9.3

Overall rating based on 21 reviews

 

95% would recommend this site to a friend.

95% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

95% described Stansfield Hall and Woodlands as Forest ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Absolutely beautiful. A lovely, isolated pitch with a firepit. Lots ... 04/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Nicola S. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Absolutely beautiful. A lovely, isolated pitch with a firepit. Lots of space for the kids to explore, find bugs and play with sticks.

    Disliked: 

    The only toilet was a long way away and the path wasn't well kept. The wheelbarrow to cart our stuff from the car park was in very bad condition.

Overall
8
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Privacy of wild woodland site, hospitality of landlord, long drop ... 04/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Charlie R. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Privacy of wild woodland site, hospitality of landlord, long drop loo!

    Disliked: 

    Nothing to dislike.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

peaceful wild camping 05/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Ashleigh B. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    This site was very private. the children felt they were camping in the wild. Soundings are beautiful as are the amazing animals we encountered. The children loved finding the firewood, which was plentiful and not being able to see other campers gave a sense of really being out in the wilderness alone. Staff very helpful.

    Disliked: 

    There are no facilities here so i wouldn't recommend this as a long stay camp but perfect for a couple of nights.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Proper wilderness, cool in the hot sun! 24/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Helen W. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely and cool in the hot summer sun! We woke up feeling like we were actually in the wilderness. We had a great time & the kids loved the compost toilet!

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

A true camping getaway! 16/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom james_p265139 Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    - Remoteness. The site is situated in the middle of a little forest and there really is no one around. Other pitches are far enough away not to be disturbed and not to disturb others.
    - Firepit. The fire pits were brilliant. We are able to use the wood provided as well as collect our own wood.
    - Peace. We wanted to get away from the madness of London and this was the perfect place.
    - Drinking water provided.
    - Will return for sure!

    Disliked: 

    None, As we expected a true camping experience there is nothing I can complain about. The place is very basic with only a compost loo but this is what camping is about.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Friendly welcome and "adventurous" camping for the boys! 02/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Kathrin H. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The campfires were a big draw for the kids. Totally secluded.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Stunning spot! 01/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom craig_h419676 Confirmed

  • Camping pod
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Absolutely everything! Perfect spot, stunning scenery and totally secluded! We will for sure be staying here again!

    Disliked: 

    Only note, more so to fellow campers... clean up after yourself please! If a pod is kind enough to come with some comforts, i.e. Sofa bed and you have animals, it would be polite to cover these things with your own blankets!
    The owner very kindly and quickly came to dehair the sofa and even had a bottle of wine for us!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Secluded forest camping 18/05/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom david_j316172 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Remoteness of the location is perfect for a quiet get away. No hidden extras like paying for extra wood for the fire. This is a perfect little get away for a long weekend. Loved it.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Great place to stay if you want peace,quiet and to be close to nature 07/05/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom robert_l172341 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Loved the peace and quiet and privacy.

    Disliked: 

    None

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent site if you want to return to nature 07/05/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom evdokia_w Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    You are very much in and around nature at this site. There are only 4 pitches. Three are close to each other while the last is at the far end of the woodland. We had this last pitch which was perfect for us as it meant that we did not hear any of the other groups.

    Stansfield compasses is only 1 mile up the road and our host cooked us a delicious Sunday mixed roast lunch, which was very tasty and an excellent break to our walk around the area.

    Disliked: 

    The walk to the car when packing up - cars are not permitted in the woodlands. However it was the price we were willing to pay for having the most peaceful pitch.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)