Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Dinas Caravan Park and Camping

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

9.4

Overall rating based on 21 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

100% would recommend this site to a friend.

95% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for cheryl_c1

Beautiful family friendly hideaway

(Family with young children, 1 review, 2 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: My 4 year old son and I went to Dinas in August on our first camping trip. I was a bit nervous travelling on our own but we were made to feel really welcome by the owners. We were offered a camping spot close to other families with small children and my son was soon making friends.

    The site is just lovely with rope swings in the woods, a little stream to paddle in and a lake to discover. The new arrival of Paxo the chicken and plenty of sheep and cows around kept my little boy entertained. Each pitch comes with a camp fire and logs and kindling could be purchased each day.

    The showers and toilets were nice and clean and you could stick ice packs in the freezer up at the farm. There are local shops just a short drive away and the camping site is perfectly located to visit Harlech, Barmouth and other lovely beaches. We had a great time and will definitely be going back.


  • Disliked: I didn't dislike anything!
From the manager...

Thank you, so pleased you had an enjoyable stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to Dinas.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for coledu

What an idylic location for family campsite - absolutely perfect !

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This has to be one of the most beautiful settings for a family campsite anywhere in the country.

    Nestled in the foothills and surrounded by lovely countryside it is a peaceful haven where the children can play freely and safely on a wide expanse of green grass in the middle of the site.

    We stayed in one of the small number of static caravans which my children loved ! We eat breakfast at our own picnic table before setting off for the day to go to the beach or to walk up Snowdon or to visit one of the lovely castles in the area.

    In the evening we'd often have dinner at the picnic table and play badminton or football on the grass until it got dark.

    They say that the simple pleasures are the best - Dinas certainly delivers !
  • Disliked: Having to leave after a lovely week.
From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely comments. I am so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and hope you will be able to visit us again.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for pyppa_w

just what I wanted :)

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: It was my first time camping with my children and after using this helpful site I came across this camping site. For me it ticked all the boxes, I had done my comparisons and this seemed the right choice.
    Its a great base for lots of local sightseeing and is off the beaten track. It was great that we could let the children run around and enjoy the grounds with this feeling of security.
    The owner was very helpful and made us feel very welcome.
    We had no problems with the pit change and even got given a choice of our preference.
    I liked that each pitch had a picnic table and only a small charge to have the little grill which was great. We had a blast.
    I would return & recommend.
  • Disliked: The fact that in the womens shower, the water turns off after a certain time, I counted.. just 15 seconds at a time. That was quite annoying, especially when I was helping my daughter to wash her hair and to always keep pressing it..
    Would be good if there was a facility for clothes washing but not an issue if you're there for only a short stay.
From the manager...

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you had such an enjoyable time and hopefully we have converted you to camping. The push button showers can be annoying especially when trying to rinse your hair but the reason they have been installed is to try and conserve water. A tumble dryer is available but a washing machine is definitely a good idea, maybe next year. Thank you for your comments very much appreciated.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for M

Quiet camp tree swings and nice walks

(Family with older children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The quiet at night camp
    Plenty to explore
    Very nice owners nothing to much trouble
    Short drive to the beach
    Camp fires where great wood brought to you in the evening
    Would definitely go back again and would tell my friends with younger children to try this site out also
  • Disliked: Nothing all good
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

wonderfully small and private

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The sheep that had escaped into the field. The chicken that came to the tent flap to say good morning and see what we had on offer. The wood burners at each site. Lovley walks all around, but some not as easy as the locals think they are ! VERY friendly and helpful owner. Wash places all clean and water hot. Most peaceful campsite we've been on, proberbly because it is kept small. Had a look in the GLAMPING tent and it is beautiful.
  • Disliked: It rained every day we were there which brought a lot of midges out ( proberbly why there is a log burner at each pitch)
    The lanes (no way you can call them roads) are VERY narrow to reach the site, so don't go in 'posh' cars or works vehicles(a mistake that someone else who stayed there made) They add to the charm though, and are proberbly another reason why the place stayes so peacefull and unspoiled.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Claire_ontheroad

A true hideaway in the hills

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We loved the location. It took us a while to find but that's what made it so great, a true hideaway in the hills. The lake was perfect for having fun on the dinghy, the view from the rock was stunning in the cloudless sky and the evening campfires kept us going well into the late night to enjoy the starry skies. A great place for kids to run about in the space and many rope swings and dens to be built in the woods, not to mention the stream. The thirteen year old we took also loved it!
  • Disliked: Perhaps our arrival could have been more welcoming after our difficulties in trying to find it in the lashing down rain. The confusion over our payment and booking on this website seemed to be an issue for her (particularly the commission) which was not our fault and shouldn't have been made an issue to us.
    That said, she did come and check we were ok once pitched and came around each evening with logs.
    More showers would be better in the peak high season.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Vicki_S

A fabulous, peaceful, family holiday.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Beautiful scenery, great pitches, friendly family run site.
    Clean facilities, very useful family bathroom. Free showers and coin operated plug sockets.

    Lovely short and long walks in the surrounding countryside and a brilliant beach a short drive away.

    The kids loved it, there's a small woodland within the site for them to play in.


  • Disliked: The only down side is there isn't much to do on a rainy day... we only had 3 wet days in a fortnight but the local play barn was not worth the £20 it cost to get in!!

    A washing machine would be useful as always!
From the manager...

Thank you for your comments and for your recommendation. I will definitely put a washing machine on my list of improvements.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

A very welcoming friendly camp site, small and quiet

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: A very nice site that is quiet and friendly situated in beautiful countryside, I would highly recommend it......
  • Disliked: There was nothing to dislike
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Georgina_W0

Stunning site with lovely owners

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Campfires! We picked this site
    Purely for this reason it the site is so much more than that! It's is kept beautifully the location is just amazing and the owners were really friendly and attentive. The site is quiet by eleven and this is stuck to. Also the pitches are far enough apart that there's loads of room for kids to play and plenty of rope swings etc hidden in the trees for little explorers. We will definitely be returning!
  • Disliked: Nothing!
From the manager...

I look forward to welcoming you back to Dinas.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Brilliant for kids and super friendly!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I loved how great is was for my 5 year old, running around playing with all the other children on rope swings, chasing sheep and playing with a friendly chicken! My daughter didn't keep still all the time we were at the site, she really loved it. We had some lovely walks straight from site, not too taxing for a little one. The owner was really nice and friendly and I can't say enough good things about her service. The facilities were really clean and you can have camp fires which was a plus for us.
  • Disliked: Nothing much to dislike, the wifi was on and off but we didn't really need it.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Out the way - Peaceful yet fun!

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Fireboxes for cooking giant marshmallows on!

    The walks around the campsite area, taking in the beautiful countryside with stream crossings and climbing over dry stone walls (steps). Peacock farm and Dinas rock!

    Pitches were spread out and peaceful.


  • Disliked: Nothing, maybe a tad of rain at night but you can't have camping without rain!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

perfect

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the back to nature feel. great location away from all the madness ,log fires at night perfect .
  • Disliked: not staying longer
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely break away!!!

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The campsite was absolutely lovely and we were made to feel really welcome. It was very quiet and well situated and the extra touches like a fire box and wood were a real bonus! Location wise it is ideally siutated for Barmouth, Harlech and Port Merion...it is also close to the local village with a couple of pubs for bar meals and a cool beer after a hot days walking or exploring!!

    We will certainly be going back and I can't recommend this campsite enough :-D
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for andygriffiths94

the only campsite we go back to

(Mature couple, 1 review, 1 photo)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The Glamping tents are excellent, superb quality and combined with the campfire makes for a great experience.

    Einir is a terrific host and nothing is too much trouble. There are great walks direct from the campsite, taking in the local lake and Dinas Rock with spectacular views.

    We cannot recommend it highly enough. We have camped for many years travelling around the country and always like to go somewhere new but we keep coming back to Dinas, it's simply the BEST.
  • Disliked: Nothing. But it's important for folks to realise that it's not called "The Hidaway in the Hills" for nothing. Don't expect state of the art facilities. The toilets and showers are clean but basic.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Fantastic Location, Brilliant Owners, Nice and Quite, Lovely Site

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location is great for walks, definitely worth asking the site owners to recommend some. She even went upto the house and printed off a lovely route for us. Surrounded by rolling countryside. Definitely worth using one if the log burns at night to have a nice campfire by your tent/ yert. Facilities are basic but clean.
  • Disliked: Not the clearest sign posting leading up to the site.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Stephen_H5

Quiet & relaxing

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The wonderful freshness and grass routes experience with breath taking scenery
  • Disliked: I wish I had stayed longer!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for stephanieagreen1

lovely farm safe for kids to play

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I love the couple who own it so friendly and helpful lovely quite place kids can run free without having to worry there is woodland around and a bit of woodland in the middle for them to explore. Toilets are kept clean and tidy only one block of toilets 3toilets and a shower on each side for men and women with I have not found to be a problem . lovely walk in every direction and only about 10 minute drive in to barmouth . there is a lovely little village a 5 minute drive in all it is a fab site quick we have just booked to stay on again in august for the 3rd year running can't wait
  • Disliked: only having to leave
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

So peaceful

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: How peaceful the area was, i wanted a nice quiet weekend away, and that's exactly what i got. I took my girlfriend who was a 1st time camper, and she is already itching to do it again.
  • Disliked: Nothing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Quiet and peaceful site in lovely surroundings

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Plenty of space for tents.
    It was great to have the wooden table/benches for each pitch.
    Loved the fire-boxes - nice ending to the day sitting by the log fire toasting marshmallows.
    Easy drive to so many other places locally.
    Good pubs and pub food in the village.
    Welcoming, friendly and helpful owners.

  • Disliked: There was nothing to dislike about the site or the amenities.
    The weather could have been kinder, but all the UK is suffering this summer!!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent, chilled-out campsite

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The atmosphere of the site, the fact that each pitch has a table, and the fact that we were able to have a fire.
  • Disliked: It would have been great if there was another shower.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Cyee

Small, quiet, family site with woods for den making and camp fires at night

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: May 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I have just returned from Dinas and feel compelled to write a deserved review for this campsite which has called us back about 4 times since our first trip in May 2011.

    The road from Llanbedr to Dinas is narrow but there are plenty of passing places and it's very quiet. Personally it gets me in the mood for the mobile-reception-free wonderland that awaits. We drove to and from the site in a camper-van and it was totally fine.

    Once you get there you will find the most glorious spot. 30 camping pitches, 8 statics and the pitches are laid out such that there is plenty of room and a large grassy area is left free for children/ball games. The site is 'basic' meaning clean facilities and plenty of (free) hot water. I never had to queue to use them.

    The site is fully enclosed by stone walls, there are no rivers etc. On the site. There is a patch of woodland that looks beautiful and is heaven to those who like making dens or playing hide and seek. No dogs and no loud music are the main restrictions but that suits us fine.

    There's a small lake 100m from the site which currently has tadpoles and newts. The site owner has prepared some leaflets detailing walks nearby and from the campsite.

    I have 2 young children and they'd be happy if we never left the site. They enjoy climbing the low stone circle, swinging on the various rope swings tucked around the site, and best of all using the stretch of smooth, safe, quiet tarmac to hone their triking / biking / scooting.

    The pubs of Llanbedr do good pub food and one has an outdoor play area. Harlech has a wealth of tea rooms/cafes, a sweet shop and an amazing ice cream place. And a great castle. Barmouth is also buzzing with cafes and more of a traditional seaside feel.

    However, we generally spend most of our time at the beach. Llandanwg is our favourite, with its great rock pools and lovely little cafe.

    The views in this part of Wales are unbelievable. Where else in the UK are you spoilt by beautiful beaches and the imposing skyline and walking/climbing opportunities of Snowdonia. The views, no matter the weather, are fantastic.

    New additions include a canoe to hire and use on the small lake/pond, a Little Tikes climbing frame, wood-burning hot tub, and a gorgeously kitted-out glamping tent

    I'd urge you to give this campsite a try. We absolutely love it there.
  • Disliked: Nothing!
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus

<< Go back to Dinas Caravan Park and Camping