9.8

Overall rating based on 36 reviews

 

97% would recommend this site to a friend.

100% would stay here again.

  85% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

What an unforgettable stay we had at this beautiful site. …10/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLouisa J.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    What an unforgettable stay we had at this beautiful site. From the gorgeous tent, to the incredible Maria (who was so so helpful & could not do enough) and the amazing setting, we couldn’t have asked for more. The tent was very cosy and the en-suite compost loo & shower were brilliant. Having a campfire every night was really special & we cannot wait to return again next summer.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Helpful and relaxed wild camping09/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMelanie K.Confirmed

  • Non-electric hardstanding and grass tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    There is a huge field (10 acres-ish) and only 2 tents are allowed to pitch at a time so you have masses of space, peace and privacy. On 2 of our 3 nights we even had the whole field to ourselves. Camp fire circles are already set up for you and a bag of logs is delivered every afternoon (and rubbish taken away). The river is a few minutes walk down a steep hill, but well worth it. we carefully stepped our way to the other side through a shallow bit and had fun catching (and releasing!) little fish, collecting stones and paddling.
    the local town is a few minutes drive away and has plenty of walks, 2 kids playgrounds, a small donkey rescue, independent shops, big co-op.
    there is a great sunflower farm a short drive with a maize maze and mini woodland walk. they sell yummy ice cream and cake.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Lovely glamping site, would highly recommend.05/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely glamping set up. Clean compost toilet and shower and bath facilities, tent (yurt) was spacious clean and very comfortable... Stove was lovely to take the chill away in the evening. Outside kitchen was well stocked, with everything thought of to make the experience easy and enjoyable. A fire pit was ready set up to make cooking and the camping experience complete...
    The owner and her children were very welcoming, ensuring that their guests were well provided for in a beautiful part of mid Wales. We had a wonderful stay and will definitely come again...

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent site with everything you need for a great holiday04/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLouise L.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Fantastic quiet secluded location, Maria is amazing and works hard to make sure everything is perfect for your stay. Bell tent was extremely comfortable and we all slept really well. Clean hot showers. Enough wood for a fire each day and an evening fire in the bell tent was very cosy. Kitchen equipment was perfect and well thought out. We were sad to say goodbye and will definitely stay again.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

extremely welcomed by marie and would highly recommend01/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomCharlotte N.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric hardstanding and grass tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The woodland set up with real fire pits and hammocks

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excllent, Clean, Well managed in a beautiful location31/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAdam B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric hardstanding and grass tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The campsite is in a beautiful location (ideal for fly fishing at Clywedog) with good toilet and shower facilities considering it’s a very secluded site, theh are also very well maintained and allways clean!

    Some great little campsite touches by Maria who was very pleasant to deal with throughout our stay… highly recommend this campsite and will be returning!

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you so much for your kind words, we absolutely loved having you both stay with us Adam - our first repeat guest!! We are really looking forward to many more repeat visits from you. Until next time, best wishes, Maria & the boys.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

A small, quiet, green site with a friendly, attentive owner.31/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomFrances W.Confirmed

  • Non-electric hardstanding and grass tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Secluded pitch in a peaceful location with a hammock, logs for the fire pit and daily renewal of freezer blocks. Maria and her boys are delightful. Nothing is too much trouble for them. They were helpful before as well as during our stay. In our absence they decorated our pitch with surprise birthday balloons, leaving a cake and candles!

    Disliked: 

    Having one compost toilet between all the pitches. Having said that, I think there are plans to improve those facilities for next year. Then we would definitely give it top rating.

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - it means the world to us. We so enjoyed you staying with us, it was truly our pleasure. Best wishes, Maria & the boys.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Fabulous, will be back again soon29/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSusan F.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    View, bath and gorgeous tent. Owners were lovley and very helpful. Showers were wonderful and hot.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you Susan for your lovely review, we would love to welcome you back - Until then, best wishes, Maria & the boys.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Hostess could not do enough for us- amazing glamping experience28/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLaura B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Wow! What a weekend. Ty Llewelyn is the perfect place to hop off grid for a few days. We were sharing a glamping pod with a friend and our 2 small people (both 5 yr old). The set up is amazing, so much attention to detail. We had our own super hot shower and toilet hut, an outdoor bath(!), water on tap fresh from the well, really well equipped outdoor camping kitchen, fire pit and log burner stove, and really well thought out bell tent with a double bed, sofa bed and camp beds. The thing that really elevated the trip though, was Maria and her family. They actually could not do enough for us. When we arrived we were greeted personally and shown around. There were plenty of bedding options, great instructions on how to use the composting toilet and the shower etc. and loads of suggestions for touristy type questions. Mum had an issue with a medicine and Maria helped with directing to the local pharmacy, when we asked about visiting the dam to paddle board, Maria sorted us out with a local SUP company. Seriously Maria has nailed responsive, friendly but unobtrusive hosting to make sure we had the perfect stay.

    Tbh, we generally found the most lovely people where ever we went, super friendly and helpful. We ate out at some restaurants that we pretty-booked following a fab detailed email before we arrived. We could not fault the hospitality from the very first email contact through to setting off home. The site is small but perfectly formed. Stunning scenery but really well placed to walking or driving into the picturesque town of Llanidloes. Newtown wasn't much further of you needed a bigger supermarket etc or a more mainline train station. Loads of places to walk too. Perfect little corner of the world.
    I dare say we will be back!

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you so much Laura - Wow what a wonderful review!! We absolutely loved hosting your family and friends, three generations of brilliant women - what more could we ask for!! Being out numbered by boys here at Ty Llewelyn it was great to have some 'girl power' around for a change! We look forward to a return visit. Until then. best wishes, Maria & the Boys

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Great glamping experience very clean27/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Space between other tents , kitchen great , water system outside bath great , fire pit good as logs supplied free host maria and boys very organised and friendly,views stunning access excellent

    Disliked: 

    Comfort for two sleeping in double bed great but rest of sleeping arrangements were not so comfortable , heating of tent inside was a bit of a challenge for me regarding lighting inside log burner

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to review our site, we really appreciate it. There are various options for the sleeping arrangements ranging from a double bed, a sofa bed, two camping beds and or a double blow up bed. I'm so sorry you felt uncomfortable, if you had mentioned this to me during your stay I could have tried to remedy it. Likewise the log burning stove, If I was aware you were struggling to light it I would have happily lit it for you or given you further instruction on how to do it effectively. Many thanks again for choosing to stay at our little site, we welcome your visiting again, until then. Best wishes, Maria & the boys.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)