Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Tibbie Shiels

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

7.1

Overall rating based on 22 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

68% would recommend this site to a friend.

63% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for richardskead

great

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: peace
  • Disliked: the wind
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Robert_M1

Nice location

(Extended family, 3 reviews, 3 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site is in a beautiful location between two lochs. The owner was present when I arrived. The local hotel/bar was very cosy and had live music on one of the nights that I was there. The site was very quiet when we stay there, so had a good choice of pitches.I.Found the owners very pleasant.
  • Disliked: Wasn't allowed to drive the car to the pitch to unload our gear, but due to the wet conditions I guess this was understandable.
    The toilet and shower facilities are in very bad condition, and could do with an upgrade. Thought the policy of not being allowed to bring your own alcohol on site was more to do with making money than controlling consumption.
    Location is very remote with the nearest shops being about 18 miles away in Selkirk or Moffat. Suggest you stock up on the way to the campsite.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Linda_K

didnt bother

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the setting of site is outstanding
  • Disliked: No one there to greet us. Had a look around on arrival. Very very put off by the condition of the toilet and shower facilities. Couldn't stop even though we had paid deposit. ,,, very disappointing
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for maria_p0

had a great holiday

(Mature couple, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the site was quiet and the scenery outstanding. Alastair and his wife were very friendly and helpful. We ate our evening meal in the hotel every night and the food was lovely, large portions, reasonably priced and well presented, the drink was also reasonably priced to other places we have been. The area is steeped in history and a visit to Traquar House should be on everyones list of things to do in the area. Tibbie Shiels Hotel has a great history which is shown in the pictures on the walls of the hotel as well as in literature i the hotel. They are really family friendly and have toys, colouring books etc. in the hotel for the children to play with. Good value for money and we will be returning.
  • Disliked: The only downfall with Tibbie Shiels is the toilet and washing facilities, they are not maintained properly and could do with a good clean but the hotel toilets are available at night to use. As we were in our caravan we had our own toilet and washing facilities so this did not worry us but I can see this being a problem for people with tents.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for darren__j

lovely views

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: the views and the loch round us
  • Disliked: the toilets and showers should be more clean
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Great service in a relaxed setting

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I liked the welcome we received, the staff were always friendly and helpful which really makes for a great stay as first impressions are so important. The scenery was lovely, the setting was very relaxing. It was great to be able to use fire pits, I've never been to another campsite which offers this so it was a nice bonus. I stayed here as a part of a group of teenage girls; it was refreshing to find a campsite who didn't turn away our custom on account of our age and the fact that we were a same-sex group.
  • Disliked: Because the door if the toilet block was open most of the day, the toilet cubicles/sink area had quite a few midges and other insects in them. This wasn't a huge problem as other than that the toilets were hygienic, but as someone with a moderate fear of spiders and insects that made me a little squeamish.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for connie

the owner of the campsite is a complete ignoramus

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: nothing as we never stayed
  • Disliked: the whole place looks dilapidated and a complete dis service to the beautiful setting,the owner is not nice in any way shape or form and as a supposed business man his term not mines he will do improve the place if people give him the money and me as a disabled person thinks the world owes me a living,his disabled facilities consist of a toilet and the other toilets at the campsite are filthy,run,run down,covered in rust and cobwebs,they are old event style portakabin loos,the pitches we had the choice of were one with views over looking the one of the artistically place tipper loads of bricks dotted around the place and another about a half a mile trek away and you can`t even take the car to unload it,other campsites in the area have heard even worse stories that he searches your car for alchohol,he uses the excuse that as he owns the site he is responsible for the amount of alchol consumed,no other site does this but it`s as plain as the nose on your face it`s just a way to earn money from a captive audience,he isn`t even Scottish and is ruining the reputation we scots have as warm friendly welcoming race,he wants people to pay for the pleasure of being dictated to and held to ransome,his attitude stinks as much as his toilets and his run down campsite,seemingly it used to be such a beautiful place when the previous owner and old lady had it,what a shame,he`ll run it into the ground.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Nice location but too many rules

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The scenery, the food, the pitch
  • Disliked: The rules and regulations set by the owner which seemed to be stemmed around making money.

    Any alcohol on the campsite had to be bought from the hotel owned by the campsite and it wasn't cheap.

    We got reprimanded about breaking branches off trees when we hadn't

    The cost of the food was four star price at two star service.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lots of potential but pretty poor all round

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The location
  • Disliked: The toilet or the trailer converted in to one,
    Was a complete shambles Also when the menu says we serve food
    Up until three o'clock and to get refused two
    Portions of chips at 14:45 was
    Poor customer service I left the next day
    And sadly won't going back
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

We love Tibbie Sheils!

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The views, our pitch was great and the family run campsite atmosphere was great. We made new friends and enjoyed the entertainment at night, good old singalong! Will be going again soon!
  • Disliked: The toilet block/showers, useable but very basic.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Lovely isolated site in stunning location!

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The casual atmosphere of the site and the owners of the Hotel who were very accommodating and did their best to ensure our stay was enjoyable. Also liked the food in the Hotel which was tasty and reasonably priced!
  • Disliked: The midges
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Wonderful location.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: This was the first time camping as a family.

    The location of Tibbie Shiels is quite stunning, the campsite and facilities are set on a narrow stretch of land between 2 lochs. The campsite was fairly large and accommodated plenty of tents and mobiles, fire pits dotted around the site help you choose where to pitch up. The loch was used for activities like canoeing, sailing and just plain old swimming. We went by car so traveling to places like Selkirk, Jedburgh and Moffat was quite simple as Tibbie Shiels is only 30-40 mins from these places, another must see local attraction is the Grey Mares Tail, only 5-10 mins car journey, a waterfall hewed into a valley rising 200ft with a pathway that is challenging for many a walker. The views at the top are breathtaking. We never ate in the Tibbie Shiels Inn but they did provide meals during the day and they also have a bar which serves to shutting time (12 o'clock), kids can stay in the bar up till 9pm. My advice is that if you see a favorable weather forecast and wish to camp out for a couple of days you will certainly not be disappointed at Tibbie Shiels.
  • Disliked: My only 2 gripes were the toilet facilities and the odd broken piece of glass in the loch. I know there's nothing that the proprietors can do for idiots who will launch bottles or glasses into the water, I was very wary going in barefooted as I seen 2 people suffer cuts due to discarded glass tumblers. This is a minor gripe and i m very much aware that staff try and provide plastic containers if taking drink back to their pitches, swimming in the loch was a joy for me and my family. Tibbie Shiels can't be held responsible for a few morons.

    The toilets however are their responsibility, I appreciate the amount of people they cater for over the times they are open but I feel they could improve the standard of toilet facilities, the men's have just 1 cubicle and a trough along the wall, maybe the addition of another cubicle would help but I feel they need to modernize this facility.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

perfect location, beautiful scenery, site could be improved.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: beautiful location for a campsite, right in the middle of two Lochs, peaceful and tranquil and clean and tidy,

    plenty of fire pits around the site for campers to use, and firewood for sale,

    Lochs perfect for swimming and canoeing, dogs welcome,

    Nice pub on site with good food, lovely and clean, owners friendly and helpful
    baby changing facilities in the loo,
  • Disliked: millions of midge's we were bit to death(i know there's nothing that can be done about them but they were awful), be prepared, they didnt seem fazed by jungle strength repellents.

    not allowed to take alcohol onto the site shame, we like a drink by the campfire of an evening, but the pub did allow you to take drinks from the pub to your tent but at £4.00 a pint it was a bit steep,
    stressed to us NO PARTYING?? bit different to a quiet bottle of beer

    toilets and wash areas were a bit of a let down,
    gents had one cubicle and a trough ok,,,,could of bin cleaner,
    ladies had 3 toilets 2 of the seats were broken off and stood next to the loos and could of done with a good clean, maybe a few insect repellents in them wouldn't of gone a miss,
    Showers basic pretty much same as toilets.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

One of the most beautiful camping locations that I've ever been to.

(Group-mostly male, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The couple that run the place are amazing. The food and beer are great and the scenery is heavenly. The road that gets there is beautiful, with green hills, lots of water, a huge waterfall and great hiking opportunities. When you reach the site it gets better, set between two lakes and on lush grass.
    There are options for water sports on the lake, fishing and swimming although the water is quite cold.
    You are not allowed to drive on the grass to get to your site so the owner gives you a wheelbarrow to load your belongings and bring them to the site which is half a minutes walk from the car park, so it's nice that there aren't any cars driving around and safer for children playing.
    The shower has nice hot water.
    Highly recommended.

  • Disliked: The showers and toilets are in a caravan like building so they get filled with insects and seem less clean although I had no trouble with it and to me it adds to the camping experience.
    The fact that you can't drive to the site forces you to bring everything you need from your car so if you're in a small tent, like I was, it's a bit of a hassle.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for kel191

Beautiful scenery. Facilities need updating and field treated for bugs

(Family with young children, 1 review, 1 photo)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Location and views are fantastic. Good area for walking and very photographic. Camp area was very flat for pitching. The staff were friendly and helpful and on the Saturday night there was live music in the Inn, unusual for a campsite but excellent entertainment.
  • Disliked: The facilities are at best basic. No hot water for showering and shower areas were dirty. Toilets in serious need of updating being based in a converted trailer. Excrement floating outside the toilet area. The website advertises an onsite shop, this is incorrect, there are no shopping facilities onsite and the nearest is Selkirk, roughly 15 miles away. Finally there was a major problem with midges. At either end of the day, inconveniently at breakfast and dinner times, there were very large numbers of biting insects. This caused much discomfort especially for young children.
    If these points were addressed, we would have no hesitation in visiting again, frequently.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
6
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

fantastic campsite with great hospitality

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything located between 2 locks this camp site is ideal for solo travelling or large groups. The site is quiet and relaxing and one of the best sites ive used

  • Disliked: Not being able to take the car to my pitch but small inconvenience nothing more
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Frendly,relaxing,welcoming

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We had a great time,everyone enjoyed the outdoors,fishing,bonfire,good people,good food,the couple that run the place are very kind ,they look after you,help you and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable,we had 2teenagers and a9year old and they really enjoyed the whole camping experience no phones,no computers just back to basics and they really had a ball ,we are all going back in 3weeks time and can't wait
  • Disliked: The rain for one day
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for lee_b

will go again with family

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Everything was great
  • Disliked: Can't drink own on sit, but there is a bar.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Mr

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Did not like the site at all
  • Disliked: We were ..having a break with our 2year old great grandson
    but .not find the site suited our needs
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
2
Google Plus
avatar for Lynda_F

Beautiful setting, basic site.

(Solo traveller-female, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Couldn't do better for location, campsite is immediately by the loch edge, in fact between two lochs, lovely flat ground with car park close by but separated. No midges.
    Grey mare's tail waterfall just 10 minutes drive away.
    Owner brought some beers round for campers to buy as the bar was closed.
  • Disliked: was expecting there to be restaurant and bar opened, but it was closed. Seems to close most week days so if you are banking on this phone ahead and check if it is going to be open.

    Facilities - toilets in state of disrepair with doors and loo seats missing or hanging off. Wash room pretty dirty most of the time - use your own bowl.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Lorraine__M

Loved our stay :)

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: loved it booked to go again next weekend with another couple will definately
    recomend to others :)
  • Disliked: nothing :)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for hez1983

Fantastic little site!

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2010
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We used to travel down here pre kids for a meal and a walk and this year tried out the campsite for the first time. It's in one of the most picturesque settings you could imagine. You can pitch on the lochside and campfires are allowed - pits are dotted around the site. It's so laid back here I physically feel myself unwiding on the drive down in anticipation! It's great for kids - OK there's no amusements, park or club but who needs that? Our son is four and absolutely loves it down here. He plays away to his heart's content. The owners are lovely and make an effort to say hello once you're settled in. At a fiver a night per adult you can't ask for more! There are two portaloos, showering facilities and dishwashing area. Basic facilities but enough for a couple of nights.
  • Disliked: Having to go home!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus

<< Go back to Tibbie Shiels