9.6

Overall rating based on 84 reviews

 

96% would recommend this site to a friend.

96% would stay here again.

  94% described as Wild camping ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Anonymous user

Quiet, super relaxing, clean. Amazing experience20/05/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Privacy. Silence.
    Amazing to be in a real forest! Best camping site ever.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Beautiful woodland with a great many birds and a choice …17/05/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomBen T.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful woodland with a great many birds and a choice of well-separated pitches. Each pitch has some wood logs or a bench and a fire bowl of some sort. Considering it's in Kent the place is quiet, with just the occasional sound of a car or train horn in the distance.

    The loo is situated well away from the pitches and was clean each time I used it.

    The campsite is around a 40 minute walk from Pluckley Train Station and a short journey from London where I live. There's a scenic route to the site - via Pluckley - as well but it takes over an hour to walk it and there aren't any bus options.

    Overall a great base to explore Kent.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Beautiful and peaceful woodland! Friendly host.09/05/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJoanna R.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The beautiful surroundings and peaceful vibe! Makes you feel like you’re in a remote forest with no one else around you. Loved it!

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Owner friendly, basic site but very well kept and level pitch.03/05/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomGary M.Confirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quiet location within a beautiful setting surrounded by trees, wild life and blue bells. A photography of the unusual entrance gate into the site from the main road would make it slightly easier to find.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Quite, wild camping in the forest, secluded and private, beautiful …25/04/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quite, wild camping in the forest, secluded and private, beautiful and peaceful. Will be coming back :-)

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Amazing forest, peaceful, far from anyone else, great service from …24/04/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomBogdan V.Confirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Amazing forest, peaceful, far from anyone else, great service from the host.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Quietness, far away from other pitches, little stream and ponds, …20/04/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomGianluca M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quietness, far away from other pitches, little stream and ponds, wild life, blue bells and trees, friendly owner

    Disliked: 

    The big goose squeak 😀

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

We very much liked the site! It was so peaceful! …19/04/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We very much liked the site! It was so peaceful! Although there were groups who were loud until late at night, it wasn't enough to disturb our enjoyment. I'm sure I'll go back.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Amazing place to stay, the woods are truly magical19/04/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDaniel S.Confirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Amazing place to stay, the woods are truly magical. Almost the entire forest floor bed is lined with bluebells among other wild flowers. The small number of pitches are completely secluded from each other and our were set inside the bluebell forest. Closet thing to wild camping you'll get.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Shame about the road and curfew04/04/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful location

    Disliked: 

    The unmettled track through the woodland to access the pitches is in a very bad state - presumably worse after the Winter, we don’t have an SUV but fortunately we have all weather tyres otherwise am unsure we would have made it in. We were a bit surprised on being texted and then called after it was noticed our car had gone, just before 5 - to be informed that the gate was usually locked at 5pm then on the phone 6pm(??!!) and when I said we had not realised was told that this was on the website Pitchup where we booked. I have double checked and it is not and if it had been we wouldn’t have booked. Michael readily said he would leave it open and wasn’t rude or nasty but we felt like naughty children and a need to rush back! For us it would seem restrictive on a holiday and particularly after the last 2 years we’re definitely not up for that, I can understand weather permitting or not you may want to stay on-site the whole time but we like to explore an area and when it’s cold which it was have some time in the great indoors! Beautiful woodland with great ethos on compost loos and leave no trace but a fear of breaking the car on the road and the unknown 5pm/6pm curfew is just not for us..

From the manager...

This is a forest site so there are forest tracks, I have never had any complaints regarding this before, even from people without specialist tyres.

As far as texting, the carpark is closed after 6 for the safety of peoples cars. In this instance, at your request I left the gate open late, and I believe we resolved this issue at the time. I was on site the whole time, but locking up is a precaution I deem necessary to take at night.

This is wild camping, if you want an average camping experience there are a lot of options where you can drive in and park directly at your tent at any hour. The service we offer is really for people who want to park up, walk into, and experience the forest. It is designed to be as close to wilderness as possible whilst maintaining the comfort of our guests.

I don't think the leave no trace ethos of the site was respected, as you climbed over my fences and those of my neighbours, and crushed many wild flowers without a thought. It says very clearly to stick to established paths in the leaflet I gave you and on the website.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)