9.1

Overall rating based on 55 reviews

 

93% would recommend this site to a friend.

93% would stay here again.

  69% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Rural camping very conveniently located just outside the city.28/10/2018

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRachel M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Lola shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    I was expected and welcomed. Warm and friendly owners there as soon as i needed anything butalso respected my privacy. A beautiful clean safe site, as a lone female i felt safe enough to walk about during the night. Walking distance of a Broad, a visitors centre with fabulous cafe, lots of local and regional information and a water sport centre, short drive (20 minutes) to Norwich city centre. (kayak/canoe/SUP/sail). Camping for all budgets respectful of its beautiful setting. I glamped in the delightful shepherds hut 'Lola'. Thoughtfully and artistically furnished. A place i hope to return to often.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

nice site with excellent staff04/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United KingdomHelen T.Confirmed

  • Bell tent (4 adults and 2 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The friendliness of the site, location and how helpful the staff were

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to review us - we hope to welcome you back to Whitlingham again

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Good site and happy to see there’s a kids play area04/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The location is good

    Disliked: 

    How dirty the bathrooms are, charging for the hairdryer and charging to freeze your own ice blocks.

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to review us - The play area was new on site this April and has so far proved very popluar.

Our bathrooms are checked and cleaned regulary, at busy times they can of course become dirty within half hour - However our staff do keep on top of this - if found to be unsatisfactiory while on site - our staff can deal with this very quickly. we do prode ourselves that many of our reviews praise how clean our site is so we can only apologise that you found them to not be this during your visit. We are looking at our staffing schedule for next season in the hope to make further improvments.
The hairdryers are provided as an extra service, at the small charge of £1 - as we do not charge extra for hot water etc we feel this is very fair to keep our pitch prices as low as os possible.

We hope to accomodate you once again o site and are always availible by phone shoulf you wish to discuss your stay

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Clean facilities,polite staff, well priced items in the cafe and ...03/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJordan B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean facilities,polite staff, well priced items in the cafe and campig shop

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to review us - we are glad you enjoyed your stay in the wonderful Whitlingham and will pass your commets on to the rest of the team

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

The site was pleasant and mostly well looked after.03/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLauren M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The location and the fact the site was enclosed by fences.
    The fact we got a discount at the watersports centre (although we found this out by accident)

    Disliked: 

    1.The fact that to stay on the upper site you had to carry all your stuff or use a wheel barrow which is not viable for everyone.
    2.The toilets........ they needed to be cleaned in the morning as the floor became full of mud and grass.
    3.The cost of all the ‘extras’ when I arrived ........ £10 deposit for a firepit, £3 a night, £6.50 for a bag of logs, £1.50 for a very small amount of kindling, £2.50 for bbq sticks, £2.50 for marshmallows........
    4.The fact that you could hear the speeding traffic on the road nearby.
    5. Pitchup.com decription says there is an adventure playground nearby, the lady in the information centre told us this was no longer there.
    6. The play area on site was not very well fenced off and therefore childrenxould climb through amd over the fence (kicking the ropes on our tent each time they cut through past our tent!)
    They were told off by a member of staff once on sunday morning when she unlocked the main gate) she told them they were not allowed in the park anymore.
    They went straight back in.
    Pointless!

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to review us

We feel its a shame that you seem to of not enyied your stay here with us - I will do my best to addess your points raised

1. Tent campers have a choice to choose where to pitch from either field, and in the lower field you can drive right in. There is also an access road to unload your kit next to your pitch should you choice to pitch in the upper car free field
2. The toilets are regularly checked and cleaned - on dewey mornings of course some grass can make its way into the facilities - the nature of camping on a field, this is always dealt with as quickly as possible first thing
3. The extras on site are provide for convience only - your are welcome to purchase these items from elswhere and bring to site. Our logs etc are resposibly and localled sourced
4. There is a A road up and behind the park, traffic noise can be heard faintly if the wind is in the right direction, Whitlingham Lane that is the Access to the park and campsite has very little traffic, only serving the park and a few houses
5. Ther playground was removed by the country park due to wetaher damage- however this is being re-erected by the park in due course, there is also a large village play area less than a mile from site
6. Our play area is fenced and we lock the gates at dusk to restrict noise into the early evening. Unfortuantluy staff can not constantly control children who wish to climb this fence, there is signage at the entrance to the park asking parents to suoervise thier children - any problems with this that are reported to us will of course be actioned

I hope this informtaion is useful - we are of course availible on the phone should you wish to discuss these points. and welcome any feedback as we are always looking to improve our offer

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

This site needs improving.02/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The location was great, as was the fact that the on-site shop sold most essentials. Also, waking up to the sound of green woodpeckers.

    Disliked: 

    I had booked on pitchup a tent/trailer-tent pitch, I was then sent an email from the site demanding a further £5.50 per day because my trailer-tent had a trailer! After a heated argument this charge was waived on this occasion.
    Our pitch had a lot of large stones just below the surface.
    Having to pay £1 to charge your phone was irksome, especially as a week previously, at a cheaper campsite in Cornwall, this had been free.
    There was no hot water, only just warm,and at the sinks often cold. While the shower room was clean, the showers had no where to put shampoo etc. There were no pegs or shelves near the sinks for towels etc.
    There was no tap in our field, so a longish walk for water.
    For families with children, be aware that staying past the 11am departure time incurs a further £5.20 charge.

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to review us

Just to address your points raised:

We are happy to discuss the issue of your booking with you if you would like to be in contact. It was not clear from your booking that you had a trailer tent. we thought you had booked a tent and a trailer - for which we do have a small extra charge. At no point did we demand money from you and once it was clear that your tent was in fact a trailer tent, no extra monies were paid. We have worked with pitch up to now make this even clearer on the booking

We do have to draw the line at check out somewhere and 11am is that for us - upon booking this is advertised and a late check out can be added as an optional extra, if you do not wish to stay later then of course no fee is charged, This is due to our location within a country park, and of course making pitches availible for the next camper in busier times

There is indeed water taps in both field, so you would never be more than a 20 second walk from one

I hope this answers your points - we are happy to discuss anything further and feel it is a shame that a misunderstanding has left a bitter taste - especially as our staff very kindly helped search for your lost property after you left, and non of your points were raised with us on site. We of course struggle to rectify problems after your departure.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Perfect site for family’s just a stones throw from town.25/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKatrina M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean,friendly

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your excellent review - Whitlingham really is a wondrful place to be

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

One for the glampers22/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKate M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great location, no restrictions on where to pitch, but that could make things awkward if it was busy

    Disliked: 

    Cold showers and lukewarm washing up water, which others said had been the same the whole week of their stay. Overpriced shop and bike hire (£3 per hour per bike, £2 for a small bag of marshmallows).

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to review us

We do have some pitching restrictions as set out on the booking information - on busyier days, we keep a close eye on this to allow eveyone to have plenty of space

We are sorry you exerienced cooler water while on site - since upgrading our new system this year, it is simply a case of flicking a swith and more hot water can be produced - if reported to us on site this can be easily rectified. Our staff have founf no problems on their regular checks. and we have not had any reports that the water has run out - We will however now keep a closer eye on this.

Our bike hire is on trial this year and we have yet to find anywhere locally offering this at anything less that £6 per hour, if we priced any lower it would not be viable to have this service for our campers - we are soory if you found this overpriced, we do however feel it is very reasonable

We are sad to hear that it is the case that you may not return as Whitlingham is a glorious place to be

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Great stay friendly staff,clean facilities,all around great spot,every time we ...21/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United KingdomNeil M.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great stay friendly staff,clean facilities,all around great spot,every time we visit Norwich we shall camp here.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thanks for your review... and we look forward to welconing you to site again

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Clean, friendly, relaxed site.21/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomsharon h.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Relaxed. Friendly helpful staff. Fire pits were really fun, everyone had one. Hot showers. Facilities very clean despite being a really busy weekend. Cute pizza van Saturday night was unexpected and fab, v tasty. It was a busy weekend so tents a bit closer together than I’d prefer, but everyone was friendly, considerate and chilled. There’s a pub walkable, about 25mins away, dogs outside in pleasant raises decked area out back, friendly staff and a nice burger. Lake was nice early morning with sun coming over it. You can hear the road a little bit, if you listen for it, but not intrusive. We’d go again but maybe a quieter weekend, not in school hols (that’s my deducted star which is hardly the sites fault!) tho’ the kids were kinda cute running about a bit and playing cricket, nice to see them without an iPad in hand.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing really. Wasps bothered people a bit, but it’s that time of year ...take a water/soap/peppermint oil spray and spray the suckers if they come near

From the manager...

thanks for taking the time to review us - we will pass your comments on those at The White Horse in Trowse also!

We are open all year around, so yes do come and join us in term time also!

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)