9.8

Overall rating based on 38 reviews

 

100% would recommend this site to a friend.

100% would stay here again.

  94% described as Wild camping ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Beautiful wild camp, in a lovely area. Lousy parking and bad signage.30/04/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJan d.Confirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    It's a beautiful, well-kept forest, in a lovely area. Completely quiet in the evenings with very little car traffic. Near lots of hiking routes.

    Disliked: 

    Arriving in the evening makes it very hard to find the exact area to camp in. They have used a system of paint on trees which is extremely difficult to see at night, and it's not very well marked. The parking area across the road is no longer allowing cars to park there overnight, so we had to park our cars on a narrow stretch next to a road, which isn't ideal.

From the manager...

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review - glad you enjoyed the beauty and peace of the forest! We are currently trying to organise a better arrangement for parking, sorry to hear you had trouble finding the camping area, we will look again at that - it has been working well so far for people arriving in daylight hours, but maybe we need to try and improve visibility in poor light :)

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

We used the forest to shoot a music video and …10/04/2019

leah_j208049

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We used the forest to shoot a music video and had the most amazing experience. It's a truly magical place with the most beautiful scenery.
    Michael who owns the forest was so helpful and kind, he made the whole day run smoothly and helped us build fires and everything.
    Would highly recommend this place for any outdoor activities, it's wonderful!

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thanks for your very appreciative review! Look forward to seeing the video :)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

A Must Visit28/03/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMatthew H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    fantastic place to stay , will definitely be booking again very soon, I met the owner Michael while I was there very nice gentleman.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Glad you enjoyed it and see you again sometime soon! :)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

wild10/02/2019

oli_dConfirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Camped out in a new hammock on a rainy night, was brilliant. Walked from Pluckley station to the main gate in about 40 minutes, followed the map to the site (the manager will email it over after you've booked), had a wander around and found a great spot to set up about ten minutes later. No fire, but had a bite to eat, a couple walks in the dark, and settled down for a rainy but extremely excellent night. Didn't see a single other soul during my stay.

    The site is bare bones and there's only a couple of spots where I could get any phone reception, but what better way to get away from everything. The scenery is great even on a miserable overcast winter's day, and there's a few landmarks to find around too. I didn't see much wildlife but heard *plenty*. I can't wait to go back and find out what it's like during the other seasons.

    In terms of civilisation, you can sometimes hear the gentle shhhhh of cars on the roads, but it's really quiet, the only sound that really gets through is the occasional distant toot from the railway, which I kinda liked as it added to the atmosphere.

    There's also farm shop (Pluckley Farm Shop) on the way from Pluckley station to the site that has a great selection of food and drink of all types and other camping supplies if you're a bit under prepared like I was.

    Disliked: 

    -

From the manager...

Thanks for taking time to leave your useful and informative review :) We're glad you enjoyed your stay!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

6 out of 5.18/01/2019

AnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything, great wild camping experience without the worry of getting caught. Left to your own devices in glorious Kentish woodland.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Glad you enjoyed your stay! - thanks for your review and photos :)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Real wild camping in the UK without the fear of being disturbed.25/11/2018

Reviewer's country: United KingdomTim J.Confirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    This is about as close to wild camping as you can get in the UK, as far as I can tell. You walk into the woods, pick up some of the supplied firewood (take some sort of bag to carry it), then find yourself any place you like within the area marked on the supplied map to make camp.

    At a location like this, what you get out of your stay is really up to you. The woodland is pretty typical of the south of England. If you've ever thought about stealth camping but didn't want the worry of being caught or moved on, this place is ideal.

    Perhaps due to the time of year, I didn't see a single other person whilst I was there. Although I was completely alone, I didn't feel vulnerable since I knew I was allowed to be there and also, while in my tent, had anyone approached, I felt confident I would have heard them from some way off, due to the leaves and branches littering the ground. All I heard was the breeze through the trees, numerous animals and the distant sounds of civilisation far off in the distance.

    I would also say, make sure you come prepared. Other than the supplied firewood, everything else is up to you. For example you will need to take your own food and water. You will need tools. For example an axe for processing the firewood. A knife of course for the various tasks around camp. Plus the means to start a fire and some sort of shelter.

    I'm not aware of any other camping location like this. Long may it continue. Leave no trace.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thanks for review and photos :) so glad you enjoyed your camp!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Great choice for my first wild camp and a solo one at that.28/10/2018

david_t250672Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Map was easy to follow, open choice of potential pitches and plenty of wood for cooking on.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thanks! Glad you enjoyed your first wild camp and found the map easy to follow, appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and add the pics :)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

A gorgeous place. The instructions for finding it were spot on.16/10/2018

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJoanna G.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The peace and quiet

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

:) so glad you enjoyed your stay - and also glad you found our instructions clear!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)