Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Hillcrest Park

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

9.3

Overall rating based on 58 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

93% would recommend this site to a friend.

94% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for emma_b15

Lovely Place and Lovely People

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We stayed in a pod which had stunning views over the valley.
    The site had a well equipped kitchenette which had washers, dryers, kettle and microwave.
    There were plenty books to read and the two owners couldn't do more to help.
    Very nice people.
  • Disliked: The pod could have done with some hooks on the doors. As it was quite windy, the doors kept blowing shut.
From the manager...

Aw shucks, Emma - that's a lovely review, thank you! Glad you enjoyed the stay - and a top tip about the door hooks; we'll put that on the list of 'Improvements To Do' !

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Michael_L0

lovely stay

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Feb 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Received a lovely warm friendly welcome by the owner Kate, she showed us round and give us lots of information where to go go pubs, taxies etc. Showers were very clean with nice toiletries and a fresh towels to use. Gorgeous views all around the site, had a microwave, very handy for warming up the pasties we had brought. We stayed in a pod and was very impressed. Would deffinately stay here againe and have recommended it to family and friends.
  • Disliked: nothing
From the manager...

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and were impressed with the Pods. Hope to see you here again one day. It's even better in the summer! Kate & Ed

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for william_t0

Wonderful hosts on a lovely site

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Feb 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Kate and Ed were wonderlful, finding us a pitch even though they were full due to pitchup.com not passing on the booking to them.

    Great site with lovely views.
  • Disliked: nothing
From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review, Mr Taylor, and I'm glad we were able to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat! Hope to see you here again, now that you know where we are!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for chris_h11

A gem of a site, spectacular views and spot on facilities!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jan 2014
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very friendly owner who walked us up to our pitch on arrival (we were a little late!).
    The site is immaculately kept even for the time of year, all facilities clean and tidy and no sign of winter downtime.
    The toilet block was perfect, hot, powerful showers and really clean.
    Lots of local information supplied in the amenties block that would be really useful if you didn't know the area.
  • Disliked: Nothing!
From the manager...

Your positive feedback is much appreciated, and I hope you enjoyed your stay. Since you were here, we've tiled out all the shower cubicles and are putting in extra sinks and urinals, so I hope if you come back you will notice an improvement. Thanks again, Kate

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for rebecca_c4

excellent peaceful stay

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Dec 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I would definatley recommend staying in the pod! Although it was a novelty it would never wear off because it has head room, heat, electric point, lighting and a better view (thanks to the glass doors) compared to a tent!
    Kate and Ed are a lovely, helpful couple that made us feel very welcome.
    The site was clean, tidy and small (cosy) but with acres of land around it.
    Hillcrest have thought of everything you could need to make your stay easier- microwave, wash room, hire an airbed, basic supplies for sale, parking, etc...
    The facilities were clean and bright.
    Peaceful location but still you could easily reach Richmond and other surrounding towns.
    Kate has good local knowledge and made sure we knew places we could eat, go for the day, etc...
    Easily reached by phone or email and replied quickly.
    There was no lock out time on a night e.g. site entrance gate that shut at 11pm...
  • Disliked: nothing!
From the manager...

I'm so pleased you had a good stay, and thank you for the great review. It's always nice to hear that people enjoy the place as much as we do,. Hope to see you here again one day! Kate

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for alexandra_g

Weekend stay

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Nov 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Clean and tidy site & shower block area. Good sized pitch with easily accessible hook up point. Very friendly campsite owners. Would only come as the two of us without the children though. Will definitely re-visit.
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike.
From the manager...

Thanks for taking the time to post a positive and helpful review - we hope to see you here again! Ed and Kate

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for jonathanetwell

Nice and cosy

(Young couple, 1 review, 2 photos)

  • Date stayed: Oct 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Spent a night at Hillcrest in one of the pods. The wooden pods are empty save for a lamp and a heater. They are very clean and you can easily stand up in them and move around. Bring your blankets, sleeping bags etc and it is very cosy. Concrete slabs are available to put BBQs on and each pod has a picnic table which can be folded into just a bench. There are toilets, shower facilities and washing up facilities available in a communal building which also lots of tourist information and details of the local area. The nearest shop was 3 miles away and a taxi there and back cost us 6 pound.
  • Disliked: Nothing. I couldn't see a tea towel in the washing pots area and I think having one available is the only thing I would change.
From the manager...

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a positive review, and all your useful hints and tips for visitors. We now put a couple of tea towels in the pot washing room, and we also have a microwave and fridge for everyone's use - so thanks also for that feedback. Do visit again!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for alex_b0

Fantastic, Friendly, Clean, Great Pod, Great Value

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Oct 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We recently stayed in a camping pod at Hillcrest Park and enjoyed our stay. Kate was very welcoming,friendly and very helpful on our arrival. We stayed in the pod named 'Winston' which had its own table/bench (which all the pods have on the site) and hard standing areas which were good for cooking on. The toilet/shower facilities were very clean and the site was very peaceful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and cant wait to come back !
  • Disliked: Nothing :)
From the manager...

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Since you were here we've tiled out all the shower cubicles, so I hope you do come back and your next stay will be even better! Kate

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for sarah_s6

Fantastic, clean, friendly, helpful, dog friendly. high recommend

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I can't recommend Hillcrest enough :) it is very well planned and maintained. The pods are beautiful and clean. There are so many nice touches from a fridge in the washing up area to free hair dryer in the shower block. There is even a fantastic information area which had local walks to dog friendly pubs, info on local attractions, pubs, shops etc There are magazines and books avalible. Great dog walking field. We came with no camping equipment except sleeping bags and they suplied the rest including milk, tea, coffee, stove etc at such a reasonable rate, it blew us away :) Unfortunatly our car broke down while on holiday and they let us stay on for another night while the AA were fixing it, and were so sympathetic and helpful. All in all a major top A++++++ campsite!
  • Disliked: I can honestly say there was no down side here at all!!
From the manager...

Thank you, Sarah! It's always lovely to hear that people enjoy their stay with us. Come again!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for nicolapilmoor

Fantastic site, amazing pod & perfect location

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We liked everything about Hillcrest Park. My husband and 13 year old daughter and myself arrived on a Friday afternoon and stayed until the Sunday.
    It was the quietest and cleanest site we've ever stayed at.
    The pod was amazing and it was lovely to be able to have a lamp and plug socket available. My daughter wasn't bored for a second which was a miracle as there are walks to go on, books available to read and on the Saturday we spent the day at loads of local attractions that were very near the site.
    It was the perfect weekend break away and I would recommend it to anyone.
  • Disliked: Having to go home!
From the manager...

Aww, thanks for the great review Nicola. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you here again - remember we're open all year!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for babydumpling

Really dog friendly Camping Pods!

(With friends, 1 review, 1 photo)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The owners are really friendly and welcoming.
    The camping pods we stayed in were in a small enclosure which was brilliant for us as we had 3 dogs with us and were able to have them off lead when we were in the pods. There is also a huge field where our dogs could get rid of any energy they had left.
    The facilities available are clean and easily accessible.
  • Disliked: If the fence had a covering on it to fill the big gaps it would be perfect, as small dogs that like to escape need to be chained up otherwise.
From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review, and we're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thanks also for the feedback - we'll add it to the list of winter jobs!!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for V

Lovely clean, dog friendly site

(Solo traveller-female, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: On arrival I was greeted with a warm welcome and all the information I needed for my stay. The pods are great - clean and with a heater (which I didn't need!) and light. The site seemed pretty full but didn't feel overcrowded, and the facilities were clean and very well equipped. Having my dogs with me, the dog field was fantastic. It was lovely to be somewhere where (well-behaved) dogs are truly welcome! This meant I could relax and enjoy my stay.

    Thank you Kate and Ed for the thought and care you put into your site.


  • Disliked: Nothing really!

    Some more hooks in the pods as someone else mentioned would be helpful, and access to a kettle either in the pods or in the main block would be the cherry on the icing on the cake!
From the manager...

Thank you so much for posting such a positive review - and it's always great to hear people appreciate all our efforts! We're really pleased you enjoyed yourself and hope you come back again. You can use a travel kettle in the pods - but the feedback is duly noted. Something to add to the list for winter!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Kristina_S

Fantastic!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: What a fantastic place! My partner and I (and 2 dogs) rented a camping pod for 3 nights for a long weekend and we had a great time. The site only has about 10 pods in total plus it has hard standing for caravans and motorhomes but it is in no way crowded.

    The facilities are great and as for the views - stunning. The owners, Kate and Ed, can't do enough for you and are a hive of information about things to see and do in the surrounding area.

    They also have a number of 1 and 2 bedroom cottages on site, which we took a look at while we were there. In fact, we enjoyed it so much, we are thinking of renting one of these and going for a week next year!
  • Disliked: Nothing
From the manager...

Kristina - so pleased to hear you enjoy the place as much as we do, and thank you for taking the time to give us such a positive review. Hope to see you here again, either in a pod or a cottage! Kate and Ed

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

excellent holiday

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: recently stayed in a pod in hill crest, we were very happy with the site and found it very clean
    and aminities excellent. The owners were very friendly and very helpful. I would recommend this site and would return.
  • Disliked: none
From the manager...

Thank you for the positive review, Jayne. It is much appreciated when people take the time to give us feedback. Hope to see you again!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Rebecca_B0

Camping pods experience is great fun.

(Young couple, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I liked that Hillcrest Park is so dog friendly and the facilities were fantastic. There was plenty of room in the small camping pod for two adults, a large dog and all our camping equipment. Hillcrest Park is also ideally located for visiting surrounding attractions. The campsite owners are extremely friendly.
  • Disliked: There was not much to dislike about the place.
From the manager...

Thank you so much for this review, Rebecca - and I'm really sorry we missed you when you left! Glad to hear you enjoyed it and hope to see you again some time. Kate and Ed

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Not really a campsite for young children

(Extended family, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Found the pods very clean and tidy, washing facilities clean and nice. Overall Hillcrest Park is a well looked after site.
  • Disliked: We went as a group and on arrival felt unwelcomed, not to sure if this was due to having young children and other people on the site were regulars and the park staff didn't want us to upset them, but the man who we first dealt with came across unpleasant and this made us feel that he didn't really want us at his site.

    The grass on the playing field could have been cut a little shorter for the children to play.

    In general I think it is a nice site but maybe more suitable for people without children.
From the manager...

Dear Mr and Mrs Watson. I'm so sorry you felt unwelcome. Neither myself nor my husband, Ed, would ever want our guests to feel like that (we don't have staff - we own and run the place ourselves with no help). We don't normally accept groups as large as your's (a party of 18 or so), and we also let you hold a reservation on one of the Pods without paying for it in advance - on a busy Saturday in July - so I'd like to think we tried to accommodate you. However, it can be a bit difficult when a lot of people arrive all at once - so we probably won't do it again!! We are always happy to have families with children - as evidenced by previous reviews. Kate and Ed

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for beckywaller

A fantastic site - perfect location and excellent facilities

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We have just stayed for a week at Hillcrest in a camping pod - two adults, one child and two dogs. The pods are a great - a welcome upgrade from camping this year. There is plenty of room inside (we opted for the larger one having two dogs) and the plug sockets and lights mean that even on rainy evenings there is somewhere cosy to sit. We cooked every night on the decking outside and the table / bench is a welcome addition for preparing and eating food. We were lucky enough to be positioned next to the large dog exercise field and had uninterrupted views - lovely to wake up to each day.
    The owners are very friendly and helpful and we were especially pleased at Kate's recommendation of the river. It is a two minute drive from the site and provided us with hours of fun on a sunny day - the dogs loved it and we had great fun fishing and paddling - there is a perfect natural pool for a swim too.
    The busiest night saw all of the pods filled and most of the hard standing pitches seemed full too but we didn't feel overcrowded at all. The shower / washing up block is within a minute of all pods / pitches and the site itself is really well maintained.
    Barnard Castle is only ten minutes away and has all of the amenities needed for stocking up for campsite cooking.
    This site is perfect for families who want to have a peaceful and restful week away. Our six year old was never bored, she had the huge field to play in and plenty of space around the pod for games too. We have had a brilliant week and will be returning when we can, I cannot recommend this site highly enough. Thank you Kate and Ed.
  • Disliked: There is nothing at all to dislike about this site, it is probably the nicest we have stayed in.
From the manager...

Becky - thank you again for this really lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to having you visit again sometime. Kate and Ed

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great facilities, wonderful view and helpful owners

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This was our first stay as travelers in a camper-van, we pitched everything up on the wrong side and the owner was so polite when he asked us to switch. The facilities were immaculate and the site was just what we needed and will definitely be back .
  • Disliked: nothing
From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you here again soon! Kate and Ed

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for boxertwin69

Good site for relaxing. Better for stopovers than extended breaks.

(Solo traveller-male, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Quiet, friendly, civilised, relaxing.
  • Disliked: No facilities nearby, public transport poor, area too hilly / remote for cycling, nothing for children, unable to get TV or internet, expensive for what it is. Lots of flies. Wood pidgeons will keep you awake with their constant coo-ing!
From the manager...

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. I'm sorry you found so much to dislike. Regarding facilities, we have two pubs serving food within 1.5miles of the site and Barnard Castle is just a 10min drive away- and we sell bits and bobs from our kitchen if you've forgotten anything. There is a regular bus service from Winston which goes between Barnard Castle and Darlington, and we have a taxi driver practically next door who ferries people around for very reasonable sums. The area is extremely popular with cyclists - probably why Le Tour is coming here next year. We have a 3 acre field on site for children to run around and play games in, and the River Tees is 1/4mile down the road with natural pools for swimming and a great spot for a BBQ. There's plenty in the area for those who like to get out and about - High Force Waterfall, Raby Castle, Forbidden Corner, Mainsgill Farm, Bowes Museum, Darlington Locomotive Museum, Richmond Castle, Hamsterley Forest, I could go on... Can't do much about the wildlife, I'm afraid - that's the countryside for you! :-)

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Camping pod 13/07/2013

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The campsite was lovely and clean and the owners were very friendly. Would like to see a play area for children and maybe a shop to buy supplies.
  • Disliked: lack of kids facilities
From the manager...

Thanks for taking the time to post a review, Victoria, and hope you enjoyed yourselves.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Pod camping

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I liked the site the owners were very frienldly and the site was very clean everything we needed was on hand for us.would defiantly stay again.
  • Disliked: I disliked nothing about the site
From the manager...

Really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, Michele, and thanks for taking the time to post a review. Hope to see you again. Ed and Kate

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Stayed at hillcrest park for one night.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was quiet and relaxing.Toilet and shower facilities were clean and well maintained. On arrival we were greeted with friendliness. The whole site was tidy and all pitches had a certain amount of privacy.
  • Disliked: It would be nice for children to have a small play area.
From the manager...

Thanks for taking the time to post a positive review - it's always much appreciated. Maybe one day we'll be able to put up something in the 3 acre field for kids....! Ed and Kate

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Absolutely fantastic!

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I stayed in the camping pods which were well maintained. It is set in pefect surroundings and the owners are exceptionally friendly and helpful, an absolute delight so much so I re-visited 2 weeks later.
  • Disliked: absolutely nothing....perfect!
From the manager...

Louise, thanks so much for the review - we really appreciate the good feedback. It was great to have you all back, and hope to see you again some time. Ed and Kate

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great stay!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: There is nothing not to like at hillcrest! From the setting to the owners everything is top notch! Well worth a visit. I couldn't recommend this campsite enough.
  • Disliked: Not applicable
From the manager...

Aww, shucks! Thanks so much for that, Kris. Come again! Ed and Kate

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Steph_B

Lovely calm campsite

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Facilities nice and clean, a warm welcome to the site with help available.
  • Disliked: Nothing
From the manager...

Thanks for taking the time to post a positive review, Steph, and hope to see you here again one day! Ed and Kate

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A lovely, welcoming place to stay

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The owners are fantastically welcoming and helpful people, nothing was too much trouble.
    The site is peaceful, quiet and set amidst beautiful countryside in Teesdale with easy access to a variety of local towns and tourist attractions.
    If you don't like (or don't have time for) putting up a tent, the pods are a great idea. A simple, comfortable space in which to lay your head with a minimum of fuss. Ours was warm at night - though the weather wasn't brilliant so we did put the heater on a couple of times.
    We particularly liked the picnic table that converted into a bench!
  • Disliked: Although the shower/toilet block was spotlessly clean and everything was in good working order, we felt that an increase in the number of facilities (e.g. there is only one washbasin in the gents) would be needed sometime soon.
    If there was one simple thing that would have improved the pods for me it would have been a couple more hooks to hang things from, both inside and in the porch.
From the manager...

Mrs Willis - thank you so much for the very thoughtful review. Your feedback is really useful, and we will definitely put even more hooks in and outside the Pods. We already have plans for extra facilities for the gents - hopefully they'll be installed soon. We're also getting a fridge freezer for the pot washing room. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review - especially as I know Podding isn't really your thing! Kate

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Richard_C4

Great couple of nights spent in a lovely peaceful location.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The spot the site is in, very peaceful yet only a short drive from Barnard Castle which has every amenity.
    The pitches were a good size with ample parking.
    The "run around" field was very good, our daughter had a few walks around it looking for wildlife.
    The shower/toilet block were of a good standard and kept clean and well stocked with the essentials.
    Ed and Kate, lovely couple, very helpful and attentive. They went out of their way to ensure we had a good stay and weren't disturbed by a rogue party that had managed to get on. Thanks for that.
    The surrounding area, lovely towns, plenty to see and some great countryside.


    We didn't stay in the Pods, but have to say they looked great!

    As for the "would you recommend this site" question, we already have :)
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike, had a great stay and look forward to coming back.

    I have given the child friendliness and facilities/activities a score of 8 only because, as someone else has said, the addition of some sort of play / climbing frame thing in the field would be a great thing to have. Having said that our daughter (9yrs) loved her stay here as things are.
From the manager...

Thank you so much for the great review - and I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves. We'll give some consideration to the play / climbing frame. Maybe once we've been going a bit longer! Kate and Ed

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Julia_M

Lovely, ideal short getataway

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The shower and kitchen block, the lovely owners, the brilliant pods with plug and light fittings. Liked the table and bench set.
    Loved the field for running around in.
    The info we recieved in advance was thorough.
  • Disliked: Not a dislike, more an observation. If they invested in a wooden jungle gym structure for the kids in the massive field, it would be the icing on the cake.
From the manager...

Really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, Julia, and thanks for taking the time to give us such a positive review. We will give some thought to the jungle gym idea, as there are all sorts of things to consider....

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Stef_J

Dog friendly clean site at central location would recommend to others

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Our pitch was in a good location, the site wasn't particularly busy so we had plenty of space to put up the awning and park the car.

    The dog walk is excellent. I would consider this site to be dog friendly.

    The showers were good plenty of hot water and reasonably powerful got all of the conditioner out, the Loos were clean a bit tired looking but functional well stocked with soap paper towels and loo roll.

    Not too far from Richmond

    The owners are Kate and Ed. Kate was pleasant welcomed us on arrival, Ed took us to our pitch and showed us where everything was.

    I would recommend this site to others
  • Disliked: Phone, wifi and TV signal are appalling - however Kate and Ed have no impact regarding phone coverage, I am just mentioning it so others will be aware. We were meeting family at various locations on the coast to coast route and couldn't keep in touch. - thanks for nothin O2!!!
From the manager...

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. Sorry to hear about your technical problems. Ed and I are both with O2 as it has the best coverage in the area. It is a bit patchy all across the Dales (and probably along the Coast to Coast route), but appalling is probably a bit strong. But I guess it's what you're used to - I'm amazed to get 5 bars when I go to a big city! The site faces south and we have access to two aerial signals - you can chose either depending on where you are on the site, and we're always happy to help if asked. And we're only 10mins from Barnard Castle where you can get super-speedy wifi in Costa and other cafes. Kate

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great fun

(Solo traveller-female, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything was great I liked the fact the pod had a fence so the dig couldn't escape
    Nice people nice weather nice place
    Will be back
  • Disliked: Nothing to dislike
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Enjoyed our stay

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We enjoyed our stay and ed&kate are very nice plesant people
  • Disliked: I don't think there was anything we disliked
From the manager...

Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll be able to visit us again.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

very nice

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Nice sites, little 'crowded' but quite sure we had our allocted space. Very pretty and with a lovely shower block and dishwashing area. Loved the pods!
    Very nice people who own/look after the place. Very clean, thank you.
  • Disliked: I felt quite 'close' to the people on either side.
From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to give us a positive review. I should explain that we put you on the pitch we did in order to accommodate your last minute request for an extra night over the Bank Holiday - we usually keep it for one night stopovers when we're busy (and so it was for this Bank Holiday) but it was the only way I could get you in the for the extra night! I do hope you come again and we can put you on one of the more spacious pitches.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Lee_C1

Extremely good site, highly recommended, no issues whatso ever

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The surroundings, the camping pod, the shower block and the site its self was just extremely clean and tidy.

    Very good service from Ed and Kate, will be back again that is a certainty. Good friendly atmosphere, ideally located for a relaxing break with a pub/resturaunt about half a mile away.

    Can't fault it it anyway!!
  • Disliked: Nothing, everything was just right for a perfect weekend away
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent site

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything about it. We were welcomed by Kath who took us to our pitch , she is very friendly and pleasant , she brings a very personal touch to the park. The location is perfect if you want peace and quiet and it has lovely countryside views The site is immaculate..Theres no problem if you have dogs as theres a large area to walk them.
  • Disliked: Nothing at all to dislike.
From the manager...

Linda - thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review! It's always nice to hear that other people like the place as much as we do. Hope to see you again before too long. Kate and Ed

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for James_T

Great for long walks with them dog and some peace and quiet

(Young couple, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely walks, clean accommodation and shower / toilet areas
    Ran by friendly couple
    Local pubs serve good food and are dog friendly
  • Disliked: As it was snowing it was cold in the pod we stayed in, these would be ideal in the summer but unfortunately the weather when we were there made it cold
From the manager...

James. I'm so sorry to hear you were cold, and that we didn't manage to see you before you left. Perhaps we could have provided extra heating or blankets? It really was arctic on the days you stayed - I think it got down to about minus10 overnight. We were cold in the house too! I do hope it won't spoil your idea of Hillcrest and that we see you here again one day - perhaps in the sunshine!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for stewart_r

we really enjoyed our short break

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: we had a weekend in one of the family pods we had a lovely time the site is clean,tidy and well run. we found the pod very comfortable with views over the snow covered landscape. even in temperatures below freezing the facilities were warm and clean with lots of hot water .
  • Disliked: we enjoyed the whole experiance
From the manager...

Dear Stewart. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay - despite the arctic temperatures! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us so positively and we look forward to perhaps seeing you again one day. Kate

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Mollywebster1

Fab!

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Feb 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Not many sites open at this time of year.
    An extra bonus was the quality of the site.
    Very well run. The couple that own it are really very helpful.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Fantastic Stay even for January Time, returning next month with kids

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jan 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The wooden pods, area and overall cleanness of site and facilities
  • Disliked: Bit cold during night even with heater on but that was the weathers fault not the site or pods
From the manager...

Belated thanks for taking the time to review us and I hope you enjoyed your stay. I think a tip would be to bring (or hire from us) a camp bed, rather than inflatable, in very cold temperatures, as you are then a bit higher off the ground and you get the full benefit of the heater. Hope to see you back here again in the summer - and basking in sunshine next time!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A pod with a view :-)

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Oct 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We loved everything. Such a beautiful place to stay.
  • Disliked: Nothing at all
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

This was our first time camping as a family, we stayed in a pod which our 18month old son loved.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: everything about the pod.......was warm, cosy, comfy and suited our needs perfectly.
  • Disliked: think we would have preferred more of a view instead of looking at the caravans but this was only a very small dislike.
From the manager...

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit both reviews - and we're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. The 3 pods at the top of the site do have better views, but 2 of them are Family sized pods. However, with far reaching views comes wind and they can sometimes be a bit exposed. The pod you had is about the most sheltered on the site - so it's swings and roundabouts really! Do come again, and I'll see if I can put you in the standard pod at the top! Kate

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Hillcrest Pods were brilliant!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We stayed at Hillcrest as a little treat for our 6 year old before he went to school and he LOVED it, as did we.

    The campsite was clean and kate and ed were extremely welcoming and helpful.

    The best part was waking up to the beautiful mornings and stepping out of the cosy pods to view miles of golden fields.

    we visited Hamsteley foreat, which is great for anyone with bike. We all loved it.

    we will be retuning to Hillcrest as soon as we can!
  • Disliked: There was nothing we disliked, however pubs and places to eat were quite a walk. however the local taxi drivers are brilliant and when booked in advanced are reasonably priced and always on time!
From the manager...

Thanks for the great review! Hope to see you here again before long. Kate and Ed

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

very clean and quiet a great place to relax

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the pod
    warm welcome
    the countryside
  • Disliked: nothing
From the manager...

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you can come back for longer next time!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Annie_P

Too many pounds in a pod

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The area was lovely - Barnard Castle nearby. Site was clean and toilets/showers were fine.
  • Disliked: We paid £50 per night for a family sized pod and it was our first time camping. Hired mattresses that deflated slowly and the pod was freezing when it became dark. It was fun for the first night as we all struggled to stay on the airbeds and debated who was the coldest (even with the heater on) but a second attempt was not an option for us. We did not see the owners but were welcomed by a girl who gave us our key and was very nice. We didn't know the area and weren't given any guide on walks from the park so walked on the road - bit dangerous we found. I suppose if you were ardent campers with a small tent then the pod would be ideal but to lug everything (food, bedding etc etc) to a squashed posh shed for the same price as a Premier Inn then really it's a definite NO from us; although everyone is different and some may think it great. Thank you.
From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, but I'm so sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your first podding experience. It's a shame we weren't there to meet you, but we had to go away for a couple of days, leaving our niece to look after things. Unfortunately airbeds do sometimes spring leaks, but we will always replace them if we are made aware of it. In the lobby of the Amenity Block there is a folder with lots of suggested walks, leaflets for local attractions and an OS map on the wall, and we're always happy to lend maps and give suggestions if asked - eg there is a lovely walk along the River Tees just down the road - and a little natural pool you can swim in if the weather is good. But you do have to watch out for tractors and combine harvesters along the road as we're surrounded by farms. On checking the Pods on our return we noticed that the heater in your pod had tripped out (which sometimes happens if they are covered, but is easily fixed) and that might explain why you were cold (and it was also a frosty night!). You might be interested to know that we also have cottages to hire for around £180 for 3 nights - with central heating, TVs and dishwashers - so if you prefer a few more home comforts perhaps they might be more your bag! Kind regards, Ed and Kate

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Only stayed the one night, but thoroughly impressed - site was incredibly clean and very peaceful. the camping pod was fab, was great to have a heater and access to electricity. Would recommend to everyone, including those that dont like camping!!

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: everything about the camping pod!!
    the entire site was incredibly clean, including the toilets and showers, and great facilities.
  • Disliked: not really a dislike as I knew there wasn't one, but a little cafe would add even more to the site.
From the manager...

Really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hillcrest. Maybe one day we'll be able to find a spot for a little cafe! Kate and Ed

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for mattandgem

Stayed in Pod, loved it.

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The Pod was really good, clean and ideal for our two young children. The pod we stayed in was fenced off in its own area sharing with one other pod, which was great to let the kids run around. We were unaware of this when we booked but was probably the best pod to have for us. The pods are very well insulated and roomy enough and also have a picninc table per pod to eat out which was great. The site is very well kept and clean and has all the amenities you need. There is a large field where the kids can run around and play.
    The location of the site makes it very peaceful which we found great but not too far from Richmond, Barnard castle and other attractions. The toilet and shower blocks were good and there is a washing machine and drier if needed.This was our first experience in a pod but will definitely return.
  • Disliked: I have no complaints regarding our stay at Hillcrest park and would recommend it to people wanting to stay in a pod, cottage or touring caravan.
From the manager...

Thank you for your positive review and we're really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again some time!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

first time camping in a pod brill

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the site was nice quite and surounded with fields the showers and toilets were lovely clean there is a washer&dryer.the pod was great with a heater and lights and 2 plug sockets.kate&ed the owners were very friendly and helpful.we stayed for one night and would stay again.
  • Disliked: none
From the manager...

Great to hear you enjoyed yourselves, Beverley. Stay longer next time!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Pod camping at Hillcrest

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Omg! My first pod experience was absolutely great. I fully recommend them.
    The showers/wc were very clean and well maintained.
    The site isn't too big and is dog friendly with a huge dog walking field.
    We all enjoyed a very relaxing break at hillcrest.
  • Disliked: Nothing
From the manager...

Thank you! So glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Very clean friendly site

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Friendly, informative welcoming
    Peaceful site
    Very clean facilities, good shower and all the facilities you could require including hairdryer

  • Disliked: Everything was great, no complaints!
From the manager...

Thanks for such positive comments, Rebecca. Really glad you enjoyed Hillcrest and hope to see you again.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Ceri_R

We stayed here for one night and wished we stayed longer! Such a friendly and warm welcome, great location, faultless facilities. We will definitely be coming back for a lot longer and recommending to anyone!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location, the facilities, the treatment. We had a fantastic weekend! And spent a day in Richmond which wasn't far away at all!!
  • Disliked: Nothing we disliked!!
From the manager...

Thanks, Ceri - hope to see you again before too long! Kate

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for John_P

We booked a camping pod at Hillcrest Park for myself, my husband and our daughter and neice aged 10

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Mar 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We were very impressed with the site and the welcome we received. My husband and myself have been camping for 20 years and this site has the best toilets and showers that we have used. One really big plus point was that they had heating! The camping pods are excellent...warm and roomy. It was perfect for this time of year as the weather did turn a little colder while we were there.
  • Disliked: The only thing we would suggest would be some sort of wind break in front of the pods.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for cat

2nd time we have stayed in pods, lovely location and great facilities

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Feb 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We stay in the camping pods, easy and fun way to get in touch with the outdoors! We have stayed twice now, lovely area with local pubs to eat at and all the facilities at the park very fresh and clean. Would be great place for cyclists or mountain bikers to stay, no fuss and great area.
    Kate very helpful and always a friendly welcome!!
  • Disliked: We disliked nothing its great!!!!!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Stayed in a Camping Pod not a tent.....very windy, cold, night!

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Dec 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Farm is really well laid out. The amenities are excellent and very clean. The Camping pod was clean and fresh and offered a good alternative to a tent....very cosy. Great views. We hired air beds for a good price. Ed and Kate, the owners, were very pleasant and approachable and eager to make our stay as comfortable as possible.
  • Disliked: We tripped the switch and lost the heater for the night......our fault, Kate and Ed genuinely disappointed we didn't go and get them to sort it out....was simple press of switch! Lesson learned!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Cath_F

A small, friendly, peaceful campsite in a lovely location.

(Mature couple, 1 review, 3 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Oct 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The pods, the situation, the lovely warm showers, the size of the site, the friendly hosts.
  • Disliked: Any problem was down to the timing - muck spreading was stinky (but only lasted a day) and the pod was in an incredibly exposed position which meant that we couldn't sit out because of the wind. Bad timing on our part!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

I stayed two nights with my son in one of the new camping pods, using it as a base to go mountain biking in the area. The accommodation was great, and after a long drive such a pleasure not to have to put a tent up.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The owners of the site were very helpful and friendly. The ablutions were very clean as was the rest of the site. The camping pod was likewise spotless and the overall setting was delightful.

  • Disliked: There is really nothing I disliked about Hillcrest Park.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Wendy_W

Pod Camping Converts!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Stayed for two nights in the family pod and was great fun. Within 15 minutes of arriving we were unpacked and sitting on the deck with a glass of wine, unlike the usual hour it takes to put up our tent! The facilities were excellent, with a fully equipped laundry/utility room..iron/ironing board/washer/dryer, there was an area full of local interest leaflets, books and magazines to lend, and the owners were on hand for anything that you might need. The washing facilites were very clean with extra little touches like moistuiriser, shower gel, etc. We ordered an inflated mattress, and breakfast pack which came in a cool bag with mugs, glasses and cutlery. Everything had been catered for. The site was beautifully kept and very tranquil with lovely views from the pod french doors. Will definitely be visiting again.
  • Disliked: The only thing that i could possibly pick fault with (although it didn't bother us in the least) was that the shower cubicle walls were a little damp (for obvious reasons) so maybe a little more ventilation may help.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for tamarashaffer

Perfect weekend

(Young couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Great place, me and Andrew had a fab weekend. The weather was great, everyone on the site were great and the facilities were perfect. Stayed in the camping pod and couldn't have had a better nights sleep. We forgot to bring a matress or blow up bed but a guy that stays at the sight at the time jon, lent us a blow up bed! Everyone couldn't have done more to help! We will no doubt be back!
  • Disliked: I dont mind but there were a lot of dogs on the site!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for wendy_t

pods

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: everything was great . stayed in pod for three nights would highly recomend.kate and ed were very helpful the pods are definetly for us no fuss just enjoyed every minute amenities were spotless cant fault it in any way we are looking forward to our next visit
  • Disliked: nothing at all great
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for lesley-ann_b

perfect retreat for families and couples

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the camping pods,are spacious warm and cosy they have heater's inside.
    clean,plenty of space,have a large decking area for eating/sunbathing.
    picnic tables provided and they also change into a bench by a quick and simply easy rotation motion.which we loved!!
    shower block is warm,clean, 5* facilities. For the women hairdryer provided at no extra cost!! iron and ironing board,washer and dryer at a cost of £1.00. coke machine ideal for the summer days.
    secery is beautiful!! lovely river near by and close to all the shops and pubs.
    sunsets are truly wonderful!!!
    this place is a gem and great value for money
    it is a must go site if you want a romantic retreat for 2 or quality family time with your family or even meet up with friends.
    the owners are lovely and really helpful everything you need is here!!
    Were coming back in a few weeks time!! :D
    and we really cannot wait,you won't be disapppointed!!
    enjoy your stay as much as we have and i we will be telling everyone we know! :)


    (2 adults,3 children family size camping pod)
  • Disliked: nothing i disliked!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus

<< Go back to Hillcrest Park