8.3

Overall rating based on 29 reviews

 

79% would recommend this site to a friend.

79% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

60% described Wheatsheaf Inn Campsite as Spectacular scenery ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Great spot - can't wait to return and spend a bit more time there. 06/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Dave R. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great location and lovely little pub. Arrived late and left very early (to do C2C) - will definitely be back.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing. No hot water late at night, but it was 20+'C so quite enjoyed a cold shower!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

No good if you have children. 06/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Katherine S. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    A nice welcome.

    Disliked: 

    The fact the facilities are in one area ie the beer garden, there is a very small camping area alongside then down the drive onto the road then into a field that is the main campsite. It’s literally a field, no facilities. We couldn’t stay, we have young children, it just wasn’t suitable.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

We really enjoyed our stay at the Wheatsheaf Inn. We ... 06/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Joe F. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We really enjoyed our stay at the Wheatsheaf Inn. We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived. Ray is a great host and helped us settle in right away, even providing us with extra strong pegs. The facilities are newly installed, clean and good quality. Especially the shower! There is also a fridge and kettle which was a nice surprise. It is located close to Cockermouth, so ideal for getting supplies. Each night we had a few drinks in the pub, which was really enjoyable and were made to feel very welcome by everyone. We would definitely stay here again.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Fantastic site, superb views and lovely staff.. 04/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Laura G. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We travelled as a couple aged 45 & 39 for 3 nights, it was our first time camping and the site was exactly what we was looking for, New toilet block with 2 toilet cubicles a shower cubicle, 2 hand basins with huge mirror and a full kitchen sick to use for washing up with a view to die for, as this is all brand new and seeing how Ray does lots of walkrounds its all spotless! Views are beautiful from the site with lots of nice places to visit close by. Ray and the team really couln't do anything more to ensure quests were happy! We had brilliant tent neighbours that we hope to meet up with again soon. We loved it so much that we went the following weekend and the week after we took my children aged 4 & 6 there for 5 days. Ray has also added the option to hire a lovely huge outwell bear lake 6 tent that is superbly equipped so not a worry if you don't have own stuff yet.
    We ate in the pub and had a lovely meal in there with reasonable prices too.
    We will definately be going back as soon as we can...
    Ground is hard so if you have stronger pegs take them.

    Disliked: 

    Having to go home at the end of each trip!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Brilliant site with clean facilities, friendly staff and level pitches 01/08/2018

Reviewer's country: Germany Alice J. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    It was brilliant. Small, clean, and friendly, had good simple facilities. Would definitely return and recommend to friends.
    Great value for money too.

    Disliked: 

    Really can't think of anything

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Friendly welcome, good food with real chips 28/07/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom W M. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly welcome, good food with real chips

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Very good facilities clean and easy 24/07/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Charles T. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly staff went out of there way to accommodate for my partners dietary needs

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hi'' Thank you so much for your lovely review-))

Hope to see you both again soon

Ray, Jan and all the staff x

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent site, clean facilities, super friendly staff. 16/07/2018

sarah-jane_t172131 Mobile phone icon

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We rocked up to this campsite after seeing it on pitch up. We were the very first people to use the campsite and were greeted by the wonderful Ray who owns the site. He made us feel right at home and nothing was too much fuss. We had originally only planned one night here but had such wonderful neighbours and Ray was so friendly and accommodating that we ended up spending 3 nights instead.
    The facilities are brand new (not quite completed but Ray kept us up to date with what was going on and were totally usable anyway!) so are in good nick, comprising of a couple of toilets, a shower, a couple of sinks and a washing up area.
    Food in the pub is exactly what you want when you're camping- proper pub grub, fairly priced, big portions and very tasty. Staff were fab there too- all super friendly and nothing was too much trouble. There's also a wee play area just outside the pub that kept my little niece occupied for a while too.
    Would definitely recommend this wee campsite.

    Disliked: 

    The ground was a wee bit hard so would advise to take along ground hog pegs, though after speaking to Ray about this he said he'd try and get some in that people can use so maybe check if he has some? Saying that, we used normal pegs and it was ok.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

A must visit! Lovely staff, food, facilities! 16/07/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Skye S. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We arrived at 8pm on the Friday and were made to feel right at home. Nothing was too much hassle and they were always there with a smiling face! Atmosphere was lovely and the pub in front of it was amazing! Beautiful food, friendly staff! If you go, you have to try the chips! They are to die for! Not one negative point at all! Nothing but friendly, helpful people and I couldn’t thank them enough for making me and my partner for feeling right at home! 10/10! Will definitely be returning!

    Disliked: 

    Nothing!!!!! No faults what so ever!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi