Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Tamar Lakes Campsite

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

6.3

Overall rating based on 13 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

61% would recommend this site to a friend.

61% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for raymond_r

you cannot believe it

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Tamar lakes is one of the worst places you can pitch up to , would not like to take my dog there, cancelled , but did not get my deposit back, pitch up ,com do you ever visit theses places,
  • Disliked: Do not go there
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for stuartwilliams4324

simply awesome

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Before comming read the reviews and was not expecting much , how amazed we where the camping is great with lovelly views over the lake and surrounding countryside , toilets and showers are clean and nice hot showers , the team where very helpfull in every way and made are stay great , if your into your outdoor ativities , cycling, watersports walking this is the place to make your base camp and for familys theres loads to keep the kids busy !!! Simply GREAT
  • Disliked: Going home !!!!!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for superjase14

Lovely country campsite location

(Extended family, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location; very tranquil and off the beaten track. Good range of activites available on the lake (at extra cost). Good shower and changing facilities.
  • Disliked: The noise at times during the nights! Noisy geese, cows and sheep which I suppose is to be expected given the sites rural location. A freezer (for ice packs) and somewhere to charge phones etc would have been good, but I suppose this is a bit much to expect given the low cost of the site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Thoroughly enjoyable stay.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Lovely location and a fairly small - cosy - site.
    Nice staff - laid back and friendly.
    Facilities are perfectly fine - good loos (kept clean), good male/female showers, decent washing-up facilities with constant hot water, automatic lighting at night.
    Very good value.
    Simple to book via 'Pitch-Up'

  • Disliked: Site hard to find - no signs mentioning the actual 'camp site' (we actually pulled into the Tamar Lakes Water Sports Centre - where it is - before coming out again shrugging 'no camp site there' and carrying on up the road...)
    Pitches have a slight slope so makes it a bit more uncomfortable to sleep (we all slipped a small amount during the night...!)
    Cafe doesn't open until 10am, and shuts at 5 (I think), so no chance of a lazy breakfast/ evening cuppa - but I guess that's what camping's about.
    That's it.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

I would not camp at Tamar Lakes again

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Beautiful scenery
  • Disliked: Poor quality facilities
    Staff more interested in the water sports than people camping/trying to check in
    Awful service in the cafe
    The hair dryer was wired into the mains and in a sink full of water!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
2
Google Plus
avatar for john_k2

camping holiday

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: peaceful, relaxing, well laid out camp site, utility's (toilets & Showers) very clean and tidy, staff very helpful, the grounds were well maintained, the lake and surrounding area was a pleasure to wake up to.
    Although we don't have any children there was a very nice well stocked children's play area

  • Disliked: I can not find fault with this site, thank you.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Myself and my husband typed with our 15 month old boy in a camping pod

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Tamar lakes is a beautiful setting, really peaceful and Calm.The staff were very helpful and nice, and a pleasant cafe. The camping pods looked very good with everything you could of think of in them. We had some lovely bike rides around the lake which we did more than once a day. We met some very nice families on the camp site.
  • Disliked: The pod was very uncomfortable, mattress was painful with springs digging into us and beds very small. The space in the pod was very limited and unable to fit a travel cot unless you take out furniture. The pod has no ventilation and due to being very warm in the daytime caused a lot discomfort in the night and us waking with full on colds and feeling unwell. Due to fitting the travel cot in the pod we had to move furniture which to our horror our 15 month boy found drugs in the form of a joint. We were just so lucky we were able to stop our boy from eating this. The manager was very apologetic and refunded half our payment with persuasion, but I feel they should of refunded full due to my boy being in danger due to them not cleaning the pods properly.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
5
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

This was a bit of a disaster I would not go here or use pitch up again

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site is a short Drive from Bude.
  • Disliked: On our arrival we were told out Pod would not be ready until the next day so had to spend our first night sleeping on the floor of an empty house, which was damp and not ideal for at all.

    The Site itself was so quiet in fact there was very little activity going on except fishing. The café opened at 10 and closed at 4 so we were unable to replenish our ice blocks.

    The shower blocks had no where to hang your Towels in the shower vicinity hand to walk naked with young children from shower to changing area.

    The Pod leaked and smoke alarm went off for no reason during the night, hence why we left 2 days early.

    I would no use this site again or infact Pitchup.
From the manager...

We are sorry for the issue with your booking. There had been a change of staff and the details of your booking were lost.

The house offered for the night as a replacement for the pod had been newly refurbished with fixtures and fittings throughout.

The water sports centre was open every day, with hire, launch and tuition available everyday on request.

Our website clearly states the cafes opening hours and as well as guests being reminded on arrival therefore giving plenty of time to plan their day around it.

The fact that you are saying the pod leaked is a surprise to us, as it was not mentioned on departure by you, nor has any of our previous guests said anything.

We take our reviews very seriously and have already taken many steps to prevent incidents like this happening in the future. We are very sorry you left unhappy, we thought that giving you two nights free to the value of £100 was a very reasonable gesture of good will.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

very lovely,quiet relaxing site

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: very lovely campsite, stayed there 3 times now,camping,very quiet site, lovely views, lovely walks for the dog,will be going again , the dog loves it as much as us.
  • Disliked: toilets/showers could be updated a bit more, noticed no one was cleaning toilets, when we went the weather was gorgeous and there was quite a few visitors so the toilets did get a bit dirty, floor was wet through due to a lot of females showering. Shame there is not toilet facilities on the camping site itself, long way to go when dark and quite spooky.
    When the lake side are busy training on lake very difficult to get hold of someone,the first time we went 2yrs ago , had to wait 2hrs before he came to the office because he was on the lake, this time not so bad.
    cant do nothing about this but very windy,we,ve set tent in three different areas but the wind seems to circulate during the day.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Ros_B

Excellent camping Pod, great location, happy holiday.

(Family with older children, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The Camping Pod was brilliant! Tamar Lakes is a small quiet site with water activities to watch or, for an additional charge, participate in. Good views of the countryside, walks and easy drive to different beaches. Solar lighting inside and at the front of the Pod worked well as did the huge cool box. Don't forget a torch though for night-time visits to the loo's!
  • Disliked: The shower blocks. Although shower function was good, there was no-where to hang a towel, no privacy to dress and toilets & sinks located through changing area. Room for improvement: The Cafe providing ice blocks for the Pods cool box was only open for short periods during the day. Good idea and nice staff but opening hours more suited to day visitors.
    The grass camping field was quite overgrown, but then the weather had been terrible up to that point.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Trevor_P

sport weekend

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Apr 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location and setting.

  • Disliked: I would not say I disliked anything but two things gave me reason to think it could be better.
    1) - Shower curtain (comment from wife) - a bit minimalistic and not very private.
    2) - 'Hard stand' area very good but for all that work I feel it would been better to make it level and wider. We had stand 19 but had to back onto the grass to park. I found it difficult to level the motorhome on the wet grass area.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Middletons

Fantastic. CAn't wait until we can afford another holiday.

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jan 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Quiet, Good Facilities, No Entertainment Noise, Good size pitch, Stunning Views, Friendly Staff, Good Parking
  • Disliked: I would like a hook to hang a towel on in the shower room whilst in the shower. It was not clear that we would have to pay extra to fish.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

not happy

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: none
  • Disliked: where are the signs 3 other people stopped at wrong camp site and had to pay other site, not happy.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus

<< Go back to Tamar Lakes Campsite