part of it was on the road. It was kind of the hostel to let us leave the tents up a bit longer on last day so they had chance to dry before we packed them away. Great toilet/shower facilities specifically for campers. The pod was great and it was really good that modern outdoor table and chairs provided for each pod. It was also really good that there were a couple of picnic benches on the communal grass area for campers to use. There were also bricks for resting disposable bbq's on.
  • Disliked: The lack of crockery/kitchen equipment and only one outdoor washing up sink.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for 72dg

A night in the Pods

(Family with young children, 2 reviews, 2 photos)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: had a last minute desire to get away for the bank holiday weekend, unfortunately everything in the entire Lakes was booked up till I found one night available in the Pods. As it was pretty much the same price as a tent for the night we booked it.
    Checking in - great staff
    The Pod - looked literally brand new, immaculately clean
    The Site - great facilities, especially handy if its going to rain
    Facilities - clean and modern mostly
  • Disliked: Not a lot, if camping the ground looked very stony.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for chris_p3

Arrived at Hawkeshead YHA to find they had not received my booking!

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Nix. Naught. Nothing. Zip. Nada.
  • Disliked: I disliked the fact that I travelled by car for three hours only to find that my booking had not been recieved by the YHA Hawkeshead. There is a failure in the system that allows this to happen. The YHA were very apologetic and were only able to offer an attrocious room. Which was refused

    Pitchup have my deposit for doing an incomplete job. I wish I had never bothered with Pitchup. My recommendation to all that visit your site is, if you wish to book anything you see on this site look it up and cut out the middle man by booking direct.

    I would recommend the camping pods at Hawkeshead YHA but not Pitchup
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Loved the camping pods, will be making a return visit

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I loved how calm it was and that pods provided lights and electric making camping comfortable, the pods looked and felt brand spanking new. Also the shower rooms were new and clean.

    Me and my partner stayed in a 4 person pod and liked the extra room for only £10 more.

    we enjoyed having our breakfast overlooking the old manor house gardens, beautiful setting.

  • Disliked: not a lot really.
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

very good.

(Solo traveller-male, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: nice place with clean facilities and friendly,helpful staff.
  • Disliked: nothing.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for lorraine_h

Good for one night stay

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very clean pitch and facilities. Friendly staff. YHA outside seating area is lovely with a nice view - but no views from the actual campsite.
  • Disliked: Very small campsite so we had to camp quite close to other tents - hence was kept awake all night with snoring! Campsite feels quite remote, which can be considered a bonus or not depending on what you are looking for. Although this is a YHA with a bar, the bar is quite small - so don't expect anything too sophisticated. I probably wouldn't choose to stay here again as I would prefer a larger campsite with a view. Unfortunately, all these were booked the weekend we wanted. Whether you like this campsite or not will depend on what you are looking for. Probably good for a one stay over if you are hiking etc. or if you are looking for somewhere quiet, and this is quiet - apart from the snoring!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Good

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Ideal for a nights camping
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Perfect!!!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Loved it here, beautiful location and we echo all the good comments re showers etc.
    Yes it's 15 - 20 mins walk to Hawkshead which for us was no bother.
    No parking by the tent but you can drive on to off load etc so I preferred the no car on pitches!!!
    We will defo rtn !!!
  • Disliked: Leaving !!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Roxanne_L

Nice site, good facilities & good value for money

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site is nice, the small camping field was exactly what we needed. The facilities we had access to (showers, toilets, washing up area, self catering kitchen, main reception selling essentials) was also good.
  • Disliked: Nothing! Ooh, except how stoney the ground was so a few bent tent pegs but no biggie!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Fantastic weekend away

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Great place and location ;)
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike - everything was perfect
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Good spot

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location is perfect. Right off the main road (though the signage is very difficult to see if you are heading northbound). The staff is friendly, the facilities are clean, and the location is perfect. We were there to see Beatrix Potter stuff. It's located right in between Hill Top Farm and the Beatrix Potter gallery (in Hawshead). The Hawkshead village is one-of-a-kind.
  • Disliked: The ground was hard...but that's to be expected when camping. :)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent place to stay, quiet cllean and near all facilities...

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The fact that the site is near to the clean shower block which is modern and warm, clean toilets and a place seperate to wash pots.

    The house is beautiful and all staff friendly and left us to it really. Bar on site and food available if you cant be bothered to cook over a camp stove so a great place to take someone who might not be that keen on trying full blown camping!

    Very near to pubs and shops and right at the heart of the lakes so easy to access all tourist attractions such as Go Ape and also a fantastic place for walking.

    Really hope they keep some of the bottom field for Campers as PODS seem to be taking all the room up in the lakes an its not affordable for some.

    You may even glance the famous nieghbour!!
  • Disliked: Nothing!!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

chilled out zone

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: *we camped in the field at the rear of the youth hostel opposite the pods, when we arrived there was only 2 other tents on the field, we set up and had a wander into the village, approx 1 walk mile away, Hawkshead has 4 pubs, church, cafe's, numerous shops and is very picturesque and a Co-op to get supplies.

    *The staff at the hostel were all very helpful, and gave us lots of information location of the self-catering kitchen(although we did not use) the showers (brill), the wash-up-area, and toilets all good and regularly cleaned. Campers can also use facilities in the hostel, food menu, bar, and lounge. (i cannot comment on these, as we did not use)

    * As there was no socket in the shower area, the staff gave me a key where there was access to a socket, really helpful.

    * staff gave lots of information regarding a future group/event booking for 2014, deffo going back next year.

  • Disliked: * that you are unable to drive car onto field to unload, we had to carry all the equipment back and forth from car park.

    *if you walk to eswaithe water cafe/boats, be careful, as some motorist drive too fast on country roads and we nearly got run over twice, there is no footpath.
    * no socket in shower area to plug hair dryer into.

    * Be aware that the youth hostel attracts groups as well as families, this was not a problem for us, but one camper got slightly angry with the groups evening games.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent & facilities

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Decent pitches, good location, nice secluded camping field with shower & toilet block, self catering facilities and hostel very close by.
    15 mins walk into Hawkshead.
    Nice & very clean shower facilities.
    So good, our friends our going back this coming weekend for a second visit.
    Fabulous friendly & helpful staff.
  • Disliked: No plug sockets in shower area to plug in hairdryer! We had to use a socket in the lounge in the hostel. A socket or a 'pay for hairdryer' would be great.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Phil_S3

Really really good

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Showers, kitchen and the views
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Hiking and Camping bank holiday weekend

(Solo traveller-male, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The staff at the hawkshead youth hostel were really helpful with all my needs, I dropped my bag off early and returned later with better weather to pitch my tent, the food was outstanding for the price i had two courses for £9.95 and the quality was exceptional the chefs were really helpful at my evening meal and at breakfast.
  • Disliked: there were some noisy neighbours that were up and lairy at about 2:00am in the morning but as the were having a good time and this didnt really effect me it was fine.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great facilities and location, would definitely come again

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Nice family-orientated campsite with use of brilliant facilities and very close to Hawkshead village. Staff were very friendly and helpful with weather advice and onward travel plans. We struggled to find somewhere to stay for just one night on the Bank Holiday and were very happy to be able to stay here. Cannot recommend enough.
  • Disliked: Nothing!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely camping area in a great location

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Use of the cooking facilities , showers and indoors areas made waking to slight rainfall no problem at all
  • Disliked: Nothing at all
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for rorymcqueen123

Great site with friendly staff

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Enough privacy to enjoy a stay, yet with a friendly feel that you get in a good campsite. It was easy to book and even change the booking with no problems. The staff we very helpful on the phone prior to arrival.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Quiet with good facilities

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: My partner and I stayed at YHA Hawkshead for 2 nights over the Easter weekend. Checking into the site was very easy and we were given clear instructions on where all the facilities were and how to access them. We were also given the option to pitch out tent wherever we liked on the camping field although I suspect you might have less choice should it be busy. The self catering kitchen was useful and the shower blocks were brilliant and always clean. We made use of the secure bike store which was another useful facility to have access to. We really enjoyed our stay at the campsite especially as we had easy access to Grizedale Forest and they did allow us to bring our dog provided he was on a lead at all times.
  • Disliked: The parking facilities could do with having an expansion as on one evening it was full and we had to park in a potentially awkward place for people to get past. Unfortunately whilst we staying the boiler broke down due to a lack of oil and so we had no hot water or heating in the camping shower block. Despite this the staff did allow us to use the main house facilities although it was a little less convenient for us. As you've read in a few other reviews the main house is very dated and looks like it good do with a freshen up but I do think you get what you pay for. The YHA website also mentions there is a Bridleway that leads from the back of the site into Grizedale Forest - unless we followed the wrong path this is in fact a Footpath so any bikers be prepared to walk your bikes uphill!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

What a great stay. What a great place!

(Solo traveller-male, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Oct 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I stayed in a camping pod, which was brilliant. The pod was very clean and cosy with an electrical hookup and a small heater. It was very warm and comfortable. I would recommend this to anyone. The YHA was great. A lovely house with great character and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The facilities were great and very clean and tidy. I have read that the YHA are considering selling the property or completly renovating it. Please don't it would be such a waste and spoil the character of the house. Maybe just a lick of paint!
    Can't wait to return.
  • Disliked: There was nothing to dislike.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Demelza_S

Extremely well situated campsite. Great facilities and helpful staff.

(Solo traveller-female, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The campsite was a great size. Not too large and surrounded by trees and a stream, overlooking one of the Eswaite waters.
    The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the facilities were great. This was my first trip to the Lake District and I was there for an entire week. I would certainly stay there again.
  • Disliked: Nothing at all. It was safe, tidy and all I had hoped.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Cespite the rain my family had a very pleasant stay. The hostel was in a lovely building with fantastic views and grounds. Would definitely stay again.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The limit on numbers who could camp.
    The camp proximity to all amenities.
    The very friendly and helpful staff.
  • Disliked: The rain!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Stephen_M0

Great location...great site

(Mature couple, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The YHA was in a great location and ideal for Windemere and Coniston.
    The YHA was excellent with really good facilities, the showers and toilets were clean, modern with plenty of hot water.
    In the main building there is a small bar, dining room, self catering kitchen as well as a Yha restaurant, drying room and last but not least friendly and informative staff.
  • Disliked: Nothing...at £84 for 6 nights camping in the high season...what.s not to like!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Small, pretty campsite with all the facilities of the hostel

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The well equipped kitchen, free hot showers, gardens, availability of cooked food and that there was plenty of space in the small camping field.
  • Disliked: Uphill walk to the toilet and showers
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Sadly

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: all the facilities, pitches, location, can not say a bad word about this site on the tenting side. Really close to Hawkshead village which is a beautiful place to spend the weekend in and the food was fantastic.
  • Disliked: we arrived friday evening and a couple of hours later a group of 3 young men arrived who seemed to be friendly enough untill we had a lovely walk into Hawkshead village , on our return the group of young men had grew from 3 to 10 to 12 young men and women, who proceeded to party all night untill 5.10am the next morning, resulting in no sleep for us with a planned walk on the day did not bode very well
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Phil_W

A wonderful hostel - liked the pods and the staff were helpful and friendly

(Mature couple, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The house, the grounds and the views. The staff were great and the beer tasty... The pod was roomy comfortable and well soundproofed. Planning next visit already.
  • Disliked: Could do with some newer books in library. really didn't like the drunken lairy pillocks camping at bottom of field but that is not YHA's fault and it was only 1 night
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Gary_S0

A great friendly site, with superb facilities and extremely friendly and helpful staff. A real gem of a find.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The friendly staff, location, facilities, food and drink
  • Disliked: The rain
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Michael_B

Wonderful

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: May 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location: a beautiful place acessible only by country road which is a plus for any hostel.
    The staff at the hostel: as friendly as staff could possibly get, and they leave you to it too! One woman even came over and asked for a picture, which was lovely.
    The hostel itself: it truly is a beautiful place.
  • Disliked: The showers provided: they were very small - but for free showers what could one expect? This wouldn't go on my 'reasons not to go again' list though.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Teneille__S

Great

(With friends, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: May 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The staff was very friendly and the location was great. The facilities in the youth hostel were good and useful and easily acsessable. We wanted to camp but found it hard to find somewhere That wasnt gonna be overcrowded. Fortunately hawkshead YHA was not like that. The staff let us get on with it which enhanced the camping experience. Can't wait to go again
  • Disliked: Nothing that I disliked
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus

<< Go back to Hawkshead Youth Hostel