9.6

Overall rating based on 88 reviews

 

97% would recommend this site to a friend.

97% would stay here again.

  95% described as Wild camping ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Lovey and well managed woodland and we very much liked …29/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomWyn H.Confirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovey and well managed woodland and we very much liked the isolation. We were provided with plenty on firewood and enjoyed the walks. Worth every penny as it is evident in the effort to maintain the ecology of the surroundings.
    Definitely will return often.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent site and nature at its best.27/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomBrett A.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    I wasn’t sure what to expect as I had never wild camped solo before, but I was pleasantly surprised. This location is quiet, peaceful, and full of wildlife. The owner of the site (Mick) was very accommodating, and was on hand if I needed anything, but basically left me to it for the two days I spent there. As there are not many local shops near by and the nearest being a 2 mile walk away, I would recommend bringing enough water to last the duration of the stay as running out can be a bit of a pain when the gate to the site is locked. All in all, I would highly recommend this place and I will definitely be coming back in the future.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

A perfect place to get away from it all and relax.23/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United Kingdommatthew d.Confirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Love this place, the quiet..the wildlife..the location, a true "off grid" experience.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Great location, my brother and I had lovely weather for …18/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomsimon j.Confirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great location, my brother and I had lovely weather for the weekend and the woods looked stunning in the sunshine and woodsmoke. We stayed under tarps and practiced bushcraft and camp cooking, we went for a nice walk to Pluckley stopping off at the Rose and Crown for a drink on the way back.
    Mike was a great host with some fascinating stories about the woodland and his habitat restoration activities. We heard lots of owls and saw bats, and on the last morning a friendly vole joined us by the campfire for breakfast as if they were trying to keep warm - it was quite a joy to see!

    A great weekend and would like to return

    Simon

    Disliked: 

    The new charge of £20 per pp per day seemed a little expensive but at least the proceeds it can go towards the management of the woods

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Excellent wild camping in ancient woodland with abundance of wildlife09/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Ancient woodland, pitch size, campfire, wood for cooking, wildlife, quiet, welcoming owner

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Beautiful forest pitch, very quiet and peaceful. Owner helpful and …02/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful forest pitch, very quiet and peaceful. Owner helpful and friendly.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

wild camping in beautiful managed woodlands01/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMegan G.Confirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We loved the beautiful woods, escaping from mod cons, and having a fire and stack of wood to cook outdoors and keep us warm as we listened to the owls and watched the moon coming up through the trees. Also, the Woodman of Kent's approach to conservation and helpfulness!

    Disliked: 

    It's quite out of the way, as we were walking the north downs, but got a taxi from Lenhem (it's about the same distance to Charing station) for £20. Well worth it - it was the best campsite we stayed in on the whole trip.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Freedom Campfire Being alone in the forest The stars28/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSarah P.Confirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Freedom
    Campfire
    Being alone in the forest
    The stars

    Disliked: 

    The Rain!!

    The Train that we could hear

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent site, totally back to basics25/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomNikolai T.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The woods are beautifully managed

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Best place I've ever pitched19/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomTommy C.Confirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    This is now my favourite go-to spot. Unbelievable surroundings buried deep in the woodland. You won't hear or see anyone else, so can truly appreciate the natural surroundings. There are great views (even from the tent) and lots of walking paths. You'll even find a pig pen and a chicken coop!

    If you want a secluded pitch that's flat, covered by the rain, safe and with great views... then this is your place.

    If you want the luxuries of toilets and showers - this place will not be for you. It truly is wild camping.

    We'll be back!

    Disliked: 

    Nothing - all perfect.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)