9.1

Overall rating based on 419 reviews

 

93% would recommend this site to a friend.

92% would stay here again.

  61% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Anonymous user

Basic, relaxed site - pitch where you like and enjoy stunning views21/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Relaxed feel
    Amazing views
    Clean toilets and showers
    Great location - close to Monsal head for lovely walks and views of the sunset! + short drive to bakewell and an Aldi for BBQ supplies :)

    Disliked: 

    No running hot water
    No response from site when emailed a question 5 days before stay
    No fire pits to rent (as advertised!) only a tiny one to buy for £30 + £8 for wood etc.
    Multiple large single sex groups - although against site rules? We coped with the noise but I wouldn’t advise this for families with small children.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

fantastic sire with amazing views.20/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomTAYNE N.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great site, it is a little bit of a free for all but there is plenty of space to not be ontop of one another. Sire owner is lovely and very attentive if you need help. Gorgeous stunning views and lovely to just sit with the campfire on watching the sun set. We will be returning for sure.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing to dislike, back to basics campsite so any one moaning needs to remember it is back to basics.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Great location and pitch. Got unlucky with inconsiderate party animals20/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJulian S.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location was great
    Toilets were immaculate.
    Fields were in tip top conditon.
    Twightlight campfires and someone playing guitar were a joy to experience
    Vast majority of campers were fantastic.

    Disliked: 

    Large group camping in a sort of coral configuration with about 6 tents in a circle were partying and making a noise til 4am. Zero policing of this and consequently very little sleep. So either the owner didn't check that everything was OK with guests during the night, or they thought that was acceptable.

    It wasn't.

    Also no lighting whatsoever in the portable toilets was an interesting night time concept in what were described as "Luxury Loos"

From the manager...

Ok Julian let's jump back to saturday the 12th. Dont try and be clever and leave it till a week later because I can still go on and see all your booking details, same goes for the anonymous ones aswell normally I name and shame but pitch up get mardy at that. Thank you for your good points much appreciated but like I say to everyone if there is any problems give me a call and I will be down, or better still sort it out your self, last weekend I was down on site till around 11:30pm and everyone was in line. Yes correct there is no lighting in one of the toilet blocks due me having moaners like you saying ooo the toilet lights are shining into my tent and keeping me awake, so i think fair enough dont have any lights then and if I did away with the toilet block all together you would be saying it's to fair to walk to the main block that is full lit 24/7. I know I will never please every one but not everyone matters that are like you, I am pretty sure you knew what you were letting your self in for if you've left a review you'll of read my previous reviews.

Thanks for coming hope not to see you again.

Regards
James

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Will absolutely return again19/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSarah W.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We loved everything. This was a perfect campsite for us, the facilities were spot on and the ground was level. James the owner was a lovely man who chatted to us every day. Perfect central location to all the things we love in the Peaks. Gorgeous views.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

The views all round are stunning, ...back to basic site …18/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKaren H.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The views all round are stunning, ...back to basic site which allows fires and bbq's, has toilets and hot showers, very spacious pitches (ideal for social distancing), this to me is camping at it's finest. James the all round go to person who runs the site is open and friendly, and VERY helpful...we destroyed the wires on our trailer(like literally pulled them all out) and he fixed it for us and wouldn't take a fee..!! HOW KIND.

    Disliked: 

    Having to come home!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Clean facilities, friendly staff, beautiful views18/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomjoanne h.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful, campsite with simple facilities and scenic views all round. The facilities were very clean, the hot showers were much appreciated. Friendly staff with a simple set up.

    Disliked: 

    Would be great if there were recycling facilities.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Staff were friendly, it was easy to organise and pay for our stay15/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomlucia h.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    How clean the facilities were, and the limitless pitch size.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Friendly owner who came around selling wood and chatting. Amazing …14/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKaren Y.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly owner who came around selling wood and chatting. Amazing views. Would stay again.

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Beautiful views, local pubs and cafe.14/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The location , the view, facilities and the staff where amazing!

    Disliked: 

    Nothing, was a lovely stay!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Clean toilets, hot showers, plenty of space, close to nice …14/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomCharlotte C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean toilets, hot showers, plenty of space, close to nice walks/shops/pubs. Owner is always friendly. Dogs allowed.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)