Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Borrowdale Youth Hostel

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

9.4

Overall rating based on 8 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

100% would recommend this site to a friend.

100% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for mandi_w

We stay as often as we can. We love it! !

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The pitches are spacious. Being able to use the hostel's facilities. . The self catering kitchen with ample space and utensils etc.. the relaxed atmosphere in the lounge.. we really enjoy staying here and its great value for money.. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the views are gorgeous.
  • Disliked: We stayed for 6 nights this time and for 3 of those nights theres was a large group of german visitors with children who the adults allowed to take over the kitchen on 2 nights so we couldnt get to cook and had to eat out. We were also unfortunate enough to encounter a group of young people with no consideration for other campers.. thinking it was ok to still be shouting etc at 2am.. this site is used mainly by couples and families who tend to be up early for walking so the noise was not appreciated. I must stress that we have stayed here lots of times and have never experienced this before. We will definately be back over and over again.
From the manager...

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay, we are really pleased you like our hostel & campsite.

We are a very popular hostel & campsite and when we are busy the self catering kitchen does get a lot of use os can get quite busy. We ask that all our guests are midfull of noise after 11pm. If in future you find yourself camping next to noisy neighbours please let us know in the morning and we will do our best to help :)

We hope to see you again soon!
Many Thanks
Chris

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for trishasmith965

Stunning

(Young couple, 1 review, 1 photo)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This was amazing. The campsite was clean and tidy and very friendly. The staff were really helpful.
    We stayed here for 3 nights with the intention of climbing Scafell Pike and exploring. When we got to the campsite we were pleasantly suprised to find a spotlessly clean self catering kitchen with hot water, cookers, microwave, fridge, freezer and storage room. There is a bar and a little cafe that cooks good, homely food at a reasonable price.
    The site is just a short 40 minute walk to Seathwaite at the foot of Scafell along the river and through stunning countryside.
    The showers and toilets are clean, the beer and food is good...what more could you ask for
  • Disliked: Nearest cash point was in Keswick, about 5 miles away but as the site takes cards and you could put food and drink on your tab this was no major issue.
From the manager...

Thanks for a fantastic review.... we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay at YHA Borrowdale and hope to see you again soon :)

Many Thanks
Chris

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Jenny_R0

Great campsite!

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Great value for money, lots of room, helpful staff, unlimited amount of cars, no curfew on noise, able to use YHA facilities such as toilets, showers, bar and breakfast in the morning.
  • Disliked: Not allowed to take your own drink as they are a licensed premises and also no mobile phone signal for about 4 or 5 miles.
From the manager...

Thanks for an amazing review... next time your here if you need mobile signal we suggest a walk to the top of Castle Cragg. It takes about 45 minutes to an hour and is well worth the walk for the views alone. Mobile coverage at the top is an added bonus.
All the best,
Chris
YHA Borrowdale

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Heather_C1

Pleasant stay

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Quiet location, access to hostel facilities, pubs with good food within walking distance.
  • Disliked: N/A
From the manager...

Thanks for a great review... we hope to see you again soon :)

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Superb facilities and good location.

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The facilities are great. You have full use of the hostel's kitchen, dining room, bar, showers etc.
  • Disliked: Not much!
From the manager...

Thanks for an amazing review... we hope to see you again soon :)
All the best
Chris
YHA Borrowdale

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Stayed at Borrowdale for the weekend as we were climbing Scafell Pike.

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Things I liked about Borrowdale:
    -knowledgeable and friendly staff
    -great value restaurant (three courses for £11.95)
    -bar with two local ales on tap, a fire and a nice atmosphere
    -parking spaces
    -good showers and toilets
    -self catered kitchen with plenty of pots, pans and plates
    -great setting

  • Disliked: No complaints; the only thing is that it's a little walk from anywhere else so only option is to eat in if not driving,
From the manager...

Thanks for a fantastic review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you again soon :)
Best Regards
Chris

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent trip

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The staff at the hostel were all very friendly and helpful. Excellent facilities- food was lovely in the restaurant and lovely atmosphere in the bar. Not a long drive from Keswick and pubs very close to the hostel.
  • Disliked: Only negative was the weather! Would consider staying in the hostel next time instead of camping.
From the manager...

Thanks for an amazing review, we look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Fantastic Location For scenery & walking Great Value

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location is perfect for all standard of walkers.Very peaceful and relaxing right next to woods & river derwent, in middle of walking routes, 30 mins away from keswick town. Easy access to public transport, pub within walking distance. Staff really helpful, facilities very clean. Good for tent users we were able to use selfcatering kitchen,toilet & wash facilities & drying room, we made use of the onsite bar & games room for our 10 year old.
  • Disliked: Campers toilet could do to include a mirror & socket for hair dryer. With pitches being none electric there is no where to plug in even if you had to pay a bit extra this would be helpful. Also should put a ban on BBQ's our tent got burnt thanks to next door neighbours. Pitch quite rocky.
From the manager...

Thanks for your review, we hope to see you again soon. We plan to add a mirror and socket to the campsite toilet over the next few weeks :)

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus

<< Go back to Borrowdale Youth Hostel