Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to Dolbeare Park

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.2

Overall rating based on 12 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

83% would recommend this site to a friend.

75% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for collette_d

A late summer break away from it all in peaceful surroundings.

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Sep 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: From the time that you arrive you are made to feel very welcome and shown to your pitch personally by the owner or their warden,and even if you have been there before they will remind you where the facilities are and ask if there is anything else you need to know.
    The site itself is scrupulously clean and tidy and the pitches are well spaced out with hard-standings.There are lots of trees and bushes and flowers which all makes it a very pleasant place if you wish to sit by your caravan.
    There is a play area for children and another area for the kick-abouters well away from caravans etc.
    The toilets and shower facilities are always kept immaculate and the underfloor
    heating is a delight especially if you stay there in the cooler months.No more cold feet after your shower!
    We would like to say how much we appreciate that nothing is too much trouble for them,especially the wardens,helping us to pitch up and getting our van level even though it was bucketing down at the time.
    There is a shop on site for your small needs and you can pre-order fresh croissants for breakfast.
    This is a nice quiet site well away from traffic with only the sound of birds and farm animals to listen to.
  • Disliked: We can honestly say that there is'nt anything that we disliked about this site.
    We have been there many times as proof of this.
From the manager...

Thanks so much for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dolbeare Park soon.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Richard_M1

Best Site ever used

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The pitch sizes, friendly staff, location, relaxed atmosphere, facilities
  • Disliked: Nothing
From the manager...

Thank you Richard for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again at Dolbeare Park.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Jason_B0

Nice quiet site, with friendly staff

(Family with young children, 2 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The paddock has nice sized pitches, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Nice play area (a safe assualt course with lots of obstacles, which my 3 year old particularly enjoyed), they had a giant chess set and connect four set which was also well used by us all.

    There's a nice nature trail through the site, which the children liked exploring.

    The toilets/shower and washing up room looked new, and was kept clean and tidy.

    Great location near A38, near Landrake with a pub, and on the major route to all that Cornwall has to offer.
  • Disliked: The shop opening times was limited 10-11 in the morning 5-6 in the evening, with limited fresh food available (though if we were more organised, you can order the night before).

    Unfortunately the site is situated near a kennel, which provided us with a wake up call around 4am the first couple of mornings, though by the 3rd morning, it was ignored, and didn't cause us a problem. Not a criticism of the site though, just something to be aware of.

From the manager...

Thanks for your review Jason. You're absolutely right, the shop should have been open for longer and was still at the off peak times. We can only apologise for this and can confirm the peak shop opening times are from 9am until 11am and then again from 4pm until 7pm.

If you do ever have a problem or an issue whilst on any site, please do speak to the manager/staff whilst you are there. It helps them be aware of a problem and in our case, for example, a complete oversight on our part. Thank you for your feedback.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for rismelatishamsuddin

We stayed for 4 nights in the campsite and liked the clean,quiet site

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The general campsite layout, the facilities especially the toilets and the two family shower cum toilet for kids to be hosed down. The small mart with all essential. small but adequately stocked. The place even have a nice laundry room next to the mart which is open till late. campsite is quiet and lovely, we were enjoying the place in sunshine and rain. The manager Is nice and friendly and sees to our needs courteously.
  • Disliked: nothing.
From the manager...

Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate your feedback and the time you have taken to review our site. We hope that you will return to Cornwall in the near future and discover some other delightful areas.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Well run , friendly clean ste

(Mature couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Very helpful to 1st time caravaners,.
    Nice shower and toilet block.
  • Disliked: Dog walking area, was very restricted and site advertised as having many local walks, which were just routes around the roads.
From the manager...

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate the time and trouble you have taken. Our dog walking area is small which unfortunately is the only area we have available. We have a number of walking cards that guests can borrow and try some of the walks, with a variety of road walking and public footpaths. Being in the country, we are surrounded by farmland so does limit public access. We will create some additional walking cards for guests wishing to walk or cycle further afield. Thank you for your feedback.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Matt_G0

Great campsite

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Hi Ian

    Great campsite, we found it very clean especially the toilet and shower block, people where very friendly and inviting, when you compare your site to a lot of others that we have stayed at, yours stands out by a mile.

    We will most certainly be coming again and for longer


  • Disliked: Nothing
From the manager...

Thanks for your review Matt. We really appreciate them and it helps us to think of innovative ways in which we can improve. We look forward to seeing you again soon at Dolbeare Park.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for Traceyorange

Great site, great facilities, great staff

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The park was quiet and friendly. We stayed for three weeks and found all the facilities were clean and well maintained. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere on the park was good.
    We enjoyed the Easter egg hunt with our grandchildren over the holiday weekend.
    The play area was useful when we had visiting children and is always tidy and litter free.
    There are so many awards the walls can't hold them all, good for such a small site.
    Recycling is taken seriously which I have not seen on many other sites.
    We will definitely be back for another visit soon.
  • Disliked: Nothing, we had a very enjoyable stay.
From the manager...

Thanks for your review Tracey. We look forward to seeing you again soon at Dolbeare Park and hopefully warm enough for a BBQ next time!

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Excellent place to stay

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Beautiful, well kept location.
    Plenty of information
    Nature Walks
    Friendly Staff
  • Disliked: Nothing I can think of
From the manager...

Thanks Matthew for taking the time and trouble to leave us a review - we really do appreciate it and hope to see you again soon at Dolbeare Park.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for benperry58760

Unwelcoming Reception

(Extended family, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: There is nothing to like as we were shown the door and never returned even though we had paid for 3 nights
  • Disliked: I would advise campers to take note of the unreasonable arrival and departure times. We rang before hand to advise we would be arriving just after 8pm. Once we arrived we were asked to pay another £20 each on top of the £70 each that we had already paid. The owner advised us to pay or leave and come back tomorrow. As we felt 8.15pm was not an unreasonable time we were shown the door! Disappoiting and very unwelcoming service. Never to return.
From the manager...

Hi Ben, thank you for your review - we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Bookings made via PitchUp.com clearly show the permitted arrival time is between 12.00 and 18.00. For guests arriving after this time we publish our late arrival charges. You gave us no notification that you would be late - you telephoned at 8.06pm for directions, arrived at 8.25pm, declined to pay the late arrival charge and did not return the following day. We are not sure what you mean by unreasonable departure times - we think 11am is very fair.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Overall
1
Google Plus
avatar for tim_f

Very well organised site with great facilities and good atmosphere

(Family with young children, 4 reviews)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Pitches were flat and well drained
    Toilets and showers were very clean
    Assault course
    Croissants

  • Disliked: Could do with a slide and swings for the kids
    Kids not allowed to play chess
    Wifi too expensive
From the manager...

Thank you for your comments and suggestions - swings may well be a good idea in the future.

Many children do get a great deal of enjoyment out of playing chess and it's lovely to see them discussing strategies and tactics.

However, when children abuse the chess set either by using it as target practice with their balls, kicking it, seeing how high they can throw the pieces and how far they can stuff the king in the mouth of the rubbish bear - sometimes enough really is enough!

It is very disheartening for us seeing our lovely chess set being abused. Well behaved children though, are always very welcome to play chess.

We believe that our WiFi fees are competitive with other sites.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

The Campsite was very clean with good facilities. Staff was very friendly and helpfull and made us feel very welcome.

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jul 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Not being much of a camping fan, I liked the fact of being able to hire a Eurotent, which meant the tent was up and standing when we arrived and it had everything you need and more, like microwave, tv and even a double bed with mattress.
    The Campsite was easy to find. There was lots of information for things to do. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
  • Disliked: The only downside was the internet connection. The campsite offered wi fi for a charge of £12. It was essential for me to be able to check my emails, unfortunately the connection kept disconnecting and I only managed to check my mail once in the week we've been there.
    I would advise to use the computer on site which I think only cost 40 pence for 20 minutes.
From the manager...

Thank you for your comments, we really do appreciate these.

We wish you had told us during your stay that you were experiencing problems with the WiFi (the system shows you connected four times in total, with one of those being for a short time as the download was just 1.60mb, the remaining connections were around 9.00mb each).

We believe that you may have been connected to the wrong transmitter as the transmitter is just a short distance from the Eurotent and you should have received excellent WiFi. Other guests who have stayed in the Eurotent have had no problems with the WiFi.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for helen_r

Quiet,clean and friendly site.

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: clean,well kept park with excellent facilities and real welcome by owners and other guests alike.
  • Disliked: only two ladies showers..could get a bit busy on occasions.
From the manager...

In addition to the two ladies showers, there are also two famiily room showers and three showers in the gents.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus

<< Go back to Dolbeare Park