9.6

Overall rating based on 82 reviews

 

96% would recommend this site to a friend.

96% would stay here again.

  96% described as Wild camping ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Friendly staff19/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAlessandro C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Been camping here for few times now..always a great experience

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Great site will definitely visit again16/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAndy B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great location very rural and peaceful and a great fire 🔥 pit. Owners very helpful and eager to help.

    Disliked: 

    Bumpy road to pitches

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Beautiful quiet wood with really friendly staff and awesome bell tent11/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything about it. The hosts were welcoming, the wood was beautiful, and we were lucky the weather held out.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

A forest getaway and great tonic to city life26/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDaniel B.Confirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We stayed in the raised bell tent for the weekend and it was a truly lovely getaway. The pitch is deep in the wood and definitely feels like wild camping. Mick was and helpful and welcoming, he met us on arrival and guided us to our tent which was very cozy with plenty of bedding, blankets and decorated with fairy lights. He supplied us with with firewood, cooking materials as well as fresh eggs. We had a glorious 10 mile walk the nest day through the local countryside, orchards, pasture, and golden wheat fields and finshed the day off with a huge feast cooked on the campfire.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Wild Camping Without Fear Of Being Moved On25/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMark C.Confirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    My friend and I were looking for a 'as close as wild' you can get type camping trip, this is how this place was advertised, and that's exactly what we got. This is basically a large forest with just four pitches. My friend camped in his tent, I strung up a hammock and tarp, we made a fire and ate several kilos of meat. Perfect. Michael the owner came and had a little chat with us and told us about the forest which was good, but also left us alone to get on with our evening as we pleased. As a little London escape for us, about an hour away, i'm sure we'll be back.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing really, the only thing i'd say is on our weekend it was incredibly muddy and my van got stuck, but that was my fault really for driving past the car park, and Michael came and helped me out anyway. Obviously the rain can't be helped, i'm only mentioning it to just be mindful of that, i wouldn't want to turn up in a sprts car.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Great site. Beautiful woodland. Friendly owner22/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The peaceful environment.
    Left to your own devices
    Composting loo was nice and clean although a little far from our pitch but it wasn't an issue.
    Beautiful woodland and nice walks

    Disliked: 

    Nothing.
    Things to note
    It's back to nature and you get exactly what is listed. Remember to bring kindling as you get logs but you'll need fire starters or some form of small fire starting items etc.
    Only downside which is expected as there is no phone signal at all. We found some right at the top of the track on the other side of the main road.
    The track is pretty bumpy so no good for low cars.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Bring your wellies, as expected can be quite muddy20/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDebbie K.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Peaceful and quiet

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Great place to swich off from your busy life19/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKarolina F.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The place is amazing & the owner is very friendly.

    Disliked: 

    Driving through a forest can be a little challenging especially if it's been raining however the owner is working hard on improving that.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Overall it was a good experience. Owner was friendly. Pitch …29/06/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomTim W.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Overall it was a good experience. Owner was friendly. Pitch was good. Made some good food over a fire and slept well.

    Disliked: 

    Broken roof tile that got lodged in my wheel arch and caused some minor damage.. It had been laid to try to fill a hole at the entrance, but hadn't been compacted so was made up of huge half chunks of tile. I feared it would burst my tire.

From the manager...

its unfortunate that the car was possibly damaged I cant say I didn't see lots of people come in cars with no problem you must of been travaling to fast to pick up anything on the track its a forest so low speed should be the norm

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Getting back to nature in a beautiful forest!13/06/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKayleigh R.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Pitching our bell tent under the canopy of trees was beautiful. So special waking up to the chorus of bird song. It was tipping it down with rain when we arrived but Michael gave us a piece of metal and rigged it up in the trees so we could have a fire. Dry fire logs were provided and the composting toilet was good (with toilet roll and sanitiser). The pitch was flat and spacious with a small campfire area. Michael even gave us some freshly laid eggs from his hens!

    Disliked: 

    It was quite a walk to the toilet and with the rain the path was very muddy. But it’s called ‘wild’ camping after all so we weren’t that bothered.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi