Book & review over 5,000 holiday parks &
campsites in UK, France, Ireland and more

<< Go back to North Lodge

Show me reviews by:
Staying in:

8.2

Overall rating based on 10 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

80% would recommend this site to a friend.

80% would stay here again.

Rating breakdown

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Sorted by stay date (latest first).
avatar for keith_w6

Fantastic Site

(With friends, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Oct 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We stayed in the log cabin and the owners could not be more accommodating. The cabin lets you escape the hustle and bustle. A LED light (they plan to put in more for next year) was a great addition and the log burning stove was fantastic.. kept the room snug in October! Yes its basic, but very clean, and the area and views were great. There are eco toilets (long drop) but there is also a traditional loo too! Shower is warm and powerful, plus the dogs are friendly but don't get in the way. I will be coming back.
  • Disliked: Long grass but they were not expecting us as Pitchup had not emailed them about our booking so had not cut it as were not expecting visitors. (We turned up after booking online and they were most surprised but very accommodating). Maybe add a USB charger to the Solar Lights?
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for d_d

Really great site with great owners

(With friends, 1 review, 1 photo)

  • Date stayed: May 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: I booked out the whole site for a group of 30 people in their mid 20's for two nights. The owner was really welcoming and the site itself was excellent. The facilities were perfect for what we were looking for; a large bonfire area secluded by vegetation, a small lodge with a wood burning stove, and plenty of space to pitch tents. There was a great BBQ area with a prep room and good shower.
    The site was also quite secluded and because we had it to ourselves; making noise late into the night wasn't an issue.

    The site is located a short drive to some really nice beaches, and the closest town Cardigan was about a 10 minute drive and had some good pubs and restaurants. We arranged mini buses to carry us to and from the site, which was cheap and easy.

  • Disliked: the 'eco' toilets were an experience, but certainly not a deal breaker by a long shot.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for shirinecheraghvandi

*** LOVELY AND BEAUTIFUL *** VERY WELCOMING AND HELPFUL ***

(With friends, 1 review, 1 photo)

  • Date stayed: Apr 2013
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: We came here to lodge as we had a friends Wedding in the area. First thing is that Jane was extremely helpful and offered us the use of a log cabin as an upgrade to camping, which was perfect. Also accommodated friends in the B&B and others camping.

    We found the place very easily, the directions that Jane gave got us there no trouble.
    From the outset of arriving there was a relaxed, warming atmosphere, wandered down and discovered willow weaved, decorative hedging and a great vege patch with poly tunnel at the bottom, and the very inviting looking log cabin with veranda that we were to stay in. You could tell that some one had been nurturing the land.

    The log cabin was clean and simple, with a comfy mattress and fantastic wood burner, all setup ready to light a fire. The breakfasts provided the next day was extensive and very tasty, both continental and full english with great local bacon.

    It by no means provides all the pristine mod cons that could be expected of 21st century camping but then we're getting back to nature and camping in Wales, and apart of that is getting away from all our dependancies in modern life, no? ...re-learning how we get by on the basics. The LED light powered by solar panels and compost toilets are some examples of little touches that I loved about the place.

    Jane provided us with lots of information about the local area, and Martin expelled his knowledge of growing techniques and gardening experience.

    All in all a marvellous experience that I would definitely repeat and recommend. Really wanted to get stuck into helping out with the vege patch or helping build the next compost toilet, if only i had more time.
  • Disliked: The fact that we didn't have longer to stay. :(
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
10
Google Plus
avatar for georgiamclean_

Slug tent

(Family with young children, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The owners were kind and welcoming.
  • Disliked: If you are into to all things eco and 16th century then this is the campsite for you. I myself have been camping quite a lot and this has been my worst experience yet. We stayed in the 'Pre-erected tent' that is avalible. This tent is terrible, every night we had to take slugs out from the tent due to the ground sheet and tent not actually meeting.Due to them not meeting we also had draft coming in and all sorts of bug and bettles. The gap also let water in and on our last morning we woke up with water everywhere including under our beds. We also had the problem of cooking. We took one gas hob as we knew we had know electricity but the website told us they will provide us with another fire hob. Yet, we could not use the fire as the 'campers fire wodd' was wet. - another let down. There was also the toilets, we read there was a 'tree loo' which stunk but we also read there was a 'normal loo'. This was a lie, the only other loo was a 'flush it yourself' one where you put the water you used to wash your hands down the toilet, this did not flush well and in my view is not very eco as you use a lot more water. Overall the campsite only has 3 toilets none of which are clean or in good working proper manner. Then there is the shower. The shower door does not lock properley so you have to sing or get a member of your family to stand outside on guard, so know one else walks in. The shower is not very powerful and there is only one on the site, which is dirty and not clean. The camp site itself is poorly advertised, it lies. Certain websites mention a 'Charging room' however there is no such thing, they also say a 'games room' this is also a lie. what they say is a 'games room' is a old broken shed with odd chairs with a dart board and no darts - not some bright coloured rooom with games and fun things todo. The campsite is also in the middle of nowhere and is poorly signed, so it is hard to find. The campsite overall is very dirty and not clean, toilets that stink and do not work, no entertainment and a tent that lets slugs and bugs in at night. Me and my family had to cut our holiday in wales short due to this campsite.
From the manager...

Due to the very poor weather the campers where mostly on their own on site, the toilets and shower are checked and cleaned twice a day so any dirt was from the family themselves. it is a small site, not many people so a few basic facilities, we offer space and great views for traditional camping. It is very unfortunate that these campers expected something different than we provide. We provided a smaller tent with sewn in groundsheet which they opted not to use. The groundsheet is large and is normally up the sides to prevent draughts, possibly when they were being attacked by slugs they inadvertently pushed them down as they left the tent very muddy. The wood was left out in the rain. We would ask please that any problems are brought to us at the time as we were not made aware of any issues.

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
3
Google Plus
avatar for Pete_D

Quiet, tranquil, friendly owners, nice amount of space and quaintly eco friendly

(Family with older children, 1 review, 2 photos)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The field set up, so no cars, nice little areas of mown grass for your pitch and long grass for privacy. Martin and Jane were very friendly providing a cup of tea when we arrived late and with loads of ideas for things we should do. The eco nature of the place was fun with a tree loo and all pretty basic.
  • Disliked: Could have done with a fridge but Martin did find a coolbox and freezer block for us. Also could have done with a little electric to recharge phone but that's probably our fault for having a 3 wheeled car and again Martin and Jane were happy to charge my phone in their house. Impressively noisy cows and sheep - but it's the country what do you expect ;-)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Overall an enjoyable stay

(Family with older children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: A small friendly campsite with nice pitches which are separated by long grass giving you a degree of privacy. Nice views and friendly owners. Facilities were basic (I don't mind this but my wife was less keen!) but at £20 a night it was good value for money. (The organic tree loo is an experience in itself!) Nice that you can light a camp fire at night. If you like small, basic and friendly camping then I would recommend you give this place a go.
  • Disliked: Facilities could do with a bit of upgrading - they are a tad "rough & ready" although to be fair everything was serviceable and we did get a hot shower. Probably not suitable if you've got really young kids.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for PinkCamper

Absolutely loved it, cant wait to come back!!

(With friends, 1 review, 2 photos)

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The lodge cabin was amazing. Everything we expected - and more!

    Very homely, has all the basics you need. Beds VERY comfy (The double bed was more comfortable than my own bed at home!).

    Owners very helpful and friendly, showed us round as soon as we arrived told us about the area and the site, how to use things etc.

    Has a shower and a bucket flush toilet, plus a washroom for pots/pans/cups etc. There is also the TreeLoo which was new for all of us (it all added to the experience!)

    There is a communal campfire area for everyone to use - we didn't use this but it was in a good area surrounded by bushes in a circle.

    The area itself is lovely, very quaint and pretty. We visited the nearby beach Poppit Sands which was beautiful and was not busy at all.

    Very happy for the price we paid - cant wait to visit again in the future!

    Thanks so much for a brilliant weekend and a very welcoming stay! Hope to see you again soon.


  • Disliked: Nothing, loved it all! The only thing i wasn't fond of was the TreeLoo but the simple answer to that was - dont use it.... :)
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
9
Google Plus
avatar for Default Avatar

Nice little camping site on a farm

(Young couple, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Jun 2012
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The site was really great, really nice feel to it as well as being pretty and quaint. Also liked the sustainability approach. The hosts were also fantastic, very friendly, helpful and talkative. Great at the end of a long drive!
  • Disliked: The rain! Should have taken better footwear : /
    Did think the cost of the pitch was a little elevated though.
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for KIm_M

Excellent site for families with young children

(Family with young children, 1 review)   Confirmed

  • Date stayed: Aug 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: Clean, tidy and very safe for young chldren.
    Eco friendly...our children learned alot about looking after the planet with a few simple changes in the way we live.
    Campsite owners ver approchable and excellent value for money. We will definately return.
  • Disliked: Sometimes car park got crowded, this would not be a problem however if each family only bought one car!
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Overall
8
Google Plus
avatar for PaulWebster1234

This site has fantastic views and owners very friendly

(Mature couple, 1 review)

  • Date stayed: Jul 2011
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: The country side
    Coastline walks
    Nearby beaches and caves
    Cardigan offers all that is needed
    Local friendly pubs
  • Disliked: the rain
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Overall
7
Google Plus

<< Go back to North Lodge