9.7

Overall rating based on 67 reviews

 

99% would recommend this site to a friend.

99% would stay here again.

  95% described as Wild camping ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Had such a lovely stay, this place is amazing. Really is just perfect!05/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomNatalie S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything

    Disliked: 

    –

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Back to nature camping05/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKalen O.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Truely back to basics camping, loved being back in nature!

    Disliked: 

    Less of a dislike more of a warning that the road into camp is not very small car friendly - better off using a 4x4 or something higher off the ground to get into camp

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Very disappointed - I wanted more freedom, not less.01/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomCaroline M.Confirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The peace and beauty of the woodland.

    Disliked: 

    The gate out of the forest was locked so it was impossible to drive back onto the road once you had parked your car. There was no indication that this would be the case in any of the information provided or on the website.
    When I arrived the proprietor showed me to my pitch and then said he was leaving for two days to go to Bristol. I did not realise he had locked the gate until I attempted to drive off on my second day to discover that the gate was locked.
    He was extremely reluctant to return to unlock the gate but eventually turned up three hours later. He then informed me that it would be locked again. Therefore I said I would have to leave as my elderly father had just had a serious fall and I needed to be able to get to the hospital if necessary. I packed up and left.
    As I said to him - what if there had been a fire or a medical emergency? If he feels that he has to lock the gate then campers should be given a code to unlock it.

    The pitch that the proprietor recommended to me was a considerable distance from the parking area and the terrain over which I had to carry all my things was extremely muddy. (You cannot park next to your pitch as it says on the website).

    As other reviewers have said, the track leading to the parking area is extremely rocky, muddy and rough in places. I could not drive to the parking area without bumping the bottom of my car.

From the manager...

this customer is totaly wrong in the statement made for instance the gate is open from 12 till 5 every day, when we have campers in the forest if we need to go out provision is made ie we leave campers with a key
this customer asked for the gate to be left open over night incase she needed to return home to deal with her elderly farther, I did explain that the woods needed to be locked over night to keep the site safe
we also have a emergency key box on site with a full set of gate keys in it
this is a wild camping site not a carpark and tent pitch . all pitches are within 150 .mts of the car park ,the terrain is what you would expect in a forest
as for the track in its a foresty track that is being improved all the time , driving at the required 5 m p h the is no problem
I will be talking with pitchup about this Review first to ask for any evidence of clames made and if not for it to be removed

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
Anonymous user

Awesome place, appreciated the relaxed nature of staff- will be back!23/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Space
    Quiet
    Privacy
    Walking opportunities
    Well sign posted
    Easy to get to
    Nature 🏕

    Disliked: 

    A neighbouring camp took some food from our campsite

From the manager...

think its more likely a wild animal took the food

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Beautiful Setting, Relaxing.22/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKirsty M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The Silence away from the hustle and bustle of life.
    We was left to our own devices and the surroundings were stunning, very helpful gentleman met us on site and gave us everything we would of needed for the night.
    The bell tent was very comfortable of a night and waterproof (we had alot of rain!)
    If you want silence and just to relax away from day to day this is your place.
    No phone signal I thought would be an issue but it was an added bonus to destress.

    Disliked: 

    The compost toilet was a fair distance from our bell tent, fine during the light but of a night I would have easily got lost.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Friendly staff19/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAlessandro C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Been camping here for few times now..always a great experience

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Great site will definitely visit again16/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAndy B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great location very rural and peaceful and a great fire 🔥 pit. Owners very helpful and eager to help.

    Disliked: 

    Bumpy road to pitches

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Beautiful quiet wood with really friendly staff and awesome bell tent11/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything about it. The hosts were welcoming, the wood was beautiful, and we were lucky the weather held out.

    Disliked: 

    –

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

A forest getaway and great tonic to city life26/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDaniel B.Confirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We stayed in the raised bell tent for the weekend and it was a truly lovely getaway. The pitch is deep in the wood and definitely feels like wild camping. Mick was and helpful and welcoming, he met us on arrival and guided us to our tent which was very cozy with plenty of bedding, blankets and decorated with fairy lights. He supplied us with with firewood, cooking materials as well as fresh eggs. We had a glorious 10 mile walk the nest day through the local countryside, orchards, pasture, and golden wheat fields and finshed the day off with a huge feast cooked on the campfire.

    Disliked: 

    –

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Wild Camping Without Fear Of Being Moved On25/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMark C.Confirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    My friend and I were looking for a 'as close as wild' you can get type camping trip, this is how this place was advertised, and that's exactly what we got. This is basically a large forest with just four pitches. My friend camped in his tent, I strung up a hammock and tarp, we made a fire and ate several kilos of meat. Perfect. Michael the owner came and had a little chat with us and told us about the forest which was good, but also left us alone to get on with our evening as we pleased. As a little London escape for us, about an hour away, i'm sure we'll be back.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing really, the only thing i'd say is on our weekend it was incredibly muddy and my van got stuck, but that was my fault really for driving past the car park, and Michael came and helped me out anyway. Obviously the rain can't be helped, i'm only mentioning it to just be mindful of that, i wouldn't want to turn up in a sprts car.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)